Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Dart Country Park ( River Dart Adventures)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

River Dart Country Park ( River Dart Adventures)
Holne Park
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7NP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01364 652511

Facilities:  (Key)
                       

Nearby:
10m  10m   10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 295
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 89 Reviews
              9/10 from 89 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (20) and Video

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 55 to 60                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mylesk 7 reviews from this member

We went to River Dart country park on a recommendation, and were very pleased.
All the pitches are large, well spaced and well situated. We went with our small children and several other families and it was the facilities that impressed me most.
It is in a proper country park and we took the children walking in the woods several times (which is always an adventure when you are 7!), the proper play areas are superb, excellent play equipment and a fantastic little lake with a pirate ship for the children (OK, and me) to play on.
add to this the two (small) outdoor pools, good take away, pub, climbing and other play areas and it is especially good for families as there is little reason to leave, and happy children make a good break.
We were there for the only 3 days in July it was sunny, but although muddy at the bottom of the field most of the site had very good drainage.
I would definitely recommend it

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Handsome devil 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights and kids loved it. As with other comments, pitches are huge (we had tent, car & gazebo on ours with room to spare). Toilet / Shower block old and in need of updating but generally clean with plenty of hot water.
Shop small and only really sells essentials but expensive. Cafe bar very nice and modern offering a reasonable menu but can`t report on quality / quantity because we never dined there. Pirate ship, adventure park, etc all great fun & lots to do. Fantastic location with lots of trails,etc. We ate at the Dartbridge Inn a couple of times which is located just off the next junction on the A38 (Woodlands Adventure Park turning).
Should you forget any camping/caravanning items, you should be able to get these at nearby Outdoor Experience in Ashburton. There is a good accessories shop and they also sell tents and caravans. All in all, a very enjoyable trip and we`ll go again (in a caravan.getting too old for tenting now!).

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Big Frank 20 reviews from this member

We came year 20 years ago before kids so thought a return visit was due, and chose it for a brief 2 nighter at the end of our waterlogged south western tour. The setting is truely fantastic. The pitches are big and we were grateful to be on a hard standing as the site was waterlogged. The toilet block was kept admirably clean given the appalling conditions. It is great for kids with lots of thing to do. Didn't fancy the onsite catering but can recommend the Victoria inn in Ashburton where both the food & ale were first rate.
may well return for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen Ann 3 reviews from this member

We've stayed at this site twice. Once in 2006 for a week and again in July 07. The pitches are OK, a few are not quite level enough for our liking but on the whole they were a reasonable size and well serviced. On the plus side you can pre-book pitch numbers so if you were to see a pitch you fancy you can pre-book it for your next visit. The facilities are always clean and hot water is plenty. This is, however, a campsite you need good weather for so that you can make the most of the good choice of activities available. We will visit again as we enjoyed both our stays.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 55 reviews from this member

This is the kid's favourite site. It kept them occupied for hours. The pitches are huge (probably the biggest we've seen), we were next to a wooded area and the pitches were slightly sloping. (check when booking) This site is VERY popular and busy in high season so book way in advance. The park is large in a woodland/riverside setting. Lots for the kids to do - large playlake with wooden pirate ship (wetsuits and dinghies/inflatables recommended), snake slides, spider webs, ropes over water, outdoor pool (free), tennis (free), there are also "outdoor persuits" run by a separate company where you can go on high zipwires, hire indian canoes and rock climb indoors (charge for all these - but well worth it).

The takeaway was ok, if a little expensive.but Ashburton is nearby if you need to get anything.

In my opinion the best site in Devon if your kids are the "outdoors" type and you want to sit back and relax whilst the kids tire themselves out.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timbo249 3 reviews from this member

This was the first yearly outing with the tent and as a family we were more than happy with the location and facilities. We really enjoyed the variety of different activities located within the grounds. The communal blocks were clean and warm and no queueing either! Big thumbs up and if we ever get more than 48hrs of continuous sunshine we shall be speeding down the M5 to come here again.

Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 55 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3760 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391