Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 149 reviews from this member

Just had 2 nights at Gwithian Farm. The glorious weather made our stay more special.

On check in we were given a choice of 3 hardstanding pitches. We chose one with a gorgeous view of the village church and farmhouse! Nice size pitches with EHU and fenced off into various sections so it really feels like a small site.

Decent sized shop on site with food and camping essentials (and wet suits and boards if you feel the need!). Daily newspapers are also on sale every day. Central, large, toilet/shower block with plenty of everything you need. There is also a family shower room and a disabled shower room at the rear, along with a laundry and undercover washing up area.

Excellent pub just outside the site. Really doggie friendly and really popular with campers. You have to book a table if you want to eat as it's so popular. Food is good but not cheap and they have a large selection of local real ales and ciders!

The walking from the site is excellent. Across the dunes to the beaches or coastal path. We walked to Godrevy lighthouse to see the seals, sadly there were none on the beach but a few bobbing around in the bay! We sat on the headland in the glorious sunshine having our picnic - perfect!

We were amazed at how buzy the site was 'out of season' and can imagine it to be heaving during summer/school holidays! Hoping to go back sometime.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluesurf 1 review from this member

Beautiful Campsite and had a great time, close to a good surf beach and lots around to do. Shop provides the basics with a village pub close at hand for the evening entertainment.

Have great facilities including a new breakfast van serving the greatest breakfast bap I have tasted, the bacon was lovely and at very reasonable prices. The girls running the van were friendly and made my morning and set me up for the day.

Will definitely be back this year. Highly recommend for all.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr T N Hocking 4 reviews from this member

This is just a beautiful little hamlet and the campsite a true little haven away from it all with the surf and bird song in competition.

The pitches are all nicely divided with little hedge rows and roadside flower beds - it really is a very attractive site right on the dunes of the most beautiful golden sand and surf beach. It is just wonderful. With the nature reserve beside it too.

Great terrain for mountain bike riding, coastal path walks, surfing, body boarding, sunsets, relaxing. It is a very popular site and prices go up at peak season because of its very desirable location and amenities.

The shop has wetsuits surf boards snorkelling body boards, gas, sweets milk bread - you name it and on the approach road to the camp is Lidl's and the Coop further along the main road. Hayle is a sleepy little town with lots of little pubs and cafe's and art galleries and pretty little places to explore.

The location is fantastic for St Ives or Penzance or Mouse hole. All the wonders that Cornwall has to offer.

The Showers are free and it is one of the most stunning campsite showers there has ever been designed - lots of free hot water for the showers and sinks all beautifully laid out in a most attractive building that more than caters for the demands of the camp site and facilities for washing down your wet suits etc outside.

The Farm house is a beautiful thatched original farm house where they serve cream teas in the garden - the prettiest little rose garden - and across the road is a pub that sells wonderful ale and caters for all spilling into the street but in a friendly jocular manner of times befitting a holiday and a pub with character. There is plenty for the children - if the sand dunes don't wear them out and all the fresh air.

The friendliness of the site is wonderful and readily help you out in any way you can. Highly recommended but highly popular and you need to book in plenty of time - think its easily for tents but caravan with hook up - book quickly for a wonderful holiday away from it all. But there on your door step too if you need a bit of culture or entertainment.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justkeepswimming 3 reviews from this member

We had a lovely few days at Gwithian over half term and were blessed with perfect weather which helped!

It really is a lovely site with a very laid back, friendly atmosphere. We loved our pitch on the edge of the field which meant that our small children could run around and play and we could keep an eye on them. Clair the owner was really friendly and welcoming, and gave us lots of useful local info and all the other staff we encountered were very friendly too.

The facilities are excellent - we were really impressed with the big toilet block which was kept spotless throughout our stay, despite the site being completely full. The only thing I found was that I had to queue for a shower most mornings as it seemed some people were in there for AGES, but that was probably just bad timing on my part. It was great to have the little bathroom for small children (again had to queue for this but not for long!) and there are plenty of washing up sinks and a small launderette (cups of laundry powder available in the shop). The site shop sells the basics and there is a brilliant little retail park down the road in Hayle with an M&S, Boots, Next and Costa Coffee.

The walk through the sand dunes to the beach is perfectly doable with small ones, although I wouldn't fancy it with a buggy - you can easily drive there though and park in the beach carpark. We went to the Sunset Surf cafe a couple of times which was great, especially for breakfast on the first day - would have liked to try the Jam Pot which looks lovely too!

Our children loved the freedom on the site and I would say it is a great site for families with small children as it is small and safe, and very quiet at night - you can even hear the sound of the waves crashing in the distance which is lovely. There are two goats and a run full of guinea pigs which went down well with the children too.

The only possible suggestion I can think of is that maybe they could put a small climbing frame or slide in the area where the guinea pigs are - at the moment it is a bbq area with picnic tables, but I didn't ever see it in use for that purpose as everyone seemed to bbq at their tents - but it is a nice little area for kids to congregate and I'm sure a piece of play equipment would be a big hit with the little ones!

Overall a fantastic place and we will definitely be back next year!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stemcell 9 reviews from this member

I only live 25 minutes away from Gwithian but I will come back here again. It's an excellent site. We just turned up on Sunday and the place looked very busy but we were told we could pick where we liked as just about everyone was packing up as it was the end of half term for most.

We got a really good pitch with hard standing just across from the excellent shower block. The shop was well stocked up and as it happened Sunday was fish&chip night. A local mobile chip van turned up around 6:30 and I went an ordered fish&chips for 2 and was told to come back in 10 minutes when my order (number4) would be ready. It was the best fish&chips I've had in ages. Lovely crispy batter and proper chips, I was half expecting frozen stuff with 'fries' but I got the best.

We took a walk from the top end of the campsite there is a path to the 'towans' and a dog friendly beach, just minutes away.

It was a very pleasant stay, doing what most campers like to do, people watching.

I give it mostly 10 out of 10. As I don't have kids I'm not sure what kids are looking for. There was some goats and guinea pigs and a sand pit, the kids I saw seemed to be having fun.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nans86 1 review from this member

Well, what can I say except for Fantastic! We stayed here for a week and I don't think I can find one fault. The shower area is cleaned regularly and there is plenty of it as well.

Very good location as its about 10 minutes drive from St. Ives and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach which is also very impressive. The pub across the road isnt as nice as we thought it would be but there is a very nice cafe just around the corner on the beach with sea views and friendly staff.

Would most definitely go back next year.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Metalhead 22 reviews from this member

What a brilliant campsite! We rolled up after dark (about 8pm in September) and were met by the owner down by the house. A real friendly chap, very informative and chatty. He gave us a map of the campsite showing the hook-ups, and on the back is a map to walk up to Godrevy Lighthouse and the seal colony. No time limit on leaving the campsite either, so we walked to see the seals the next morning before moving on.

Huge toilet/shower block, very clean and tidy. The village has a nice pub on the corner where we ate before pitching up. Looks like we were lucky to get in as most tables were already reserved. Food was nice though, and washed down with a real ale.

Back to the campsite, the pitches are mostly separated by exotic trees and plants which give an element of privacy while still retaining an open feeling. Very well laid out campsite though.

Comes highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Linifer 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time with our 2 children. From arrival the owners were very friendly and helpful at all times even when very busy in the small shop/reception. The pitches were a good size, small sand pit nearby was great for our younger children. The washing facilities are all together. There is a family 'wet shower room' we found very handy and also a 'bath' room, good for bathing little ones/babies. We found the showers clean and hot. Washing up facilities we didn't use but there was queing at times. Outside shower/hose for washing down wetsuits. As mentioned by others chip van/curry/fresh fish visited once a week and ice cream van each evening. Handy as no shops within walking distance - receptions sells the essential basics. Big food shops only a few minutes away. Quiet at night which we liked. It takes about 15 mins from site, heavily loaded with boards, suits, beach huts and 2 children to reach the beach across the dunes but worth every step! The beaches all around St Ives bay are wonderful at any time - huge, clean, and very beautiful. It is a surfers/boarders dream. With/without the sun the beaches are still great, rock pools at lower tide, plenty of space to play any beach game and don't forget the beach BBQ! Some parts do cover completly at high tide. Life guards are there throughout the day and you are well advised to heed the flags etc. Dogs are allowed on certain areas and all beaches after approx 6pm I believe. St Ives is well worth a visit - try picking up the park/ride train as parking can be tricky. It is very busy in high season, but worth it - pick up various boat trips here.

We have stayed on other sites in this area and some do offer more facilities - eg pool,bar, but at a significantly higher price. If you want a good, clean and friendly site for a surf/beach based holiday without the hassle of driving/parking each time this site is great. We have booked to return next year.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Northerner_uk 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a great week at Gwithian. The campsite is lovely, really well maintained with friendly staff. Toilets are clean and tidy.

The beach here really is a well kept secret - absolutely beautiful. Great for walkers, surfers and people like us with small children. It's a 10 minute walk out of the top of the site to the beach, via a Public Footpath and road - you do have to be a little careful on the road especially with a buggy. Other road users were very considerate mind. Once you get to the beach there are two really nice places to stop for a snack - The Jam Pot Cafe & Sunset Surf Cafe - both are great.

At the entrance to the campsite is the Red River Inn - child friendly with good food, and it couldn't be nearer to the site. Make sure you book in advance especially during the summer months. A little further to walk is the Sandsifter, again good food - slightly hazardous return walk back if close to dusk.

All in all, a really great week spent here. We'll be back in the summer next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tan077 1 review from this member

This is our second year at Gwithian Farm and we have booked again for two weeks Aug 2010.

We love this site, nice spaced pitches (we have a touring caravan) great shower block although can get busy during peak times, but we have found this to be the same on most campsites.

Nice big central playing field, well stocked shop, and just a short walk down to the amazing beach.

Sunset cafe is fab, there cream teas are amazing :-)

Red river pub is great for a drink, a little expensive for food but ok for the odd meal out.

Early booking is advised especially for the school summer holidays as this site gets fully booked early on the year !

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1289