Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitehill Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Whitehill Country Park
Stoke Road
Paignton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ4 7PF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 782338

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 18 April - 24 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
              8/10 from 121 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 67 to 72                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brookekim 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, we pitched in Sweethill, We stayed for 5 nights and my girls cried all the way home ,they didn't want to leave. Can't find fault with this site at all, even thought we had torrential rain 12 hours solid one night ,yes it was muddy next day down in the valley but it wasn't too bad at the top.

Showers/toilets were very clean and spacious. Shop,bar, restaurant was great, 4 pint pitchers very good price ,drank more that we normally would! Definitely going to return to this site next year.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Conway campers 13 reviews from this member

Upon arrival we were shown to our pitch and shown where the toilet and shower blocks where.

The campsite is split up into parts, Caravans and motor-homes where to the bottom of the hill on the flat surface hard standings near to the toilet and shower blocks, whilst the tents, trailer tents and folding campers where to the top of the hill on the slopes with only portacabin style toilets near-by with the showers being a walk away down a steep grassy hill, for which my wife decided to walk the long way round to get to them by the road when it had been raining as she didn't want to slip and fall whilst being pregnant.

There where 2 main toilet/shower blocks, one had aged a bit and looked a bit grubby, whilst the other looked newly built and a lot cleaner and is well worth the extra walk to get to it as its a bit further down past the first block. The shower was at a good temperature and had a good pressure and really clean compared to the other block.

The pitch itself was on the slope and luckily for us we were in a folding camper and could level ourselves up, feeling a bit sorry for all the tents around us on the slope. Even though the awning was on the slope we coped quite well.

One of the main problems we found during our stay was the gusts of winds on the hill/slope which could get quite forceful, and if things ain't pegged down properly, could easily lift them up, as like what happened to a group of campers next to us, which had all there cooking equipment under a gazebo, which lifted up and put all there cooking equipment on the floor and pulling the pipe off the gas bottle leaving the gas to leak out. Luckily, as I was just popping back to our camper, as we were sat at the pool on this particular day, I noticed that the gazebo had been upturned, but I could smell the gas so I went over and shut the gas valve off.

The pool was fairly warm for this time of year but was a bit over crowded. The night time entertainment was good and there was plenty for the kids to do. There was a takeaway on site and a convenient shop.

One of the main things I did like about the place was that there was a lot to do for days out, like we went to the model village in torquay, Kent caverns in Torquay, the Pirates bay crazy golf in Paignton, spent some time on the beech and crab fishing on the harbour in Paignton. But there is also a lot more than that to do around the area like a steam train from Paignton to Dartmouth which I wish we had the time to do, the zoo is close by and there was also a sea life center in Torquay, plus lots more.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EROY 1 review from this member

Booked this site late 2007 after passing the site from a previous holiday and thinking what a fantastic site, which it is, the facilities are very good, and are regularly cleaned, the bar food was very tasty although a tad pricey!

Having arrived we were quickly directed by a gentleman in a golf buggy to our site and told to stay within our squared off pitch, which was level(thank goodness)-compared to some of the pitches we did see, especially the ones at the top of the hill!(its best to book early if you can and request your pitch - if you can get a plan the area around no 21 is very flat)

Just a note though if you want to wash your pots and BBQ with your partner, you will have to carry them up to the top near the pool as the bottom facilities do not cater for mixed couples to wash their pots together!(hopefully some more campers might make them aware of this!)

This site is quite noisy on the night, so please be aware, we were on several nights disturbed by holidaymakers leaving the site pub at 12pm (understandably!- as they provided entertainment on several nights)but there were also some unconsiderate campers opposite drinking and arguing until 5am athough there were several people shouting to ask them to be quiet, even the security staff asked them to be quiet(but to no avail!) So we had a gruelling journey back up north very tired and very glad to get away from those opposite oh and the rain!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RibTime 6 reviews from this member

The site is down a narrow road which seems to have plenty of traffic so caution should be exercised, especially if you have a caravan.

At the entrance there is a car park and the club house, cafe and shop.

We checked in and were offered a guide to show us to our pitch but decided to make our own way. On our way down the site seemed very well organised with all the pitches clearly marked and numbered with an appropriate amount of space between each pitch.

We were advised, when booking, that our pitch would be on a slight slope and this was the case but not a real problem.

The toilet block was excellent and very clean and always plenty of hot water. One of my few issues with this site is that there is no cold/hot control on the showers and the water was always very hot, not unbearable and I guess better than cold water. There is no need for 20p's as the showers are free.

The dish washing area was good and again there was always hot water.

I was really impressed with the entertainment put on each night which varied between disco, bingo and games for kids.

There is a small cafe downstairs and although we didn't use it the food I saw coming out looked very good.

The onsite shop had a very good stock including food, drink, games for kids and camping spares.

Swimming pool was always clean and a life guard was always working.

While we were there it rained very heavily and at the bottom of the field we were in suffered some flooding which luckily didn't get into anyone tents but if carried on would have. Speaking to some of the site workers he said there had been problems in the past so be aware where you are when pitching your tent etc.

Overall this is a great site and managed very well and is one of the best I've been to.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eggy2008 5 reviews from this member

On arrival we were given to believe that they could only just fit us in but later found out there was a complete field empty.

We were given a pitch that was on a 25 degree angle and as we had paid we pitched but were very unhappy because we were also next to the childs playground.

After a night of everything sliding and rolling out of bed after being woken at 7.00 am by the kids on the playground we decided to complain and we were moved to the (old)field which was further away from all the noise and hooray it was almost flat.

The new block of toilets/showers were great but the older block in the middle of the site were a bit compact and grubby so we walked the extra distance and used the far ones .

The bar was fine apart from kids constantly running in and out even though there were signs telling them not to.

The food was good although a bit pricey.

Good points.

Site was clean.

One of the shower blocks was roomy and clean

Bad points.

A lot of the pitches are very slopey so ask to view it before you pay.

Very noisy with kids at night and seagulls very early in the morning.

Middle shower block was old grubby and cubicles were very small.

Ground is very soft on top but very hard 2' underneath so take strong pegs .

We as touring campers didnt feel very welcome there but for a family with children it may suit as they do provide activities and things for children to do but be aware they do charge extra for them.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Szatko79 1 review from this member

Last time I stayed a Whitehill was about 15 years ago and I can remember myself, my brother and my sister all loving it.

Have just come back from spending 3 nights there with my partner and his 2 children (aged 9 & 11). They loved it just as much as I did at their age!

I was totally gutted to discover that the hidden adventure play area / assault course up in the depths of the hills& trees has all been overgrown(and the current owners know nothing about it)!

However, the pool is still well maintained, warm and supervised. The play areas are ample, safe and pleasant. The shop stocks just about everything you may need, and the cafe (although a little pricey) was yummy too (only had one dinner and one breakfast there).

Oh, and the kids absolutely loved the fun & games & disco on Tuesday evening in the Hayloft Bar.

Didn't get the chance to go (due to our wonderful British Weather), but Goodrington sands, paignton has a fab looking water park - if you have kids, take them there!

Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 67 to 72      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1140