Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freedom4us 41 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for 2 weeks. The wardens are fabulous really friendly and helpful even when we had lost our drainage pipe they came to the rescue!

The site is in a lovely position next to the river. Yes you do have to drive for provisions but that said its a small price to pay. We backed onto the road and there is a lot of traffic noise but we got used to it.

The dog walk is fab - read the previous review re: dogs & adults in the river well my dogs loved it and they weren't killing defenceless living things so I'm glad they played in the river!

Shower block is a bit tired but totally clean and functional. The area is great for walking we went to the Tarr steps (among other places)which is lovely.

Dunster is also nice. The pub over the road sells basic pub grub and is fine we also recommend the pub in winsford and wetton cross both very nice food and real ale.

I was able to get wifi no probs as I went to the shed and sat there in peace and quiet to catch up on emails etc.

All in all a lovely site - my only gripe is having to pay extra for dogs & for the awning even though we forgot to take the sides! - at least we remembered to have a fab time!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peejay12 16 reviews from this member

This site is one of the best I have stayed at. It is the first time I have stayed at a site for more than three days.

The position is perfect, quiet, clean with very friendly wardens and owners with a real passion for their site.

The Sunday tour around the mill is not to missed, and the dog walk is magic. Being interested in wildlife I was delighted to see the 'Dippers' in action, have not seen these birds for over 40 years but down by the weir they were there every day.

The showers did need some patience but they we spotless and nice to have piped radio.

The wifi was great, it only went about 300 yards into the camp but the wifi 'shack' was ok and made up for the weak coverage.

The weather wasn't very good but there was a bus service to Minehead and Tiverton that passed by the camp and stopped on request and we found that the weather was a lot better just out of the valley situation of the campsite. A great bus service with very helpful and friendly drivers.

Minehead is a nice town, if you look beyond the 'kiss me quick hats', with a great railway station, if you like steam

Engines. Some great walks around the 'headlands 'passed the harbour were good.

If the weather is kind a walk to Winsford is a nice trip out. Not

A lot there but a nice tea room and a pub. If you do walk

There ask at the tea room for a walking route back, very

Helpful. The village green is great picnic place.

There is no phone, radio, or TV coverage, the camp provide a 4 channel TV service with plenty of spare cables, satellite coverage is good.

Wish I were there now!

Didn't think the pub at Bidgetown, just by the camp, was that friendly, the staff were but the landlord was a little 'distant'.

Love to go back there soon.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickcb 10 reviews from this member

This site is in a beautiful location, but it is remote and therefore I was a little surprised to find the 'shop' very basic. There is a village shop at Winsford, about two miles away but appeared to have very limited opening hours although it is very well stocked with the camper in mind.

Dulverton has everything but is seven miles away. The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly, the owner likewise. Some friends who visited in a tent for one night complained of only luke warm water in the shower, I only used the water for washing up and did not find a problem. That might have been due to the time of day.

If the weather is wet there is a real problem and if you have a choice go for hard standing. There has been an attempt to improve drainage but it is not adequate. At one stage our awning was nearly ankle deep in water, likewise our next door neighbour.

As for the fishing, I really wouldn't bother. When the sun comes out the river is infested with 'adults' and dogs alike thrashing around throwing sticks etc. This happened on every warm sunny day during our stay.

Now for the real highlight of this area. It's the pub a couple hundred yards from the site entrance. The Badgers Holt. This is NOT one of those public houses that think they have a captive clientelle with a campsite nearby, It attracts local people from miles away, I spoke to one couple who travel from Minehead regularly and I can see why. The Landlord and Landlady are extremely welcoming and their staff friendly and efficient. The food on offer is exquisite and during our stay was so good it could compete with a one star Michelin restaurant. I forgot to point out that well behaved dogs are welcome in the bar where of course food is served also.

To sum up then: Make sure the weather isn't wet. Bring your own supplies. Don't bother to fish and make sure you visit the local pub!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rlemin 3 reviews from this member

We were met with a cup of tea, having arrived 4 days early. The site was very friendly allocating a pitch we could use throughout our extended visit.

You cannot fault the size of the pitches, big enough for even the most space hungry outfits. The showers and toilets were adequate, and the free wifi as advertised but not always possible to access the web.

The river running through the site has a good stock of salmon par and small trout, providing some interest in the evenings. It is possible to buy a permit for most of the Exe down to dulverton for 15 but the fly fishing is not for the novice. Excellent dog walking facilities both on and off site.

