Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highlands End Farm Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Highlands End Farm Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01308 422139

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 94 Reviews
              9/10 from 94 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 61 to 66                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markone 6 reviews from this member

Well,this the 2nd time of visit, 1st time was in August 2007 and apart from being 'a bit windy' and the ground being saturated we were amazed with the whole lay-out,facilities and features. So when we came back in April 2008 we were expecting 'not much',but we were very happy with the park all over again, the club is very very good, local real ale, lovely food and all very reasonably priced.
Off site, a lovely pub 'down the hill' (Quite steep on the way back!)The New Inn is well worth a visit,and the host is very accomadating

Back to the site and area,all of the staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and what with the local area,of outstanding beauty,amazing site, and well thought-out site you could not ask for much more.

The toilet/shower blocks are very clean and spacious, the only slight critisim is the hot water at the wash up areas,comes out very slowly, but this only a very slight 'niggle' on what I think is a perfect site.

BUT please don't visit,otherwise I may not be able to get in!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Namreg 4 reviews from this member

I have to say this is one of the best sites we have visited, either with the van or in our previous tenting life. Our opinion could be coloured by the fact that we had virtually 10 days of unbroken sunshine during one of the worst summers I can remember, but nonetheless, this is an excellent site.

It's on top of a cliff (and therefore a little windy), and the views are nothing short of stunning. There is a cliff walk (I think that path covers the entire Jurassic Coastline) that is easily accessible, but be prepared for some steep climbs!

The facilities are excellent. Showers are roomy and clean (most of the time) with a separate benched area to change.†Shop is†well†stocked†with†all the necessities (except sellotape!)†and the restaurant is much better than I had hoped for.

The only criticism I have is that you have to pay for the pool, and if you want to use the sauna as well, you have to pay extra for that also. At £26 per night, I would have thought they could have thrown these in free, but there you go.

We will definitely be going back. If you visit, look out for a leaflet in the reception area about guided fossil tours in Charmouth - well worth doing, and you WILL find some fossils. The kids loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deltaone 6 reviews from this member

I visited this site after reading a number of reviews and my first impressions were that it was a wonderful site.

The toilet and shower blocks were in excellent condition and very clean washing up facilities and laundry also excellent, the children's play areas were a good size and very practical, one by the restaurant and one in the touring field. The staff were helpful and there was a roving warden as well as grounds keepers.

The restaurant food was top class and evening entertainment was also pretty good, it hit a perfect level for us as we don't enjoy the hi-de-hi campsites but like to have an on site facility as we have 3 young children and in this instance we could not have asked for more.

The site is immaculate and well kept, the touring field is a little way back from the entrance area which is o.k for us but if you have difficulty getting about it may cause problems.

Unfortunately the camping area suffers from high winds and we lost both wind breaks and our tent to it this year the pegs were coming out of the ground constantly as the ground was damp when we first set up so if using this site I would highly recommend you invest in some delta anchors or pyramid thread pegs. I was told when were leaving that the site suffers pretty much year round with the wind due to it being situated on a cliff top.

All in all I would highly recommend the site but would prepare well for the wind.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skelton 2 reviews from this member

This was the first time we stayed at Highlands End. It was recommended to us by some friends, who didn't let us down when they said "It was a nice campsite"
We stayed over the bank holiday weekend and had a pleasant welcome when we arrived. As we had arrived early we got a pretty go spot overlooking West Bay.(Stunning views).
The pitches are very spacious, and well maintained.
We ate in the bar/restaurant†every night as the food is very reasonably priced & absolutely gorgeous. There were long ques to order food at times and†it may†pay to book a table in advance as it did get busy.
We did get to use the swimming pool, sauna & steam room, which were very clean. There was also a gym, but we didn't feel the need for over exerting ourselves.
The showers/toilets were spotless, and cleaned at least twice a day. They did get busy from around 7am onwards, so if your an early bird like me then you'll be in & out before the rush.
We did have bad weather over the Bank holiday (70mph wind and rain), but it seemed that most of the tents did manage†to stay upright . Well recommended place to stay, with lots of thing to see and do

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catcarolc 3 reviews from this member

I thought the site was very well laid out and nice and clean. The toilet and shower block was great and the washing up water nice and hot . The pool was lovely and the playground good. We ate in the pub on-site twice as it was windy and the meals and service were good. The pitches were a good size and mostly level.
However I will not be returning as it is so exposed. The wind was blowing an absolute hooley up there when all around was relatively calm. Our tent collapsed although the pegs stayed put and 2 of the fibre glass poles broke with the force. Admittedly my tent is not designed for high winds ,being of a polytunnel design. Alot of others packed up early and went home and the low-lying tents seemed to survive OK. I like to sit out in the evening relaxing ,not huddle inside feeling cold in the warmest clothes. No point taking the BBQ.
In summary- only go if you have a really sturdy tent and the forecast is completely calm.
PS the girls age 10-13yrs loved our visit to the donkey sanctuary about 40mins away.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zipster 2 reviews from this member

Spent 4 days at this site over the May Bank Holiday Weekend. We were sited in Area 2 that has 5 tent pitches available with Electric Hook up.

The site itself was well looked after and manicured to a very high standard, staff were always touring the site giving you a good sense of security.

Both Toilet / Showers Blocks were clean, the childrens play area look good fun for the kids and very tidy, we used the Indoor Pool, Sauna & Steam Rooms all of which were clean. Unforunately on this occasion we did not used the Clubhouse facilities.

For our first evening we went to West Bay and had the traditional Fish & Chips which were ok, the following day we paid a quick visit to Burton Bradstock nothing much there other than a Beach & Tea House. Our third day saw us visit Lyme Regis which again was ok but being spoilt by the quick food operators and sometime smell of Hot Cooking Oil

On our final evening we went to the Anchor Inn in Burton Bradstock and had a superb meal based around fresh fish etc not cheap but well worth the money we found this in The Good Pub Guide 2006.

Our only concern was the weather, being on or near the Beach & Cliffs we expected it to be windy but our last day/ night it become or felt very windy but we managed in the end.

Would we go back? yes we are looking to go back in early September with our Grandson who is 6 as it has everything we want and I'm sure it has everything he wants.

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 66      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4216 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430