Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshcat 3 reviews from this member

Well worthy of its number 1 status. Just spent 7 nights here. The price tag you pay is worthy, and still very good value compared to some sites in a similar price bracket. The site is open and airy, but still you feel enclosed in a private pitch, you get the feeling its a 20 to 30 pitch site, but yet its not. The pitches are roomy and you have plenty of room for awning and car. The new shower block is the dogs gonads, can't fault the build quality. The grounds ooze quality, the functional amenities like water and waste are plentiful and emptied regularly. The elsan disposal is quite simply very well designed. Dog walk is enclosed and the site has around 8 poo bins with anti bac dispensers. The area is good for touristy spots, recommend a couple of hours people watching in Glasto - this has a high street like no other. Hundred Monkeys (dog friendly) comes with a reco too - excellent value with a relaxed bohemian atmosphere. Warning to the elderly and infirm - Glasto is 35 mins walk away uphill but there is a taxi minibus service from the site. Defo 5 star site

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 8 reviews from this member

What an amazing site! Just got home from an 8 night stay at The Old Oaks. Thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent here. Excellent facilities for humans and dogs. Nice clean showers and toilet facilities. We had a super pitch, well worth it. All of the team that work here were friendly, helpful, polite and approachable. Would recommend the fresh bread which you need to order and the sausages and bacon available in the shop. Shop well stocked and open all day which is a real bonus as so many site shops open such limited hours. Also in the shop is local produce including Orchard Pig cider - highly recommended! Well kept information point with laminated walks from the park, a really useful addition. Highly recommend a trip to Glastonbury Tor, quite a trek but stunning views on a clear day (rather breezy on the top!).

Would recommend this site any day, lovely big pitches, great team, excellent facilities, nice and peaceful. Only downside, and certainly NOT a reflection on the park, not all owners cleaned up after their pooches. Will definitely return to this site. Thank you for such a lovely tranquil break and keep up the wonderful work that you all do.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetand john 6 reviews from this member

Adult Only Site

Read so many good reviews for this site just had to visit and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the top oaks and we had a really good pitch plenty of room and really good neighbours either side.

The site is just below Glastonbury tor and footpaths from the site take you straight there about 1 1/2 mile up hill but worth the trek uphill the view is amazing then you can walk down the other side of the tor into Glastonbury.

The site amenities are the best we have been to washing up and shower and toilets all housed in one new block we loved the idea of the unisex rooms which were wet room showers with toilets. There are also another two shower blocks on site.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly

There's a shop on site that sales everything that you would run out or forget to take on holiday with you

Cider tasting on certain is good

But the best part of the day is the home made cake that is baked by a local lady 4 different types of sponges a day not to be missed

Thanks OldOaks you made us welcome and what relaxing holiday and James thanks for getting rid of the wasp nest

We will be back

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TOPCAT40 5 reviews from this member

Without doubt, this site sets the benchmark for all sites. Good sized pitches, best toilet block I have ever seen, well maintained, quiet, pretty site and helpful staff. Glastonbury about an hours walk if you are reasonably fit otherwise you need transport to go anywhere.

If there is one negative then its something over which the site owners have no control and that's the road leading to the site. It's over a mile in length and quite narrow in places with some passing places. It carries L. G. V's and tractors and if you meet one at the wrong place whilst towing, like we did, it can be very awkward. But I wouldn't let this put me off and will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 17 reviews from this member

If I was intending to set up a 'perfect' campsite I would use this site as a blueprint. The owners have thought of everything that guests could possibly want and much more. Yes it is a bit more expensive than some sites but look at what you get.

State of the art shower block (that truly is state of the art) with outstanding green credentials. Friendly wardens and other guests/campers who always have a smile on their face (and why wouldn't they when staying on such an exceptional site). Fresh, home baked cakes (the list frequently changes throughout the day as they do sell 'like hot cakes')! An outstanding information room with details of every kind of local amenity that you could imagine (with guest discounts available for local restaurants and pubs).

The site offers twice daily minibus trip into Glastonbury with its wonderful Abbey ruins in the centre, Chalice Well and quirky shops. The smallest city in England, Wells can be seen from the site (the cathedral and moat is a must if you visit the city) and of course the Mendip Hills offers Cheddar Gorge and lots of pretty villages.

Enormous pitches that are tastefully landscapes - some of the best views of the Mendip Hills are to be seen from the top pitches in the Top Oaks field (pitches 9-16).

It is a great area for cycling and you can hire bikes from the site at quite reasonable half day and daily rates. Fishing is also available on site and we saw some whoppers jumping in the pond during an evening stroll. The famous Glastonbury Tor is approx 1 mile walk through public footpaths and fields.

If you are looking for a peaceful haven in the middle of fabulous Somerset countryside with a quirky town and small 'city' not too far away then this site provides a wonderful base.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jumper5281 1 review from this member

Without doubt this is one of the best sites in the UK that we have visited. The pitch sizes are generous and they are not overlooked from the front or the rear and many have hedging to separate the pitches. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch which worked well and the drains and electricity were conveniently placed.

