Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norfolkenchants 2 reviews from this member

This is an exceptional site, well managed and beautifully kept. There are two reasons though I can't give it full marks. Firstly security - the main gate is locked after 11. 15 I think but there is no barrier entry system and anyone could drive in during the day. Having seen the strange gawd helpuses that inhabit nearby Glastonbury for us it was a worry. Secondly on our last night in an all superpitch area they sited a noisy couple in a tent next to us. Quite why they thought thus would work defeats me. Result - disturbed sleep. Not the couples' fault just a wrong call by the management.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TankieMac 1 review from this member

Wow! Where do I start? This was my first visit to this adult only, dog friendly campsite and I have to say it is fantastic. Starting with the efficient online booking system and followed by arriving at reception being met by the friendliest wardens you could wish to meet. We felt like old friends being welcomed. The pitches are all really spacious. The facilities are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the site. The shop is well stocked and you can pre-order fresh baked bread and newspapers. The dog walk is fully enclosed and big enough for some decent exercise. The walk up the Tor and on into Glastonbury was exhilarating. We didn't use the fishing lakes but enjoyed an evening stroll around it and a chat to a very successful fisherman! We will definitely be back to this 5 star site I just hope that we manage to get a pitch.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bunny boy 3 reviews from this member

Just got back after a great three night break, well what can I say one of the best sites we've been on. Well the site is so special so clean and tidy the facilities the toilet block and the views over the countryside are stunning. You cannot fault it. (and I'm picky). We went for a walk to Glastonbury followed the signs over the hill back of the campsite, we had a meal at the pub (you wood never have thought it) strange name but good food plus you get 10% voucher from campsite. We got a taxi back costing £7 not bad for 2 of us. Glastonbury itself is quirky did not know it was a hippy town. There's a morrisons on the edge of town. The weather was great all in all great. Thank you wardens credit to you. We will be back !

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: AndySally 2 reviews from this member

We visited The Old Oaks for the second time in April 2014 having been in September last year. We just fell in love with it the moment we got there. Despite the weather being less than the best on both visits we thoroughly enjoyed the site and the local surroundings. A very peaceful site with lovely views of the countryside. The fantastic shower block is the best I have seen, with en suite style bathrooms having a heated floor. The on site shop was well stocked and the homemade cakes are a must. The pitches are lovely with most offering fab views.

The Tor was only a short walk from the site and is recommended for those feeling energetic; it's well worth the effort when you get to the top. If you are not up to that then there are still some lovely walks around the area of the site. If you like shopping for a bargain then you must make a visit to Clarks outlet village - designer brands at reduced prices.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevasht 4 reviews from this member

Set just under Glastonbury Tor we stayed here for just three nights. The whole site was well maintained and in a beautiful location, our pitch, a 'super pitch' was superb with stunning views. The toilet facilities were second to none and the only criticism was that the hand dryer in the older of the two toilet blocks was one of those weak older things, the sort where walking out and waving your hands about was just as effective as using the dryer. That said this is about the only negative thing I can mention about the site.

On an 'orientation trip' around the site we visited the newer of the toilet blocks and this was fantastic. That said the older block, still outshines (literally) most campsite.

We visited the nearby Clarkes Village Outlet - there was some cheap stuff if you looked. Just a tip, the first car park you get to from the site was very busy and no spaces - go up the small incline to the traffic lights, on the dual carriageway and follow the alternative car park signs, this took us to a half full car right next to the outlet village.

Our stay was brief and we used it as a base to travel looking for motorhomes - so didn't really explore the local area in any detail. Would definitely go back again - hopefully with a motorhome, and explore the area in more detail - it seems to be a site where you can walk to a few places, or just sit relax and enjoy the view.

Can I find any faults with the site? - well I mentioned the hand-dryer (not a big issue) - the biggest problem I found was when leaving - just cant work out when we will get the chance to go back. 10/10 all around for me

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dajosprite 1 review from this member

Wow! Where do I start? This was my first visit to this adult only, dog friendly campsite and I have to say it is fantastic. Starting with the efficient online booking system encompassed within an accurately informative website, arriving at reception being met by the cheeriest wardens you could wish to meet and not just on arrival but throughout the stay whenever you see them. The facilities are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the site and staff couldn't be more helpful. My visit comes a few days before the minibus and day trips start but even before the season kicks in properly you can pre-order fresh baked bread, newspapers & a new service - the Friday fish & chip run. My only concern……. Will I manage to get a pitch as often as I'd like to visit.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prof9 3 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites we have visited and found the facilities the best we have ever used the unisex suites are an excellent idea and the whole of the block was kept very clean, and the grounds tidy and well kept. Pitches were excellent with plenty of space between, the staff were very pleasant an helpful with an excellent shop and services provided we will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Retired teddybear 1 review from this member

Brilliant adult only site. All the staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. Myself and my husband were running a rally for the Bessacarr Owners Club and were made extremely welcome and on request we were allowed to use the information room for our meetings. There was a shop on site which was well stocked and the town of Street within 5 minutes drive away. We also booked a skittle alley at a local pub for our Saturday night get together. We could do with a lot more sites like this one. It was great.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raychel 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this beautiful site whilst visiting the Fairy Festival in Glastonbury.

We had a very warm welcome and were shown to a nice corner pitch. Although it was quiet the units had not been squashed into one area and were nicely spread out around one of the luxury toilet blocks.

Facilities are excellent, individual shower rooms were great for getting into my steampunk fairy costume, much easier than in the van.

Very clean and well maintained. Great location although it was too wet to do the short walk to the Tor. Will go back again in a dryer(!) month.

Glastonbury is adorable, like a mind, body, spirit fair on the high street. Just a shame it's so far away or we would go more often.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 29 reviews from this member

We arrived to a very warm welcome and a great sense of humour from the wardens. The site was both spacious and immaculately presented. The pitches were all large and it was very peaceful. We could only hear the birds and the owls at night. There are some lovely walks with extensive views across the Mendip Hills. The shower/toilet block was first class with underfloor heating. We asked if we could extend our stay on the Sunday and they were very accommodating, finally leaving the site at 5pm. We could not find fault with anything. Everything had been thought

About. Although we don't live far away, we will definitely return. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend break.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5784 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1719