Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walker187 3 reviews from this member

This is a long site bordered by a river on one side and mill stream on the other. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. There is a working mill which runs on Sundays.

Facilities are very good and clean and include small laundry, good showers and toilets and indoor dishwashing area.

There is a small shop, library, information hut and wifi area. As there are no children allowed the atmosphere seemed a little odd, it's strange to be at a campsite and not have kids playing.

It was a quiet site though. Good local pub nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rjscamping 3 reviews from this member

Having once given up camping. We have returned 15 yrs later! What a fantastic campsite to get our passion back. Greeted by our lovely Host and Hostess who couldn't be more friendly if they tried without being intrusive.

We booked for 2 nights and had the choice of pitches, glad we got there early on the Friday as it soon started to fill up. Pitched by the River Exe and although we don't have a dog we did walk the 'dog walk' which was clean and very pleasant, always on the look out for otters.

The showers were spotless with plenty of very hot water. Also a free use of a microwave was available. The WiFi Shed offers easy Internet access for those who wish! We even had access to the 'herb garden' for our exotic camping cuisine!

The dawn chorus wasn't just at dawn as the rooks were nesting in the trees above and with the constant run of water from the Mill House made the ambience just perfect.

The Badgers Holt pub 2 mins walk away was very welcoming and very tasty meals were served within restricted times, although we just sat there with a drink and did some reading, perfect relaxation in front of the log fire. Highly recommended for adults and dogs (although must say we did enjoy the sound of no children)

We would definitely go back there but want to experience lots of other sites too!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The whitehouse 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights, end of April begining of May. Site offers good value + is a great location for walking + exploring this part of Exmoor, it's very relaxed, even when full.

The toilet block is rather dated, clean, but has a bit of a 'public toilet' feel to it rather than campsite facilities. The shower block is better but only 2 showers + 2 toilet cubicles for men in total.

We used the Badgers Holt Inn over the road from site, an OK pub but I wouldn't rate it any higher than Ok.

There are some excellent walks in the area, Dulverton + Dunster are 2 villages that are well worth a visit. A bit further away Selworthy + Porlock are also good places for walking + taking in the sites. There's very good info on site on the surrounding area, even if you haven't done your homework there's enough info to sort you out, + free wifi in + outside the 'wifi shed'.

All in all a nice relaxed site in a great part of Exmoor.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Expression470 5 reviews from this member

We have enjoyed a week at this site in April with our puppy. The site is lovely, very clean and picturesque with the river Exe running alongside. A peaceful site, even when full. Very friendly wardens and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the mill on Sunday morning.

The dog exercise area is completely enclosed so you can let the dog have a good run without the fear of them escaping, and the weir at the end of the dog walk is a very peaceful place to sit and ponder while the dog has a good sniff around.

We used the loos, but showered in our own van, as we prefer to do that - no detriment to the showers on site. We would most certainly go to this site again. The A396 which runs alongside is absolutely no problem and not busy. The sun in April was mostly on the road side of the site. We chose the river side in the shade. Sadly I didn't see a kingfisher, but others did, so they are there. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TonyH 12 reviews from this member

Spent a week here just before Easter, chose the site based on location and reviews here, all I can do is concur with everyone else.

Super peaceful setting, very friendly and accommodating wardens and owner, for the wardens it was their first time as wardens on a site and were making a super job of it.

The owner opens his house which is the water mill and proudly shows you around his renovation project. Great pub just outside the site with wonderful food. Bus stops just outside the site so easy to get to Dulverton, Minehead etc.

Although the site is next to the main A road traffic noise was not a problem.

Bottom line - prices, very good value for money, if you're not bothered about EHU (and who really needs it) then under 10 per night in low season is a winner and should hopefully make the rip off merchants in the C&CC and others think again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaunbuller 1 review from this member

We originally booked to arrive on Sunday but the weather was so nice we arrived on Friday to make the most of the good weather.

On arrival we were given a choice of pitches, we chose one next to the river really peaceful setting we couldn't wish for a better pitch

The owner and the wardens couldn't do enough for you nothing was too much trouble.

The whole site was well looked after, neat and tidy

We have never seen a dog walk like this one absolutely brilliant

Enjoyed our stay so much we added an extra 4 days onto the end so our week turned into 13 days just wished we didn't have to leave

Are we going back, you bet we cant wait

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Galorr 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend at Exe Valley. We try not to return to sites this way we get to see different areas and try different sites, but we love this part of the world so much, Exmoor House is the only other site we have returned to. We were going to book Lakeside but the Caravan Club in the infinite wisdom decided weekend 10-11 April is peak season and wanted 40+ for 2 nights [no way and that's for members]. So we booked a return visit to Exe Valley and really glad we did, a late decision on Thursday to get away and space available-good times. The owners and wardens are so friendly, a cup of tea or coffee awaits you if you require. A choice of pitches were available, on grass or hardstanding, just find a pitch and we'll find out where you are, is the very relaxed attitude from the staff.

Most of the pitches have a slight slope so levelling blocks are required, all lean towards the river, the road that runs passed the site can be a bit noisy but not too obtrusive, the pitches towards the end of the site [towards the dog walk] are closer to the road. The pitches near the entrance are further away from the road, but closer to the water noise from the mill-I should imagine this is not good if you get the urge to visit the loo when you hear running water, but what a fantastic setting.

If you have a dog and most campers do, the dog walk is really good and if your dog is a water lover like ours there is endless swimming from the walk or from outside the site as well.

