Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 300 Reviews
              10/10 from 300 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  300 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 17 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a fabulous weekend at the Old Oaks campsite. What an amazing place. Lovely welcome on arrival. Was given the opening times of reception/shop on our arrival, with a small booklet giving local info. The shop had lovely meat and jams for sale. Also fresh bacon and eggs if you wanted. Could also order our daily newspaper to collect next morning. Shown where we could fill up with water and then to our pitch, which was in 'Top Oaks'. Site was very busy and its easy to see why. Very clean and well maintained. I have never been on site with such fantastic toilet/shower facilities. The building was like walking into a posh hotel. Warm and exceptionally clean and fresh. Even the washing up area was inside and lovely and clean. Lots of local info available in the tourist information building next to reception. Glastonbury itself is within walking distance from the site. We will recommend this site to friends and cant wait to visit again

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsroly 4 reviews from this member

Visited for 5 days and I have to say this is my husbands favourite site for good reason.

Pitches are superb, tv reception good, showers and toilets immaculate, dog walk excellent.

The walks to the tor and into Glastonbury from the site are well worth doing with amazing views.

There is even a taxi bus which picks people up from the site on weekdays to go to Glastonbury and Bath at reasonable cost.

Absolutely love this site and the area

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glamper Wendy 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful site. The Owners and wardens were very helpful and friendly. The site is set out so beautifully. Looked immaculate, and the views across Somerset were stunning. As for the facilities. Well the best Ive ever come across. Definitely 5 star. So lovely and warm too. Loved the wet room shower rooms that also had a sink and loo in as well. These facilities were always immaculate whenever you went in there. They also had lovely washing up facilities in the new block as well. So nice to wash up in the lovely and warm on a cold windy day. The only thing I would say could improve the site for us would be electric grass pitches. We had to pitch on hardstanding which isnt very good for the bottom of your tent even with a thick footprint underneath. We had dimply marks on our sewn in groundsheet when we left and it wasn't very comfortable underfoot either as the hardstandings are really big chunky stone. But if they ever decide to have electric grass pitches we would definitely go back to this beautiful site. But think its more geared up for campervans and caravans at the moment. They do have grass pitches but none with electric hookup.

There are some lovely walks from this park. You can walk into Glastonbury or another lovely walk is the Tor which isnt far at all. I loved this park. I'm sure you will too. The only reason Ive given this park a 8 out of 10 overall rating is because no electric grass pitches.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 15 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site that hasn't already been said:

BEST SITE IN UK - by far. It is fantastic, in a quiet lane 1. 5 miles from road.

Large individual pitches, hedge off so no encroaching on your neighbours.

2 fields are fully serviced pitches, some mixed fully service and electric hook up, some take tents also, and 3 pods for camping.

Large secure dog run, even has a doggy washing machine!

Lovely well kept site, warm friendly greetings from staff, not always the case when you turn up at a site.

Best shower block ever, private ladies & gents showers/toilets/wash sinks. Also individual rooms with shower/loo/sink inside. Lovely pot washing area under cover and ironing & washing clothes facilities. Even the older block is spotlessly clean and in better condition than many other sites visited.

A large information room with TV, pool table and settee to read magazines, info etc. There is walks from the site to the Tor and various other places which can be borrowed from info room.

Fishing on site for a fee.

Bus to Wells £10 return for 2 people.

Bike Hire

Cakes on sale in well stocked shop.

Cider & cheese tastings whilst we were there.

You can tell from how the site is kept and run that the owners and staff are very proud of what they have and you cant blame them, a site in a class of it's own, a lot of investment has gone into the site for the enjoyment of it's clientèle, well done.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshcat 3 reviews from this member

Well worthy of its number 1 status. Just spent 7 nights here. The price tag you pay is worthy, and still very good value compared to some sites in a similar price bracket. The site is open and airy, but still you feel enclosed in a private pitch, you get the feeling its a 20 to 30 pitch site, but yet its not. The pitches are roomy and you have plenty of room for awning and car. The new shower block is the dogs gonads, can't fault the build quality. The grounds ooze quality, the functional amenities like water and waste are plentiful and emptied regularly. The elsan disposal is quite simply very well designed. Dog walk is enclosed and the site has around 8 poo bins with anti bac dispensers. The area is good for touristy spots, recommend a couple of hours people watching in Glasto - this has a high street like no other. Hundred Monkeys (dog friendly) comes with a reco too - excellent value with a relaxed bohemian atmosphere. Warning to the elderly and infirm - Glasto is 35 mins walk away uphill but there is a taxi minibus service from the site. Defo 5 star site

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 8 reviews from this member

What an amazing site! Just got home from an 8 night stay at The Old Oaks. Thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent here. Excellent facilities for humans and dogs. Nice clean showers and toilet facilities. We had a super pitch, well worth it. All of the team that work here were friendly, helpful, polite and approachable. Would recommend the fresh bread which you need to order and the sausages and bacon available in the shop. Shop well stocked and open all day which is a real bonus as so many site shops open such limited hours. Also in the shop is local produce including Orchard Pig cider - highly recommended! Well kept information point with laminated walks from the park, a really useful addition. Highly recommend a trip to Glastonbury Tor, quite a trek but stunning views on a clear day (rather breezy on the top!).

