Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Padstow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01841 532061

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
              9/10 from 167 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crazy harry 1 review from this member

I have to agree with most of what has already been said about this site, good value, especially in the low season, very good facilities and close enough to the town to visit on foot. I have only a few suggestions to improve on what is already a good site, 1,more low level lighting around the site, it is very dark at this time of year, 2,it would be nice if the showers ran for a little longer with each push of the button!, 3,the pitches, although plenty large enough, could be marked out better to avoid any 'encroachment' issues, and, 4,although all the pitches are flat, they are mostly all on a gentle slope, fine if you are in a caravan or motorhome and can use ramps etc, but as a tent camper I will not sleep on a pitch that is not level

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Antvtr1000 9 reviews from this member

Visited for 6 nights during late August 2009 with a party of 4 tents.

Found the site to be at the top of the hill outside Padstow (about 1.5 miles) and down a long driveway into the park, well off the noise of the A-road.

The Reception area and staff were lovely and informative, quickly booked in and car entry via automatic barriers sorted; issued with site map with facilities including local info. On-site shop also in this block which had tourist info. Plus plenty of camping provisions.

Site is medium sized and flat, laid out into double rows with a tarmac road between opposing pitches, and small hedgerows + trees nicely separating rows for added privacy.At no point do you feel hemmed-in as the pitches are so spacious.

We had Pitches in row D, and found them to be of a good size to accept our Monty 6 + extension + car + trailer with room to spare.Considering recent (continuous) rain the grass areas showed no mud or ruts from vehicles, and we were over the moon with the state and firmness of the pitch. The pitches also had individual EHU + water/waste drains with low level lighting on the upstands (nice at night time).

Only used our nearest shower block which was superb, always spotless and stocked; shower cubicles very spacious (gents block looked almost as new). Block also contained excellent washing-up and chemical disposal facilities.

Site quiet after 10.We did get a ticking off on our 1st night!

Off-site.Tesco 2 mins drive (or short walk/cycle). Village of St.Merryn nearby (3 miles) with nice pub n grub (Cornish Arms) and Chippy, fuel etc.

Lovely beaches within 5 miles with parking + facilities, recommend Trevone Bay and Harlyn Bay.

Padstow is down the hill @ 1.5 miles with a nice walk/cycle option and is lovely and unspoilt, with plenty of shops + pubs/restaurants.Easily as nice at st.Ives for me!.

Padstow also has the start of the Camel Trail for cycling (inc. Hire shop), walking etc. Up to Wadebridge + beyond, which is very nice.

In summary, easily the best site we have stayed in our short camping career, so would definitely recommend for location, facilities, price etc.

Couldn't arrange the weather unfortunately.A bit mixed with some strongish cross-winds (due to high ground location I guess), but mainly dry in the day at least.Oh well, we'll try UK camping next year I guess!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dnhross 2 reviews from this member

If only all sites were this well run and pleasurable to stay on.

Having only booked the day before and being told they were going to be busy, I was surprised how spacious and quiet the site is. Lots of room between pitches and felt a really nice space to be in.

Facilities first rate, showers toilets and washing places a plenty and always spotlessly clean. We never had to wait once for a shower all week even at the busy periods of Breakfast time and when everyone came back from the beach.

Location wise the walk to town might be a bit long for some, but we did it regularly with a pram and 2 kids without trouble. For those who prefer to ride in, the bus stops clsoe and the park and ride is within 5 mins walk as is tesco across the field.

With the stunning array of north conwalls beaches all accessible within 10 mins this site is placed perfectly. We asked advice from the staff regarding access to the beaches with our motorhome and found them friendly and knowledgeable.

Would highly recommend a visit here

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stratman 5 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site just outside Padstow. Very good staff and excellent access control by numberplate recognition, no tags to lose!

Facilities excellent although none of the sinks in the washroom I used had plugs, not easy for a blade shaver like myself.

Ground pretty level but sandy soil means that you will need some good pegs if you are there in gales as we were. The site is fairly exposed even though there are wind break hedges etc

Left a day and a half early, due to weather, nothing at all to do with site or facilities.

Would return if weather could guarantee no 30mph winds!

All in all 9/10.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bekki68 6 reviews from this member

Very nice nice site set back from the main (not busy) road into Padstow providing an excellent base for visiting beaches and other parts of Cornwall.

It is well-run by a team of helpful, friendly and efficient staff. They were brilliant with us when we arrived on the back of a rescue truck with trailer in tow! The car had to stay on the lorry to go off to be repaired but they helped get some of the equipment off the car and took that and the trailer off to our pitch.

The site is virtually level with tarmac/gravel roadways making access to pitches good. There are fences and shrubbery separating areas of the site also. Our pitch was a generous size with room to spare after the trailer tent was pitched and car parked next to it. The drinking and waste water points were right next to each electric hookup which was really convenient.

Toilets and showers were plentiful, clean and tidy, and I never had to wait to use one.

The small play area was very popular with the kids and had to be vacated by 9.30pm and there is a small shop selling camping essentials and small toys but no food although you can order bread and pastries from a local bakery through the site shop.

There are three washing machines, costing 4.60 for a wash including powder, etc, and one dryer which was 1 for 15 mins.

The walk via the footpath to Tesco is great albeit through fields which, as it rained, were muddy but, with wellies, was no problem at all and very pleasant. From Tesco, there is a steep descent down to Padstow through a quiet residential area. All-in-all, took approximately 20 mins.

All-in-all, would definitely recommend it and go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicholafisher 12 reviews from this member

We have a group booking here for a long weekend and were really impressed with the site, considering how large it is, it was very quiet and spaced out. Toilet and shower facilities were clean and modern, kids loved the playground and well stocked shop ! Had a interesting but fun walk into Padstow across the fields in flipflops through mud. Walk is lovely and well worth it but would recommend more suitable footwear !

This is a nice well maintained and organised site, well back from the main road, good location for North Cornwall beaches with he Nearest only 5 mins drive away. Also a large Tesco store 5 mins walk across the field or very short drive.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keith tidman 9 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to padstow touring park since the present owners made the improvements to an already great site. I really thought it couldn't get any better but is has. We never had to wait for showers or toilets etc.

The path to Padstow is now easier to use and brings you to the side of tescos. The park is well situated for visiting the seven great beaches all within a 5 or 10 minuet drive. All in all this is a fantastic park and we cant wait to get back down there.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrews72 5 reviews from this member

Spent a week at this site, I was quite impressed with it,site was well kept and the toilet/showers were always clean, toilet roll and soap were always available. Site was quiet after dark, we had a superior pitch which wasn't as big as I was expecting but was enough for our tent and car, very near padstow which is lovely and there is a path which you can take to get to tescos (10 mins) and if you walk down the hill its another 15 mins into padstow. We enjoyed our week and would definitely go back to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davenic 6 reviews from this member

Great site, plenty of showers and toilets (queued once for 5 minutes in 6 days)toilets and showers were spotless and well stocked. Big pitches. Kids play area was small but large grassed areas on site to play ball games. Quiet site at night as wardens after 10pm enforced quiet time.

Padstow harbour a 10-15 minute walk away a little hill to tackle on the way back though, journey is through a maize field whci may get muddy in wet weather. Local Tesco is 10mins walk away or 2 mins in car. No immediate pubs in area nearest we saw was in Padstow. Shop was well stocked and not over-priced, Danish pastries are well worth a try.

There are about 10 beaches with 10mile of site and all fantastic.

One of the best sites we've been on and will definitely be booking for next year if available.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CAD65 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 6 night stay at this site and have to say we were very impressed. It was very clean and tidy, well kept grounds. The pitches seem to vary in size. There was good drainage in the soil so wasn't too muddy on the two days that we had rain. The shop seemed ok, but I didn't actually go in there because I never needed anything, we always used the Tescos that was a 5 minute drive away. The only complaint my husband had about the shop was that they didn't sell any newspapers, which we found a bit odd.

The site was a quiet, family orientated site, which was lovely and although there were teenage children there, including my own, there wasn't any teenage noise, it was very pleasant.

The showers were plentiful, it was very rare to have to queue for a shower. We used the toilet block which was nearest to us but it was an older building so needed updating a little bit but it was adequate, clean, always toilet roll and soap available. I did give in eventually to a more modern toilet/shower block that wasn't too far from our pitch but it was very nice, the showers had more space in and just generally more modern.

The dishwashing facilities were always clean and always had hot water.

The location to everything around was excellent, Crealy Cornwall was very close in Wadebridge, Padstow itself is close-by and absolutely gorgeous. Our favourite beach has to be Porthcothan, it is beautiful, spacious, great surfing but not really suitable for swimming but there are lots of rockpools that are suitable for little tots to splash around in, my 5 year old loved it.

Overall a very pleasant campsite that we would recommend to anyone and would definitely go back there.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6017 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957