Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
              9/10 from 191 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Siddydiddy 3 reviews from this member

We use to visit here yearly during peak season as it is without a doubt a well kept, clean site with plenty of amenities for children of all ages and a lovely out door swimming pool to boot.

It is a shame that this site allows large groups to stay, as I am sure many other families would return year after year if this was stopped.

We still stay out of season as it takes on a different kind of camper-good old fashioned respectable campers - we especially love September when the apples are falling in the orchard.

Lets hope it stays that way.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulines7 2 reviews from this member

We Stayed at Cofton in our touring caravan for four nights in July 2010, a couple of weeks before the school holidays. The site check in system was easy and the staff in reception very helpful. However, we could not book a super pitch as they are only available on a weekly basis. The cost is high too, as there is a £5.50 a night surcharge for them. Normally a super pitch just has itís own drinking water, waste water drainage and electricity but these had brick hard standings and barbecues..

We were told to drive around the site to choose a pitch and we were pleased to be able to do this. The site is huge and we were surprised how many people had been packed in. The pitches are fairly close together on the terraced field but we had room for our caravan, awning and car alongside too with a couple of feet spare. Having a caravan mover made it easy to get the caravan onto the pitch. There was no privacy though as the terraces are very close together and we over looked the people below us. We could see what they were eating and hear what they were talking about as they were so close, but there were also lovely views of the surrounding countryside. A camper a couple of terraces further up played music which we could hear despite being about 50 yards away.

Although the pitches were wide, some people had put up wind breaks which extended into neighbouring pitches. A couple pitched a tent next to us and their guy ropes were right on the boundary despite having about 30 feet spare the other side of their tent. This, and the fact that the people opposite had an additional car parked by their caravan and awning, meant that we had difficulty getting our car out and had to manoeuvre backwards and forwards several times. We feel that the staff at Cofton should have gone around and got people to move additional cars to the car park at the bottom of the field. Perhaps they should also have talked to those people who were encroaching on other peoples pitches

There was an additional field for caravans and tents but it was closed. We feel that if they had opened this huge area there would have been less congestion in the main field. Not everyone likes to be crammed in like sardines with everyone else.

We didnít use the toilet and shower block as we prefer to use our own facilities in the caravan. However, my husband had a peek in and said they were very clean and everything well maintained. However it was difficult to fit a hose on the tap providing drinking water.

It was a long way to go to the dog walk from where we were pitched.

We didnít try the club/pub or pool but we did use the shop and it was well stocked and prices seemed reasonable.

We were able to use Camping Cheques for our four nights stay but if we had been paying cash it would have been over £100 for two adults and a dog. I have therefore rated the value for money on someone paying the full rate. Using Camping Cheques I would give it 5 or 6 out of 10. With friendly staff, beautiful surrounding countryside and great facilities, it was let down by the actual pitches.

The surrounding area has a lot to offer and is very beautiful. We didn't go to the beach at Dawlish Warren as we personally dislike fun fairs but we really enjoyed the walk along the front at Dawlish and seeing the trains coming and going. Tignmouth was also very pleasant and unspoilt.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Warnesy 1 review from this member

This site was recommended to me by a friend that had been there a few years ago. It is a lovely site and I will definitely return.

My only gripe was that I had booked at the same time as some friends with the view of pitching next to each other ( which we asked for when booking ) Upon arrival we were told to pitch wherever we liked (which sounds great!) However we were really lucky to find 2 spare pitches together after a thorough search. Gripe over !

The pool was lovely and warm and the grounds were very clean. We stumbled across some donkeys and a play area in the woods which the children loved.

The toilets/shower facilities were also excellent. The bar staff were very good as well seeing it was an extremely hot weekend they let our children have glasses of water whenever they liked :) We didn't use the chipshop but when we popped in the amusement arcade it was pretty much destroyed. The pool table was ripped, air hocky table pucks were shoved in the grab machine etc.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snunkie 4 reviews from this member

£42.50 per night for 2 adults and 4 children aged 2,4,7,8 - bit extortionate we thought! We booked this the morning we arrived so could probably have got it cheaper by pre-booking, but it's a lot of money to pitch a tent and to use the pool

Well stocked shop

Lovely outdoor pool with nice surroundings

Nice area

Pitches weren't allocated, you could pick one that was free. Electric hookup was available

There was an on site fish and chip shop & bar/restaurant, both of which we tried and were ok

Evening entertainment, although it was Karaoke - not our favourite entertainment

Beautiful walks around the fishing lakes. A perfect site if you like to walk or fish

Wasn't keen on the pitches. No screening on separation at all - very poor value for money pitch-wise

Good facilities but we've seen much better for a fraction of the cost

Probably wouldn't return due to cost

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry+Simon 3 reviews from this member

We have spent a couple of weekends here, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The pitches are a reasonable size and the parks cater for all sages as there are 3 on site, in addition there is also a pool which is nice. The toilet and shower blocks are clean and tidy.

