Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
              8/10 from 98 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 61 to 66                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dalgety bay 2 reviews from this member

Stayed on site for two nights due to family wedding in local lodge. Site wardens very helpful on arrival warden cycled to pitch and directed you in.
Toilet block and facilities very clean weather was great location is beautiful on the banks of loch lomond would return again. Warden lent me needle and thread for which I was very grateful.
Store on site sold basic food items luss has a few small shops and hotels for meals can't comment on any as we didn't use these.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kensai 15 reviews from this member

We visited here at the beginning of August for 6 days, booking in was fast and efficient we were shown to a choice of pitches all wet with the weather with deep ruts from previous vehicles. Having chosen our pitch we settled in and took stock of our surroundings less than 30 metres from the Loch and lovely views. The site is long and hugs the contours of the loch.

The shop is small OK for milk and bread etc, the toilet and shower facilities are tired (politest way of putting it really). Only two showers per block often very dirty with muddy footprints. There are two blocks one has a laundry the other has the chemical disposal so if like us you are at the top end of the site it can be a very long walk.

Luss was the location of the Scottish soap “Take the High Road” it is very pretty but also very touristy. It well felt like a set. Balloch down the road was the same. Maybe it was the weather but the area felt well, damp.

I did get the impression that the site is used as a stopover for those heading elsewhere and to be honest if I stop again it will be as I am heading somewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gibbie 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 6 nights, the weather was at its worst, 'site flooded' and the poor wardens had lots to contend with however they were helpful and tried to accommodate campers needs to the best even though they were being blamed for the bad weather 'very unfair'.

The village of luss is beautiful, nice walks with the dog although not much there, the local pub we visited once and it was very disappointing, no atmosphere we only stayed for one drink - happy to leave.

The site is right on the edge of the loch however with all the rain we were unable to get to the once visible beach. The toilets were ok they had 2 shower cubicles clean, but quite dated. There was one washing machine and dryer so timing was important.

We would like to revisit hopefully when its dryer to really appreciated the site location.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingcaz 27 reviews from this member

The site is situated right by the loch which is stunning. The best views are not at the lochside due to trees, so pitch centrally if you can.

Facilties are lovely and staff could not be nicer; the reception shop sells some basics like bread and milk which is very handy because Luss is really just a tourist village with souvenir shops which was hugely disappointing. I like real places! We didn't spend much time there but did go to the 'Village Rest' restaurant which serves fab food quickly and is all closed up by 9pm but very good.

This site is best for people wishing to tour the area as it is just off the main A82 road to Glasgow which is very busy and noisy. The other side of the loch is a lot quieter in terms of traffic but would take you a long time to keep driving out of it, but funnily enough had more tourist activities available such as boat and bike hire. Luss has little going on and we had expected more activities such as canoeing to be available. There is limited canoe hire at Balloch and they restrict the area you go in maybe for safety reasons, I don't know.A few people launch their own canoes from the site which seemed a great idea.

Site was suffering after a lot of rainfall and was muddy in places when we were there but I think that was an unusually wet spell.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyparry 10 reviews from this member

Spent 6 nights at this idyllic site.

Most good and bad points about the site have been covered. The following points I felt were important to me:

1. The roads around the site have been recently been recovered, and are now smooth.

2. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

3. For the size of site, I feel the facilities were lacking, especially as there is only one chemical disposal point for the whole site, which is situated near the entrance.

4. The power showers can soak your clothes in the restricted shower cubical.

This site is situated in a truly magnificent location, and could easily be a premier site had the Camping & Caravan Club not neglected this site. I feel sorry for the staff as they deserve better.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Magic48 22 reviews from this member

Spent four nights here. Superb loch side location with stunning views. All level pitches. Great reception by site staff when booking in. Plentiful and clean facilities. Lovely Luss is within walking distance. Handy location for a tour of the Trossachs. If you do this then make sure you call in to the Pier Tea Rooms on Loch Katrine. Sterling is also a good excursion.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 66      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth £124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0918