Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

Facilities of the usual high standard that is expected on a Caravan Club site. The wardens were very helpful, and no problems about arriving after 5pm.

The location is ideal - only a few minutes walk from the centre of Dulverton and local shops, including a late-opening Coop.

Exmoor is beautiful and unspoilt - narrow roads with passing places in some areas, but we were not discouraged from going where we wanted in a motorhome.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pam27 1 review from this member

We have just returned from the Exe Valley campsite, and I have to say it is a well kept well presented, adult only campsite.

I agree with some previous reviewers that you get the sun longer if you pitch on the mill side, but then you miss watching the river bubble past your pitch, therefore losing half an hours sunshine didn't appear too much of a sacrifice.

The wardens on arrival are friendly and helpful, even giving all those arriving a welcome cuppa! we were given a site map and told we could pick any of the non electric piches not taken and just to let them know which we had picked.

The toilets were clean as were the showers, and the piped radio very welcome. The dishwashing room was equipped with washing machine, tumble dryer, sinks, (of course!)ironing board and iron, and a microwave!

The shop was stocked with all the basics and good ice-cream too, the wi-fi is free and set in its own little shed and next to it is the payphone, the mobile phone reception was non existent for us, which we didn't worry about at all.

The pub a short walk from the site is called Badgers Holt. A friendly pub, serving good standard fare, that's not over priced, got to love the place mats! a stroke of genius! You will bump into almost every one from the site there at some point, but locals use it too.

All in all a really nice site that I heartily recommend, and will be returning to.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark dowdle 5 reviews from this member

Have just returned from yet another fantastic break at this gem of a site. As per our other stays at this site we found the toilet/showers clean and tidy and the grounds maintained to a fantastic standard, the wardens were friendly and helpful.

The dog walk up to the wier is much to good for just dogs so do give it a look,

Don't miss out on the badgers holt pub for its home cooked food and real ales. We have already planned another weekend there in July.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wellsade 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the jubilee bank holiday weekend we was offered tea or coffee by the wardens when we arrived was told what pitches was free.

Our pitch backed onto the river the river side is flat which is always a bonus when camping most pitches are of very good size.

Lots to do around the area even though it rained most of the weekend (well it was a bank holiday).

Would I go back I cant wait.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnbb 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights. On arrival was greeted by the Wardens and offered a warm drink. As the site was not busy was allowed to choose which pitch we wanted and given a plan of the site.

The site is in a lovely location, but been in the bottom of a valley it did get a bit cold during the night. If you want the sun in the morning the river side is best or the mill side for the afternoon.

The site is well kept and the toilet/showers are clean and warm with plenty of hot water. The dog walking area is excellant and our dog loved it thou' he did get a bit wet as he had to go into the river.

Just down the road is the Badger Holt. Only went on one night but the food and service were exelent. Check the blackboard outside for the opening times.

Also check the notice board at the site for special offers that the pub do. Also on Wednesday evening in Winsford (5 mins drive from site) there is a Fish and Chip van. Seams very popular but worth the wait.

Once again a lovely site in a lovely location with very friendly staff.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HyFy 1 review from this member

We visited this site for two days in order to try out our new motorhome.

It is in a very scenic and pretty area with walks directly from the site.

We must compliment the site. It was clean and well kept and bearing in mind that there had been weeks of rain beforehand it was reasonably well drained. All the usual facilities were available.

Our dogs were welcome and the dog exercise area was very clean with bins provided.

When we arrived we found a fault on our motorhome but the warden went out of his way to assist even to the extent of lending us equipment from his own personal things to sort the problem.

Just across the road from the site is the 'Badger's Holt' pub. The food was good and there was a wide variety of beers and acceptably priced wines. The landlord was very friendly. 'Clean and well behaved dogs on leads' are welcome in the bar. Booking a table for Sunday lunch might be advisable but there are tables outside if the weather is fine.

The approach roads are not the widest but other drivers appeared to tolerate slower moving motorhomes!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daznat 5 reviews from this member

Spent 8 days over the Easter weekend in this lovely part of the country.

On arriving at the site the wardens where very friendly and offer us a free hot drink which was very welcoming, We where then given a choice as to where we would like to pitch either river side or mill stream side, we chose the mill stream side.

The site itself was very well looked after and very quiet without kids which is why we chose this site.

We found the toilets and showers always clean but did think they could do with another set of male and female toilets and showers at the other end of the campsite. In the male showers the water was always hot but one shower was much better than the other.

There is a dog walking area with doggie bins which we dog owners should all be using and a lovely waterfall at the end where you can see dippers and other birds.

Close to the gates there is a local pub serving hot food and local drinks, the food and drink were ok and a fair price but not the best.

Lots of walk from the area but be aware you are in a valley so you have to start to walk up at some point and the hills are steep.

A great location and a great site for couples with dogs.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baz2 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a gloriously relaxing few days on this beautiful camp site where there is so much bird life and walking to be enjoyed.

The site is managed by wardens who are very nice and really helpful. The toilets and showers are clean and the water was hot when we used them.

There is a small shop on site selling basics if you have forgotten to bring something with you. Alternatively you could eat at The Badgers Holt Pub ( a few minutes walk away from the camp site entrance)where the food is very good. My husband had the wild game pie with 4 fresh veg and chips and I had a beetroot, leek and mushroom tart with new potatoes and salad (being a vegetarian myself, found it a refreshing change to find that I was catered for with something other than a vegy lasagne as is the usual fare in pubs). We washed them down with great local Exmoor ale. The pub also allows dogs into the bar area which was great and ours spent the evening in front of the log fire which was really cosy as the night time temperatures were pretty cold.

Dulverton is 6 miles away if you need some retail therapy and Minehead is 12 miles away if you need to walk your dog on the beach. Great location so we will be back later in the year.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 41 reviews from this member

This was our first experience of camping great site will definitely go again. Very friendly, dog walking area fantastic, showers very clean and loads of hot water. Very quiet and Wardens very helpful.

Loved the fact they gave you the option of 6 different walks from the site entrance with easy to follow instructions.

Would not really recommend the Badgers Holt to eat as food very average.

The small site shop sold all the essentials and at a reasonable price.

We stayed for 4 days in March this year with a good sized pitch and will return soon.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kwaterhouse 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site. The weather was fabulous for march and the roadside pitches get the latest sun.

The warden were helpful, with lots of local walks on flyers. Everything starts off uphill!

The site is very well kept and the toilets are clean. The river exe alongside was a trickle for my visit but after rain it fills up and you can fish off the bank.

Despite being on an 'A' road the road is very quiet with hardly any traffic.

The pub across the road was very good. Best steak and ale pie I've ever had.

There is a lovely little steam railway from Minehead to Bishop's Lydeard - worth a trip.

I Will definitely return later on in the season.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7291 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977