Walkers can walk forever from the site, detailed walks are available from the info shed by the wardens office, watch out for walk No2 this takes you up cardiac hill, 30mins uphill walk to the top but well worth it [think of all the calories burned], but not recommended if the person you are walking with likes to moan, but you will need to do this to get a phone signal, there's a handy water tank in a field to stand on to get that extra height [on site there is no signal on V'fone and O2, but we understand there is on Orange].

We didn't visit the village pub which is just across the road from the site but apparently it is very good.

Lovely walk along the river into the next village Winsford, where you can either have a pub lunch or take the more civil route and have a cream tea in the tea room opposite.

Toilets and shower facilities although dated are very clean and tidy, my wife had trouble with the shower in one cubicle and had to use another. Although the site was busy there was no queuing to use the facilities.

There is a drive over motorhome point. Plenty of rubbish, recycling and fresh water points are dotted around the site. There is no TV signal on the site but there are booster points at each EHU post.

We really enjoyed the weekend so we took an extra night and left on Monday, even this was no trouble to book we even kept the same pitch. We enjoyed our stay even more than the first time two years ago, we will return again! Mind you what really helps, the weather was fantastic.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richles 1 review from this member

Lovely well kept site, generous size pitches, setting couldn't be better brilliant for dogs as there is a lovely well kept dog walk at the side of the river also more walks of site.

Never saw the otters myself but they were spotted 3 times while we were there saw the kingfishers loads of times. Toilets showers very clean and water very hot.

Owners very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. Site very quiet never noticed the road noise only noise we heard was the owls at night.

All in all a near perfect site in a perfect setting.We will be going back

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cbjh 4 reviews from this member

The satnav had no trouble directing us to the site, and to places around it.

We spent 6 nights here at a cost of 105.00, no EHU, 2 adults and a car. Our tent is fairly large 5 metres by 2 and a half roughly, so were charged at a higher rate. (No reduction for not having the EHU.) The site was very busy ( the week before bank holiday Monday). But it didn't seem overcrowded. Having said that this was the closet we have had to pitch to other units.

On arrival at 10am we were greeted at reception by the owner and the offer of a cup of coffee, thanks so much for that. Given a list of the amenities. They have a small shop open for a couple of hours in the morning and afternoon, offering basic goods, books to borrow and I think a freezer block service.

Next to the shop is a hut which has a huge amount of local information, guides to local fishing, walks and even drives (we did the Porlock Hill drive, which was stunning).The hut also has a pay phone. Mobile phone coverage only for Orange and 3, not just at the site but for some distance around.

We were given the choice of 4/5 pitches, the one we selected was the least muddy one, it also had a stand for drinking water and waste water in front of it. We had pitch number 40 alongside the river. The pitch marker is the centre of the pitch, but we had to pitch slightly to the side as there was no grass, just a bare sticky patch, from where previous tents had pitched, and we wanted to be off the squelchy ground a bit!

The pitch wasn't level (but the most level of our choices and the caravans ipitched opposite us needed a few levelling blocks), we had to turn the airbed around after the first night and use a flip-flop to make the table stop wobbling (luckily the weather didn't call for them).

The site itself is in a gorgeous postion, surrounded by trees and the River Exe on one side, the Mill's leat on the other, and right at the end of the dog walk is a lovely weir, where otters were spotted while we were there (not by us sadly). The grass is kept nice and short and the grounds were very clean and tidy. Lots of bins/recycling points, which were never over full.

The shower and loo facilities are fine, if a bit tired. Three loos altogether for women and the same for men. These were clean and always stocked with loo paper, paper towels and hand wash. Also three showers for each sex. The ladies shower cubicles were quite cramped, needed to hop a lot to avoid getting wet clothes! Nice and hot water for the showers, which was free. As was the water for dish washing, and a free to use microwave and iron, they have a washing machine and tumble drier which we didn't need to use.

There is a main road right next to the site, which was a bit noisy, but the pheasants were noisier, they roost over the river in the trees, I never realised pheasants made so much noise.

This is an adults only site, due to the dangers of the water surrounding it, and rightly so. Apparently a couple of dogs have gone into the river, which is very fast.

The area around Exmoor is stunning. Some beautiful villages and views. Dulverton, Dunster and Porlock especially. Lewis's tearoom in Dulverton has a great all day breakfast. Find the postcodes for any superstores before you go, Morrisons in Tiverton and Tesco in Minehead.

We visited family in Bideford while here and on our way back went to Lynton and Lynmouth, had a ride on the cliff railway and fish and chips down near the river, very tasty.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nellnbodge 1 review from this member

We found this a nice and quiet site by the side of the river Exe. We were offered a choice of three pitches, two on the riverbank and one near to the toilet block and shop area. We opted for a riverside pitch which was excellent with trout to be seen in the clear river water and many birds including the regular visits of the local pheasants. A stroll up to the weir at the end of the site may also give you a sighting of a kingfisher or even otters.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from the adjacent road a problem but we cannot offer any complaints on this.

Overall we would recommend this site to all. It is an adult only site due to the river and mill water hazards. The site toilet & shower facilities, dish washing area and shop are all good. Free microwave use facility is great. The nearby Badger's Holt pub offers good food & drink. The nearby village shops sell locally produced food. Also, we recommend the fish & chip van that visits Winsford village square on Wednesday nights.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7384 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977