Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oakdown Country Holiday Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Oakdown Country Holiday Caravan Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01297 680387

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby:
5m   5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 21st March To 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
              9/10 from 72 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (9) and Video

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 55 to 60                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barneydog 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site in Late May 2009 for three nights. We ended up on the new site next to the golf course.

Upon arrival we were shown our pitch by the site staff, the pitches on this side are large and flat, the toilets / showers are new and very clean and tidy. This area has a new play area for kids.

The road around this site is now gravelled so you should not have any trouble with mud in bad weather (we had lovely weather for our stay).

The golf shop is also a café serving coffees. The golf (pitch and put) is also good value and fun, even for us non golf players.

We had a lovely time; the kids loved the play area and spent most of their time there. We would stay again.

The site is very well run and the staff are very friendly and helpful and they added to the enjoyment, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 43 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site in a lovely position just outside Sidmouth. The facilities are excellent and spotless and the staff very friendly. It's next to the Donkey Sanctuary and we spent a couple of pleasant evenings walking round and patting the donkeys still out in the fields. There is a nice children's playground and even an internet room if you can't bear to be parted from your emails.

There isn't really a pub within walking distance but there was plenty of room to park motorhomes in the coach / long stay car park in Sidmouth opposite the Connaught Gardens, a few minutes walk into town. I believe there is a bus service into town from the main road but we didn't use it.

The only down side is the closeness of some parts of the site to the main road but that said it didn't keep us awake at night and we are light sleepers.

Nice one Oakdown. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Com_lag 3 reviews from this member

We had a fairly disastrous stay in Sidmouth, but it had nothing to do with the staff or facilities at Oakdown.

It rained almost every day, work interrupted our holiday and then our campers engine gave out.

Despite this we actually had a great time and the staff at Oakdown were a significant factor in this. They were all so friendly, so helpful and when, on the last night our camper had to return home on the back of a recovery truck they even loaned us a tent for a night so that we could collect our car and continue with our holiday.

The toilet block was spotless and facilities excellent. Despite the rain the children enjoyed the playground and a decent bacon sarnie in the morning and fish and chips in the evening meant that on arrival we didn't have to worry about getting the shopping in.

There's a Riverford shop in the garden centre down the road which also sells lovely bread from the Lyme Regis bakery.

This will certainly be a site we'll revisit again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hitchngo 2 reviews from this member

Very attentive staff on arrival when we were personally shown to our pitch and given a quick talk through the amenities available.

Pitches were all generally level and quite private with small hedges between you and the next pitch but not so much that you couldn't chat with your neighbour.

The site was immaculate and the staff seemed to be on the go all day, cleaning, taking rubbish away and carrying out general maintenance. The toilet facilities were always very clean and all visitors are encouraged to leave the showers and sinks clean after use. Mops and sponges are provided for this. There were good washing up facilities all under cover and warm which was great as we chose the wettest week of the year to visit! Lots of people were using the washers and dryers to get clothing and towels clean and dry and although there was a charge for the machines,it was minimal. Also in the block was a communal chest freezer for food and ice blocks, a microwave, and family bathrooms which incurred a small charge.

There is a lovely play area suitable for most children. Ours were 8 and 10 and enjoyed it.

There is no shop. Sweeties, ice creams and long life milk were available from reception but that was all.

Pitches on the northern side of the site (Oakdown and Oakmead) are quite close to the main A3052 and it is a very noisy road even at night so if it's peace and tranquillity you are after then ask for a pitch on the south side (caravans only) if you have a tent then accept that there will be road noise as tents only seem to be able to pitch on that side of the site.

The site has been expanded and now the recreational area adjacent to the golf course has been developed for further pitches, this is called Oakmead. Visit the website and download the brochure for a full park map. The week we visited the field was a quagmire due to the heavy rain although the site staff were dealing with the situation as well as possible.

Oakmead is not as developed as the Oakdown site and therefore does not have that degree of privacy and is also more exposed, although in time this will improve as the planting matures. The golf course looked nice but we did not try it as it was rather soggy. We did however try a cream tea in the coffee lodge which was disappointing as it was just lifted out of a fridge (chilled scones are not very nice). There is a mobile catering facility in the oakmead car park offering breakfast and take away suppers. We had fish and chips one night and it was lovely.

Overall we enjoyed our stay despite the rain and the only thing that would put us off going again is the road noise.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vixen123 6 reviews from this member

My family and I stayed at this site week commencing 9 August 2008. We arrived at the site in torrential rain and heavy winds and had to pitch our tent in this rain. (We also left the site a week late and had to pack the tent up in exactly the same weather!) We were on the 'new part' which is basically a field with no tarmac road through it and with all the heavy rain they had there, there was a mud track around the field which we had to continually walk through to get to the toilet block. They cannot be blamed for the weather, but I do think if they want to continue using this field for this purpose they really need to act to get it so that it is suitable for the purpose, ie lay tarmac or concrete for a roadway. We could not park our car next to our tent it had to remain at the very top of the field.There were caravans and cars actually being towed off the site by a tractor.
This was the only negative thing I can say. Overall if the weather was better the site would be an excellent standard. The toilets, showers and laundry room were all kept clean constantly by the onsite wardens. I must say they work extremely hard.

Our children were always at the play area and although not very big did not seem to get bored there. They did not want to leave and wanted to stay another week camping.

The area itself was great with plenty to do, although we only visited beaches at Sidmouth, Beer, Branscombe, Seaton, Lyme Regis and Exmouth. The majority of those are pebbly but Lyme Regis and Exmouth are Sandy.

We are planning our next holiday and will definitely revisit this site at some time in the future. The experience of the weather has not put us off in any way.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wigster26 3 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site in 12 months, this time with our own caravan.

The staff on site are all very helpful and friendly.

The site is very pretty and well laid out. The pitches are nice and spacious so you don't feel on top of your neighbour.

We had a super service pitch with it's own fresh water supply and grey water drainage direct to and from our van.

The main toilet block is clean and tidy but could you with revamping to bring it bang up to date. This block also houses washing up stations, ironing board, iron, baby changing and washers and dryers.

The reception is small and only stocks some of the more basic day to day items.

There is also a internet cafe with is pay per use type and is very reasonable.

Directly across the road there is a nine hole approach golf course with is immaculate. There is also a small coffee house here and it's nice to sit outside during the summer months with a cappuccino.

Overall this is a lovely park which services as a great base to visit east Devon and Dorset.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 55 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172