Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitehill Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Whitehill Country Park
Stoke Road
Paignton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ4 7PF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 782338

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 18 April - 24 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
              8/10 from 121 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 61 to 66                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shocking 1 review from this member

Stayed here in may 09 on sunny bank holiday weekend. Site set in beautiful countryside a few miles inland from paignton. The site was very busy but never felt crowded. We were given a flat marked pitch, with hook up with a gap between pitches for a fire break (most parked their cars in these spaces ,as , like us, our tent filled the pitch). Some pitches were very steep.

The pool was warm clean and had a lifeguard on duty. Very pleasant clubhouse bars and cafe. Shop was very well stocked. A craft room for children was a lovely touch .

Toilet blocks were very clean, as were the showers and lots of hot water, all free. Indoor washing up facilities were in the toilet block hand washing area. A little odd.

Limited play facilities for children but lots of space to kick a ball etc.

I would always check to see if the pitch you have been given is suitable as there were several steep slopes I certainly would be disappointed to be pitching on. We have a large tent and flat pitch is vital to us.

A happy stay as we were dry but rain and slopes could have made it troublesome.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rlbrod 1 review from this member

We arrived end May and stayed until 7th June 09.

On arrival the site seemed well organised and quiet.We deliberately chose this time of year to avoid crowds.

Having had correspondence with the site already via email, I was already pleased with the customer service. We were able to hire a buggy for £10 for the week.

The weather was glorious and our 2 year old was able to swim in the heated pool nearly every day, however if it was not heated it would have been too cold.

The pitch was generous, we were in Coombe Meadow in the mid 50's- the pitch was requested and well located.

Had the campsite been at capacity then we would have felt quite hemmed in and not sure how well the facilities would cope.Having stayed and taken other reviews into consideration, I can see why other people have perhaps had issues with the site at peak times.

We did not use the bar- so no comment. Except it was quiet and we were not bothered by noise.

The cafe is reasonable- not cheap and not cordon bleu, but the basics are alright - especially if you're really hungry!

Shop- well stocked, but not the cheapest option.

The nearest toilets and shower block were always clean (use the ones in the great orchard if you can be bothered to walk that far - two family rooms) but I hated the fact that the washing up facilities were in with the sinks and there is a nappy changing unit and bin right next to the sinks, this is not hygienic!

The children's playground was well located and in good condition and my son had to be dragged off to bed under duress from it most times.

Lots of wildlife around and rabbit spotting is fun!

Only other gripe, given our location was the rat racing on the road next to the campsite- to Stoke Gabriel.

Woods are lovely.

Local attractions: Paignton - not so impressed. Brixham alright,nice harbour but shops are limited. Torquay nicer than expected, the harbour has been regenerated.

We Visited the Zoo - great, Living Coasts- absolutely brilliant, the Paignton- Dartmouth railway(do the boat trip as well if you can).

Goodrington Sands beach -alright for rockpooling- check times though.

Brilliant restaurant called the Seahorse in Dartmouth - most amazing fish.

Morrisons and Sainsburys very close.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Flora76 3 reviews from this member

We visited here in April 2009 over the Easter break. Was a lovely camp site, with good facilities. We had a hard standing pitch, which was near what seemed to be a new toilet/shower block - this was very clean at all times, with lovely big shower cubicles.

Our pitch was flat, however some of the pitches were not so lucky, and were a little uneven.

Site has a good shop and bar. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

We would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrh2000uk 5 reviews from this member

At first I was not impressed as I thought very cramped site and outdated shower blocks, But once settled in I noticed that although the shower blocks need up dating they were very clean and tidy day or night and always had hot water with good pressure.

We were lucky and had a level pitch, water points and convenient points but at first were well hidden.

Fantastic children's/adults entertainment which seemed to be done on a budget! This is not a negative comment as it really was good.

I was annoyed that children were not allowed in the main bar after 7.30 I mean after all this is a family site!

If you are going to this site with a caravan be careful as the road leading to the park is very narrow in places.

I would definitely stop at this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wythycampers 1 review from this member

Our group had 4 large tents with electric hook up, a total of 17 people ages ranging from 54years to 6years. We pitched on Sweet Hills and were right at the top of the hill against the hedges. It was raining when we arrived and continued to rain throughout the most of the two weeks we were there, we also had some high winds, we had 4 sunny days (Goodrington sands is lovely on a nice day - lake and beach this is also where the waterpark is - not as big as those abroad but still a fun day out).
The campsite facilities were good, shop was not too expensive and well stocked, the bar was comfortable and had decent entertainment. There was a kids room with pool table, and entertainment (disco). A good size pool with lifeguard (kids still went in the pool when it rained!), the laundry was well used because of the rain and the mud that it caused, they have free ironing facilities.
The toilets on sweet hill were portacabins with limited room for washing etc and at times were a bit smelly and very muddy (because of the amount of rain we had). We used the showers behind reception which were clean and had plenty of hot water.
The camp was well placed and within easy reach of many of Devon / Torquays attractions, we visited Brixham, Dawlish Warren, Tighemouth (try the ferry and visit smugglers cave / cove),Totnes, Newton Abbot and many other lovely villages and towns.
The camp staff were friendly, there were a few noisy campers (I guess that could be said of us too at times). Morrisons was very close by with a Lidl and other shops in Paignton. All in all we loved this campsite and have vowed to return again - in fact we have all just booked caravans for next easter (same group)as it worked out cheaper than camping at this time of the year.
We will camp here again and hope the weather is kinder to us next time.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 5bournecampers 2 reviews from this member

Booked early but given a pitch at the bottom of a hill with a dip. It rained all of our first day & by 6pm the pitch had become a pond. They put us in a caravan on another site for 2 nights (charged £20) then we were able to move to a higher pitch near the pool and pub. There were several families sent to the caravan park.

Every evening often past 12.30 the noise and language from drunks was terrible. No staff ever asked people to keep their noise down or got them to move on. Some evenings well after 11 o’clock there were over 30 people hanging around the pool area yelling at each other. Having complained to no effect we planned to come home but our children got very upset so we stayed.

There is one block with decent toilet facilities at the very far end of the site. The others are in need of an overhaul.

The pool was very cold.

The takeaway was a reasonable price and the food good.

Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 66      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1143