Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rhysmidge 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for a couple of days as we had just bought a motorhome. The pub on the site was excellent, with an open fire and a small children's play area to entertain the kids. Unfortunately it was only open for a couple of hours due to being low season. We would definitely recommend this site for the views and the peace, but be ready for a walk of about 3 miles to the nearest village for anything else

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missizippi 9 reviews from this member

We had a lovely few days here at the start of half term. It was nice to find a site that didn't price extra per child although I felt the advertised price of 28 per night quite steep. However, site was lovely.

Quiet location. Zero tolerance from the owners regarding antisocial behaviour which was great. Bar area was great, friendly and had a lovely welcoming atmosphere.

The ladies toilets/showers were being renovated and so the ladies and children had sole use of the family bathrooms. These were lovely and I would welcome them in addition to showers. During our stay they were more than adequate for our needs and were warm and cosy with plenty of hot water. There were no problems with water or electrics during our visit.

The site is very environmentally friendly recycling is actively encouraged with bins for everything.

Location - great for walking. We had a couple of days out in keswick including Honister slate mine (well recommended) but to fully appreciate the area you will need a car.

The children's outside play area was fantastic and our pitch was beside it. The kids were very well catered for, both outside but also in the games room, table football, air hockey etc.

The free wifi available in the bar area also stretched to our caravan most of the time which was a bonus and meant I was able to continue working without having to drag everyone down to the bar all the time.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tannerman 1 review from this member

We visited this site for a New Year break and it is wonderful, The site is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The shower and toilet areas are clean and well kept and look very modern,plenty of hot water and heating made for a pleasant stay.

On arrival you go up a lane past a pub then the road gets very narrow (single track) don't panic the camp site is up at the top, the site entrance is quite steep so if you have a twin axle tourer I would pull it to the right and onto level ground to avoid any burning clutch moments.

The site is well thought out and the bar area is amazing,the shop well stocked and you 'must' do the walks provided these are superb and are all circular. They start from the campsite so you can leave the car.

If you want to eat out there are several pubs in the area but in my opinion these are within driving distance, there is a pub at the bottom of the road but this is very expensive around 12 to 18 for a main.

The only downside for me was the 10 amp electric which meant because it was winter the gas took a hammering as if you even tried to flick it on low it tripped out. We were told that this is being revamped for 2011 so all in all a superb site with beautiful views and walks. I would visit it again and I would recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mpb276 1 review from this member

Stayed for 3 nights (Fri-Sun) in the 2nd week of September. 2 adults and 2 kids (4 & 1).

Easy enough to find and quite nice views.

On check in the staff were friendly and we were quickly shown to our pitch.

There's a small circular road running through the campsite with the pitches off that, so you can park up there to unload then move your car off, some people managed to park on their pitch too but we couldn't. Pitches are all levelled into the slope so it's a stepped arrangement, on gravel but if your tent has a carpet it won't bother you.

Nice view of the surrounding area, could see when the rain was coming in.

Plenty of water points.

Bathrooms were very good. The Mens looked to have been recently refurbished, plenty of hot water and always clean.

Ladies was apparently not as new as the Mens but still clean with plenty of hot water and the wife had no complaints. Some of the toilets in the Ladies had booster seats for kids built in which my little girl loved.

Family bathrooms were very good and no extra to use. Only criticisms are no changing table for the younger ones and it would have been nice to have some cleaning products in there so we could clean, rather than swill, the bath once finished. But that's just me being picky as everything else was great.

There's a microwave, great for heating the kids milk first thing in the morning, fridge and freezer (brill for refreezing the freezer blocks overnight) that are there for everyone to use.

Bar has a children's play area inside of it for under 5's and there's a games room just outside the bar for older kids. Bar was reasonably priced too, think it was 2.50 for a pint.

The site is pretty eco friendly which was a nice touch, see their website for details.

Enjoyable stay, will definitely go again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tarny 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site,in stunning surroundings,we shown to our pitch by a very friendly and helpful girl,

As we tried to peg the awning down we realised that the pegs that we had were not tough enough to penetrate the stony ground it was like bell metal, but in the small but well stocked shop they just happened to have a lot of very strong rock pegs for sale at 80p a go,

The showers and loos are clean and tidy and plenty of them,waste facilities are good and is the recycling, good dog walk area,

The barn that has been converted into a pub is brill,big open fire loads of bits of old things hung on walls etc,

There is a kids area with small ballpool area, pool table, air hockey, tv room. Great site with good facilities for all we cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slinkycat 6 reviews from this member

We went to this site for the first time 21-26 Aug. We had a 6 birth tent with EHU. We were allowed to check in a little early as we arrived at 11.15am.

Shown our pitch which was towards where most of the log cabins and caravans were. We were given a pea gravel pitch (which we ended up appreciating due to the amount of rain that feel while we were there). We were actually given a pitch that should have been given to a caravan, and we didn't really feel it was big enough for out tent, we had no space to put our windbreaker, as we were next to a path and couldn't put it there.

