Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Message Forums

Welcome Guest Register Login Search The Forum Posts Since Last Visit
 Reception - All Forums
  Caravans and Caravanning
Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Printer Friendly Version Print
Subject Topic: wifi antenna
Jump To Page:  1  2 Post Reply Post New Topic
Message posted by geoff+emmy on 30/3/2014 at 2:42pm
View geoff+emmy's Profile View Profile  Quote geoff+emmy Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
geoff+emmy
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit: swift conqueror 645+jeep commander

Location: Huddersfield
Joined: 10/10/2009
Posts:   967
Site Reviews:   5
Gallery Images:   2
Anybody got one?
Do they work? I have been looking at the motorhome wifi booster antenna at 69.99 which is supposed to extend the range by up to 1 km good idea if they are ok...and cheaper than the dongle top-ups

Discounted Insurance Quotes for UKCampsite.co.uk visitors! Up to 20% off!
UKCampsite.co.uk users are rewarded with up to 20% off Caravan Guard touring caravan insurance, folding camper and trailer tent insurance, as well as a generous discount off motorhome insurance. Static caravan insurance is also available. Get an online quote now

Message posted by simonnev on 30/3/2014 at 3:14pm
View simonnev's Profile View Profile  Quote simonnev Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
simonnev
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit: fleetwood sonata symphony kia sedona

Location: bispham\blackpool
Joined: 03/10/2009
Posts:   31
Site Reviews:   0
Gallery Images:   0
Been looking into a wifi booster myself , came across this caravanchronicles.com/equipment-reviews/bear-extender-long-range-wifi/


simon

Message posted by geoff+emmy on 30/3/2014 at 3:38pm
View geoff+emmy's Profile View Profile  Quote geoff+emmy Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
geoff+emmy
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit: swift conqueror 645+jeep commander

Location: Huddersfield
Joined: 10/10/2009
Posts:   967
Site Reviews:   5
Gallery Images:   2
Well his seems to work
And we already have bt at home and the wifi hotspot thingy but it would be handy for say haven sites that offer free wifi only in the bar area if you were close enough

Message posted by simonnev on 30/3/2014 at 3:50pm
View simonnev's Profile View Profile  Quote simonnev Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
simonnev
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit: fleetwood sonata symphony kia sedona

Location: bispham\blackpool
Joined: 03/10/2009
Posts:   31
Site Reviews:   0
Gallery Images:   0
Looking into this one
amazon.co.uk/Alfa-AWUS036NH-Wireless-Long-Range-Screw-On/dp/B0041L3FI8/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

Just reading reviews at the minute

Simon

Message posted by clever on 30/3/2014 at 7:57pm
View clever's Profile View Profile  Quote clever Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
clever
Avatar
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit: Adria Altea 542DT

Location: Derbyshire
Joined: 28/2/2012
Posts:   1045
Site Reviews:   4
Gallery Images:   3
Looks very good Simon, if you decide to buy let us know how you get on with it.

Seems to get good reviews...


Message posted by JTQU on 30/3/2014 at 8:23pm
View JTQU's Profile View Profile  Quote JTQU Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
JTQU
Avatar
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit: Hymer 546 "S" caravan

Location: Hampshire
Joined: 01/11/2005
Posts:   1496
Site Reviews:   3
Gallery Images:   2
Quote: Originally posted by simonnev on 30/3/2014Looking into this one amazon.co.uk/Alfa-AWUS036NH-Wireless-Long-Range-Screw-On/dp/B0041L3FI8/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

Just reading reviews at the minute

Simon


I have used the earlier model for years and find it works impressively. But note it needs a USB port, so only suitable for devices fitted with said USB ports.

Edit: mine is this model,

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alfa-AWUS036H-802-11b-Wireless-network/dp/B002WCEWU8

it handles 802.11 b & g wifi formats, whereas the newer one also handles 802.11 n together with b & g. In most cases this has little impact. It is lower powered but in the UK you can't legally use the higher power of the newer unit so it has to be set to its lower power option;


Post last edited on 30/03/2014 21:00:43

Post last edited on 30/03/2014 21:02:04

Message posted by jasie on 31/3/2014 at 9:15am
View jasie's Profile View Profile  Quote jasie Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
jasie
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Outfit: Sprite Major 6 &Volvo XC60

Location: Bath
Joined: 18/4/2006
Posts:   491
Site Reviews:   12
Gallery Images:   0
I Have a "nanostation" plugged into a router in the caravan. this give me my own personal wifi network in the caravan and if i have a signal on the nano, i have an internet connection too.

thing is its only as good as the source wifi for your internet/broadband!

so if you are trying to connect to a BT homehub, then you can see the signal, but as the BT hub has a rubbish range it cant transmit enough signal to get to your aerial.

its good on sites that have a proper wifi network and you are in a weak spot as the kit they have is transmitting out in the open.

just don't expect to hook up to someones BT hub if its located inside their house, unless you are no more than 100yrds away.

I seem to recall that there is a retailer somewhere that sells the nanostation with a router, and is all set up with instructions, but i cant recall their name...and i know that they brand it all with their own name, so cant find it.

Message posted by jasie on 31/3/2014 at 9:27am
View jasie's Profile View Profile  Quote jasie Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
jasie
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Outfit: Sprite Major 6 &Volvo XC60

Location: Bath
Joined: 18/4/2006
Posts:   491
Site Reviews:   12
Gallery Images:   0
found it http://www.motorhomewifi.com/product/iboost-d8-directional-system/

i have pretty much the same as this. its not cheap from this place, but then again its all set up and ready to go.

Personally i bought my own kit for less than half the price they sell it for, but then again i know how to set it all up.

Message posted by Shane Barratt on 31/3/2014 at 11:44am
View Shane Barratt's Profile View Profile  Quote Shane Barratt Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Shane Barratt
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit: Swift Challenger 530se

Location: burton on trent
Joined: 12/12/2004
Posts:   99
Site Reviews:   1
Gallery Images:   3
Hi this is all i use http://www.wifi-link.com/product.php?action=product&class1_id=1005&class2_id=1341&class3_id=1356&product_id=1838 with my Huawei E5776 i seem to get a good data signal most places when i dont on my phone.

Im on the EE network so its a good idea to look and see who has the best coverage for where you go. If you fancied a little more boost you could also try one of these.

http://www.wifi-link.com/product.php?action=product&class1_id=1&class2_id=840&class3_id=846&product_id=1850 Again hook it upto your dongle/mifi.

Although i am yet to find a site i dont get a good 3g or 4g signal depending on coverage.

-------------
Swings and round abouts

Message posted by jasie on 31/3/2014 at 12:11pm
View jasie's Profile View Profile  Quote jasie Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
jasie
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Outfit: Sprite Major 6 &Volvo XC60

Location: Bath
Joined: 18/4/2006
Posts:   491
Site Reviews:   12
Gallery Images:   0
shane...is that using the 3G/4g network to get your internet....or is it hooking on to someones wifi signal?

separate to my wifi kit, i have voda/O2/orange sims, so i can pick the one with the best signal, but i only find 3G on about 1 in 5 sites i visit
we cant even get 3g at home!

Message posted by geoff+emmy on 31/3/2014 at 12:20pm
View geoff+emmy's Profile View Profile  Quote geoff+emmy Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
geoff+emmy
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit: swift conqueror 645+jeep commander

Location: Huddersfield
Joined: 10/10/2009
Posts:   967
Site Reviews:   5
Gallery Images:   2
I was hoping that these would work instead of the dongle we had a vodaphone one for years the type where the credit lasted until it ran out but they changed it to 30 days but the coverage varied in Hunstanton it just doesn't work at all So I got the 3 one which said it lasted for 3 months but it seems that's only for the preloaded data any future topups only last 30 days it seems as we only use the dongle in the van its a dear hobby at 10/15 a month now
We are in Porthmadog at the moment and the 3 one works well in fact I am typing this on it now...

Message posted by JTQU on 31/3/2014 at 12:53pm
View JTQU's Profile View Profile  Quote JTQU Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
JTQU
Avatar
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit: Hymer 546 "S" caravan

Location: Hampshire
Joined: 01/11/2005
Posts:   1496
Site Reviews:   3
Gallery Images:   2
You were asking for "a wifi booster" rather than a phone network device.
If your home broadband account is with BT Broadband, then the 10 spent on the Alfa Networks high gain wifi adaptor can not be a bad thing to have. Because there are loads of free to you Openzone hotspots, both formal and from other users homehubs.
Like you, my Vodafone dongle has been rendered next to useless, so they are well off my provider list now. Fortunatley, I have a "3" phone sim only contract with loads of data for very little a month, still use the Alfa unit for wifi but mainly abroad.

Message posted by Shane Barratt on 31/3/2014 at 2:07pm
View Shane Barratt's Profile View Profile  Quote Shane Barratt Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Shane Barratt
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit: Swift Challenger 530se

Location: burton on trent
Joined: 12/12/2004
Posts:   99
Site Reviews:   1
Gallery Images:   3
Quote: Originally posted by jasie on 31/3/2014
shane...is that using the 3G/4g network to get your internet....or is it hooking on to someones wifi signal?

separate to my wifi kit, i have voda/O2/orange sims, so i can pick the one with the best signal, but i only find 3G on about 1 in 5 sites i visit
we cant even get 3g at home!



Yes its using 3g/4g. Dont know what it is but i have been away with my galaxy s4 and hardly ever get a decent data connection but with my e5776 and the wifi aerial it works a treat i am very happy with it. Also it will take upto 8 devices so my phone laptop and tab are always connected. If you look into my gallery the aerial is on top of my van


-------------
Swings and round abouts

Message posted by Shane Barratt on 31/3/2014 at 2:19pm
View Shane Barratt's Profile View Profile  Quote Shane Barratt Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Shane Barratt
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit: Swift Challenger 530se

Location: burton on trent
Joined: 12/12/2004
Posts:   99
Site Reviews:   1
Gallery Images:   3
Also looking at this kit http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alfa-AWUS036H-802-11b-Wireless-network/dp/B002WCEWU8 It has a sma connector. So it would also work with a panel or omni external aerial some thing like this.

http://www.wifi-link.com/product.php?action=product&class1_id=1&class2_id=4&class3_id=863&product_id=2062

Or this with a decent cable.

http://www.wifi-link.com/product.php?action=product&class1_id=1&class2_id=4&class3_id=160&product_id=1009


-------------
Swings and round abouts

Message posted by jsparkes201148 on 31/3/2014 at 8:44pm
View jsparkes201148's Profile View Profile  Quote jsparkes201148 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
jsparkes201148
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Outfit: Lunar Clubman SB Kia Sportage 2

Location: Stockton on Tees
Joined: 12/1/2007
Posts:   489
Site Reviews:   12
Gallery Images:   0
I have bought the Motorhome Wifi kit that Jasie mentioned.Works brilliantly and amplified a weak signal from nearly 200m away.Have used it on sites that have Free WiFi "at reception" and it boosted the signal no problem so we had WiFi on our pitch. If you somewhere that you have to pay for wifi,like the CC.You only pay once, you can connect multiple gadgets to the router.Expensive ,but brilliant, and you don't need a USB connection so ideal for IPads,tablets etc.

Message posted by sumps53 on 31/3/2014 at 10:13pm
View sumps53's Profile View Profile  Visit homepage My Homepage  Quote sumps53 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
sumps53
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit: SWIFT CHALLENGER SPORT

Location: 
Joined: 27/8/2007
Posts:   24
Site Reviews:   33
Gallery Images:   0
This is pretty good - one of the only ones (if not THE only one) that we found that works with our Mac (running 10.9 Mavericks). Also good for Windows 8 etc.

http://www.digital-alltek.com/

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
You need to log in or register

Jump To Page:  1  2
Quick Links - All Forums - Caravans and Caravanning - Top of Page

Printer Friendly Version Printable version Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook


3305 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014