Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Preston99 1 review from this member

Toilet block is clean and functional. There appears to be only 3 showers (1 mens, 2 ladies) to service the entire site which meant there was always a queue unless you went at midnight.

View is outstanding and the tent fields face the sea. You can pitch 'anywhere' and the ground is level-ish. The beach isn't great. More mud than sand but good for walking into town if you don't mind scrambling over rocks.

Pub (Silverdale Hotel) served decent food at about 8 for fish and chips. Other cheaper and more expensive options available.

It did get noisy due to the number of campers but the kids slept though it so no real bother. 10 a night (six man family tent) is great value although I'd happily pay a bit more for more facilities and stricter (noise) wardens.

Would definitely go back though.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magdolin 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely midweek break at Gibratar farm. The views are lovely. We have been there a few times now and much prefer it midweek when there is loads of space and it is lovely and peaceful.

Both pubs in the village are nice the food at the silverdale hotel is fantastic huge portiens and lovely fresh ingredients cooked to perfection. Spent most of my break relaxing reading and looking out across the bay which is one of the nicest views I have seen from any campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JaxG 11 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a tremendous location, we picked it due to being just over 1 hours drive from home and for the walks in the area.

We had an electric pitch very close to the woods and the walks which was ideal with our two Labradors.

Site wardens very pleasant and helpful.

The shower/loo facilities whilst being nothing special but clean, with two showers in the ladies (one did had a dodgy shower hose, but it didn't bother me too much) and about 5 loos. I didn't have to queue at the times I went.

The walk down to the village takes about 20 mins, and the village has a co-op that is open till 10pm every night. There are also a couple of pubs that allow dogs in the beer garden.

We walked back along the coast, and its spectacular.

There was loads of kids running around having fun, didn't notice late night noise, but did have ear plugs in ;-)

Would I go back, yes, would I recommend it, yes :-)

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rubyroo75 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 nights at Gibraltar Farm with toddler and 6 year old, and would recommend it.

The country lanes to the site can be a bit hair-raising for novice towers and beware of trusting sat navs. Our's tried to take us up an impossible lane (Crag Lane). When leaving M6 at Junction 35 go through Carnforth town. You have to pass through a farm to enter the site. NB the stewards only accept cash, which was quite embarrassing as I didn't know that.

The site itself is basic no kids play areas and dated toilet blocks. Only 1 shower for men, but water was hot and free, and blocks were cleaned daily.

Our caravan pitch was a very good size with plenty of room for awning on hardstanding area. EHU pitches were well laid out. The non-EHU were more random, but even on bank holiday weekend, they didn't seem to be crammed in.

There are lots of places for kids to climb and explore on the site.

We were given an info sheet on site on arrival, which advised the route to take to the beach. Was a quiet pretty walk but led to a stone wall which had to be climbed (not easy with a young toddler) and we were then faced with a rocky cove. No way our kids could've navigated the rocks to the sand, not without broken ankles anyway. Best to head on into Morecambe for a 'proper' beach.

The sheet also advised of a natural waterfall.This area was very pretty with some good walks but the idea of a 'waterfall' was rather embellished.

It was a short walk into Silverdale village with 2 pubs and convenience store.

The weekend was slightly marred by the noise levels after 10pm, from groups of kids and adults alike. Even though the site stewards were opposite us, there was no attempt to quieten anybody down. Fortunately it didn't go on too late, but still very frustrating.

All in all though a lovely interesting site. Not bog standard field, a great location for walking, great views / surroundings and very reasonably priced at 15 per night for caravan, EHU, awning, 2 adults and 2 kids.

Will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trav45 3 reviews from this member

This site is in cracking location, with stunning views. Great for the kids with rocks, woods and even a couple of caves to explore. Facilities nice and clean with plenty of hot water.

Only one minus is that on the tent field you are not allowed campfires /firepits yet on caravan side its ok? Talking to the warden he said that tents may not be allowed on site in the future due to a dispute with the council this would be a great loss to campers who use tents, lets hope it is resolved in our favour.

Will be returning in the summer

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shell7088 2 reviews from this member

We arrived in not too good weather. Traditional British by the coast. Dull and windy! We were camping in a tent.

The wardens were helpful and friendly. They had details of local walks and were eager to help. There were regular patrols from the warden on his quad during the day to check the site.

Facilities were very basic but the toilet block was cleaned regularly. It was too cold for most of us to attempt to shower due to lack of heating and the old building.

It is a working farm and it was nice to take the kids to look at the calves and lambs. There are lovely coastal views and plenty of nice walks nearby. They also liked the ice creams! The site would benefit from a shop selling the basics.

The prices reflect the facilities to be fair and we would consider returning for a weekend in the summer months. You probably get what you pay for here.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gemold 2 reviews from this member

We had the pleasure of staying at Gibraltar Farm for our first family camping trip in our new tent, after a recommendation from a friend.

We had the most wonderful time!

We were a family of seven for our weekend break! (Nanny, Granddad, Me, Dad, and 3 kids ages 6, 4 and 3 - with a large tent and 2 cars.)

Directions to the site are excellent and we were made welcome on arrival by the on site warden and we were able to choose our own pitch in the large tent field. The farm is next to the coast and the views out into Morcambe bay are beautiful and the sunrises and the sunsets were wonderful to see.

It's 20+ yrs since I last camped and I was very pleased with the washing and toilet / bathroom facilities. There's free hot water on demand for dishwashing and bathing and a large family shower room was a blessing! Despite being away from the site most of the Saturday we saw the toilet block being cleaned thoroughly twice - they were lovely and clean and never without tissue and soap!

We walked the 15/20 min footpath along the coast to Silverdale village, admiring the views and watching guided bay walks. The village is small but has ample facilities - 2 pubs serving food - recommend the roast in the Royal Oak. The post office and newsagents, co-op, and butchers were used by us - very friendly staff in all. We walked back to the site through the village - lovely houses to look at for those nosey ones of you!

There's a great view to be had all the way to Lancaster and Heysham from Giants' Pepperpot just north of the village.

The site sells it's own home made ice cream - I can certainly recommend the Irish cream - delicious!

Our three children had the most wonderful amount of freedom and spent the whole weekend running, climbing, hiding and exploring and did not want to come home! I felt they were very safe and the other seasonal campers made us all feel looked after and welcome - we were even invited to join in the camp fire night and conker fights!

We will definitely return at the earliest opportunity.

I am glad to take the time to write this review as a thankyou for our fabulous weekend.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeep68 3 reviews from this member

I've visited Gibraltar Farm 7 times this summer and have enjoyed every trip. 1st time was in May, and then it's been every 2-3 weeks.

Most were taken with the same set of friends. Everyone who has been thought it was a great location. The views over Morecambe Bay on a clear day are fantastic.

I can only echo what most people have said about the facilities, such as queueing for showers, very clean toilets, etc. We got past this by just going for a shower a bit later!

My friends and I are already looking forward to plenty of visits next year!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Taxi irene 5 reviews from this member

Had a lovely three day mid week break on this site, a working farm great to see the farmer herding the cows for milking with the help of his children and dog, lovely quiet site,Pitches well spaced out with plenty of room for the awning (tv reception very poor ) wonderful views of the bay and surrounding country side with spectacular sun sets Toilet block very clean, plenty of hot water,2 shower's in the ladies,, one being a family one, 1 disabled toilet (tap on sink didn't work ) and 4 other toilets. Lovely stroll to the village 15mins down wide country lanes. Hope to go back there very soon

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmino09 1 review from this member

We have recently returned from Gib Farm. Having read other reviews, we expected a windy site. We were not disappointed. O my it was windy.

The weather seems to change very quickly from wind and rain to blazing hot sun. This all added to the fun.

The toilets and showers were perfectly adequate and were cleaned regularly. Although baby wipes sufficed for a day or so for us. The water was piping hot at the dish washing sink.

The view on entering the campsite is absolutely breathtaking and I was annoyed with myself for not taking a photo of this view as I left to come home. We were a family with 4 tents and there was ample space between us and our fellow campers, although we did go mid week. I would not hesitate to go back to Gib Farm and hope that the wind can just hold off until the tents are up. But hey it all adds to the fun (and arguments). I defy anyone to put a tent up in the wind and not get just a little bit mad.

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0979