There is a shop on site, clubhouse with food served in the bar and also a takeaway.

Good location, close to Dawlish and Torquay/Paignton if you fancy a trip to the zoo.

There is only one minor point that perhaps the site, needs to address. The road that bisects the site has no obvious crossing.

Overall, a really nice site but a little too expensive in high season!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beerandtools 7 reviews from this member

This was only our third trip in our caravan and was chosen because of the daily mirror 95p per pitch per night offer. With hook up it actually cost us £5.95 pppn. But what a great time we had.

We didn't arrive til after 7pm and there was no one around to tell us where to pitch. However, the staff in the Swan Pub (which is part of the site) were very helpful and after making a quick phone call they told us where to go.

I have read other reviews of this site and I can believe that we would have had more difficulty if the site was wet, but on the hottest weekend of the year, so far, this was not an issue. The site is very clean and well maintained.

The shower and toilet facilities were spotless and piped music in the showers is really quite a pleasant experience. On the first night we ate fish and chips from their own take away shop and they were excellent.

On the first morning of our stay we were disappointed that the lovely swimming pool was not due to open for another week, which considering the heat wave we had was a shame. However, the management found a life guard from somewhere and they did open the pool, much to our and evryone else's joy. The pool is great with grassy surrounds and kept beautifully.

FISHING: They have their own coarse fishing lakes which you need to buy a day permit for and be a holder of a fishing licence, but the fisherman in our party enjoyed them.

SHOP: A great little shop, well stocked with food, trinkets, beer and wine, fresh bread and milk, bags of ice, clothes, and camping spares galore.

SHOWER/TOILETS: Clean and fresh, temperature variable showers and piped music.

WATER POINTS: Plenty, good quality water.

ELSAN DISPOSAL: Very user friendly.

PUB: The Swan pub is great, On certain nights they have entertainment, quizzes, bingo etc and I even won a Chocolate Orange for stuffing the most number of marshmallows in my mouth.! (should I really be proud of that?)

PLAYGROUND: Brilliant, safe and clean.

LOCAL AREA: Starcross is only a mile away and home of Brunel's Atmospheric railway. You can also catch the Exmouth ferry here. There is a great little 9 hole golf course that only costs £5 a round. Dawlish is a short drive in the other direction and it boasts plenty of places to eat and drink.

SUMMARY: Would we go back? Most definitely. This is a very well run site, the staff are professional and very helpful. My only criticism would be that the shop opening hours are a little limited closing at 6pm as does the swimming pool. But we had a great time, Thank you Cofton.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mozza30 5 reviews from this member

Stopped here for Easter week and would fully recommend this site. The site is very well manicured and in a lovely setting amongst Devon's rolling hills. Toilet facilities are excellent and being cleaned, what seemed, all the time.

There is a pleasant pub on the site with limited entertainment but there is also a couple of nice pubs within walking distance in the village. The pool area looks lovely but wasn't open this early in the season which was a shame as we hit on some great weather. We like to try new sites but I am sure we will be returning to this one in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cshutts 3 reviews from this member

This was our first trip in our new caravan, and first trip as caravanners! We booked a hard standing pitch and ended up by the lake. Booking was easy and the staff were all very helpful, no problems there.

The site is lovely, beautiful surrounding area, lots to see and do. Site well kept, although there was loads of mud (cannot be helped as lots of rain leading up to the trip), just go prepared. Play areas spread out, but excellent, two typical play parks and one in the forest.

Did not use facilities, used own. Toilet block did look clean on the one trip there. Would not recommend being by the lake though as the geese woke us at 05.30 each morning, so if you like to get up early then this is the spot for you! However, would recommend this site, despite the whinge about nature.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joy davies 6 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site surrounded by green fields and woods there are several woodland walks available and good fishing lakes two being for over 18s only and some very big fish are stocked in the lake.

When we arrived (the weekend before Easter) and after a week of rain we were told to just pitch anywhere we liked I particularly requested a site away from the traffic on the main road which you can hear very clearly. After driving round and checking the boggy pitches we decided to upgrade to hard standing, something there is very little of for a site of this size. I must say that this included a tv point so we did not have to erect our own ariel, they also have a few super pitches that include your own water supply but it is mainly grass. I would recommend taking some time to study the map and get a good idea of the site layout before heading off to pitch.

The reception staff - some were helpful some not quite so, the shop was poorly staffed and stocked considering it was the first big holiday weekend, the nearest big supermarkets are in Exeter 10 miles away although there are small shops in both dawlish warren and dawlish itself, but be aware of the expensive parking in dawlish.

The toilets / showers were clean which considering the amount of mud everywhere was a miracle, but do be warned the grass pitches if its been raining will be very waterlogged, in fact whilst we were there at least 50 pitches were closed off due to water log. They also have a no refund policy

We did not use the bar or takeaway but did stop to check out the prices at the takeaway £1.70 for a portion of chips but on the whole a relaxing site

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bob61 20 reviews from this member

This would not normally be my type of site since in the summer months I would imagine it to be very busy and commercial with a swimming pool, bar, shop, take-away foods, games room etc. However, in the winter I can only describe it as basic with no facilities except the washroom.

The site advertises itself as 'open all year' but even with a UKCS Meet on site the 'heated' toilet and shower facilities were decidedly chilly. The water could only be described as luke warm in both the wash basins and the washing up sinks, the latter making the washing of greasy pots and pans very difficult. The hot air hand dryers were cold, which is the last thing you need on a frosty morning.

Perhaps the winter is not a good time to judge and review any campsite so my comments have to be taken in that light.

Again, this was a winter camp and so I expected some dampness under foot and maybe a little mud here and there but the pitches in the front fields where the Meet was held were waterlogged. I managed to find a relatively dry pitch but it wasn't long before there was more mud than grass. The pitches did not seem very well drained at all. Vehicles and motorhomes were getting bogged down and more than one needed a push or tow out.

The front fields are also alongside the busy main road so there was constant traffic noise during the day and for a good part of the night. There are some peaceful woodland walks nearby.

Dawlish and Dawlish Warren seemed a little 'run' down'. There is very little of interest or scenic value. The best place I found was Cockwood Harbour, a picturesque setting about 10 minutes walk from the site. Here are two pubs/restaurants, the Anchor and the Ship. Both are more geared up for food rather than drink.

Owner's comments : We are open all year round, our Reception (closing only for Christmas day, Boxing day and New Years day) is always staffed however it is not viable to keep amenities such as the shop, bar, take-away and pool open out of season. Essentials are available for purchase from Reception if required. Opening times of additional facilities are clearly stated in our brochure and prices are low out of season to reflect these are not available.

We were not aware the hand dryers were not working or that the hot water was not up to temperature and had we been informed it would have been attended to. We are more than happy to sort issues out but do need to be informed if there is a problem we have not noticed.
As the reviewer says it was the middle of winter and the weather was a lot colder than normal. Being part of a larger rally a lot of the party were unable to make it due to the snow. The reviewer was also the only member of the party in a tent which is unusual for anyone to camp out at that time of year. The group had use of our bar for a New Years Eve party and feedback was very good when they left therefore we were shocked to read such a negative review from a member of the party.

Our pitches can get wet during heavy rainfall but soon dry out once the sun shines again. We rely on holidaymakers to take care when driving on grass and during problem periods request that they test the ground before driving on if needs be.

We are a large site set in a secluded valley with 450 pitches, many with superb countryside views. Dawlish and Dawlish Warren would not have looked there best as again it is out of season and the traders rely on the holiday season, it is not viable for them to trade all year round. Dawlish Warren has again been awarded the Blue Flag status Ė this is not an easy status to attain and it is one of only 88 in the country. There is also a National Nature Reserve at Dawlish Warren and it is dedicated as a Special Area of Conservation.

Finally the two pubs in Cockwood do a fantastic array of food and local ale. They are very popular with the locals and have a great community atmosphere all year round.

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


85 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1250