Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 243 Reviews
              9/10 from 243 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  243 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fishing family!! 5 reviews from this member

Arrived here at about lunchtime with my 2 dogs and 2 children. Kids loved it as soon as we got there and the pitch size was amazing!

Owners were very lovely and so accommodating for me as I asked for a couple of specifics. Thank you for that.

The showers and toilets are exceptionally clean, however, for a site that large I think a few more would be good as I queued for 40 minutes one day!

On the whole, it's a lovely site, but as a couple of people have said, it's not the most amazing. May go back again, may not.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaadow005 9 reviews from this member

Once again Mike and Claire have come up trumps, the warmest of welcomes and the best of sites, a real pleasure to look forward to and enjoy once there.

I must add this comment though, there is a short cut at the top of the campsite to the beach, but it is danger of being lost due to thoughtless dog owners. The path runs round the edge of a farmers field, and understandably he is getting very annoyed about dog mess being left there.

The alternative walk to the beach is much longer, so to all dog owners (I am one), clean up your dog mess or you will lose the short route to the beach.

Thanks Mike and Claire, we'll be back shortly!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

Had a very enjoyable weekend on this site recently. The site is really laid back, not lots of rules like some sites. We had a nice level grass pitch, facilities all good and clean. On-site shop had all the basics. Good TV & mobile signal (O2).

We had a meal at the Red River pub opposite, nice food, but we did find the tables a bit close together, especially as we had our collie dog with us. The 2nd night we walked out to the Sandsifter pub, enjoyed it there as well, also doggie friendly, more space. Had a cuppa at both the Godrevy Cafe and Sunset Cafe, like them both.

Great walks straight from site.

We will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darlingbuds 3 reviews from this member

Pleasant site in a good location close to the beach & there was a friendly reception on arrival with useful map etc. There is a good pub in the village nearby which does food if you are feeling lazy & don't want to cook. The children enjoyed the animals on the farm & there was plenty of room for them to play.

The showers and washing up facilities were clean & tidy, a bit of a wait at peak time but that seems the norm now during the busier holiday period. There was a nice little shop with fresh bread which is useful. The site is relaxed & not too regimented. All in all a very pleasant stay & recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saftlad 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Well laid out, and clearly marked from the road, access was simple.

Facilities were always spotless (wife commented that everyone seemed to take more care than usual to clean out their showers when finished) and the extra family bathrooms were a real bonus when trying to deal with toddlers who want to run everywhere.

Shop has the majority of things you would need, though the opening hours (8:30 - 11:30 and 4:30-5:30 I think) means it pays to think ahead if you're going to need milk / bread / bacon etc.

Visits by a chip van, fish van, curry van, and breakfast van all added to the ease of eating if you don't want to cook.

The pub opposite gets very good comments by all, we didn't visit it though. Again, unusually it shuts for part of the day (3:30-5:30) which threw us a bit when we came back early one day for a cheeky shandy .

Other nearby eats are spot on. Sandsifter is a very relaxed place that does good food at very reasonable prices, and Godrevy cafe was also nice. When down on the beach, we preferred the JamPot for tea/coffee etc, though Sunset Surf was also pretty good and chilled.

On-site, the pitches were well marked and the extra space in the middle for the kids to run around and fly their kites etc is handy. Maybe a couple of paths through the pitches would be of benefit so that people didn't have to cut through between each others tents (you know what kids are like for falling over guys etc.

Only downside we could see for the site was that almost every pitch is on a slight slope, but apart from that, a wonderful site that we would re-visit.

So easy to get to the 4 mile long beach (only 5 minutes to walk to), your next bit of fun comes on trying to find a way down the cliffs

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davenic 5 reviews from this member

WOW what a great site, excellent location 5-10minutes walk to beach and excellent facilities, clean showers and toilets no matter what time of day you used them. Stayed a week and only queued once for the showers and that was only about 5 minutes.

Excellent idea to have local chippy visit 3 times a week, Indian takeway once and breakfast van 3 times.

Site was really quiet at night where the only noise you heard was the sea.

Will definitely be visiting again and probably longer next time.

Owners were really friendly and gave loads of local knowledge eg places to visit etc.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AquaAndy 1 review from this member

We stayed here early July one week before all the schools were off and then were here for the 2nd week when the schools were just breaking up. We stayed in a tent with electric hook up.

On dealing with them mainly though the internet we asked for some specific dates and where very welcoming and helpful in doing this. So many thanks for this.

On our arrival all was well apart from when we tried to pay, they only accept debit cards not credit cards so don`t be caught out on that one as we were. This was not told before we arrived. But was a nice friendly welcome overall.

We had a nice pitch very close to the toilets. Which were very clean. And ideal for us,as we were close to the block the block had all the usual amenities your would expect, However there is only one set of toilets and its located at the bottom of the site. So for some people this would mean a long walk. Possibly 400-600 yards at least maybe more.