We also had to trail our EHU lead really far and it trailed over a path used by the kids to get to the playground. That said, this is a decent site.

Extremely basic shop, lovely pub with very hot log fire, board games,soft play area and snooker,etc. Some lovely walks right on your doorstep, we did the Little Mell Fell (4 miles) and Aira Force walk (8 miles) lovely being able to walk straight from campsite without taking car. 6 miles to Morrisons.

Site has waterpoints all over. 6 washing up sinks. 4 showers in ladies toilets, with step and decent shower. Laundry room, 3 family bathrooms with bath, no deposit needed. Playground is fairly decent, was pretty boggy so daughter only used it a couple of times, wooden tunnel,swings,and climbing.

Large playing field. The non electric pitches looked pretty sloped. Nearest pub about 1 and half miles away, didn't have anything as prices seemed really steep for meals, and we normally tend to make all our own meals.

Overall for me a nice site, but for 30 a night for 2 adults, 1 child with a tent with EHU, we thought quite expensive. We ended up leaving a night early as our tent sprung a few leaks from the horrendous weather we had, but site is in perfect location, probably wont go back though.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TimsTent 2 reviews from this member

The Quiet Site was recommended to us by some good friends as a good family site and we agree! The prices are not the cheapest but the facilities and level of service more than compensate.

The site is set on the side of little Mell Fell overlooking the valley and lake. The site does not have lake assess. No midges. Children and adults are well catered for with a fantastic bar, children's room for the older ones and soft play for the under 5's. Small TV room. Bathrooms dotted about the site as well as very clean and services. Gents all new, ladies fine.

There are fantastic walks that start at the site entrance but most importantly for us was that the site has a really nice feel about it. This is not a huge park which becomes unbearable at busy times but a well organised site that, even when full has a 'quiet' atmosphere.

Campers all seemed respectful of one another. We felt very happy to let our 3 young children explore the play field without supervision, as seemed to be the case with most families.

We stayed on one of the Top pitches which have great views over the lake, but are further from the services.

All the staff seemed friendly and happy to help.

We were pleased to be associated with a park that obviously makes such an effort with the environment. Solar energy, biomass heating, water and waste recycling are important to our family.

The small shop sold some of the most delicious sausages we have ever tasted. Will return.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mannhoole 3 reviews from this member

This was our first time at the site and found the location lovely with great views. The facilities were great - family bathrooms with baths a great plus for our family with 2 small children. Also a microwave for warming the milk.

There was plenty of room in the fridges & freezers on site, and even though this was peak season we only had to wait a few minutes for showers / bathrooms. The bar is lovely & cosy especially on a cold wet night with a great soft play area for under 5's but as it only opened at 7pm, we didn't get to use it much. The outdoor playground and field was loved by our children.

However, we found the management running the site to be unfriendly on a number of occasions which made us feel unwelcome. Therefore, due to this we will not be returning to the site and would not recommend it which is a shame as everything else was great.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EJAG 4 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this site twice within about 2 weeks. This is generally a lovely campsite, the play area/recreation field is brilliant - the children loved being able to roam around. There are loads of toilets, a few showers & these are cleaned regularly.

The bar is absolutely lovely, full of charm plus there's a games room downstairs where the children enjoyed table tennis & air hockey. Upstairs there is an under 5's soft play area that looked good however our children were too old to use it. The shop was a little disappointing in that it was not very well stocked & bit of a waste of time really.

The site is very well maintained & the views around the campsite are lovely.

The first time we stayed we were given a plot next to a camping pod as we requested so that we could be near friends. It was at the entrance of the tent field & a great location for popping to the facilities. Our friends found the pod great although they found sleeping by the door drafty & the prices were more expensive that other sites that include a heater & lighting in the price.

The second time we came we were given a plot in the furthermost corner of the tent field. Initially we thought this was lovely but it was a trek in the middle of the night to pop to the loo plus throughout our 2 night stay we discovered lots of dog doo in that corner! It was rather unpleasant & we were continually watching our 6yr old - being a young boy he wasn't looking where he was putting his feet!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walk1camp1 3 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights at this site with the kids recently - this is a great site in a really good location.

There was an outdoor play area for the kids (basic but kept them entertained) and plenty of space to run around in. There was also an indoor soft play area for under 5s as well as a couple of games rooms. I have to say I was very impressed with the on site bar - it was great to have such a nice bar and ales available on site. The nearby kings arms is also well worth a visit and offers good pub food and ale.

Showers, toilets and washing areas were well specified and maintained - I liked the idea of the family bathrooms also (there were 3) which we found useful.

We were checked in promptly and showed to our pitch by the lady running the on site shop (also good) - we were given a couple of printouts with local walks from the site on - I thought this was a nice touch.

Overall a very good site and I would return again.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec