Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tan077 1 review from this member

This is our second year at Gwithian Farm and we have booked again for two weeks Aug 2010.

We love this site, nice spaced pitches (we have a touring caravan) great shower block although can get busy during peak times, but we have found this to be the same on most campsites.

Nice big central playing field, well stocked shop, and just a short walk down to the amazing beach.

Sunset cafe is fab, there cream teas are amazing :-)

Red river pub is great for a drink, a little expensive for food but ok for the odd meal out.

Early booking is advised especially for the school summer holidays as this site gets fully booked early on the year !

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milly4 10 reviews from this member

Liked the site, nice friendly chap on arrival. It would be good if the pitches were separated by planting, it happens for some but would be good for the pitches further up.

Nice walk to the beach, and great that they give you a little map on arrival of the area around the farm.

Good facilities, shower was lovely and hot but the 15 second flow of water is a little annoying, maybe a little longer please.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pye1234 1 review from this member

Just returned from Gwithian Farm Campsite, Absolutely great. First night we had fish and chips from the van that comes on to the site every Sunday. Best chips we have ever tasted!
Once the sun had come out we took the opportunity to use the beach. Very clean and sea was perfect for surfers and body boarders. Not too warm on the beach, very windy. Although there is nothing we can do about the weather. Wetsuit hire is meant to be very cheap but we didn’t use this facility as we took our own. Also on the site are 2 ways to wash the suits and both are very easy to use.

On site there are many types of food available during the week. Sunday there’s a Fish and Chip van, Tuesday there’s a fresh fish van direct from Newlyn. This fish is fantastic when cooked on a BBQ which can be hired on site. Finally on Wednesday there is curry served near reception which is brought from an authentic Indian restaurant. Just across the road is a pub but we didn’t really have time to use this.

On site pitches are of an adequate size although along the one site the pitches can be a little cramped.

The site has fantastic facilities with free usage of freezers and frees mobile charging. This particular facility we didn’t have to use as we had electric hook-up. Cleaned toilets and showers. Plenty of sinks within the toilet area and outside in the washing up area. Busy at peak times, but that’s normal I suppose!

Nearby are several shops. Lidl, M&S, Next and Boots are just down the end of the road. If you travel a little further there is a Tesco (St. Ives) although the opening hours are a little disappointing as closure time is just 9pm. As appose to the majority of stores being 24 hour. Another Tesco’s and Sainsbury’s can be found in Truro.

St. Ives is nothing really to shout about as about 80% of the shops are Art Gallery’s. Fine if that’s your thing. Hayle has very little shops although it does have an award winning pasty shop, Philps - Highly recommended by locals. Also recommended is Mr B’s Ice cream Parlour which is walking distance from the pasty shop. Penzance has a much better variety of shops and the beach’s are also very nice. Parking prices are sky high though! Mousehole is also very nice as mainly a tourist attraction.

Overall a great site! Booked already for next year! (Prices do go up during peak season but well worth it)

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dangozz 2 reviews from this member

Back from gwithian and had yet another great stay,

Mike, claire and staff run the site very well and work very hard to please all. On our second day the wind was so strong it broke 2 of our tents fibreglass poles and staff at gwithian did all they could to help, replaced our poles and helped put the tent back up( forgot groundsmans name but the guy was a godsend ) 100% on all fronts.

As for facilities clean and tidy and enough for all, I would recommend gwithian farm campsite to anyone.

All local shops, pubs, etc were very well priced and more than anyone needs and just a short ride to all beaches which are clean and tidy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickyshiatsu 1 review from this member

This was the first time camping with my family and we loved it, the key things that have made us book for next year are.

1.The location of the campsite.

2.The quietness in the evenings, this was crucial so the little ones can get to sleep.

3.The very clean showers (loads of hot water) and washing up facilities.

4.The beach which is on your door step.

