Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Silverhill Lane
Teversal
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG17 3JJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 551838

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (21)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyfisher 12 reviews from this member

Visited this site for a 3 night long weekend as it was half way between us and our friends we were meeting there.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They were very specific about where to pitch, as per the rules of the C&CC. The site has absolutely immaculate and fantastic toilets / showers & washing up area and I suspect you could never find any thing better than these! Never had to queue at all. Lots of hot water etc.

The site itself is small and (when we were there) mainly caravans and campervans. This has an impact on the 'scenic green view', as whilst there are a few small trees and bushes, the site is generally open plan, with lots of hard standing pitches. The site has level pitches of varying sizes.

There is a small playground, but children's facilities, particularly for older children, are limited, as there is no usable open space, e.G. For ball games. Whilst there is Silverhill wood across the road, this is not really suitable as it is meadow / woods. It was very disappointing that during a walk there, a lot of time was spent avoiding treading in dog dirt, as it appears to be used as a dog exercise area. Thankfully, the site itself did not have this problem!

I suspect it would be a good site to take bikes, as there are traffic free cycle routes nearby, but we didn't do this on this occasion. As we knew the area reasonably well, we didn't have trips out, but there are numerous places to visit if you have not been to this area before (e.G. Sherwood forest).

There is a pub within walking distance (but we didn't go) and a Co-op within 5 minutes drive. There's a small shop on site too for essentials, ice cream etc.

Overall a pleasant weekend. It would also for some be a potentially good stopover point on the way up or down the country, due to its central location and proximity to the M1 (Junction 28/29).

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Norahsuk2000 6 reviews from this member

Top Banana! We stayed here for two nights (my son's birthday and were going to alton towers). From arriving and staff helping us site the van to leaving and them waving us off it was perfect. The toilets/showers were out of this world (better than at home), the kids loved the playground and stayed out until dusk. I just can't fault it. Well stocked shop. Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjayem1964 6 reviews from this member

The welcome was warm and friendly and the camp shop was adequate for the essential, the locally sourced meat, bread and eggs (and the excellent Pipers Crisps).

There is a Co-operative and a Netto about a mile from the site and an Asda in Sutton in Ashfield. There is a lovely pub (The Carnarvon) close to the site and although not cheap, the food is lovely.

The showers and toilets were excellent and couldn't be faulted and there is a small recreation area for the children.

The area itself is home to a once prosperous coal mining area and due to the closure of the mining industry, this part of Nottinghamshire has been re-developed into park lands and good walking facilities.

The Silver Hill walks lead you to the highest point in Nottinghamshire, where it is said that on a clear day you can see over 5 counties. It is marked by the statue of a coal miner.

The weather was very kind to us, thankfully and yes, we plan to return to Teversal and the Great East Midlands in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Blongs 46 reviews from this member

I made a quick weekend trip to this site as I had just joined the C&CC and wanted to get some use of the membership.

I was welcomed by the warden on arrival and he was very nice and asked if I had been before etc. He then picked me a pitch in the evening sunshine and walked me up to the pitch.

The site is nice, well laid out and I had no problems getting my m/h onto the pitch.

The shower/toilet block is super. The best I have ever seen.

There is a small recycling area for glass etc and a nice little hut with tourist info stuff and leaflets.

I took my bike up the road outside the site for the 3 miles or so to National Trust Hardwick Hall, via the watermill at the bottom of the drive. A very good day out at this beautiful house.

The highest point in Notinghamshire is just over the road so its about 5/10 mins walk up to some fabulous views.

I had a walk to the Teversal Trails visitors centre but didn't really get the point of it. I think its a tea room run by volunteers. In the end I just walked around part of the trail and back to the site.

It is very good for walkers and cyclists.

You need to follow the directions in the C&CC book and not follow sat nav, especially in a caravan. I cycled the thin road the sat nave would have taken me on and I was having to stop and pull in to let cars pass me.

The site shop is nicely stocked and had local meat etc on offer.

