Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
              8/10 from 107 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 55 to 60                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 41 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for two nights.

The welcome was friendly and the staff very helpful when we had a problem with our van. We had a pitch on the waters edge with stunning views. The showers and toilets were always clean and tidy. We were not bothered very much by the midges but it was raining while we were there! You can hear traffic noise from the nearby road but it didn't really bother us much. Nice easy walk into Luss village which has a couple of cafes and a hotel (The Colqhouin I think) where we had a nice meal and a drink.

There is a outlet shopping centre about 5 miles away if that's your thing! We were disappointed by the Lochside bike ride which basically was the footpath to the main road.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monthesheep 2 reviews from this member

Have been to this campsite 3 times in last 2 years and every time the high standard of facilities have been maintained. It is not that big but it has never felt crowded. The staff are friendly and there are wardens which patrol at night ensuring rules are adhered to. There is a reception which also sells limited selection of goods but with Luss village centre just 5 mins walk away this limited stock is not a problem really.

There is a kids play area, toilet block and showers which are always spotlessly clean and there is always plenty hot water. And dishwashing facilities.

The campsite is right on the shores of Loch Lomond and the views across the loch to Ben Lomond are superb. Obviously kids and small children need to be supervised when on the shore. At night you can sit on the shore and marvel at the bats swooping above the water.

Pitches are level and the grass is kept short and free from debris. No open fires on the grass are allowed but there is a shingle shore on Loch Lomond where it is not a problem to have small camp fire and roast the marshmallows (son loves this). I have always camped but there are an abundance of pitches for caravans and tourers, with electric hook up and chemical toilet disposal.

The campsite is close to the road but the noise is reduced thanks to the road being on a higher level and also the campsite is surrounded by plenty greenery which also helps with winds.

The centre of Luss (5 min walk) offers everything from pubs, hotels, restaurants, Excellent ice-creams, licensed shop and post office, visitor centre, boat rides on Loch Lomond and walks. There is also a lovely walk nearby which takes you through an old slate quarry in Glen Luss.

This campsite is very easy to find and is only 40mins drive from Glasgow and the A82 will take you north to places like Glen Coe, Fort William and Inverness.

Good Points: Excellent location, Excellent high standard facilities, Excellent staff, reasonable price - me, son, car and tent 18 a night.

Bad Points: The midges will dine out on you if you don't use repellent. The nearby hotel can sometimes be noisy but it has never really bothered me as my son and I stay up late anyway.

Overall a really excellent camp site, I will be back again next spring if not sooner. Also an excellent campsite to introduce someone to camping, to show that there is no need to 'Go behind a tree' or 'just use a leaf!'

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekrobo 17 reviews from this member

Committed a cardinal sin. Forgot my up to date membership card.First time in 20 odd years and did I suffer for it. I had my booking form which you can only get when you have booked in via the membership web site and a credit card to pay the balance which so the chance of me being someone else was very slim. The lady on on reception said she would let me on this time but don't do it again and if the other lady had been on duty she would not have let me on at all. She went on to say they have been made aware of fraud going on with people pretending to be someone they aren't I agree in the modern climate but I was was only booking on a camp site at 23 per night which wasn't any cheaper than any where else.

Other than that a very nice site a few metres from Loch Lomond. We were at North end of the site which is very close to the main road and some people may find it noisy and the elsan point is very far away.

Luss village is very picturesque and later on in the day it quietens down from the day trippers. We had a warm reception in the hotel at the Colquhoun Arms Hotel in the bar everyone very friendly and not a bad pint of McEwans.

Stopped 2 nights on our way to Findhorn further north nice place would go back but will remember my membership card next time don't want shouting at!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Golflioness 1 review from this member

This was our very first experience of camping in a tent! Lovely site, very helpful, friendly staff. Pitched right next to the loch.

Showers and toilets very clean, showers hot. Hotel up the driveway very friendly staff also, food very good with excellent service.

Will most definitely visit again and hope to stay for longer than 2 nights. Even managed to convince hubby that camping ok!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 21 reviews from this member

We spent four nights here and knew what to expect as we had visited last summer too.

The site is made up of several areas, lined with trees, including one large field just for tents. The nearby main road is very audible although it didn't bother us at all.

The site borders the loch so there are beautiful views and a stony beach which can be easily accessed.

The toilet block was very clean and the showers hot and powerful. I noticed one review mentioned that the shower button had to be pushed frequently so I timed it and made it approximately 18 seconds between presses in the two showers in the ladies'. The hairdryer costs 20p for quite a long time as it never ran out on me.

There is a laundry with washing machine, tumble dryer and iron and a whirly washing line outside. The dryer cost 1 for 20 mins, the iron was 20p for 8 mins and I think it was 3 for the washer. It is locked at night.

My cousin's little boy was given a lollipop on his arrival on site and they were only charged one night at a time in case the three-year-old didn't take to camping. The children's playground has one baby swing, one ordinary swing and a small slide. There is a dog walk through some trees lining the site.

Most of the staff were very pleasant. The small shop will freeze ice packs at a charge of 50p per ice pack per time. It has a few basic supplies and also lends books.

Be well prepared for midges as they are a nuisance in that part of the country. There is a small general store 5 or 10 minutes walk away in the picturesque village of Luss as well as one or two tearooms, gift / craft shops, a small children's play park and a hotel. Loch cruises are available down on the shore.

There is a supermarket and other shops in Balloch, 10 to 15 minutes drive away. The location of the site is excellent for exploring this beautiful area of the country.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janine47 32 reviews from this member

We have been visiting this beautiful site for many years. Well signposted from the main Glacgow-Highlands road. The location is excellent with direct access to Loch Lomond.

The Wardens are helpful, friendly and informative. The nearby village of Luss is pretty and an easy walk along the shore, and has several places to eat as well as a general store.

The major problem with this site has always been the midges although during our recent visit they were manageable. This site would benefit from mosquito magnets which would clear the site of the pests. The toilets are very well maintained and clean. Pitches are well laid out with many hard standings.

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 55 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4195 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0527