Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Isobella 2 reviews from this member

This is a working farm and fantastic for the kids as they can watch the cows being milked, our kids loved it here as they were free and safe to explore the environment they also made lots of new friends. The toilet/show block was always being cleaned or in the process of being clean. Steward was helpful. Not far from the village which is lovely and only a short walk away, it has a park and shops. This campsite was perfect for us as it was our first time as campers it exposed us to the elements as it is literally at the bay, the views are breathtaking. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martin holden 1 review from this member

Just got back today from visiting this site with my wife and daughter with 2 other couples both having kids under 10 years old. The prices are not too bad the area is stunning, great walks ( never walked so much in my life ! ) and views.However the facilities on site are not the best with only one shower and 3 toilets in the gents and 2 showers and 4 toilets in the ladies but this should not put you off just be prepared to wait.On site sign says no ball games near caravans but the camping fields are ok great to see so many kids running wild. Due to this they are often early to bed. The local village has 2 pubs 15 minutes walk away. The prices between the pubs vary vastly. Both are really nice. One is the silverdale hotel bit pricey but the staff are really friendly.The second is the royal hotel again the staff are very friendly and the food is not too expensive but is really good, this pub has a playground outside for the kids.The local co op shop is small but the prices are good, there is also a corner shop and a butchers that only sells raw meat also a newsagents and post office. Would visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

We found our visit to silverdale really relaxing the staff were friendly, lovely views and walks threw the forests.

Great taking the kids down to the beach caving and rock climbing and crabbing.The rocks in the centre off the field the kids all play on there which seem to cause no problem at all.

The home made ice cream is fab banana and caramel is the way forward but he cornettos of mike and lyn are way far the best for the kids cheap and cheerful

The wardens come round for a friendly chat everyday and night overall ouur stay at silverdale was brill and looking forward to going again next weekend

Watch out silverdale:}

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1982 2 reviews from this member

After years away from camping, we had a nice weekend at Gibraltar Farm.

The site is located in a quiet spot, with great views over Morecambe bay.

We arrived at 7pm Friday and the site was very busy. Steward friendly and we picked our own spot. All other campers friendly enough. Only problem was on Friday night, I was woken at 3am by other campers talking. The site advertises not taking large groups of youths, however, this group of 6-8 20 yrs old or so girls slipped the net. Still - these things happen and we were all young once!

Toilet block clean enough, 3 cubicles in the gents, a floating trough type urinal (sorry - I work for an interiors company and to go 'none techie' on stuff like this wouldn't be right!) and a single shower. With having young kids, we were up early so no queues for the showers, however they're busy at 9am! The toilet block is in a different spot to where it was when I last went (probably 1998) so it's quite new.

Quite a few dogs on site - most well-behaved.

A decent site, very friendly, good spot and highly recommended!

Cheap too - 10 per night.

(Beware of Sat nav directions - avoid a local village called Wharton - the sat nav will try to take you through it but the gas board have the road dug up! Instead, leave the M6 at J35, and head for Carnforth. Then put in the postcode from there - far quicker!)

(Also - recommend Happy Mount Park in Morecambe - approx 20 mins from the site and a great half-day/day out for the family, particularly with kids under the age of 10 yrs!)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MR24 2 reviews from this member

This site has improved so much over the last few years which has to be down to the resident wardens who control the site so well. They are friendly and cant do enough for you. We went for a full week and site full at weekends but amazingly no noise at night - however, wardens went off site and didn't we know it! Gangs of teenagers patrolling the site, hanging round toilets, shouting and swearing.

Two showers for women and only one for men so large queues at weekend mornings. Lovely atmosphere on caravan field where you can have fire to sit round. All in all a really lovely site to visit but make sure you pick days when the warden is on duty.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 155 reviews from this member

Stayed only one night, as we couldn't be bothered driving far that day in the heatwave. Cracking views out to the bay, pretty scenery. Grass kept neat but dingy toilet block struggled to cope. Very good off-lead dog walks in the extensive woods by the site; the sand on the beach is like thick mud.
The Steward was friendly - surprisingly it was he and his friends who were too loud too late. We got a very good deal mid-week for about half price as we're over 55. The farm makes ice cream although it wasn't available when we were there.
I'd come again but I'd make sure the water tank was full - it was hard to get close enough to the standpipe to fill the motorhome water tank due to a fence with no purpose around the toilet block, and it was the worst tasting water we've ever had.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazzy25 3 reviews from this member

Having been to this site last August in the most horrendous winds, we really wanted to go again on a nice peaceful day! We are only 45min away and it`s ideal for us for weekends. We have children and this site is geared for families, so be prepared for lots of children running round which is great if you have them and if you don`t you may need to be a little tolerant, though saying that all the children seemed to be enjoying themselves and tend to congregate around a rocky hill in the middle of one of the fields. There are also woods to explore which are lovely.