The local pub provides good food with very generous portions. Good value site we will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joodles 1 review from this member

We very much enjoyed our stay at this site despite the bad weather. The toilets and showers were clean and adequate. Washing up facilities were also very good.

The space for pitching was very generous and the site very quiet. Although near to a road we were not disturbed by the noise of traffic at all.

We had a meal in the Badgers Holt. I would rate the food as ok. We visited Dulverton, Dunster and Minehead while there. All worth a visit.

Had the weather been better we would have liked to have done a couple of long walks on Exmoor. Tarr Steps and Dunkery Beacon looked very inviting.

There is a lot of information provided in the information hut about walks in the area. The fact that this is an adult only site was a bonus for us. There is a small shop selling basic groceries.

We are planning to return when the weather looks more promising and would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adg147 3 reviews from this member

Nice site, very spacious, cup of tea on arrival was nice. Very spacious pitches. Toilets could do with updating ladies was a bit smelly, stayed for 5 nights but only had hot water in the shower once.

Shop was shut for 3 days while we were there so had to do a bit of driving for the basics. Site was a bit remote.

The badgers holt pub served good food and drink and is less than 5 minutes walk away.

Make sure you take a trip to tarr steps, dulverton, and dunster, we also visited clovelly which was very nice (about 50 miles from the site).

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walker187 3 reviews from this member

This is a long site bordered by a river on one side and mill stream on the other. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. There is a working mill which runs on Sundays.

Facilities are very good and clean and include small laundry, good showers and toilets and indoor dishwashing area.

There is a small shop, library, information hut and wifi area. As there are no children allowed the atmosphere seemed a little odd, it's strange to be at a campsite and not have kids playing.

It was a quiet site though. Good local pub nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rjscamping 3 reviews from this member

Having once given up camping. We have returned 15 yrs later! What a fantastic campsite to get our passion back. Greeted by our lovely Host and Hostess who couldn't be more friendly if they tried without being intrusive.

We booked for 2 nights and had the choice of pitches, glad we got there early on the Friday as it soon started to fill up. Pitched by the River Exe and although we don't have a dog we did walk the 'dog walk' which was clean and very pleasant, always on the look out for otters.

The showers were spotless with plenty of very hot water. Also a free use of a microwave was available. The WiFi Shed offers easy Internet access for those who wish! We even had access to the 'herb garden' for our exotic camping cuisine!

The dawn chorus wasn't just at dawn as the rooks were nesting in the trees above and with the constant run of water from the Mill House made the ambience just perfect.

The Badgers Holt pub 2 mins walk away was very welcoming and very tasty meals were served within restricted times, although we just sat there with a drink and did some reading, perfect relaxation in front of the log fire. Highly recommended for adults and dogs (although must say we did enjoy the sound of no children)

We would definitely go back there but want to experience lots of other sites too!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The whitehouse 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights, end of April begining of May. Site offers good value + is a great location for walking + exploring this part of Exmoor, it's very relaxed, even when full.

The toilet block is rather dated, clean, but has a bit of a 'public toilet' feel to it rather than campsite facilities. The shower block is better but only 2 showers + 2 toilet cubicles for men in total.

We used the Badgers Holt Inn over the road from site, an OK pub but I wouldn't rate it any higher than Ok.

There are some excellent walks in the area, Dulverton + Dunster are 2 villages that are well worth a visit. A bit further away Selworthy + Porlock are also good places for walking + taking in the sites. There's very good info on site on the surrounding area, even if you haven't done your homework there's enough info to sort you out, + free wifi in + outside the 'wifi shed'.

All in all a nice relaxed site in a great part of Exmoor.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Expression470 5 reviews from this member

We have enjoyed a week at this site in April with our puppy. The site is lovely, very clean and picturesque with the river Exe running alongside. A peaceful site, even when full. Very friendly wardens and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the mill on Sunday morning.

The dog exercise area is completely enclosed so you can let the dog have a good run without the fear of them escaping, and the weir at the end of the dog walk is a very peaceful place to sit and ponder while the dog has a good sniff around.

We used the loos, but showered in our own van, as we prefer to do that - no detriment to the showers on site. We would most certainly go to this site again. The A396 which runs alongside is absolutely no problem and not busy. The sun in April was mostly on the road side of the site. We chose the river side in the shade. Sadly I didn't see a kingfisher, but others did, so they are there. Well worth a visit.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016