Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nans86 1 review from this member

Well, what can I say except for Fantastic! We stayed here for a week and I don't think I can find one fault. The shower area is cleaned regularly and there is plenty of it as well.

Very good location as its about 10 minutes drive from St. Ives and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach which is also very impressive. The pub across the road isnt as nice as we thought it would be but there is a very nice cafe just around the corner on the beach with sea views and friendly staff.

Would most definitely go back next year.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Metalhead 22 reviews from this member

What a brilliant campsite! We rolled up after dark (about 8pm in September) and were met by the owner down by the house. A real friendly chap, very informative and chatty. He gave us a map of the campsite showing the hook-ups, and on the back is a map to walk up to Godrevy Lighthouse and the seal colony. No time limit on leaving the campsite either, so we walked to see the seals the next morning before moving on.

Huge toilet/shower block, very clean and tidy. The village has a nice pub on the corner where we ate before pitching up. Looks like we were lucky to get in as most tables were already reserved. Food was nice though, and washed down with a real ale.

Back to the campsite, the pitches are mostly separated by exotic trees and plants which give an element of privacy while still retaining an open feeling. Very well laid out campsite though.

Comes highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Linifer 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time with our 2 children. From arrival the owners were very friendly and helpful at all times even when very busy in the small shop/reception. The pitches were a good size, small sand pit nearby was great for our younger children. The washing facilities are all together. There is a family 'wet shower room' we found very handy and also a 'bath' room, good for bathing little ones/babies. We found the showers clean and hot. Washing up facilities we didn't use but there was queing at times. Outside shower/hose for washing down wetsuits. As mentioned by others chip van/curry/fresh fish visited once a week and ice cream van each evening. Handy as no shops within walking distance - receptions sells the essential basics. Big food shops only a few minutes away. Quiet at night which we liked. It takes about 15 mins from site, heavily loaded with boards, suits, beach huts and 2 children to reach the beach across the dunes but worth every step! The beaches all around St Ives bay are wonderful at any time - huge, clean, and very beautiful. It is a surfers/boarders dream. With/without the sun the beaches are still great, rock pools at lower tide, plenty of space to play any beach game and don't forget the beach BBQ! Some parts do cover completly at high tide. Life guards are there throughout the day and you are well advised to heed the flags etc. Dogs are allowed on certain areas and all beaches after approx 6pm I believe. St Ives is well worth a visit - try picking up the park/ride train as parking can be tricky. It is very busy in high season, but worth it - pick up various boat trips here.

We have stayed on other sites in this area and some do offer more facilities - eg pool,bar, but at a significantly higher price. If you want a good, clean and friendly site for a surf/beach based holiday without the hassle of driving/parking each time this site is great. We have booked to return next year.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Northerner_uk 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a great week at Gwithian. The campsite is lovely, really well maintained with friendly staff. Toilets are clean and tidy.

The beach here really is a well kept secret - absolutely beautiful. Great for walkers, surfers and people like us with small children. It's a 10 minute walk out of the top of the site to the beach, via a Public Footpath and road - you do have to be a little careful on the road especially with a buggy. Other road users were very considerate mind. Once you get to the beach there are two really nice places to stop for a snack - The Jam Pot Cafe & Sunset Surf Cafe - both are great.

At the entrance to the campsite is the Red River Inn - child friendly with good food, and it couldn't be nearer to the site. Make sure you book in advance especially during the summer months. A little further to walk is the Sandsifter, again good food - slightly hazardous return walk back if close to dusk.

All in all, a really great week spent here. We'll be back in the summer next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tan077 1 review from this member

This is our second year at Gwithian Farm and we have booked again for two weeks Aug 2010.

We love this site, nice spaced pitches (we have a touring caravan) great shower block although can get busy during peak times, but we have found this to be the same on most campsites.

Nice big central playing field, well stocked shop, and just a short walk down to the amazing beach.

Sunset cafe is fab, there cream teas are amazing :-)

Red river pub is great for a drink, a little expensive for food but ok for the odd meal out.

Early booking is advised especially for the school summer holidays as this site gets fully booked early on the year !

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milly4 10 reviews from this member

Liked the site, nice friendly chap on arrival. It would be good if the pitches were separated by planting, it happens for some but would be good for the pitches further up.

Nice walk to the beach, and great that they give you a little map on arrival of the area around the farm.

Good facilities, shower was lovely and hot but the 15 second flow of water is a little annoying, maybe a little longer please.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pye1234 1 review from this member

Just returned from Gwithian Farm Campsite, Absolutely great. First night we had fish and chips from the van that comes on to the site every Sunday. Best chips we have ever tasted!
Once the sun had come out we took the opportunity to use the beach. Very clean and sea was perfect for surfers and body boarders. Not too warm on the beach, very windy. Although there is nothing we can do about the weather. Wetsuit hire is meant to be very cheap but we didnít use this facility as we took our own. Also on the site are 2 ways to wash the suits and both are very easy to use.

On site there are many types of food available during the week. Sunday thereís a Fish and Chip van, Tuesday thereís a fresh fish van direct from Newlyn. This fish is fantastic when cooked on a BBQ which can be hired on site. Finally on Wednesday there is curry served near reception which is brought from an authentic Indian restaurant. Just across the road is a pub but we didnít really have time to use this.

On site pitches are of an adequate size although along the one site the pitches can be a little cramped.

The site has fantastic facilities with free usage of freezers and frees mobile charging. This particular facility we didnít have to use as we had electric hook-up. Cleaned toilets and showers. Plenty of sinks within the toilet area and outside in the washing up area. Busy at peak times, but thatís normal I suppose!

Nearby are several shops. Lidl, M&S, Next and Boots are just down the end of the road. If you travel a little further there is a Tesco (St. Ives) although the opening hours are a little disappointing as closure time is just 9pm. As appose to the majority of stores being 24 hour. Another Tescoís and Sainsburyís can be found in Truro.

St. Ives is nothing really to shout about as about 80% of the shops are Art Galleryís. Fine if thatís your thing. Hayle has very little shops although it does have an award winning pasty shop, Philps - Highly recommended by locals. Also recommended is Mr Bís Ice cream Parlour which is walking distance from the pasty shop. Penzance has a much better variety of shops and the beachís are also very nice. Parking prices are sky high though! Mousehole is also very nice as mainly a tourist attraction.

Overall a great site! Booked already for next year! (Prices do go up during peak season but well worth it)

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dangozz 2 reviews from this member

Back from gwithian and had yet another great stay,

Mike, claire and staff run the site very well and work very hard to please all. On our second day the wind was so strong it broke 2 of our tents fibreglass poles and staff at gwithian did all they could to help, replaced our poles and helped put the tent back up( forgot groundsmans name but the guy was a godsend ) 100% on all fronts.

As for facilities clean and tidy and enough for all, I would recommend gwithian farm campsite to anyone.

All local shops, pubs, etc were very well priced and more than anyone needs and just a short ride to all beaches which are clean and tidy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickyshiatsu 1 review from this member

This was the first time camping with my family and we loved it, the key things that have made us book for next year are.

1.The location of the campsite.

2.The quietness in the evenings, this was crucial so the little ones can get to sleep.

3.The very clean showers (loads of hot water) and washing up facilities.

4.The beach which is on your door step.

5.And finally the owners Mike and Clair,nothing is too much trouble. All the hardwork they have done shines through. This is a quality campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1915 3 reviews from this member

Location fantastic, few different walks to beach that varied in difficulty. The hardest being half hour and down / up very steep steps. Gwithian beach is by far the best beach I've visited in the UK. Manned by lifeguards - our two teenage boys body boarded most days that weather allowed and they loved it. Sunset Surf cafe is excellent with home made cream teas, Jam Pot not as good but OK.
About the site: biggish site with reasonable sized pitches but very close to each other. Our last night we were joined by a tent very close, so glad we were leaving.
Toilets not brilliant, the floors were usually dirty. Family shower the same really, such a disappointment. We showered then changed in our tent. Only 8 ladies toilets for a site that has 139 pitches and only 6 showers. Our pitch was a long walk (for a 3 and 4 year old) in the middle of the night
Washing up area outside which was fine but had to queue most days. No playground for the kids but they had a large field to play in until 9pm. Table tennis table but was always very busy.
Fish and chip van comes on a Sunday and they are great but avoid the Curry man on Wednesday - the curries were dreadful. All in all we had a great holiday and loved the location but with the cleanliness of toilets and location of them we would probably not go back.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5718 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1582
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec