Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m  10m  1m  1m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
              9/10 from 92 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (13)

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 55 to 60                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Derek and Kate 5 reviews from this member

A fantastic site, great hosts. Each of the 5 pitches had 10 amp elect and water supplies, a picnic table and Tony the host had planted herbs at the side of each pitch. Beautiful views from all pitches across the bay towards the isle of Skye and the mountains surrounding you. Chances to see seals, otters and eagles. Use of fishing in two private lochs for brown trout and practice pitch and golf facilities available on site. Picnic tables provided near lochs to enable greater enjoyment of the scenery. Tony will cook and provide delivered to your pitch a gorgeous sumptuous sea food platter at a very reasonable price. He can also supply eggs and farm produce. CWD placed centrally between the 5 secluded sites. We stayed 5 nights and travelled around the islands (Harris & Lewis) and needed all this time to visit all areas of the islands to enjoy the varied scenery.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janet and Jeff 3 reviews from this member

We were told about this site by a friend who had enjoyed it and thought we would give it a try.

The approach road along the coast is narrow but has a good surface and the driveway up to the pitch is steep, but the owner assists on arrival and is very helpful.

The scenery is very unusual and is termed as 'moonscape' in some leaflets and has footpath access to lochs and the small coastal harbour. The Isle of Skye is clear to see on good days and the mountains of Skye were tipped with snow in this distant view when we were there.

An absolutely delightful panorama is seen from this elevated pitch of the Harris coastline.

The owner is very welcoming and we were provided with a wonderful sea food meal with home made oat cakes and bread, that he cooks, if ordered the day before, and delivers directly to your pitch. What a lovely meal and we felt it was very good value.

There are no showers or toilet facilities, but electricity, toilet emptying point and fresh water are on the site.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

My perfect holiday on Harris would be a week here and a couple of days at Horgabost.

Flodabay Farm is on the East coast half way along the Golden Road, don't be put off because it is a twisty single track road, when you are towing people are extremely considerate and move over for you. The views are stunning, a Golden Eagle perched on a telegraph pole about 150 mtrs away after being mobbed by hooded crows. There is an otter run to one of the two lochs, forgot to mention there are two lochs, the otter one is a dog free area, the other one is glorious with a nicely sloped rock to get in and out, and yes you can swim in it. There isn't a loo/shower block, so what, there are views, walks, fishing, golf, water, Elsan disposal, service wash, herbs planted at each pitch, and best of all where else can you get a 5 star meal delivered to your caravan door. I was in heaven, Tony is great, he is always on site or at the end of his phone, he will do his utmost to make sure your stay is a good one, the only thing he doesn't do is the washing up. And he'd probably do that if you asked him

Only thing I would comment on is Harris is basically a big jagged rock and therefore probably not suitable for toddlers.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claitair 3 reviews from this member

What a truly superb place to spend a few days. Or even weeks!

This is tranquillity encapsulated in a tiny corner of the Harris hills. The views almost defy description. The awesome Atlantic lying within reach lapping around the rocks where seals lounge around in the sunshine or splash in the shallow waters of the bay. The backdrop of the Harris crags behind the site offer a launching pad for golden and sea eagles. Magnificent. And on one of the small lochans on the site. A family of otters! unbelievable. I spent three days there with my dog and never left the site. I wish I could have spent longer there. We had forty acres to wander around without ever seeing a soul. Hearing only the breeze and the cry of a buzzard or curlew.

The campsite owners are always available and always unobtrusive. I was able to get eggs and bacon. And home made bread from my hosts and even have complete meals brought to my motor home if I had wanted!

There were another couple of campers on site but I barely noticed they were there.

A bonus was that this is not a site for children. Yes, there is a lot of space for youngsters to run around in. But there is nothing for them to do. Young teenagers may enjoy birdwatching or fishing. Or wandering down to the rock pools to seal watch. But young children would not get much enjoyment from this site. It is however the most perfect adult escape I have found in a long time. The peace and silence is priceless.

Take a trip to Flodabay. And stay for a long time.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Babs115 1 review from this member

We arrived on a fairly windy and wild Harris in April 2014, with our three kids (5, 2 and 3 months) and Mabel the bulldog. We hadn't been before and the island was just as spectacular as we'd been told it was, beautiful scenery, gorgeous beaches, and on the Flodabay side of the island, the lunar landscapes, which are so unusual but really lovely. The weather was not at its best, and we hope to return in future to see Harris at its best.

Flodabay farm is in a lovely situation, and the owners are very helpful. As others have mentioned, the road up to the 3 sites is very steep and not for the faint hearted, and the sites themselves are set amongst the rocky landscapes at height, which unfortunately we did not feel was all that safe for the kids to be playing on, there is quite a risk of falling if you have little ones like ours with very little common sense or fear! The wind got up that night and you certainly do feel it up there, it is quite exposed. However in summer I think it would be beautiful, and if we ever get away without the kids we would return! We had hoped to stay three nights but headed off after the first one. Turning at the sites is also not easy and needs a bit of skill, our MH is quite long though.

There are not toilets or showers at the moment which again is not ideal if you have kids.

There are picnic tables at the front of the pitch which I am sure would provide a spectacular location for a bottle of wine, or two.

The owner recommended the Skoon cafe nearby which was really great too.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chick Mailey 1 review from this member

We had an amazing time here. The owner could not have been more friendly and welcoming, we tried all of his homemade food he had on offer and ended up staying for 3 night's. We were greeted by a golden eagle one night as we returned from our travels around the island, and I fished the Loch's just above the camp site, and was rewarded with 2 brownies over the 3Lb mark and caught around 25 fish in all, all on the Fly, I returned all of them safely to the water. We will definitely visit here again when we return to the Isle's. I would highly recommend a visit here, it was stunning !

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 55 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hebrides   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window