The shower facilities are second to none, ultra modern with a very high standard of equipment, stainless steel self closing bins etc. Spotlessly clean. There is a choice of self contained cabins with shower sink and lavatory or the usual block type facilities with showers lavatories and sinks. There is an indoor pot wash with spotlessly clean stainless steel sinks and in indoor laundry room complete with iron and ironing board, including separate washer and dryer for dog bedding. An adult only quiet and peaceful site with excellent views of the Mendips, a mile walk to Glastonbury Tor straight from the site. There is adequate facilities for dog walkers on the site and there is a large fishing lake that can be accessed for a small fee. The site has it's own well stocked shop and can supply fresh bread, newspapers daily. For those people not on fully services pitches the water and refuse points are all within easy reach no more than 50 yards maximum. The site is also very keen on recycling and has many well signed recycling bins. Highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamedav38 8 reviews from this member

Does what it says on the can - and more! Just what you'd expect from a five star Adult only site, hence the number of recent awards. Very warm and welcoming staff, beautiful state of the art facilities, reception/shop with local produce, local information and bikes for hire. Transport into Glastonbury, a unique town. An excellent Discounted shopping centre in nearby Street and plenty of local pubs, walks and scenic countryside and wildlife. Like their Facebook page and you'll be drawn in just by reading their weekly postings. And if you haven't got a dog then borrow one as it's doggy heaven.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 26 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site. Just as good second time. Friendly staff. Good shop, local bread and produce, etc. Hard standings a good size and not too difficult to hammer in a decent peg. Still love the shrubs between each pitch you can be gregarious or not as you choose. The old shower block is still well maintained and cleaned. The new block is impressive, with lots of eco credentials, check the info in the foyer. The owners have stuck with conventional showers, no timers and adjust temperature yourself, hooray. So eco on site you can even recycle your BBQ ash, that's a first for me.

Stourhead House and Garden is a great visit ideal to take a Picnic.

PS. If you take the Cheddar Gorge Walk downloaded from the site take care to look for the stile on the right hand side as you approach the top of the hill. It is easily missed in high summer due to tall vegetation. If you reach a kissing gate turn back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The fab 4 2 reviews from this member

Our holiday dates were from 15-06-13 to 30-06-13. (two couples with 1x dog each, 1x family sized tent, 1x touring caravan) we booked in April requesting 2 adjoining pitches with hook-up and were successful. This is a well laid out Adults Only site which is divided into several smaller areas, each pitch being a hard standing divided by a grassed area and hedging in the area we were on, with a large grassed area in the centre, the pitches were arranged around the perimeter or area dividing hedging giving the small site atmosphere. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The site shop was reasonably priced and covered most necessities (equipment and food\drink), local food produce hampers, bread, and newspapers can be ordered at the shop. The information centre was well stock with attraction leaflets, local services information, a pool table, and TV. There's a public phone box on site, a fishing lake is also available on site, The site facilities were second to none, in 15+ years of enjoying camping holidays around the country and now in our first year using a caravan, we have never had facilities of such a high standard. Washing machines, tumble dryers (pay as you use), a communal freezer (free), microwave oven (free), dish washing facilities, ladies and gents toilets and showers, and 7 or 8 individual unisex en suite wash rooms, (we didn't notice any shortages of hot water at any time during our stay), all amenities being in one new building. These facilities were in a very clean condition no matter what time of day we used them. The other wash facilities on the other side of the site were of a good standard but older, there was a bathroom in the older toilet facilities area, the older facilities were as clean as the new block, showers were free on the whole site. The dog walking area has a doggie shower hut with electric shower (free), cold tap, and water bowl, located at the entrance to the dog walk, the area was of a good size and fenced in so friendly dogs were safe off the lead. There were ample dog foul bins all around the site. TV reception where we were was good, but you will need your own ariel \ satellite system as there did not appear to be TV points on any pitches, wi-fi was available across the site, and the down load speed was good. There were ample refuge \ recycling \ drinking water \ waste water points around the site, Basically if they mention it on their website then its available and there are no embellishments, yes the site is expensive but we thought it was worth it, and all four of us and the dogs had a great holiday and we would recommend and will use this site again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blacktrucker55 1 review from this member

Just returned after 4 nights thought the campsite was excellent. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and the man on the bike showed us to our pitch thought this was a nice touch as other sites we have been to just give you a map and leave you to it. Everything was very clean grass was nicely cut and the pitch was very generous our 26ft caravan fitted in nicely. The toilet block was immaculate didn't use the showers as we have our own but they looked clean. We had brilliant weather which I think always helps so we had three lovely days out Weston-Super-Mare is lovely Wells cathedral and the bishops palace well worth a visit so is Glastonbury Abbey and gardens. We didn't really eat out took picnics. There is a Tescos and Morrisons about 3 miles away. We would highly recommend this campsite and would go back. Very dog friendly to.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5839 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1465
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window