We got a great pitch with some trees between us and the sea,the site is very exposed to the elements and the weather can change quite quickly, but the views over the bay are absolutely stunning and even though there were a lot of children it is very relaxing. The facilities are clean and adequate, the village is only a short walk if you want to top up on the basics and there are lots of walks to follow.

At the top of the hill there is a little hut that sells icecream and it is gorgeous, I`d highly recommend the Irish cream flavour. All in all I think this is a great site and will be going again as soon as!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J baker 2 reviews from this member

Definitely the best views on any site we have stayed. Casic site but the views and the location are superb. A real working farm, very easy going. The weekends surprised us as the number of tenters went from a handful to what appeared hundreds, all the children got on very well together with no problems it was a joy to watch them playing all sorts of games, with the older kiddies looking after the younger ones. No tvs no computers just being lovely happy children.

We will definitely be going back

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Canim 5 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from gib farm, first time caravanners, had an excellent weekend. The site is easy to get to, the steward is as helpful as can be. The area and views are unbeatable, loads of space.
Good clean amenities. Plenty to do and see within walking distance, we definitely will be going back again in the near future.

Drawbacks - The English Weather, -otherwise none !

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JAMMI 7 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic weekend at this site.

The campsite is part of a working farm that overlooks Morecambe bay. The views are pretty good and if you like a spectacular sunset, then this is the place. It was great to look out over the bay.

The campsite is part of a working farm, which is great as far as I am concerned. Sheep in the fields surrounding the camping field and cattle up in the farm buildings. Was great fun for the kids. However, the cattle were very vocal at night, not just a little mooing either! Was more like roaring! I enjoyed it though and this added to the whole experience.

There was plenty of space for the kids to run around and play football, without causing too much disruption to the other campers I hope! There was also an area in the centre of the tent field that had trees and rocks for the kids to explore.

There are also woods onsite to explore. There is a cave in the woods(but I wouldn't let the kids go in!). The 'beach' can be reached via the woods. Although it doesn't look the most enticing beach in the world we thought we would tackle the rocks to reach it. That was a mistake; the sand was like quicksand and we very quickly ended up with 2 kids flat on their faces covered in the muddy sand! I would only venture on if it looked dry. There is a coastal path to the village but this is really not suitable for young children.

The facilities were perfectly adequate and on the whole very clean. They did tend to get a bit untidy and short of paper late in the evening and early morning but were soon put right again. There are 4 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies, one of each of those being the disabled facilities. The disabled shower was a much better oprion to use as there was loads more room and there was hooks to hang your stuff up. I do think a chair or a stool would be a great benefit. My son told me that there was a chair in the gents shower, plus a mirror for shaving.
There was 2 wash hand basins plus a stainless steel sink in the ladies. Not sure what the stainless steel sink is for! There were 2 sinks for washing up in an area to the outside of the toilet block, I found these to be clean and have plentiful hot water. There was also an area for me to empty and wash my Kamping Khazi!

The weather here seems quickly changeable. I would make sure you guy out fully regardless of the weather conditions on your arrival. The tent field is mainly quite exposed, though there are a few sheltered spots but these were quickly taken (and not by me I might add!) Our tents did take a bit of a battering from the wind but no damage was incurred.

It is a pleasant walk down a country road (no footpath) to the village. There are 2 pubs/hotels that serve food (didn't use them), an Italian restaurant (didn't use) and a convenience store. The shop was very basic and limited and worthwhile noting that it closed at 5.30pm Was good for bread, milk etc. I wouldn't rely on it for anything more than the basics.

All in all we loved this site and will definitely be visiting again

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977