Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

Just spent the August Bank Holiday weekend (2017) at Gibraltar Farm with my wife and three children (aged 10, 4 and 2)and I'd say it's right up there as one of the best campsites we've stayed at.

It's located in a beautiful North Lancashire location within spitting distance of Morecambe Bay and the Lake District. There's plenty of space to pitch, scattered across a couple of fields and electric hook-up if you want it. Facilities-wise, the toilet/shower blocks are excellent, with more than enough to cater for everyone, with adequate dish-washing facilities and a boot washing area. Water taps and waste bins are also dotted around the site.

A nice touch at Gibraltar Farm is having a night warden, who does the rounds from around 11pm and makes sure that people keep noise down to a minimum. We found that silence was golden from 11. 30/midnight onwards.

My only gripes are that given there isn't much by way of shopping unless you're prepared to drive to Carnforth (10 minutes), an on site shop, selling basics would be great. I also think that the laundry room needs to be more expansive, given the volume of campers using the site. In addition to this, some areas of the campsite can get quite boggy, so be careful where you pitch. Other than that, this site ticks plenty of boxes, especially for families. There are loads of areas for kids to explore, including a rocky area in the middle of one of the fields, woodlands and a track that leads to the sea. If you're lucky enough to catch one, it's also well worth making sure that you're at the campsite to watch a sunset there. The way the sun bounces off the wet sandbanks makes for quite an extraordinary sight.

All in all, we had a great weekend at Gibraltar Farm and got lucky with the weather too.

It's a great site that I'm sure we'll visit again, especially as it's only an hour away from where we live (Bolton), and is fairly easy on the pocket, too.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debfils 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! A real gem in the Lancashire countryside. We received a very friendly welcome from the wardens who directed us to a nice pitch overlooking the beautiful estuary.

The facilities were modern and clean but quite a long walk for campers on the tent field.

We took our Welsh Terrier with us and discovered some wonderful walks just minutes away from the site. The atmospheric Silverdale hotel is about a 15 minute walk away where we had a pleasant meal. My husband was impressed with the well kept real ales!

We will definitely visit this lovely site again, in fact we can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 19 reviews from this member

The location and views once you had driven through the very muddy farmyard and when the cloud lifted, were excellent.

The toilets and other rooms were clean and warm.

The problem was partly the weather, very wet and persistent and hard standings like postage stamps, ie not connected to the road, so you had no option but to drive a 3. 5 ton motorhome over very wet and sodden grass to your pitch.

We made it to the pitch unlike others and just about made it off, back to the road but ended up with a filthy van and unfortunately ruts in the grass where our wheels had started slipping and digging in. Not impressed that all the time we were there no-one came to see us, I spoke to the service guy there and he seemed to double up collecting fees and issued us with a receipt as we decided to leave early due to the arrival of Storm Doris.

About a mile walk to the RSPB site and very interesting.

Visited the pub in Silverdale, good draught beer, pleasant bar staff, worth a visit. Unlikely to revisit due to pitches being separate from the road.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peckedhen1 3 reviews from this member

Lovely views of the bay and sunsets from the camping fields. We were in the overspill field and the grass was quite long. Luckily there was no rain nor heavy dew so it wasn't the problem it might have been. NO electric hook up for tents but warden will freeze ice packs and recharge phone for a small charge. Small, fairly priced shop on site. It was the school holidays so many noisy children around but all quiet by ten so no problem there. The site was full but plenty of toilets and several showers. The toilets could have been cleaner but were acceptable. However my other half reported that the gents smelt dreadful. We could actually smell them as we walked towards the toilet block. Yuk!

Lovely area for walking, bird watching, AONB and close to Lake District. The beach is fine sand/mud, notices warn of quicksand!

Reasonably priced. We shall return one day.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smartecosse 13 reviews from this member

We stopped for 7 nights at the end of July on our way back up from camping down south. At the kids request! Its one of their favourite campsites now as well as ours. They love the rocks which become a central point for all the kids to meet and play together and they always seem to make new friends whenever we are there.

Plenty to see and do in the surrounding area as well as lovely walks direct from the campsite.

They also now have a raw milk machine - delicious doesn't begin to describe it. Just how milk used to taste!

The toilet blocks were immaculate as usual even though we were there over a very busy weekend.

Great to see the stewards asking noisy inconsiderate campers to be quiet - too many sites let a small number of people spoil it for the others.

Excellent value for money as well. Which is great as many sites now are very over priced for what they offer.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet little site with views over the bay. Had a friendly warm welcome even though we arrived unannounced at 7pm on a Sunday. Warden made sure we had a nice pitch with a view tucked away in a quiet corner.

Lovely short walk to the waters edge, via a small stone circle in a clearing in the woods. Lots of other good walks to do, including to Woodwell holy well nearby. Also gallery at the farm entrance, farm sells basic supplies uncluding raw milk & Silverdale village with 2 pubs (didn't have chance to try them) approx 1 mile away. Ideal stopover on way north, good for excursions to lake district etc.

Facilities excellent, toilet block looks brand new, free showers, also hook ups plenty of dog poo bins etc. Oh yes, our pooch gave it the thumbs up too!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

Positives first - good ground, excellent facilities block, lovely and helpful stewards.

Negatives - most of the pitches with views for motorhomes/vans are taken by seasonal bookings - kids climbing over drystone walls and running through pitches. I really am not anti-kid but wish people would understand and respect camping etiquette and be aware of their kids whereabouts and behaviour - they weren't awful just irritating. Not Gib Farms fault though - stewards were very aware and attentive.

Its a lovely site - I was sold by the views on the website however and disappointed not to get one

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scullyb 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our fourth weekend at Gibraltar Farm - we love this site because of the views and its proximity to Silverdale etc. I was however concerned on this occasion by the fact that the toilets/ shower block were particularly gruby and could certainly do with a really good scrub rather than a cursory wipe/ mop over ! The ladies toilets in particular didn't look like they had had their seats lifted and wiped under for some time. I know some would say that I'm being picky and it must be difficult to keep on top of the cleaning with so many people coming and going all the time and to be honest it won't stop us going back but just a little more attention to detail would make all the difference.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LGriffiths 3 reviews from this member

One of the best campsites I've stayed on in a long time, it was a bank holiday weekend and very busy, but the wardens were very helpful, there was plenty of room for everyone, loads of kids but very well behaved and just a great site for kids, with a stand of trees among some rocks that all of the kids aimed for, some of them called it 'monkey island' we hardly saw our grandson.

There were plenty of toilets, ample wash hand basins and showers, kept very clean. There's a well stocked camp shop. To say there were so many campers it was very quiet at night, I got the impression that the wardens wouldn't stand any nonsense, but were not bossy or tyrannical.

All in all I would highly recommend this site especially if you have kids, the prices are reasonable too.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazman9 3 reviews from this member

Simply Perfect. Wonderful views, friendly staff (who were on the ball when a group of caravaners got a bit too noisy late evening), top notch toilet and (free) shower facilities and a really clean site. They have two on site shops and sell everything from basic camping spares to lovely home made ice cream.

My 3 kids loved playing in the fields and making new friends. My other half is disabled, and has difficulty walking, but she was very impressed when the site staff very courteously asked if there was anything else they could do to make the site more disabled friendly.

But for me, the best thing about this site is their prices. Not only are they very reasonable (under 70 for a family of 5 and a dog for a 3 day bank holiday weekend with EHU) but they have the same prices all year round. Non of this Doubling the prices just because the kids are off school.

WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK.

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4197 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1016
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec