Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GANGAN 7 reviews from this member

Just spent a fortnight at this lovely campsite, only booked for a week, it was so nice decided to stay here and explore the area from this first class campsite.

Mike and Clare have got it just right, great pitches, excellent toilet / shower facilities (for young families they have a bathroom and a separate shower room, brilliant idea.

The site is within walking distance from the best beach I have ever been on, 4 miles of glorious sand and the surf is spectacular! The red river inn across the road from the site does fantastic meals, but you need to book early. Its a really quite area but hayle is not far and they have local shops plus a co-op and lidl and just further round the corner there is a large marks and spencer, next and boots.

If you are heading this way, you must take a look you really wont be disappointed, we cant wait to go back

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lclc 1 review from this member

Have just returned from our first 2 week camping holiday and am so glad that we chose Gwithian Farm! A really good layout with excellent pitch sizes. On one day we had non stop rain for around 10 hours but the pitches didn't get waterlogged - luckily this was the only day of heavy rain during the 2 weeks.

Our pitch was facing the recreational field in the centre of the site and my son especially liked this as he was out there flying his kite, playing football etc. The owners are very friendly and there are firm but fair rules regarding children playing (no ball games, table tennis, after 9pm.)

The table tennis is free to use - just ask at the shop for the bats and ball. There are also goats and guinea pigs. The toilet & shower block is more than adequate and kept very clean - on a plus side there are two hairdryers in the ladies (no charge for these).

The shop is well stocked and prices are very fair (if the children want recreational bodyboards they are as cheap as the main shops here) but just get used to the opening times as it isn't open all day, or until very late. (Not a gripe, just make a note of it and remember to buy milk the day before so you have it for brekkie!)

The laundry room has 2 large washers and two dryers and the prices for these are ok.

The nearby beaches are beautiful and are a 10 minute walk over the dunes - I probably wouldn't walk it if you have smaller children and are taking a lot of stuff with you though. The car parks are reasonably priced. If you take a left when leaving the site, drive up toward Godrevy - it is free to park - and watch the sunset, it's a wonderful sight.

If you are lucky you might see the seals sunbathing on the rocks below (we didn't see any there but we did see a very friendly seal in St Ives harbour!) If you fancy a fishing trip they are all priced about the same in St Ives and are cheaper there than Penzance.We also went on a lantern Ghost story walk in St Ives which was fun (and not scary but entertaining).

St Michaels Mount is a good visit - even if you just walk across the causeway when the tide is out. Porthcurno and the Minack theatre are also good places to go.

I used to visit Cornwall regularly as a child and loved showing my children the places I used to go to. We all loved our stay at Gwithian Farm (within two days my teenage son asked when would we be going again) and as soon as we can we will be booking next year's summer break there.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OldEnglish 1 review from this member

We've been going to this site for around 6 years and it just keeps getting better. The shower/toilet block is always very clean and it is nicely laid out Ė itís also free. The shop is well stocked and the whole site has been nicely planted out (something which we have seen increase year on year).

Mike and Clare the owners are very friendly and very helpful with local information. In addition to the shop itís possible to buy food from local vendors that visit the site numerous days of the week, this stay: a van sold breakfast rolls Fri, Sat & Sun, the Fish and Chip van came on Sun & Wed night, Tuesday night sees a fishmonger in his van fresh from Newlyn docks visit the site, and Thursday night is curry night (quite a mild curry!). There's also an ice cream van that visits the site early evening most summer nights. We've tried it all and found it to be very good quality and reasonably priced.

The site is laid out with one large main area and a smaller front area that is mainly for hook ups. The nice thing is rather the cram every last pitch in; the main area is laid out with pitches round the edge and a nice big green space in the middle which tends to see family games of football, cricket and a fair bit of kite flying going on. Itís this providing a better experience rather than capitalising on every last centimetre attitude that defines Gwithian Farm and makes it such a nice place to stay.

The beach can be accessed from the far end of the site, itís just a minuteís walk and you are on the sand dunes (the Towans) which are an impressive thing in themselves and a great place to walk the dog, and then a 4 - 5 minute walk through the dunes to the beach. The beach is a surf hotspot and has two surf schools on it both of which also do board and wet suit hire if you need it. If youíve never tried it before book a lesson itís a blast!

The site is also literally over the road from a good pub that has a good selection of beers, very friendly staff and usually a good crowd of regulars and visitors in (especially on Saturday night). The food in the pub is good, and although the site is in a small hamlet there are 4 or 5 other cafeís/restaurants within walking distance.

Take a 5 minute drive down the road and you are in Hayle and you can access yet more local eateries; there is a very well stocked Co-Op; and a number of other shops on the high street. On the way into Hayle you virtually pass a small retail park that has an M&S, Next, Boots and McDonaldís.

Mike and Clare clearly work hard to make peopleís stay a good one and the warm and friendly atmosphere they create is reflected all around the site. My wife and I always enjoy staying here, and we canít recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gaz32at 5 reviews from this member

We went here with our four children and another family. We had pitches with hook up. It was our first camping trip in Cornwall, we normally go to north Devon, but we decided to venture a little further.

This site met all our expectations, it was simply great, the owners were so friendly and the showers/toilets were superb,

A short walk from the site took us to a perfect beach where we all spent hours body boarding,

We had a great day out at lands end, and found some lovley surrounding areas,

We really didn't want to leave after a week, so we booked again for two weeks next year and we are counting down the days already.

All in all a top site

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaadow005 9 reviews from this member

Well we should have been in Scotland for this holiday, but due to a hose failure on the car, we changed our minds and came 'home' to Gwithian farm and Mike and Clare. It was a superb decision as the weather was as good as the welcome.

All the usual excellent qualities of this site are there, but improved yet again, the bushes are growing nicely and it is a real pleasure to sit outside and chat to passing campers/caravaners, who all seem to enjoy the site and friendliness of the owners so much, I haven't known another site that breaks down the barriers between everyone more than this one, it just reflects the welcome and the location you get for your money.

Talking about location, it is near perfect, with easy walks to a fabulous beach, or if you are so inclined there are several car parks with access to the beach, the last one we used was on the way to Lidl, signposted off to the right, a bit of a bumpy track to it but very good value for money £2 for anything over four hours, the short climb back up the first bit of the dunes the only drawback, but it is a short walk. The early morning breakfast van, see the notice boards for details, was very well used, as also was the chip man and the icecream man.

One of the things I like is the generous size of the pitches and the large play area in the centre of the site, great for putting up a kite in the evening for a bit of relaxation.

If you are looking for where to stay in Cornwall, go ahead and book here, you will thank me for it I guarantee!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 159 reviews from this member

Just had 2 nights at Gwithian Farm. The glorious weather made our stay more special.

On check in we were given a choice of 3 hardstanding pitches. We chose one with a gorgeous view of the village church and farmhouse! Nice size pitches with EHU and fenced off into various sections so it really feels like a small site.

Decent sized shop on site with food and camping essentials (and wet suits and boards if you feel the need!). Daily newspapers are also on sale every day. Central, large, toilet/shower block with plenty of everything you need. There is also a family shower room and a disabled shower room at the rear, along with a laundry and undercover washing up area.

Excellent pub just outside the site. Really doggie friendly and really popular with campers. You have to book a table if you want to eat as it's so popular. Food is good but not cheap and they have a large selection of local real ales and ciders!

The walking from the site is excellent. Across the dunes to the beaches or coastal path. We walked to Godrevy lighthouse to see the seals, sadly there were none on the beach but a few bobbing around in the bay! We sat on the headland in the glorious sunshine having our picnic - perfect!

We were amazed at how buzy the site was 'out of season' and can imagine it to be heaving during summer/school holidays! Hoping to go back sometime.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluesurf 1 review from this member

Beautiful Campsite and had a great time, close to a good surf beach and lots around to do. Shop provides the basics with a village pub close at hand for the evening entertainment.

Have great facilities including a new breakfast van serving the greatest breakfast bap I have tasted, the bacon was lovely and at very reasonable prices. The girls running the van were friendly and made my morning and set me up for the day.

Will definitely be back this year. Highly recommend for all.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr T N Hocking 4 reviews from this member

This is just a beautiful little hamlet and the campsite a true little haven away from it all with the surf and bird song in competition.

The pitches are all nicely divided with little hedge rows and roadside flower beds - it really is a very attractive site right on the dunes of the most beautiful golden sand and surf beach. It is just wonderful. With the nature reserve beside it too.

Great terrain for mountain bike riding, coastal path walks, surfing, body boarding, sunsets, relaxing. It is a very popular site and prices go up at peak season because of its very desirable location and amenities.

The shop has wetsuits surf boards snorkelling body boards, gas, sweets milk bread - you name it and on the approach road to the camp is Lidl's and the Coop further along the main road. Hayle is a sleepy little town with lots of little pubs and cafe's and art galleries and pretty little places to explore.

The location is fantastic for St Ives or Penzance or Mouse hole. All the wonders that Cornwall has to offer.

The Showers are free and it is one of the most stunning campsite showers there has ever been designed - lots of free hot water for the showers and sinks all beautifully laid out in a most attractive building that more than caters for the demands of the camp site and facilities for washing down your wet suits etc outside.

The Farm house is a beautiful thatched original farm house where they serve cream teas in the garden - the prettiest little rose garden - and across the road is a pub that sells wonderful ale and caters for all spilling into the street but in a friendly jocular manner of times befitting a holiday and a pub with character. There is plenty for the children - if the sand dunes don't wear them out and all the fresh air.

The friendliness of the site is wonderful and readily help you out in any way you can. Highly recommended but highly popular and you need to book in plenty of time - think its easily for tents but caravan with hook up - book quickly for a wonderful holiday away from it all. But there on your door step too if you need a bit of culture or entertainment.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justkeepswimming 3 reviews from this member

We had a lovely few days at Gwithian over half term and were blessed with perfect weather which helped!

It really is a lovely site with a very laid back, friendly atmosphere. We loved our pitch on the edge of the field which meant that our small children could run around and play and we could keep an eye on them. Clair the owner was really friendly and welcoming, and gave us lots of useful local info and all the other staff we encountered were very friendly too.

The facilities are excellent - we were really impressed with the big toilet block which was kept spotless throughout our stay, despite the site being completely full. The only thing I found was that I had to queue for a shower most mornings as it seemed some people were in there for AGES, but that was probably just bad timing on my part. It was great to have the little bathroom for small children (again had to queue for this but not for long!) and there are plenty of washing up sinks and a small launderette (cups of laundry powder available in the shop). The site shop sells the basics and there is a brilliant little retail park down the road in Hayle with an M&S, Boots, Next and Costa Coffee.

The walk through the sand dunes to the beach is perfectly doable with small ones, although I wouldn't fancy it with a buggy - you can easily drive there though and park in the beach carpark. We went to the Sunset Surf cafe a couple of times which was great, especially for breakfast on the first day - would have liked to try the Jam Pot which looks lovely too!

Our children loved the freedom on the site and I would say it is a great site for families with small children as it is small and safe, and very quiet at night - you can even hear the sound of the waves crashing in the distance which is lovely. There are two goats and a run full of guinea pigs which went down well with the children too.

The only possible suggestion I can think of is that maybe they could put a small climbing frame or slide in the area where the guinea pigs are - at the moment it is a bbq area with picnic tables, but I didn't ever see it in use for that purpose as everyone seemed to bbq at their tents - but it is a nice little area for kids to congregate and I'm sure a piece of play equipment would be a big hit with the little ones!

Overall a fantastic place and we will definitely be back next year!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stemcell 9 reviews from this member

I only live 25 minutes away from Gwithian but I will come back here again. It's an excellent site. We just turned up on Sunday and the place looked very busy but we were told we could pick where we liked as just about everyone was packing up as it was the end of half term for most.

We got a really good pitch with hard standing just across from the excellent shower block. The shop was well stocked up and as it happened Sunday was fish&chip night. A local mobile chip van turned up around 6:30 and I went an ordered fish&chips for 2 and was told to come back in 10 minutes when my order (number4) would be ready. It was the best fish&chips I've had in ages. Lovely crispy batter and proper chips, I was half expecting frozen stuff with 'fries' but I got the best.

We took a walk from the top end of the campsite there is a path to the 'towans' and a dog friendly beach, just minutes away.

It was a very pleasant stay, doing what most campers like to do, people watching.

I give it mostly 10 out of 10. As I don't have kids I'm not sure what kids are looking for. There was some goats and guinea pigs and a sand pit, the kids I saw seemed to be having fun.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1406