5.And finally the owners Mike and Clair,nothing is too much trouble. All the hardwork they have done shines through. This is a quality campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1915 3 reviews from this member

Location fantastic, few different walks to beach that varied in difficulty. The hardest being half hour and down / up very steep steps. Gwithian beach is by far the best beach I've visited in the UK. Manned by lifeguards - our two teenage boys body boarded most days that weather allowed and they loved it. Sunset Surf cafe is excellent with home made cream teas, Jam Pot not as good but OK.
About the site: biggish site with reasonable sized pitches but very close to each other. Our last night we were joined by a tent very close, so glad we were leaving.
Toilets not brilliant, the floors were usually dirty. Family shower the same really, such a disappointment. We showered then changed in our tent. Only 8 ladies toilets for a site that has 139 pitches and only 6 showers. Our pitch was a long walk (for a 3 and 4 year old) in the middle of the night
Washing up area outside which was fine but had to queue most days. No playground for the kids but they had a large field to play in until 9pm. Table tennis table but was always very busy.
Fish and chip van comes on a Sunday and they are great but avoid the Curry man on Wednesday - the curries were dreadful. All in all we had a great holiday and loved the location but with the cleanliness of toilets and location of them we would probably not go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brok02 6 reviews from this member

Once again a great time had at Gwithian Farm, Generous pitches, clean toilet blocks some queues but its peak time. Fish and chips from mobile van really good also Red River Inn across road offers great food and very friendly.
If you want to visit St Ives use the park and ride train service very convenient. Lovely walk to beach never get tired of it. Great site will return.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ads46 3 reviews from this member

This was one of the best sites that we have stayed at. The owners were very helpful to everyone and it was no trouble for them to stop and help anyone.

The pitches were huge compared to other sites we have visited. You are not overlooking your neighbours.

The facilities are very clean all the time, there are goats and guinea pigs which my daughter loved. The wetsuit hire is cheap and we were given a selection for us all to try on to make sure they fit.

There is the daily ice cream van/fish and chip van and curry evening which make for a nice change.

Overall this site was great and we will be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsey32 1 review from this member

My family and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Gwithian Farm Campsite. This was our first camping trip and I really didn't know what to expect! We had a great time and I was very surprised by all the facilities the site had to offer. The pitch size was great, more than enough room, only draw back was that we were next to a corner plot pitch and therefore lost the corner of pitch as we needed to allow room for them to get there car out. Was welcomed by Clair and Mike who explained the local area to us and directed us to our pitch.

The pitch was very well drained and great paths to toilets etc. Toilet and shower room was very clean and never really had to queue. Pot washing facilities were also very clean and plenty of sinks.

Access to the beach was a bit tricky with 3 children, one of which was in a pushchair, but once you are down there the beach is beautiful.

Didn't manage to sample the local pub as the night we arrived we thought we would go in but it was reservation only as they were very busy. The next local eatery was Sanf Sifter which was too long a walk with the kids but a very short drive, food was good, slight lack of choice for dessert but good choice of wine and beers. Trendy atmosphere and no problem with the children.

Overall a great location and with Hayle a short drive away we never had to travel for anything! A great Lidl at the bottom of the hill, which stocked pretty much everything we needed, but there is also a Large well stocked Co-op and a small retail park also not far away which has a large Boots and M & S food Hall! for all your luxury items.

A short drive to the beautiful town of St Ives which was well worth a visit, foodies & shopaholics dream!

All in all a great site and great location and fabulous scenery, will definitely be booking again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sasababe 3 reviews from this member

Myself, my partner and dog booked to spend 5 nights here in the last week of June after a recommendation from a friend.

We loved it so much we stayed an extra night – the only negative experience was the strong winds and heavy rain on our arrival, which seriously tested both our tent erection skills and our relationship! Thankfully we passed both (with a little help from the grounds man ;) ) Also the weather picked up too and we had a fabulous time.

The pitches are large, thoughtfully spaced and divided by pretty trellises and planting. There are over a 100 pitches but it never felt busy – there is a large open space in the middle for ball games etc – which proved popular.

The beach was a good 15min walk away – though enjoyable once you knew the way through the dunes… we spent most of our time on the doggy part (which is a little further than the main) and wow – what a beach!

Facilities at Gwithian Farm were impeccable – toilets always clean and shop well stocked. (Though it was only open a few hours a day)

Within walking distance there are two cafes on the beach which served cream teas etc and one was licensed – though both closed around 5pm – opposite the campsite was a very busy but very good pub serving food. We had to book our table and were disappointed one night we tried on the spur of the moment.

Whilst we were there we visited St Ives (beautiful), Lands End (rubbish), Falmouth (lovely but busy) – all easily accessible.

It is the perfect site – big enough to have excellent facilities but small enough not to have that “holiday park” feel. However it is not cheap.

Should we ever be lucky enough to holiday in Cornwall again – we will be staying there.

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977