Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Retired teddybear 1 review from this member

Brilliant adult only site. All the staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. Myself and my husband were running a rally for the Bessacarr Owners Club and were made extremely welcome and on request we were allowed to use the information room for our meetings. There was a shop on site which was well stocked and the town of Street within 5 minutes drive away. We also booked a skittle alley at a local pub for our Saturday night get together. We could do with a lot more sites like this one. It was great.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raychel 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this beautiful site whilst visiting the Fairy Festival in Glastonbury.

We had a very warm welcome and were shown to a nice corner pitch. Although it was quiet the units had not been squashed into one area and were nicely spread out around one of the luxury toilet blocks.

Facilities are excellent, individual shower rooms were great for getting into my steampunk fairy costume, much easier than in the van.

Very clean and well maintained. Great location although it was too wet to do the short walk to the Tor. Will go back again in a dryer(!) month.

Glastonbury is adorable, like a mind, body, spirit fair on the high street. Just a shame it's so far away or we would go more often.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 29 reviews from this member

We arrived to a very warm welcome and a great sense of humour from the wardens. The site was both spacious and immaculately presented. The pitches were all large and it was very peaceful. We could only hear the birds and the owls at night. There are some lovely walks with extensive views across the Mendip Hills. The shower/toilet block was first class with underfloor heating. We asked if we could extend our stay on the Sunday and they were very accommodating, finally leaving the site at 5pm. We could not find fault with anything. Everything had been thought

About. Although we don't live far away, we will definitely return. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend break.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fireydiva 3 reviews from this member

We've had a wonderful time here. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the park and all the visitor areas are tidy, clean and well maintained.

The on site shop and off licence is surprisingly well stocked, with local produce (including local beer, wine and cider) along with those things that you might need but didn't bring (storm straps for example) and essentials like shampoo and washing up liquid. There are also some really nice pieces for sale by local artists - one of those is coming home with me!

There's a good visitor information room with a pool table, information about local attractions and walks of varying length that can be done from the park. The walking routes are on laminated sheets and can either be borrowed and returned, or purchased if you want your own copy.

They're genuinely welcoming to dogs (as opposed to tolerant of dogs) - there's a nice, enclosed exercise area, a warm dog shower in case your fur friend gets grubby, dog laundry facilities for dirty dog towels and beds so the human laundry machines don't get hairy (genius - why don't all 'dog friendly' sites have this!) and secure tie clips outside every building so you can pop in to the shop or facilities block en route back to your van after your walk.

The new facilities block is the nicest I've ever been in - tasteful, clean, modern, warm, welcoming and eco-friendly. There are plenty of private shower rooms, as well as the private cubicles in the communal facilities. Although we're here in March, I wouldn't think there would be a shortage even at high season. The local attractions speak for themselves and the atmosphere is peaceful, tranquil and relaxed.

I've never written a review about the sites we've stayed on before, but this one is superb and completely deserves the 10/10 that I've given it. We will definitely be returning here, I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

Most of this has been said before, BUT this is definitely one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. Lovely surroundings and birdlife, we had Greater Spotted Woodpeckers visiting our bird feeder each day! Great walks from site, perfect for our dog, even though he is getting on a bit! Nice on-site dog walk & doggie shower, which we were glad of after a muddy walk. Plenty of dog bins. Well stocked shop with local goodies, can order papers & fresh bread. First class facilities block. Extras like booking to have your motorhome/caravan cleaned whilst on site or even serviced.

We will most definitely be back and can't wait.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie58 8 reviews from this member

This is the best site we have ever stayed on. Every little details to make a stay special has been thought about and provided. The site is spacious and maintained to an excellent standard. Pitches are large and have beautiful bushes and trees between each pitch. There are no caravans in front of a pitch - just a large green area - no looking at your neighbours across the road here! The facilities would put a 5 star hotel to shame. They are just wonderful. Wardens are very friendly and helpful. Had all the time in the world for us. Going back again soon.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 18 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a fabulous weekend at the Old Oaks campsite. What an amazing place. Lovely welcome on arrival. Was given the opening times of reception/shop on our arrival, with a small booklet giving local info. The shop had lovely meat and jams for sale. Also fresh bacon and eggs if you wanted. Could also order our daily newspaper to collect next morning. Shown where we could fill up with water and then to our pitch, which was in 'Top Oaks'. Site was very busy and its easy to see why. Very clean and well maintained. I have never been on site with such fantastic toilet/shower facilities. The building was like walking into a posh hotel. Warm and exceptionally clean and fresh. Even the washing up area was inside and lovely and clean. Lots of local info available in the tourist information building next to reception. Glastonbury itself is within walking distance from the site. We will recommend this site to friends and cant wait to visit again

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsroly 4 reviews from this member

Visited for 5 days and I have to say this is my husbands favourite site for good reason.

Pitches are superb, tv reception good, showers and toilets immaculate, dog walk excellent.

The walks to the tor and into Glastonbury from the site are well worth doing with amazing views.

There is even a taxi bus which picks people up from the site on weekdays to go to Glastonbury and Bath at reasonable cost.

Absolutely love this site and the area

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glamper Wendy 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful site. The Owners and wardens were very helpful and friendly. The site is set out so beautifully. Looked immaculate, and the views across Somerset were stunning. As for the facilities. Well the best Ive ever come across. Definitely 5 star. So lovely and warm too. Loved the wet room shower rooms that also had a sink and loo in as well. These facilities were always immaculate whenever you went in there. They also had lovely washing up facilities in the new block as well. So nice to wash up in the lovely and warm on a cold windy day. The only thing I would say could improve the site for us would be electric grass pitches. We had to pitch on hardstanding which isnt very good for the bottom of your tent even with a thick footprint underneath. We had dimply marks on our sewn in groundsheet when we left and it wasn't very comfortable underfoot either as the hardstandings are really big chunky stone. But if they ever decide to have electric grass pitches we would definitely go back to this beautiful site. But think its more geared up for campervans and caravans at the moment. They do have grass pitches but none with electric hookup.

There are some lovely walks from this park. You can walk into Glastonbury or another lovely walk is the Tor which isnt far at all. I loved this park. I'm sure you will too. The only reason Ive given this park a 8 out of 10 overall rating is because no electric grass pitches.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 20 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site that hasn't already been said:

BEST SITE IN UK - by far. It is fantastic, in a quiet lane 1. 5 miles from road.

Large individual pitches, hedge off so no encroaching on your neighbours.

2 fields are fully serviced pitches, some mixed fully service and electric hook up, some take tents also, and 3 pods for camping.

Large secure dog run, even has a doggy washing machine!

Lovely well kept site, warm friendly greetings from staff, not always the case when you turn up at a site.

Best shower block ever, private ladies & gents showers/toilets/wash sinks. Also individual rooms with shower/loo/sink inside. Lovely pot washing area under cover and ironing & washing clothes facilities. Even the older block is spotlessly clean and in better condition than many other sites visited.

A large information room with TV, pool table and settee to read magazines, info etc. There is walks from the site to the Tor and various other places which can be borrowed from info room.

Fishing on site for a fee.

Bus to Wells £10 return for 2 people.

Bike Hire

Cakes on sale in well stocked shop.

Cider & cheese tastings whilst we were there.

You can tell from how the site is kept and run that the owners and staff are very proud of what they have and you cant blame them, a site in a class of it's own, a lot of investment has gone into the site for the enjoyment of it's clientèle, well done.

We will be back.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3158 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1426
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window