Would recommend this site any day, lovely big pitches, great team, excellent facilities, nice and peaceful. Only downside, and certainly NOT a reflection on the park, not all owners cleaned up after their pooches. Will definitely return to this site. Thank you for such a lovely tranquil break and keep up the wonderful work that you all do.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetand john 6 reviews from this member

Adult Only Site

Read so many good reviews for this site just had to visit and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the top oaks and we had a really good pitch plenty of room and really good neighbours either side.

The site is just below Glastonbury tor and footpaths from the site take you straight there about 1 1/2 mile up hill but worth the trek uphill the view is amazing then you can walk down the other side of the tor into Glastonbury.

The site amenities are the best we have been to washing up and shower and toilets all housed in one new block we loved the idea of the unisex rooms which were wet room showers with toilets. There are also another two shower blocks on site.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly

There's a shop on site that sales everything that you would run out or forget to take on holiday with you

Cider tasting on certain is good

But the best part of the day is the home made cake that is baked by a local lady 4 different types of sponges a day not to be missed

Thanks OldOaks you made us welcome and what relaxing holiday and James thanks for getting rid of the wasp nest

We will be back

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TOPCAT40 4 reviews from this member

Without doubt, this site sets the benchmark for all sites. Good sized pitches, best toilet block I have ever seen, well maintained, quiet, pretty site and helpful staff. Glastonbury about an hours walk if you are reasonably fit otherwise you need transport to go anywhere.

If there is one negative then its something over which the site owners have no control and that's the road leading to the site. It's over a mile in length and quite narrow in places with some passing places. It carries L. G. V's and tractors and if you meet one at the wrong place whilst towing, like we did, it can be very awkward. But I wouldn't let this put me off and will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 16 reviews from this member

If I was intending to set up a 'perfect' campsite I would use this site as a blueprint. The owners have thought of everything that guests could possibly want and much more. Yes it is a bit more expensive than some sites but look at what you get.

State of the art shower block (that truly is state of the art) with outstanding green credentials. Friendly wardens and other guests/campers who always have a smile on their face (and why wouldn't they when staying on such an exceptional site). Fresh, home baked cakes (the list frequently changes throughout the day as they do sell 'like hot cakes')! An outstanding information room with details of every kind of local amenity that you could imagine (with guest discounts available for local restaurants and pubs).

The site offers twice daily minibus trip into Glastonbury with its wonderful Abbey ruins in the centre, Chalice Well and quirky shops. The smallest city in England, Wells can be seen from the site (the cathedral and moat is a must if you visit the city) and of course the Mendip Hills offers Cheddar Gorge and lots of pretty villages.

Enormous pitches that are tastefully landscapes - some of the best views of the Mendip Hills are to be seen from the top pitches in the Top Oaks field (pitches 9-16).

It is a great area for cycling and you can hire bikes from the site at quite reasonable half day and daily rates. Fishing is also available on site and we saw some whoppers jumping in the pond during an evening stroll. The famous Glastonbury Tor is approx 1 mile walk through public footpaths and fields.

If you are looking for a peaceful haven in the middle of fabulous Somerset countryside with a quirky town and small 'city' not too far away then this site provides a wonderful base.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jumper5281 1 review from this member

Without doubt this is one of the best sites in the UK that we have visited. The pitch sizes are generous and they are not overlooked from the front or the rear and many have hedging to separate the pitches. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch which worked well and the drains and electricity were conveniently placed.

The shower facilities are second to none, ultra modern with a very high standard of equipment, stainless steel self closing bins etc. Spotlessly clean. There is a choice of self contained cabins with shower sink and lavatory or the usual block type facilities with showers lavatories and sinks. There is an indoor pot wash with spotlessly clean stainless steel sinks and in indoor laundry room complete with iron and ironing board, including separate washer and dryer for dog bedding. An adult only quiet and peaceful site with excellent views of the Mendips, a mile walk to Glastonbury Tor straight from the site. There is adequate facilities for dog walkers on the site and there is a large fishing lake that can be accessed for a small fee. The site has it's own well stocked shop and can supply fresh bread, newspapers daily. For those people not on fully services pitches the water and refuse points are all within easy reach no more than 50 yards maximum. The site is also very keen on recycling and has many well signed recycling bins. Highly recommended site.

Previous     300 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1289