Also there are no bins anywhere on the site apart from near the toilet block again this is a long walk with your rubbish. On our first week we had no problem with the showers or toilets but in the 2nd week as more people on site there were queues as there are only 6 toilets, 8 sinks and 8 showers, so if there is say a lot people on site it can be a bit of a night mare so pick your times to go to the shower

There is fresh water located all over the site and this is close for everyone to access no long walks there. The spaces for the tents are huge some of the biggest I have ever been to for the money. Very impressed with this.

The site is generally quiet and you have to be back in your tent for 11pm. So no late nights. However this is not very strict as there is no wardens on site, and the night we had major trouble we could not wake any of the owners, which was very disappointing. But generally the rules are obeyed to which is good.

There is a table tennis and some animals on site which are very entertaining for all ages. Its a nice walk to the beach and the access is very good, and you can take your dog on a very long stretch of the beech which is great and is patrolled by life guards, another good point.

The site overall is very good but don`t think its the best in the world which in some reviews is portrayed, it is certainly up there but not the best, some things need to be addressed. Overall we had a great holiday and would recommend this site. But don`t expect the world

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjriggers 5 reviews from this member

Having read rave reviews of this site I was excited to visit this in August. Had I not read the reviews I think I would have been satisfied that this was a good campsite, but not amazing. Having read the reviews I was a little disappointed.

Yes, it has a big, clean toilet block, yes the owners are friendly, the location good, and the pitches well cared for, and drained well in the tremendous amount of rain we had. They had some good ideas: for example the fish van, breakfast van and fish and chip van. The shop was well stocked.

However, the space between pitches and across the roads is not large, leaving us feeling the most cramped we have been on a site, the toilet block is a long walk with little children - again the furthest we've had on a site. The family bathroom and shower room is a good idea, however the shower room was always full of dirty puddles with not enough room to hang a family size amount of towels etc and if both showers were on at the same time they reduced to a useless trickle. The shop didn't open until 8.45am which seemed a little late peak season on a family site with young children.

Overall I would say this is a good site, but due to these little niggles not quite up to the rave reviews it has been getting.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GANGAN 7 reviews from this member

Just spent a fortnight at this lovely campsite, only booked for a week, it was so nice decided to stay here and explore the area from this first class campsite.

Mike and Clare have got it just right, great pitches, excellent toilet / shower facilities (for young families they have a bathroom and a separate shower room, brilliant idea.

The site is within walking distance from the best beach I have ever been on, 4 miles of glorious sand and the surf is spectacular! The red river inn across the road from the site does fantastic meals, but you need to book early. Its a really quite area but hayle is not far and they have local shops plus a co-op and lidl and just further round the corner there is a large marks and spencer, next and boots.

If you are heading this way, you must take a look you really wont be disappointed, we cant wait to go back

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lclc 1 review from this member

Have just returned from our first 2 week camping holiday and am so glad that we chose Gwithian Farm! A really good layout with excellent pitch sizes. On one day we had non stop rain for around 10 hours but the pitches didn't get waterlogged - luckily this was the only day of heavy rain during the 2 weeks.

Our pitch was facing the recreational field in the centre of the site and my son especially liked this as he was out there flying his kite, playing football etc. The owners are very friendly and there are firm but fair rules regarding children playing (no ball games, table tennis, after 9pm.)

The table tennis is free to use - just ask at the shop for the bats and ball. There are also goats and guinea pigs. The toilet & shower block is more than adequate and kept very clean - on a plus side there are two hairdryers in the ladies (no charge for these).

The shop is well stocked and prices are very fair (if the children want recreational bodyboards they are as cheap as the main shops here) but just get used to the opening times as it isn't open all day, or until very late. (Not a gripe, just make a note of it and remember to buy milk the day before so you have it for brekkie!)

The laundry room has 2 large washers and two dryers and the prices for these are ok.

The nearby beaches are beautiful and are a 10 minute walk over the dunes - I probably wouldn't walk it if you have smaller children and are taking a lot of stuff with you though. The car parks are reasonably priced. If you take a left when leaving the site, drive up toward Godrevy - it is free to park - and watch the sunset, it's a wonderful sight.

If you are lucky you might see the seals sunbathing on the rocks below (we didn't see any there but we did see a very friendly seal in St Ives harbour!) If you fancy a fishing trip they are all priced about the same in St Ives and are cheaper there than Penzance.We also went on a lantern Ghost story walk in St Ives which was fun (and not scary but entertaining).

St Michaels Mount is a good visit - even if you just walk across the causeway when the tide is out. Porthcurno and the Minack theatre are also good places to go.

I used to visit Cornwall regularly as a child and loved showing my children the places I used to go to. We all loved our stay at Gwithian Farm (within two days my teenage son asked when would we be going again) and as soon as we can we will be booking next year's summer break there.

Previous     243 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1406