Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
              8/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 55 to 60                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gibbie 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 6 nights, the weather was at its worst, 'site flooded' and the poor wardens had lots to contend with however they were helpful and tried to accommodate campers needs to the best even though they were being blamed for the bad weather 'very unfair'.

The village of luss is beautiful, nice walks with the dog although not much there, the local pub we visited once and it was very disappointing, no atmosphere we only stayed for one drink - happy to leave.

The site is right on the edge of the loch however with all the rain we were unable to get to the once visible beach. The toilets were ok they had 2 shower cubicles clean, but quite dated. There was one washing machine and dryer so timing was important.

We would like to revisit hopefully when its dryer to really appreciated the site location.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingcaz 24 reviews from this member

The site is situated right by the loch which is stunning. The best views are not at the lochside due to trees, so pitch centrally if you can.

Facilties are lovely and staff could not be nicer; the reception shop sells some basics like bread and milk which is very handy because Luss is really just a tourist village with souvenir shops which was hugely disappointing. I like real places! We didn't spend much time there but did go to the 'Village Rest' restaurant which serves fab food quickly and is all closed up by 9pm but very good.

This site is best for people wishing to tour the area as it is just off the main A82 road to Glasgow which is very busy and noisy. The other side of the loch is a lot quieter in terms of traffic but would take you a long time to keep driving out of it, but funnily enough had more tourist activities available such as boat and bike hire. Luss has little going on and we had expected more activities such as canoeing to be available. There is limited canoe hire at Balloch and they restrict the area you go in maybe for safety reasons, I don't know.A few people launch their own canoes from the site which seemed a great idea.

Site was suffering after a lot of rainfall and was muddy in places when we were there but I think that was an unusually wet spell.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyparry 10 reviews from this member

Spent 6 nights at this idyllic site.

Most good and bad points about the site have been covered. The following points I felt were important to me:

1. The roads around the site have been recently been recovered, and are now smooth.

2. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

3. For the size of site, I feel the facilities were lacking, especially as there is only one chemical disposal point for the whole site, which is situated near the entrance.

4. The power showers can soak your clothes in the restricted shower cubical.

This site is situated in a truly magnificent location, and could easily be a premier site had the Camping & Caravan Club not neglected this site. I feel sorry for the staff as they deserve better.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Magic48 20 reviews from this member

Spent four nights here. Superb loch side location with stunning views. All level pitches. Great reception by site staff when booking in. Plentiful and clean facilities. Lovely Luss is within walking distance. Handy location for a tour of the Trossachs. If you do this then make sure you call in to the Pier Tea Rooms on Loch Katrine. Sterling is also a good excursion.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry+Pete 4 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites I have visited. We booked on the day and they managed to fit us in once we arrived. We camped right at the edge of the Loch and the views were stunning!

The site management were fantastic and so helpful, even defrosting some bread for us after the shop had shut! They were so nice we signed up to the Caravan Club on their recommendation.

The onsite shop sold the basics, and for anything else the local village shop sold everything else. Not much in the local village but it was a really lovely place. There are boat tours of the Loch but finding information about them was quite difficult.

The facilities were excellent, always clean.

We visited a local pub/restaurant which was a bit further up the road and it was lovely. My partner was impressed with the range of over 200 Whiskys!

There is a lot of wildlife on the campsite and the rabbits and swans were really tame.

I would say the only downsides were 1. At night you could hear the noise from the road, and 2. Beware of weddings at the hotel next to the Campsite. The music was so loud and people singing and playing bagpipes at 1.30 in the morning was a bit annoying!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NobbyPompey 2 reviews from this member

We recently stayed at Luss during the Scottish Open Golf Weekend. I work for the BBC at the events. On arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff and escorted to where we were going to pitch our tent.

Our tent is the Georgia XL and is larger than most. This was no problem for this site. The facilities at the site are excellent. The only criticism that my wife had was that there is only 1 washing machine and always seemed to be in use.

We were at the bottom of the site and had a short walk through the surrounding trees to the shore of Loch Lomond. The views were astounding and on occasions were had the local Seaplane land right infront of us.

The small shop on the site stocks a few essentials and there is a small local store 5 mins walk from the site in Luss.

The Colquhoon Arms is in Luss. Families, please bear in mind that they cannot allow children in the bar area after 8pm.

We visited several places during our stay and could right a small novel on the friendliness and enjoyment of our stay.

We will be booking again for next year and would like to thank the Staff at the site for an extremely enjoyable stay.

Previous     90 Review in total, now showing 55 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469