Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pnut 2 reviews from this member

A beautiful looking, beautifully kept site. The pub is very nice though gets very crowded in high season.

Child friendly in respect of the nice play area, though one of the wardens was too sharp with kids on several occasions, my own included. (these are little, excited kids I'm talking about, not teenage tearaways).

The site and facilities are lovely, expensive but worth it. The majority of staff are very friendly.

Nearby Aira Force is well worth a visit as are the steamer boats on the lake.

Unfortunately the snappy warden put us off this site and if going back to the area would probably try another site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FAMILYMINK 1 review from this member

Just returned from our 1st visit to this site, and we are very impressed, We have a 5yr old daughter who was very impressed with the generous park area, the adults were equally impressed with the on site bar!

Very cosy with a small indoor soft play area for younger children and pool table for older ones, out of earshot is a TV room, Table football + Table tennis = peace and quiet for the parents, genius!

Staff very helpful if a little stretched at times when several people showed up to check in at the same time

Very well placed site to get to many nice places to visit, Ullwaster, Keswick, Windermere etc, all needing to get the car out so not ideal for motorhomes I shouldn't imagine.

Facilities very good, showers very hot, good for adults, a little too hot for small children but 3 family bathrooms on site to use instead.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Majo 6 reviews from this member

An excellent campsite with friendly and helpful staff. Great location away from busy roads and with lovely views including a peek at Ullswater.

The facilities are good and apart from showers there are private family bathrooms. I took my son for a shower at 8 in the morning and we had the block to ourselves. Great bar with log fire and real ale, the kids loved the stuffed animals, antlers and bear skin that adorned the walls.

Great site for kids as there is plenty of open space for them to roam along with an adventure playground, soft play area and games room. Can also recommend Rheged if the weather is bad.

It didn't live up to its name of the 'Quiet' site on the first night as one one anti social group decided they wanted to disturb the rest of the site into the small hours, however they were dealt with by the excellent staff the following day and there were no further problems. Great site for families and we'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ddenham 1 review from this member

Visited this site a few years ago and decided to try out the pod this time to ease my other half into camping. On arrival the owners were fantasic, very friendly and welcoming. When shown the pod we were amazed how nice and spacious these things are and plenty of room to fit a double airbed in and space on the sides to put things down.

The pod comes with a window at the top of the back of the pod and a light that gives off a bit of light. We found the pod to be much like home with the warmth and the front doors open nice and wide. They are nicely situated under the trees and have plenty of space at the front decking for tables and chairs.

We visited the bar on the night time which is coal lit and very warm for those cold nights to have a nice relaxed friendly drink in. All the visitors on the camp site were very friendly and the shower block / toilets are spotless and very nicely furnished indeed. The womens block has electricity supply for straighteners etc too at a small cost.

Situated up from ullswater lake but perfect for getting back onto the road up too keswick. An excellent site and will be back

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyj941 1 review from this member

We visited the Quiet Site with my family who were over from Australia for a few weeks - they stayed in two of the pods and we stayed in a tent which they let us pitch right next to the pods.

The site has immaculately clean washrooms and toilets and even has private bathrooms so you could have a bath if you wanted! The facilities were great and there is a small shop on site. The bar is worth a visit, it's certainly unique and has a log fire which was much appreciated by the Australians.

Unfortunately the location was a bit far from the lake and we got lost the first time we tried to find it, plus it is popular with caravans.

The pods were well insulated and have a thin layer of carpet on the floor, are of a good size and were about twice the price of a tent pitch but a good alternative for anyone unsure about camping! As for the tent pitch, it was flat and of a good size.

We'd definitely think about staying at this site again but honestly we'd probably go for a lakeside one next time. It's certainly an upmarket site!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ellabella8 2 reviews from this member

This September myself and 3 friends stayed in Watermillock cottage, one of the Quiet Site’s holiday cottages. The cottage, an old farmhouse, was absolutely idyllic. It had been renovated and had all the style and comfort we could wish for, there was even an aga. All the bedrooms were lovely, bright and spotless with luxurious beds and an excellent unique bathroom. The cottage shares access to the back garden with Ivy cottage (the holiday cottage next door) but we had it to ourselves. The garden is secluded and well cared for with tables and chairs outside. The garden would be great for kids it has a sunken trampoline and a playhouse with lights!

We had a wonderful, peaceful stay. The site is in the most beautiful location, the scenery was absolutely stunning. We are avid fell walkers and so were in our element. We also visited the picturesque lakeside towns and relaxed! I would thoroughly recommend the site and the holiday cottages to anyone, we couldn’t have wanted more. The cottages even have wi-fi for those who need to keep in touch with the real world. The site staff were all friendly and helpful, there is even a little site shop and an amazing bar that is not to be missed!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane6 2 reviews from this member

Having spent 3 wonderful (sunny!) days on this campsite with friends I would thoroughly recommend it. The location is absolutely stunning with many beautiful walks nearby, really felt I was getting back to nature.

The staff were friendly and helpful, facilities were excellent; the family bathrooms even have baths, what an excellent idea. Hot water was free and the shop supplied everything we had forgotten. The bar is brilliant and quirky, well worth a visit, I doubt there’s anywhere else like it!

An excellent aspect to this campsite, and a reason I, as someone who is conscientious about the environment, will be returning, is that they are striving to be carbon neutral. There is a reed bed water treatment area, they run a program planting trees in the local area, there are recycling points and in this vein a beautiful wild flower meadow has been created that is lovely to walk through.