There is an ASDA in Sutton in Ashbourne for the cheapest fuel around. A few pubs and a co-op in Teversal. There is a gastropub 2 mins from the site which I will probably go to when I go back with family.

A nice little relaxing trip with no problems at all.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Leecalladine 1 review from this member

This site is one of the finest that we have ever stayed at. It is exceptionally clean and tidy and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. They have a no noise policy after 10pm which is enforced.

The site has exceptionally clean toilet and shower facilities which must have cost an absolute fortune. I do feel however that this money may have been better spent developing further facilities for children, such as the small but adequate play area.

The site has many local attractions and is suberbly located to take in some of the best countryside Nottinghamshire has to offer. The nearby Teversal and Rowthorne Trails are well worth exploring and are a haven for cyclists and walkers. Hardwick Hsll is a few miles down the road and has a very beautiful park and gardens.

Within 100 yards of the site is an excellent pub/restaurant which serves quality meals. This site would make a great stopover due to its close proximity to the M1 motorway and its location in the centre of the country. We will certainly be visiting this site in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BJB1 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping trip and they have set the standard high.

Lovely friendly helpful owners/staff. Shower block constantly being cleaned and mops around if needed. Showers lovely and big and warm.

Family room was fab and really helpful.

Pitch was a nice size, plenty of electric hook ups, lovely childs play area bt not really noisy till all hours.

We had a lovely day out at Clumber Park too.

Overall a really good choice for a young family.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Walthams 26 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Friendly welcome. Well stocked shop including daily newspapers. Also locally sourced meat & pies - very tasty.

Shower rooms superb and very clean. Motorhome service point very accessible.

Opposite Silverhill Country Park, cycled round the park and used the Teversal Trail. Cycled to Hardwick Hall. Good pub at the bottom of the hill. Visited Hardwick Hall Farm Shop, excellent butchers, worth the cycle detour to visit. Carnarvon Arms is a very good gastropub - need to book on a Saturday night

In summary, excellent site for both on and off site amenities

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CamperWoman 6 reviews from this member

A lovely clean and tidy site. Small children's play area, which was very well used by our lot. Just over the road were great walks, ideal for kids and dogs. So good that we never really ventured anywhere else!

Easily the best showers/toilets I have ever happened accross, the under floor heating is wonderful and the hot water plentiful.

Little shop selling a few basics, and friendly staff, I'd definitely come again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MarkXXX 3 reviews from this member

A well kept site with friendly and helpful staff. For dog walking the superb Silverhill country park has it's entrance opposite the entrance to the site and via another couple of paths links to the Teversal visitor Centre that gives access to a network of longer routes on the old railway lines that have now been converted to paths open for walkers, cyclists and horse riders.

It is very much set in an old industrial landscape but the Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire local authorities are doing a superb job of converting it for recreational use.

The toilet facilities on site are without question the best I have seen on any campsite with privacy cubicles that include a shower, toilet, sink and seat. I have only seen this standard matched at a top end yachting marina. It is one of the clubs more expensive sites but you get what you pay for.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ScottieDottie 7 reviews from this member

This has to be the best C & CC site ever. The heated toilets and state of art facilities are wonderful. The area around the campsite has many lovely places to explore. Silverhill Country Park opposite is the best place to walk dogs and from the top of the hill the views are outstanding. We didn't take our bikes but there are some excellent trails to explore on 2 wheels.

There is a cheap carvery pub a short distance from the site and Asda is the nearest supermarket in Sutton in Ashfield.

A large designer outlet is close by to junction 28 of the M1 and on the main A38. In the opposite direction the A38 takes you towards Derby and many other interesting places to visit on the way.Sherwood Forest is not far away either and also the impressive Hardwick Hall and Chesterfield.

The facilities are good for those who wish to book super services pitches but some of these are on the small side.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game & Country Fair 25/04 to 26/04
Masses of fun and displays at the The Norfolk Showground - day tickets or you can camp over for the weekend.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8966 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015




Easter Hunt
Win an Awning
Follow the clues, find the answer, and have a chance to win a fantastic Easter prize - a caravan awning worth 169!




0.1016