Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LMTyrer 3 reviews from this member

We have just come back from spending a New Year break at this site.

The camping pods had all been booked up so we took the tent and a van(we slept in the van as the snow made things a bit too nippy). However there were mad folks sleeping in tents!

We arrived by the light of a huge moon in a clear starry sky. The site is snuggled between picturesque hillside. The site was fairly busy for a New Year in the middle of nowhere.

Toilets and facilities were pristine. Showers lovely and hot even late at night. Toilets nice and warm too!

There is a small shop which seems to stock all the essentials you might need plus maps etc for the local area.

Local pub - exceptionally good food, beer and wine. Everyone was friendly.

Site seems to be a good central point for many different walks that suit all abilities.

We didn't do any major walking, just a stroll along the river - (just a short walk away). I don't know if you are allowed to swim in the lovely clear water but I think our kids may have a go, as we plan to go back in Summertime!

We drove up to Whitehaven which is a small town and would suit a mid-weather day.

The only criticism is the lack of signposting for this site given it is one of the camping / caravanning sites. As we were travelling in the dark also it was difficult to find first time around however we wouldn't have any trouble if we went again.

We did not even attempt the hardknott pass route - not sure if it would have been open given the snow. We went by main road up to Gosforth instead which is quite an easy route.

A little expensive at 16 per night for the two of us (High Season) but for a little piece of perfection we didn't mind too much.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jadec 1 review from this member

Stayed in August 09 with my partner and teenage stepsons. Word of warning-If you are not a confidant driver don't attempt hardknot pass, my partner had been before and enjoyed tackling it but I would never have felt able to do this route, nor would my small car!

The site was in a lovely location, lots of walks nearby. It was very clean and well run. Toilets and showers were spacious and only ever had to wait for a short time. We stayed when it was very wet but the site coped well, other sites in the lakes were flooded at the same time. The camping barn and camping pods looked fantastic. The site had a mix of people, there were families with younger children on site who loved the trampoline on site. Night time was always quite except for the noise of water at the nearby old watermill which was very soothing.

We would recommend this site to others, wonderful setting and perfect base for exploring. Only downside was that grumpy teenagers felt there was not enough to do on site, though us adults were quite happy..

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Biker7921 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I arrived to a very warm and friendly reception, the shop wasn't huge but all the essentials were there.

We were given a choice of pitches but the owner also gave us his opinion to which pitch he thought would suit our needs.

Every day the on site information board was updated with a 5 day weather forecast, every time we saw the owner he would come over for a chat, and enquire about our days activities, but we were made to feel at ease for the duration of our stay.

On our arrival we noticed that we had omitted to pack the heavy duty pegs for our awning, the owner went to his shop and got some for us.

There are 2 pubs within a 5 minute walk, one was a 'drinkers' pub, the other was an 'eating' pub, perfect so there was little or no competition between the 2.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kwaka111 2 reviews from this member

Have only been back from this site for a couple of hours. Stayed for a week, fantastic nearly had the whole field to ourselves. Site was perfect, Martyn & Sara great hosts very polite and helpful. Site shop essential because it is in the heart of the Lake District.

Hardknott Pass:- Beats any rollercoaster ride, edge of your seat stuff, had to do it twice just to confirm how bonkers it was.

Back to the site, facilities were immaculately clean the whole time. Site was spotless, grass being reseeded in order to keep it in its pristine condition.Hot water on demand,showers powerful the best of any site we have stayed.

Out and about:- Both local pubs were great, walking fantastic, Eskdale to Ravenglass Railway is a bit of a steam enthusiasts dream, for everyone else good chance to see the area without walking. Used the site as a base to visit:- Whitehaven/Cockermouth,Windermere/Ambleside(Hardknott Pass can be avoided) Keswick,Muncaster Castle.

After all this tourist stuff what a pleasure to return to such a perfect site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juz_Wuz 1 review from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site and what can I say, its excellent.

The facilities are fantastic.

Great location for walking and great base if you are planning to walk up Scafell.

I can highly recommend the Boot Inn for food we've had superb meals there. The Brook House is another great pub, we,ve not ate at this one but the food did look good.

You must hop on the Eskdale to Ravenglass steam railway. Dalegarth station is close to the site. I would also recommend 'The Ratty' in Ravenglass if you fancy a bite to eat.

We will definitely be visiting this site again and again.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cloudberry 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a stay at the Eskdale site after staying for 7 nights.

The facilities were fantastic, clean - in fact spotless. Washing facilities were also great, plenty of room and very clean.

The shop was well stocked, especially loved the homemade bread, deliveries for this come on a Friday and Saturday.

We had some bad weather at the start of the week and the field was very wet and muddy, wellies are a must!

Brook House Pub was ok but inside was very cramped and very hot, not too happy with the meal, so would suggest to walk a few mins more and go to The Boot in instead.

Down side to the campsite - felt like we were very crammed in, told not to park on the grass but often there was no where to go!

Seems the 6ft rule between tents does not apply here. We went out for the day and when we arrived back found we were in the centre of about 4-5 tents who were all in a group as they were there for a 40th birthday celebration. Therefore they were sat outside our tent all night, quite loud and roudy but eventually they were quiet after midnight.

Really liked the site and the location but our experience has put us off going back as we have never had to be within a few foot of other tents and felt a bit inhibited to sit outside.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 7oakslilleypad 1 review from this member

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at this camp site.

The site is well run, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities at the site were first class. Toilet blocks (including family room) were modern and impeccably clean. Well equipped laundry room and washing up facilities.

Would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days at this site and very impressed I was. The facilities are great and the staff all friendly and polite.

The shop stocks everything you would need, although it's a little on the pricy side. But which camp site gives 'normal prices'

It was my first trip to Eskdale and the site is very handy for some great walks.

The narrow guage train trip to Ravenglass was good, although there's not much to see when you arrive.

See web site for the train Www.Ravenglass-railway.Co.Uk/

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonc1969 5 reviews from this member

What can I say, a fabulous site in a lovely location!

It is very well run with helpful, hardworking staff who go that bit extra to help. The well stocked shop is the best I've encountered so far and came in very handy for those forgotten items! The showers are clean and powerful although I feel 4 of them is not enough for the entire park and it was very busy in the morning.

We stayed on the main field and due to the rain meant it was boggy the whole of our stay but I suppose this can't be avoided.

We tried the two local pubs, the Boot Inn being our favourite, child friendly, with an outside play area and indoor toys meant we could enjoy a drink in peace.

The local steam railway trip to Ravenglass was good if only for the train journey as there's nothing to do in Ravenglass itself but the kids loved the journey.

The aquarium of the lakes at the base of lake Windemere is worth a visit as is a boat trip to Bowness if a little pricey.

All in all, I rate this site highly and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DawnP 4 reviews from this member

I can only add to all the fantastic reviews and wholeheartedly agree that this is a brilliant site. The owners are friendly and helpful, there's a well stocked shop that has some camping supplies (we forgot our mallets) and the facilities are immaculately clean all the time. There are 2 play areas which our children really enjoyed, the field was pretty muddy due to the rain and we had to leave our car on the gravelled area, but the owner was more than happy for us to move our car so we could unpack/re-pack. We thoroughly enjoyed it here, it was busy but never noisy, what more can I say, go and enjoy it for yourselves!

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977