Yes the site is on a slope but pitches are available that are flat and there are ‘pods’ available that I had never seen before, little futuristic cabins that I will definitely be staying in next time. As mentioned in previous comments you do have to drive to find a restaurant but the seclusion of this site only adds its charm.

I think I have sung its praises long enough, the only negative was that the site was quite muddy as has been mentioned. However the lake district is notorious for its ’changeable’ weather so I’m not holding it against site itself.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian141 1 review from this member

My son aged 6 and myself stayed in a tent here for the five nights preceding the August Bank Holiday. We were blessed with typical Lake District weather - mostly wet and windy with a couple of glorious days thrown in.

We had been pre-warned that the site was slightly sloping, but on arrival our pitch was running with water, very muddy and very sloping. We were lucky - there was a POD available and we were kindly allowed to use that for 1 night. I can recommend them and a great facility for the site.

We then resumed our pitch in more favourable conditions the second day.

There is no doubt that the site has good facilities and is in a glorious setting, but I echo previous sentiments regarding the drainage of the middle tent area. For me, it's a great site for Caravanners and those lucky enough to be pitched on the level sites at the top end of the tent area. It would have been helpful if all the flat pitches had been used each night - it's frustrating when they are not used and you are on a slope in the mud!

Customer service and satisfaction is key especially in a highly competitive environment like Lake District camping. With the previously mentioned parking and gents toilet facilities requiring changes, and the distance to the toilet block an issue, we will use a different site next time.

The area though is outstanding for families and we had a wonderful time in the area walking, cycling, exploring and motor museums on wet days!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 14 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights over a long weekend in September; I reckon they were probably the best 3 consecutive days of weather we have had this year, which only enhanced a great stay!

The site is in a really lovely, peaceful location with great views of the fells behind Ullswater. There’s plenty to do in the immediate vicinity; lots of walks (I can recommend the walk up Place Fell from Glenridding, returning via the lake path from Sandwick), boat & kayak hire, Aira force waterfall, the Ullswater steamer…

The lack of light pollution in the area also means there are good opportunities for star gazing at night. There’s plenty of wildlife on site too; owls hooting and bats flying about above, lots of birds, rabbits etc.

The facilities on site are excellent; ladies bathrooms - lots of free hot water, very clean and practical. I believe the men’s are maybe not quite so good but due a refurb for next season. The family bathrooms, complete with a bath, were spacious great for a nice soak after a long walk. It is an environmentally friendly site with great recycling facilities. The on site shop sells a good range of basics.

It has already been said, but for us a negative on this site was the car parking. Cars were not allowed to be driven or parked on the grass (fair enough, it looked like it head been pretty muddy on there this summer), but the fact they were all parked on a narrow strip of hard standing around the perimeter road, circling the main field, meant that you often could not get your car anywhere near your pitch. From where we were on the furthermost pitch on the site, it gave the impression of being camped in a giant car park and this did ruin the majestic views.

I also disliked the static’s and the large number of touring caravans at the bottom of the site; I thought they also ruined the views and atmosphere a little bit. Although by no means full the site also seemed quite busy, maybe because it is one of the bigger sites we have stayed at.

As another reviewer suggested, I think that perhaps some features such as low indigenous hedging would improve the feel of the camping field and also help separate the pitches, this might also improve the obvious drainage issues.

We opted for a slightly more expensive level pitch, which I’m glad we did as the rest of the main field was on quite a slope and the pitches seemed smaller. However, the owners of the site had put gravel down on most of the actual tent pitches, I guess to combat the mud issue again, so most of them were sort of 'hard standing' pitches – is that the right term? I've never pitched my tent on gravel before and was really worried all weekend that without a footprint the ZIG might get damaged. Had I known this I may not have chosen to stay on the site at all.

And yes, from where we were pitched at the top of the field the facilities were a bit of a trek; not an issue for us but I can see that it may be for some.

All this sounds rather negative, but I don’t mean it to. Overall it is a great family site and the thing that made up for all the small niggles, for us, was the on site bar! It was a real pleasure to have a few drinks in this old converted barn, next to a roaring fire, on an evening and not have to worry about walking or driving back to the site. Good local beers served too, perfect!

I would definitely return here, which I guess says it all.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayne bigsby 3 reviews from this member

We had booked this holiday a few months before, but unfortunately although there was a group of 3 families, we were not pitched together. The weather was awful, and the 'slighty sloping' pitch we had chosen turned into a mud bath, with people frequently slipping and falling. The owners did their best with gravel and metal girders to walk on, but to be honest the central pitch should not be used until adequate drainage has been sought. This could be achieved cheaply by inserting soak-a-ways (holes filled with beach)every few metres, or by using the plastic honeycombe mesh between pitches so one could at least walk on the pitch. There are toilets situated at the entrance to the site, which is a very long walk in the night or early morning. We visited the bar in the evenings which was a relief from the cold, the open fire is wonderful, the pub supplied some table top games which we enjoyed. Our children are 10 and 12, they used the teenagers room, but its not up to much, the toilets in the pub smelt dreadful too.

The area is absolutely beautiful, the Quiet Site is an ideal location to go walking or sight seeing, we enjoyed a cruise on Lake Windemere, a trip to the falls and visited the The World Of Beatrix Potter. We had a meal at Lake Windermere at the Crown Carvery for £3.50 each, superb!

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016