Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01539 821119

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 10 Mar - 08 Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
              9/10 from 111 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (8)

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 61 to 66                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amandajane77 3 reviews from this member

Site was superb upon arriving we were escorted to our pitch has it was nearly dusk. It was two days before christmas eve. First time of staying on such a large site .The decorations on site were pretty impressive I must say. You were left to spend xmas how you wanted.

The pub on site was catering for xmas lunches but you had to book in advance for that. Local shop on site that sold fresh local produce. On site shower and toilet blocks were clean and warm bearing in mind some nights the outside temp was -6.

The views around the campsite were superb. The one thing that we liked was you didn't have to take the car out if you didn't want to cos there was some nice walks around the site.

There is a morrisons in kendal if you ran out of anything major. We were surprised at how busy the site became during the Christmas festivities. We would certainly visit the site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EJAG 4 reviews from this member

Loved this site! It is easy to find & a great base from which you can explore the lakes.

On arrival a chap escorted us to our plot & worked out how far away we should be from our friends neighbouring tent so we were within fire safety regs. When we put the wind break up between the two tents he kindly asked us to move it - unknown to us it was a fire hazard being so close between the two tents. We were impressed with their safety conscious attitude.

The site is very well maintained & spotlessly clean. Plenty of toilets & showers which are very thoroughly cleaned. There is also a backpackers cabin which has sinks plus a couple of benches to eat at inside.

Security is very good & you have to obtain a key fob in order to get your car in & out of the site (10 refundable deposit). Entry & exit is prohibited from 11pm at night & a second barrier goes across the entrance to ensure this.

There is an 11pm quiet policy too. They adhere to it strongly to the point that last orders at the bar is 10.30pm with kicking out time at 10.50. Site is lovely & quiet so we all managed to sleep very well.

Plots are very flat although can be a little stony so make sure you bring plenty of pegs as we bent a few.

The main bar is lovely & has a quaint lakeland feel to it. They have a stock of playing cards & domino's for you to borrow too. We didn't use the shop but it did look well stocked.

The children's play area is great & we look forward to bringing our children with us on our next trip as they will love it.

Basically this site isn't the cheapest as you have to pay an additional 6(ish) for being a non member but it is absolutely worth every penny. If you are looking for a rowdy, cheap & cheerful site then this is not the one for you. If you are looking for a quiet, immaculately well maintained campsite then this is the one for you. We will definitely be staying next year!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vidal 3 reviews from this member

Well, torrential rain and camping with children doesn't always mix! However in this case, we had a brilliant time, and a large part of that was down to this fantastic site.

We managed to do all the no-no's. An oversize tent, a short notice booking and we brought the Manchester weather with us! After a quick book in, we were led to our pitch and shown where the shower blocks, play area and fresh water points were located. Although there was standing water on some of the pitches ours was fairly dry, appeared well drained and had recently been reseeded - a slight word of caution though, we needed a few rock pegs in places.

The weather was appalling, and I don't think any site would have coped with the amount of water that fell over the next 72 hours. Most mornings saw the site staff draining standing water from many of the roads and from some of the hard standings.

The showers and toilets were always spotless, push button showers but always warm - never that few seconds of icy water just to wake you up! The shop sold basic provisions, the on site bar and family room was a bonus, although my two boys will never be any good at pool! The washers and dryers came in very useful.

Don't forget the 10 cash deposit for the entry key fob (we did!)

Overall a great site and one we will definitely be coming back to.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aqua plumber 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 10 Nights. With my wife and Two kids. Lovely campsite, very busy. Staff where quite friendly and polite. Campsite was very well maintained.

Play park is ok could do with a few more things in it.[only an observation not criticisim]

The only negative points that I have is that when it rains you do not wat to camp or pitch a Caravan at the far end of the site beside the statics and Wc block as it goes under at least 8 inches of water or more. Staff worked very hard to clear it away in Torrentle rain. This seems to an on going problem for quite some time.

Also a water supply at every pitch would be Handy as you could have to walk a bit to fill up.

Also not that I have a problem with Tents, as I am a Duke of Ed Leader, But they where pitched on every piece of grass, especially between to very narrrow tracks one for site traffic and the other for a few caravans, not good if you have kids in your Tent. Also Mobile phone signal is very weak, But did not bother me.

Overall a quite enjoyable Stay and we would go back again.

Things to do; Beatrix Potters House was excellent. Fell foot park and sizeurgh castle where very good. Most are National Trust propierties, so membership saves yo a small fortune.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

This is a big site but it doesn't necessarily feel like it because of the way it's laid out.

When we arrived we were led to our pitch by a very friendly warden on a bike! She even gave us a hand to manoeuvre our van.

The park is in a nice setting although a little bit removed if you want to walk to other pubs or restaurants. Stavely village is the nearest place for those but maybe just a bit too far for regular visits. To be fair they do have a basic bar on site.

Staff were delightfully cheery (and plentiful). The shop had all the basics you'd need, even metal awning pegs that I needed to buy to get through the hard ground!

Toilet facilities, hook-ups and other essentials were all available and clean.

Windermere village and lake are a relatively short drive away. I would certainly go back.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tino7 1 review from this member

I visited this site with my wife, 2 year old daughter and six friends for a long weekend in July 2009. I have to say that I am not particularly keen on paying around 30 a night for a tent pitch (my wife booked it) but I was very impressed with the site. On arrival we were shown to our pitch and told where toilets etc were. Although it is a large site it is sectioned off very well making smaller areas, so doesn't feel as big. It was fairly busy but there was always hot water for washing and showers, something we can't say of other sites we have visited.

Had a good meal in the on site pub one evening, also good beer on draught, it is a pub with family/ dining room rather than a site club. The site was very clean and tidy (probably the tidiest I have been to) with the grass all nicely mown everywhere and re-seeded areas of grass where people had had tents/ awnings pitched- proof of attention to detail. All in all a good site that everyone in our group said they would visit again, OK it is a touch on the pricey side but definitely worth a visit.

Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 66      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6160 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0918
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec