Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Padstow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE   See Map
Tel: 01841 532061
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 174 Reviews
                9/10 from 174 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  174 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jenniboo 2 reviews from this member

Not much to say about this site other than it is perfect!

Hubby and I are in the in our late twenties/early thirties, we took our puppy too.

Really clean, plenty of showers, loo's, washing up sinks.

We stayed for 6 nights the first week in July and loved it.

We had a deluxe pitch, which mean we had our own tap and electric (well shared tap, with one other unit).

The site was friendly and quiet mainly, not sure if groups are allowed although did see a couple of tents pitched together at one end of the site.

Shop on site, also laundry and recycling, kids play area.

Only 1 mile walk to Tesco's, prob 1.5 miles into Padstow town.

2.5 Mile walk to the 'Cornish Arms' (Rick Steins pub). We went twice :)

1 mile ish to horse riding, where we did a 1 hour pony trek www.Tresallyn-riding-padstow.Co.Uk

Cycle hire just in padstow by the first car park. We cycled the Camel Trail and hired a doggy cart so we could take our puppy. Must pre book the dog cart though as they only have 2.

Newquay is approx 14 mile drive on a coast road.

Approx 9 miles to Bedruthen Steps a must see if you like the outdoor, but must be able to claim the steep steps.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aysha 2 reviews from this member

I have been camping for 11 years now and this is one of the best campsites I have been to. It is the cleanest I have ever been to and the only one I have never worn my flip flops in the shower! The grass is kept short, the flower beds are always being watered and the staff are really polite and helpful.

The pitches are of a good size and have never felt 'squashed' in anywhere. The walk into Padstow from the site along a costal path is lovely, quite steep coming back though but discovered a taxi back is only 5.Bargain! There's a little on site shop that sells mostly of what you would need, but there is a Tesco only 5 mins away.

I think some people expect too much when they go camping, it is camping after all! which also reflects the price which is very reasonable here too and as long as I can have a hot shower in clean surroundings I am more than happy. If you want more luxury then stay in a hotel!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pallett 13 reviews from this member

Unfortunately we have mixed views of this site, it is very nicely laid out and very convenient for Padstow and the bus down into town (if you manage not to get run over crossing the very busy main road).

Having a 3.5 ton motor home we need good pitches and the one we were allocated when we prebooked was rubbish. After I had come off the top of both levels because they tipped up on the uneven ground and ruined them at 40 a set I was not happy.

Anyway it is a very nice site and the reception staff really know their job. I think though that at the price we paid we could expect better loo blocks, the gents urinal was of a council run facility type and constantly smelled.

We will go back because we like Padstow, but we will not prebook

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

This site has mainly grass pitches, with a few hard standings which are a little odd in some cases! Our hardstanding was basically the width of the motorhome, and I did find it pretty irritating when our neighbours found it necessary to walk within a couple of feet of the van - it would have helped if we'd remembered to take a windbreak so our fault I suppose.

Reception helpful, shop selling basics (and I think gas??), lots of tourist leaflets and maps showing the nearby beaches. The toilet/shower block we used (next to reception) was very good - all good sized separate cubicles with shower, toilet and sink. There is a small play area at the top of the site, but I wouldn't want to pitch around that part because it seems to back onto a working farm or similar and it's pretty noisy with tractors etc.

There is a footpath across fields to Padstow, or if the weather is particularly wet you can walk along the road although there is no footpath until you get to the edge of town. It is very steep getting down into the town and harbour area - you can't avoid the hills! I really like Padstow, lots of places to eat and drink and nice shops to wander around. Fortunately, even though it was the Easter weekend, it wasn't heaving with people, probably mainly due to the changeable weather. We cycled along the Camel Trail from Padstow to Wadebridge - only about 6 miles, but not long after we started out it started raining, and we were soaked by the time we got to Wadebridge so decided not to go further. Really good route, though - this section at least is really flat and very pretty. You can hire bikes in Padstow, near the start of the trail if needs be. From Padstow you can walk about the coast path - we didn't go very far but found lovely sheltered bit of beach to enjoy the sun whilst it was out.

All in all, would return to this site for the location mainly.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Issym 29 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site. Well maintained even at this off peak time. Ablutions spotless.

It is countryside so you can be woken by cockerels crowing at day break (luckily for us this was 7ish).

We pitched between two hedges for wind protection but found we had to pitch our Norfolk Lake across the pitch, and then our guys slightly went over the next (vacant) pitch. We couldn't pitch length ways as the guys and possibly the tent would be on the drive through. Other pitches were much larger but not so well sheltered.

Will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tissy1 2 reviews from this member

Great site which had very large flat pitches, There is easy access into Padstow from the site. It is also close to the super market although there is a well stocked shop on site. There is a good farm shop close by that sells a range of organic meats veg and local cheeses etc. The toilets and showers were always clean what ever the time.There seem to be quite allot of helpful staff who were cleaning emptying bins and maintaining the grounds which were very tidy and well maintained. The site is open all year which is great because we like to visit these resorts during the winter. As it is at the top of Padstow it can be windy as it is quite an open site. Be warned Padstow is expensive but some of the restaurants are excellent. We had to book as this a popular place.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ASMATO 4 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site within easy reach of Padstow via either the pathway or using the Park and Ride at the top of the hill.

The facilities were spotlessly clean and functional with plenty of room within the private cubicles to hang clothing etc.

The site shop carried pretty much all the basic requirements with fresh baked bread from the local bakery delivered each morning. Anything else is available at the nearby Tesco store which can be reached via the main road, or alternatively via the pathway through the fields. Robust footware is a must during wet weather as the field gets a little slippery underfoot.

This was the second of three sites visited during our first outing in the Motorhome, and was streets ahead of the one we stayed at previously in North Devon. It had the additional bonus of being considerably cheaper and therefore much better value for money. The Hardstanding was located close to the Ablutions and had the a perfect view out across the estuary.

This site is ideal for a visit to Padstow and one which we will surely return to in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crazy harry 1 review from this member

I have to agree with most of what has already been said about this site, good value, especially in the low season, very good facilities and close enough to the town to visit on foot. I have only a few suggestions to improve on what is already a good site, 1,more low level lighting around the site, it is very dark at this time of year, 2,it would be nice if the showers ran for a little longer with each push of the button!, 3,the pitches, although plenty large enough, could be marked out better to avoid any 'encroachment' issues, and, 4,although all the pitches are flat, they are mostly all on a gentle slope, fine if you are in a caravan or motorhome and can use ramps etc, but as a tent camper I will not sleep on a pitch that is not level

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Antvtr1000 9 reviews from this member

Visited for 6 nights during late August 2009 with a party of 4 tents.

Found the site to be at the top of the hill outside Padstow (about 1.5 miles) and down a long driveway into the park, well off the noise of the A-road.

The Reception area and staff were lovely and informative, quickly booked in and car entry via automatic barriers sorted; issued with site map with facilities including local info. On-site shop also in this block which had tourist info. Plus plenty of camping provisions.

Site is medium sized and flat, laid out into double rows with a tarmac road between opposing pitches, and small hedgerows + trees nicely separating rows for added privacy.At no point do you feel hemmed-in as the pitches are so spacious.

We had Pitches in row D, and found them to be of a good size to accept our Monty 6 + extension + car + trailer with room to spare.Considering recent (continuous) rain the grass areas showed no mud or ruts from vehicles, and we were over the moon with the state and firmness of the pitch. The pitches also had individual EHU + water/waste drains with low level lighting on the upstands (nice at night time).

Only used our nearest shower block which was superb, always spotless and stocked; shower cubicles very spacious (gents block looked almost as new). Block also contained excellent washing-up and chemical disposal facilities.

Site quiet after 10.We did get a ticking off on our 1st night!

Off-site.Tesco 2 mins drive (or short walk/cycle). Village of St.Merryn nearby (3 miles) with nice pub n grub (Cornish Arms) and Chippy, fuel etc.

Lovely beaches within 5 miles with parking + facilities, recommend Trevone Bay and Harlyn Bay.

Padstow is down the hill @ 1.5 miles with a nice walk/cycle option and is lovely and unspoilt, with plenty of shops + pubs/restaurants.Easily as nice at st.Ives for me!.

Padstow also has the start of the Camel Trail for cycling (inc. Hire shop), walking etc. Up to Wadebridge + beyond, which is very nice.

In summary, easily the best site we have stayed in our short camping career, so would definitely recommend for location, facilities, price etc.

Couldn't arrange the weather unfortunately.A bit mixed with some strongish cross-winds (due to high ground location I guess), but mainly dry in the day at least.Oh well, we'll try UK camping next year I guess!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dnhross 2 reviews from this member

If only all sites were this well run and pleasurable to stay on.

Having only booked the day before and being told they were going to be busy, I was surprised how spacious and quiet the site is. Lots of room between pitches and felt a really nice space to be in.

Facilities first rate, showers toilets and washing places a plenty and always spotlessly clean. We never had to wait once for a shower all week even at the busy periods of Breakfast time and when everyone came back from the beach.

Location wise the walk to town might be a bit long for some, but we did it regularly with a pram and 2 kids without trouble. For those who prefer to ride in, the bus stops clsoe and the park and ride is within 5 mins walk as is tesco across the field.

With the stunning array of north conwalls beaches all accessible within 10 mins this site is placed perfectly. We asked advice from the staff regarding access to the beaches with our motorhome and found them friendly and knowledgeable.

Would highly recommend a visit here

Previous     174 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 5 Night Holiday in the Peak District Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 245

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5239 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977