Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 823132

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m   1m  5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 260 Reviews
              9/10 from 260 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zebbieboo 3 reviews from this member

Lovely, quiet site, really helpful and friendly staff.

The site is dry clean and well maintained, the grass is kept short and neat, the toilets and showers are checked regular and also kept clean. We were pitched next to the river and loved seeing the baby ducks and swans swimming up and down.

Although the pitch was gravel (which we hadn't been on before, always grass) it worked really well and by the time we had set up and got the ground sheet down and the floor in the awning the gravel was not a problem at all. We were a bit worried to start with but there was really no problem at all.

On a Friday night there is an outdoor stone baked pizza shop thing where you can buy your tea if you want too. The on site shop has the basics that we all forget to take and there are plenty of shops a short drive away. ie asda morrisons Tesco Sainsbury's Aldi the staff will be more then happy to point you in the right direction.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whatevers 3 reviews from this member

Nice site, several facility blocks throughout the site, all were clean. A lot of seasonal pitches. We stayed on Riverside, which has a very small play park for kids. Nice outlook from our van as there was only three other caravan on our side. Site is well kept, nice large level pitches separated with chest high beech hedges. It was very peaceful when we stayed although can imagine it being very busy in peak season. Because we stayed near the water it was a trek to the toilet/washing up facilities as you had to walk around the roadways if you did not want to get your shoes wet or slightly muddy. You could of course cut across the grass but in December when we stayed it was constantly wet. I presume when the site is full if you did want to cut across grass to the facilities you would be walking through tent pitches. A couple of dedicated shortcut pathways from water front pitches to facilities would help. Seasonal pitches and statics seemed closer to the facilities than touring caravans. If you were staying at the far end of riverside, I expect you could use the toilets which are on the adjacent seasonal pitch area as there is no barrier. I found the dog poo bins were not obvious when looking around the site, think an obvious (red?) poo bin on riverside somewhere in the middle may ensure people use it.

You are able to walk along a path from bottom of site which passes a couple of fishing lakes. Overall this is a very nice site especially at quiet out of season times. Would stay again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dub68 5 reviews from this member

This is the most well maintained site I have been on, this is why I will review all the rest I have stayed on this year. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We were met at our pitch by a helpful member of staff who gave us the run down on where everything was. The site was spotless, even down to the bins along the walks used for dog waste smelled of detol. The pitch was spacious along side the river, it looks as though they re gravel each site after it has been used. The shop was well stocked and very reasonable prices. The toilets and hot showers were spotless, the washing up area was well lit. There is a fishing pond within a short walk, which looked like it is mowed on a regular basis. I'm not into fishing myself but it was a sun trap to sit and read a book while my partner enjoyed the fishing. We didn't use the local pub so cannot comment. We only stayed for two nights so didn't get to go on as many walks as I would of liked. Perfect for our border collie who loves long walks. Will definitely be returning to this site, it is a credit to all that work there.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Time to relax 5 reviews from this member

Large site but split up nicely into smaller sections, all level pitches. Pitches were adequately wide but the depth was poor (small children's play area) with the front of your tent only a couple of metres from the service road. Without use of a windbreak, children run along on the grass right by your tent / guy lines & seating area (I have small 4 person tent). Noisy first night >22. 30hrs and children playing on the park at 07. 15! Different pitches offer greater depth for larger tents & of course if you're not in the area with lots of children it would be a different experience.

Being next to small children's play area & a facilities block was a double edge sword; you can see your child playing from your tent but it's obviously noisy and there was a lot of 'through traffic' to the facilities.

Facilities very adequate, large covered pot wash, clean toilet and shower area, lovely hot water, no queueing. Bins regularly emptied. Site shop well stocked & always good to have freezer available for freezer blocks. Staff all pleasant. Lovely little walk on trail around site. Lots to do in local area. We went on a small stream train next to site. Also South forest leisure complex on a rainy day, kids loved the swimming pool & slide.

We would return but probably choose a different section of the site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hollings 1 review from this member

We have just spent a very happy 4 days at this park and I think it has become one of our favourites. The pitch was spacious and the hedging surrounding the pitches at our part gives extra privacy. We have 3 boys age 8, 12 and 14 who were out and about riding their bikes and playing happily around the site, which felt safe. The wide shallow stream that the kids can play in was a big hit too. Access was really easy and the area was lovely and very quiet. There was lots to do round about, good cycle rides and Clumber Park National Trust site proved a lovely day out. The little shop is well stocked and all the staff were friendly. The site rules seemed to be observed re noise etc too. The dog walk was one of the best we've had on a campsite taking you along the stream and there was also a nice longer woodland walk to enjoy. Although in countryside there are plenty of larger facilities in near by Mansfield if you need them. All in all, we had a great trip and will certainly visit again. My only complaint would be that the toilet and shower blocks, although kept clean, are really due an update but it didn't affect our enjoyment.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Droebuck 12 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site, lovely site. Friendly staff. Clean toilets and showers. 2 parks, one smaller than the other. Stream running through the site with ducks and peacocks running freely, but no bother. Plenty of areas for walking and sherwood pines nearby for cycling. Plan to return again. Thank you.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thoranna 8 reviews from this member

First visit to this site, we booked three nights attracted by the initial reviews on this website and the camp website, but only stayed for one night. For us the site did not live up to the reviews.

The site is long and narrow with no one way system which means when cars etc meet one needs to move off the road onto someone's pitch. Most pitches have a Laurel hedge in between each other, however, we were allocated an 'end' pitch which was at the fork of a road. Being at the end we had to put up with kids using it as a playground, vehicles turning on it and in one case someone parking their car on it. We phoned reception and asked if we could move to the next pitch along away from all of this, we were told that they were fully booked and we were stuck with it for the next three nights. Although site rules are clearly laid out they are sadly just words on paper which no-one paid any attention too (hard footballs being kicked about, drinks being carried by adults on roadways and 5 mph speed limit not adhered too by almost everyone including staff).

Toilets were clean but in dire need of upgrading. The block nearest to us only had four toilets and two showers available for a high number of people - more facilities required. There is a good dog walk around the site with waste bins available. With the site being full there were a lot of children and people sitting outside well into the evening so fairly noisy. Would we visit this site again - definitely not.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndyJ82 2 reviews from this member

Had an excellent few days here over easter bank holiday. Our first trip out in the caravan so I am afraid I can't offer much of a base line to compare this site against. That being said if all our subsequent trips are on sites as nice as this one then we will be happy.

Right from check in the wardens were excellent. They understood that this was our first caravan trip and couldn't have been more helpful. The site also has a well stocked shop on site that is very reasonably priced. We also liked the visiting pizza oven van, which again was well priced.

The only negatives we could highlight were dodgy wifi reception, which, we can live without and the toilet paper in the ladies loo. My wife commented that the dispenser would break off the paper inside with no method of obtaining more off the roll. This happened in each female cubicle.

Despite the heavy rain as commented by other reviewers, the site drained well except the last day which was a very heavy downpour. The rear of our pitch had 2 inches of standing water on it in the morning. Considering the amount of rain and the fact the site is nestled between two slopes I doubt there is a lot the site could do to improve that level of standing water. Can't comment on how long it persisted as we left that morning.

For info, no 3 network mobile phone signal.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikjc 1 review from this member

Another great stay for our easter weekend. Wardens to be commended for their continued helpfulness, nothing too much trouble. Shower /toilet block continually cleaned despite the site being very wet at times. Always in attendance and on hand, nevertheless the addition of a family shower/bathroom would be appreciated. The treasure hunt on Easter Sunday was enjoyed by all, young and old alike. Each and every child received a goody bag of sweets, much to their delight. The site itself is always immaculate. On this unfortunate occasion we were subject to torrential rain during the night, but the warden made it his job to inform each of the caravanners on the riverside location, to prepare for the worse and that he would be checking every hour to access the river level. This only made for a more exciting evening. A big thank you to all the team at Sherwood Forest Holiday park. See you again in August.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsy 107 reviews from this member

Visited in between Christmas and New Year. V nice site - we were parked in front of the lake with the river higher and beyond - this is the year of lots of rain and flooding - it was unnerving to hear it raining torrentially at 2. 30 am with the thought of the river hurtling over it's bank, down the site and us being washed into the lake. Ha, fortunately that didn't happen.

Amenities were plentiful and fine and heated - yay. We left at 11am precisely - they came round at 10. 55 to check we were going - never had that before, but that's ok cos we were going (honestly - no we were!) - staff were fine, shop is caravan shop more than food shop (useful to know).

Sherwood Forest ok but I think the forests in N Wales and Scotland are better but that's just my opinion. The visitor centre was like something out of the 1970s but then I read that it's being taken over by the rspb and will be renovated by 2018 so I am assuming it will be 100% improved by then (and maybe the forest management)- it felt very tired. Although the cafe was fine! The forest is fine if you have young kids on bikes etc but it didn't feel quite wild enough for us.

The Dog and Duck - food lovely - you wouldn't want to walk there from the site as it's down one of those country lanes that are 60 mph (I think - it was fast anyway) with no pavement or lights and it's not that near either. The pub was like a country hotel with comfy cosy chairs, wood panneling in places and lots of Victorian Christmas decor - I am sure every area has one of these places, so imagine yours and you'll have it!

Liked the village of Edwinstowe - church is really interesting and ancient well worth a visit. A really nice guy called Greg told us all about it.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957