Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 190 Reviews
              9/10 from 190 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyn C 9 reviews from this member

Loved this campsite and will definitely return here.

On arrival we were shown to our spot by a chap in a buggy. We were told that we could choose a different spot if we wanted, but we were happy with the pitch and as the site is on different levels we had a great view of the whole site. The pitches are close together though and we didn't have enough room to park the car next to the tent once we had put our windbreak up!

The main block of showers and toilets were clean and warm, and not too busy, but the portacabin block in our field had water leaking through the roof when we had a downpour, which made trying to keep your belongings dry whilst having a shower very difficult indeed!

The food in the restaurant was ok but quite expensive and in our opinion, not worth it!

The swimming pool was kept very clean although I didn't try it out - weather not good enough for my liking!

The walk to Dawlish Warren is lovely as it takes you up through some woodland with beautiful views of the river Ex and the sea.

Only used the bar on the first evening but my daughter and her friend spent a few evenings in there and they seemed to enjoy it!

There's a lovely pub selling fantastic food just down the lane (take a torch if walking at night) called The Anchor Inn that we would highly recommend but it wasn't cheap!

Good location for Dawlish, Exeter and Torquay and 1/2 an hour walk to the railway station and ferry to Exmouth.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doe42 15 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Monday, receptionists very pleasant & helpful, booked in quickly and shown around on a Golf Buggy to pick pitches. As 2 families wanting to pitch near each other didn't have much choice left following all the Saturday arrivals. Chose 2 far pitches next to the road - not too bad once you get used to the noise.

Shop - well stocked for all your needs.

Site is clean and well maintained. Showers & toilets were clean and spacious. Good fishing lakes.

Spacious dog walking field. Nice walk down the back lane to the Anchor Inn.

Small waterpark not too far away, on beautiful beach with watersports available.

Wookey Hole is also worth a visit.

Good TV reception.

Negative points - Pitch sizes a little on small side in certain parts, we had 2 caravans opposite each other and were unable to hitch up were pitched, had to manoeuvre caravan and ask next door to move their car so we could pull them off. The pitches on the clubhouse side were a better size.

Have to drive to most places as little too far away from everything.

No parking area for arrivals - they were parked up all over the place, waiting to book in and be shown to pitches.

Be prepared to queue for takeaway.

Pool was cold and children didn't use it after the first 2 days.

A site as large as this would benefit from an indoor pool.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayne1969 3 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a week's holiday at this site, where we had a fully-serviced pitch, including water, waste and TV hook-up (in addition to the usual electric). Mostly it is a good park. It's beautifully kept and the open spaces are spotless. We used two shower blocks and they were both clean and modern, with plenty of unlimited hot water and piped music! The takeaway was good value and open for breakfast as well as in the evening. There is a shop selling the usual stuff, quite pricey, but not out of the ordinary. It could do with getting rid of the usual kids toys (taking up probably a third of the shop space) and putting in a few more essentials instead though. The fishing lakes are great for a nice peaceful walk round.

There is a great kids play area at the top of the park, past the shetland pony and the donkeys, in the woods, which has an assault course and zip wire, etc. All in excellent condition.

The only bad side was that the site is split in two by a public road which is kind of in a dip, although most traffic seems to be coming on to the site rather than passing through. We found that there were many, many unaccompanied children on bikes, skateboards, roller blades, etc just going as fast as they can right across the road.

LOCALITY - Dawlish Warren beach - how it's a Blue Flag (or whatever) beach is a complete mystery, it's a complete dump! Couple of normal arcades etc, and a train station if you like that sort of thing. Dawlish itself is just a small seaside town with one large-ish amusement arcade and a chippy and a railway station.

Blackpool Sands is an excellent beach, but a good hours drive (but a scenic drive though), NOT sand, but very very small shingle, spotlessly clean and clear water to snorkel in.

Babbacombe Model Village is great for killing a couple of hours or so if the weather isn't great.

Dartmouth is a lovely town to walk round, get the train from Dalish Warren to Paignton, then the steam train(!) from Paignton to Kingswear and then the little ferry (takes 5 mins) across for a great day out.

For a cheap day out with kids try Trego Mills at Newton Abbot. Adults will love the bargains, but then you can buy a 4 person pass for £13.95 which entitles you to around 10 or so rides on the go-karts, swan boats, miniature railway, etc, you can stay all afternoon!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampersvw 1 review from this member

My husband chose this site and I must say we were not disappointed. It is a very large site, which I knew when booking as we had received a brochure to look at before. It is very well organised, with a man in a buggy showing you around the campsite allowing you to choose your spot, the showers/toilets always kept clean. Showers were very busy in the morning, but that is only to be expected on a site this size. I am an early riser so this did not affect me (as soon as daylight hits the tent I am awake).

The shop on site is very good, caters for absolutely every need possible. We also used the bar to eat in a few times, and my husband caught up on the first football match of the season. The fish and chip shop is excellent! Although if you arrive on a Saturday be prepared for a long wait – but it is well worth waiting for.

On reading some of the reports about bored teenagers, I had 2 with me and they stayed with us for the evening and were not hanging around the arcade. Maybe this happens when groups of families go together and they hang around with their friends, but mine were happy to stay with the family.

The only downfall I can think of is that the pitches are too close together (or just a minus on the camping side) because the tent next door to us had a tv and you could hear every word of it.(not a very peaceful evening) If we had a tv and were watching the same film we would not have needed the sound. We did have a portable dvd player with us in case it rained of an evening but we used earplugs so as not to disturb anyone.

We had a dog with us for the very first time camping and this worked out very well. There were other dogs around so you did not feel as you were the only one with a dog and there are plenty of places to walk your dog as well as the 'dog exercise field'.

One other thing I would mention is the ice packs, you cannot re-freeze your own, you have to hire them (large for £3 and small £2.50) and then pay to re-freeze them when you need to 60p large and 40p small, but you obviously do get your deposit back when you leave. Apart from an aching back from sleeping on an airbed for 2 weeks we all enjoyed our camping holiday and would definitely re-visit.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pablo0874 2 reviews from this member

Very well laid out site, plenty of facilities, on site pub and club chip shop. Well spaced pitches. Value for money, great swimming pool with attendants and well stocked on site shop. Easy to find, located in a very nice part of Devon not far from most attractions and beach value for money.

Toilet facilities gold star in my opinion, music playing 24 7, clean around the clock and even smelt nice. There is wi fi access at a small charge. The only problem I found was there was not much of a tv signal or even a mobile phone signal but despite this we had a great time.

There is also coftons own lakes which you can walk around or go fishing. It's a very nice site for all the family, something for everyone there, you can just stay on site and have a entertaining fun filled holiday without even leaving there.

Dawlish is about 20 minute drive down the road and there is a local spar 5 minutes drive away, so you're never out of supplies. The on site shop has most things you need including caravan /camping spares, it may be a bit pricey but I don't think that much more than what you would pay elsewhere, well recommended. Will be going again

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weirgzl 7 reviews from this member

After a 7 hour drive and having to wait to check in we then had to queue up for a further 20 minutes for someone to take us to our pitch. Our pitch was in the furthest field from the complex and a 7 minute walk to the clubhouse and shop. The toilets and washing facilities were a portacabin. The 'heated' pool was cold and the chippy prices were extortionate. On the second night in the bar I was asked to provide proof of age, as I had none I was refused buying alcohol (I am 36 years of age!) I went to reception the following morning to complain and the bar manager was brought in. She said it was procedure and I should carry picture ID so there was nothing she could do. I spent the remainder of our holiday drinking soft drinks while my wife went to the bar for her drinks. I wrote a written complaint to the management and when I returned home there was a letter waiting saying they were within their rights, with a poster attached about proof of age.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 80 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week during peak season, we have visited before several years ago and the site has been developed since we last visited.

Positives:-

Fantastic shower block, very clean and never had to queue for a shower, always warm.

Very clean site in nice surroundings.

Good children's play areas dotted around the site.

Negatives:

The swimming pool was freezing even on a hot sunny day, it took your breath away!

The site was very busy and felt crammed, the touring pitches are close together, not much privacy.

We stayed on a premier pitch which was great has it was hardstanding with its own BBQ, however, they are located at the top of a very steep hill and far away from the main facilities, they are also difficult to get large caravans into due to the space.

The family clubhouse at night is far too small for the size of the site, we only went once as you couldn't get a seat and we saw lots of people turn away, the site is losing a lot of business because of this.

The surrounding area isnt as nice as it used to be, Dawlish itself looks alittle tired and Dawlish Warren beaches are not as nice as other parts of Devon, you have to drive at least 45 mins to get a nice beach.

There is nothing to do on this site if the weather is wet and we had two days of rain.

It is a very busy site so if you are looking for a quiet site then avoid this one, if it had an indoor pool and larger indoor area for night time then it would be a perfect site. We wont be visiting again as it was expensive and we didn't think the area was attractive at all.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boyse7en 1 review from this member

Just got back from a few days camping on the terraced Ten-Acre Field at Cofton. This is a large site, well maintained with plenty of trees, flowerbeds and hedges to break up the appearance. Very busy, being the first week of the school holidays, but didn't feel crowded at all - plenty of room with large pitches.

The only complaint was with the toilet block in the camping field. An old prefab block which leaked when it rained (so water all over the floor) and had the smallest toilet cubicles I have ever seen - you have to go in backwards as there isn't enough room to turn around. I walked across to one of the much nicer blocks in the next (caravan) field to shower, which were fantastic. Spacious, clean and well designed. It's not a cheap site in the peak season, and I feel slightly short-changed by the poor toilets in comparison to the 'van owners.

Overall, a good site with all the amenities (shop, pool, bar, restaurant, chippy, laundry, fishing lakes, free hot water, etc) in a nice location. There are plenty of walks from the site to the coast or woods and there are loads of beaches nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andreachapman 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at Cofton at about 4pm on on of the busiest saturdays of the year. The site check in system is easy and the staff in reception are helpful.A little golf style buggy takes you around the site to choose a pitch.The site is huge and we were able to pick a pitch to suit ourselves. We chose a larger pitch which was easy to get on to because this was only our second time out with our caravan. The pitches are fairly close together,we didn't have room for a table and chairs outside our awning,however we did have our car alongside too. The surroundings are lovely and tents and caravans are mixed in together.Please note that although check in is supposed to be after 11am there was a huge queue as we left at 8 am and so by pm there were not many pitches left on a busy weekend.

The toilet and shower blocks are superclean. The only problems that I could see were that the loos and showers were in separate parts and there was only one hand drier. The showers were free and lovely.

The onsite club/pub and pool area are lovely. The pub is reasonably priced and the meals are tasty.

There are great facilities for children. Play areas and an assault course with zip slide.There are ponies and donkeys too.

The onsite shop is excellent with good prices (cheaper than the supermarket in dawlish). Wonderful freshly baked bread in the mornings.

We took our 3 dogs with us,there is a dedicated dog walking area and there are loads of woodland walks.

It is about 20 mns on foot to dawlish warren which we did not like,although it does have a great cake shop ! Dawlish warren is one street with endless caravan sites and amusements.

Dawlish is about 10 mins by car and is much nicer,with a lovely brook and its well known black swan families.

Torquay,teinmouth and Brixham (gorgeous) are all within driving distance for great days out.Ansteys cove is worth a look and the model village at Babbacombe is nice and you can take your dog.

A short walk down the back lane to the nearest village is a must,the anchor inn is a fantastic pub with the most fantastic food. Be sure to go inside and sit at the far end with all the shipping items.Great for the kids too.

We could not fault the site,it is clean and the staff are very good.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trussie 4 reviews from this member

We've just been to Cofton over the bank holiday weekend, it was our 1st trip to Cofton. Even though it was the busiest weekend of the year, we were really impressed with the whole site.

We were able to pitch next to friends and had a lovely private, corner plot. The plots were roomy and there was plenty of room next to the tent and all over the park for the children to play, fly their kites etc.

We were right near the lovely and clean, modern toilet blocks which were cleaned once a day. There were plenty of toilets but there was a queue for the showers every morning (to be expected on this weekend). There were also separate sink cubicles which provided an extra place to change and freshen up without the use of the showers. We travelled with my disabled sister and the disabled toilet facilities were brilliant, clean,large and a Radar key had to be used for access which was great. There were plenty of washing up sinks as well.

There appeared to be a lot of toilet blocks spotted around the massive site.

The outside swimming pool was nice, a little overrun with people with it being peak season but pleasant although a little cool. The bar is right next to the pool so you can sit and watch the kids whilst having a relaxing drink.

The supermarket was well stocked and not overpriced, the fish and chips on site were extremely tasty and there was a very small arcade. There was always special entertainment being laid on, a big bouncy slide was provided for the kids on Rodeo sunday, along with Sumo Wrestling suits, free face painting, bucking broncho and other activities were were very good. The nightly entertainment was family orientated and there was a singer, kids games, DJ's depending on the night.

There were a couple of issues. There were no road markings, one way systems or speed limits in place when driving around the park and on a couple of occasions we saw kids playing on the road or riding bikes but cars were driving too quickly and there were a couple of near misses.

With regards to the Elson Points / Chemical toilet disposal - there were plenty of these available on site as marked on the map. There were also separate waste water points placed directly next to clean drinking water points and although some places clearly stated that the waste water point was not for chemical disposal, some fields such as ours, were not signed accordingly and people were dumping their chemical waste at the water points, directly next to and splashing into the clean drinking water point!

I would also not recommend eating at the restaurant. Our meals came out at different times, some were cold and had to be sent back, steaks were all well done. Upon complaining the young staff were disinterested and giggling. There was one young barmaid who was very professional and dealt with our complaint satisfactorily. The complimentary pudding that was sent to apologise for the bad meals was sent out still frozen in the middle! However, the girl did compensate us accordingly and what was rapidly turning into a disappointing night, turned out to be quite enjoyable thanks to her.

These were all minor points and certainly did not reflect a bad park. Although we would not return to the area (highly disappointed in Dawlish and North Devon), I would highly recommend Cofton and the fantastic, child friendly site that they run, on behalf of myself and my disabled sister who was most impressed.

Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4477 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508