Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 300 Reviews
              10/10 from 300 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  300 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin your choice of a 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Full info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamedav38 7 reviews from this member

Does what it says on the can - and more! Just what you'd expect from a five star Adult only site, hence the number of recent awards. Very warm and welcoming staff, beautiful state of the art facilities, reception/shop with local produce, local information and bikes for hire. Transport into Glastonbury, a unique town. An excellent Discounted shopping centre in nearby Street and plenty of local pubs, walks and scenic countryside and wildlife. Like their Facebook page and you'll be drawn in just by reading their weekly postings. And if you haven't got a dog then borrow one as it's doggy heaven.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 24 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site. Just as good second time. Friendly staff. Good shop, local bread and produce, etc. Hard standings a good size and not too difficult to hammer in a decent peg. Still love the shrubs between each pitch you can be gregarious or not as you choose. The old shower block is still well maintained and cleaned. The new block is impressive, with lots of eco credentials, check the info in the foyer. The owners have stuck with conventional showers, no timers and adjust temperature yourself, hooray. So eco on site you can even recycle your BBQ ash, that's a first for me.

Stourhead House and Garden is a great visit ideal to take a Picnic.

PS. If you take the Cheddar Gorge Walk downloaded from the site take care to look for the stile on the right hand side as you approach the top of the hill. It is easily missed in high summer due to tall vegetation. If you reach a kissing gate turn back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The fab 4 2 reviews from this member

Our holiday dates were from 15-06-13 to 30-06-13. (two couples with 1x dog each, 1x family sized tent, 1x touring caravan) we booked in April requesting 2 adjoining pitches with hook-up and were successful. This is a well laid out Adults Only site which is divided into several smaller areas, each pitch being a hard standing divided by a grassed area and hedging in the area we were on, with a large grassed area in the centre, the pitches were arranged around the perimeter or area dividing hedging giving the small site atmosphere. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The site shop was reasonably priced and covered most necessities (equipment and food\drink), local food produce hampers, bread, and newspapers can be ordered at the shop. The information centre was well stock with attraction leaflets, local services information, a pool table, and TV. There's a public phone box on site, a fishing lake is also available on site, The site facilities were second to none, in 15+ years of enjoying camping holidays around the country and now in our first year using a caravan, we have never had facilities of such a high standard. Washing machines, tumble dryers (pay as you use), a communal freezer (free), microwave oven (free), dish washing facilities, ladies and gents toilets and showers, and 7 or 8 individual unisex en suite wash rooms, (we didn't notice any shortages of hot water at any time during our stay), all amenities being in one new building. These facilities were in a very clean condition no matter what time of day we used them. The other wash facilities on the other side of the site were of a good standard but older, there was a bathroom in the older toilet facilities area, the older facilities were as clean as the new block, showers were free on the whole site. The dog walking area has a doggie shower hut with electric shower (free), cold tap, and water bowl, located at the entrance to the dog walk, the area was of a good size and fenced in so friendly dogs were safe off the lead. There were ample dog foul bins all around the site. TV reception where we were was good, but you will need your own ariel \ satellite system as there did not appear to be TV points on any pitches, wi-fi was available across the site, and the down load speed was good. There were ample refuge \ recycling \ drinking water \ waste water points around the site, Basically if they mention it on their website then its available and there are no embellishments, yes the site is expensive but we thought it was worth it, and all four of us and the dogs had a great holiday and we would recommend and will use this site again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blacktrucker55 1 review from this member

Just returned after 4 nights thought the campsite was excellent. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and the man on the bike showed us to our pitch thought this was a nice touch as other sites we have been to just give you a map and leave you to it. Everything was very clean grass was nicely cut and the pitch was very generous our 26ft caravan fitted in nicely. The toilet block was immaculate didn't use the showers as we have our own but they looked clean. We had brilliant weather which I think always helps so we had three lovely days out Weston-Super-Mare is lovely Wells cathedral and the bishops palace well worth a visit so is Glastonbury Abbey and gardens. We didn't really eat out took picnics. There is a Tescos and Morrisons about 3 miles away. We would highly recommend this campsite and would go back. Very dog friendly to.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Househunters 8 reviews from this member

We visited The Old Oaks because we wanted to be on an adult only park during the Easter holidays.

The park is immaculate and extremely well run. The wardens are very professional, friendly and helpful. We particularly liked the spacious layout of the individual areas where all units have super all weather pitches around the perimeter leaving a park-like centres.

It is quite obvious that the owners will not be tempted to fill up these wonderful open spaces with more pitches. The new facility building is fabulous.

We found the site quite easily coming via the A361 using the park's directions, our satnav and having 'google street viewed' all the junctions and narrow lanes before we left home!

Apart from the walks around, a car is needed to get about and see the area. We enjoyed visiting Wells on market day and lunching at the Cathedral Refectory. We also enjoyed a good strenuous ramble in Ebbor Gorge near Cheddar and a wild and windy climb up the Tor. The Old Oaks is a good place for a very civilised chillout holiday away from the grandchildren.

Vodaphone signal was rubbish everywhere. The wifi is now free but the signal is low in Top Oaks field.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dkloader 2 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a four night stay at the Old Oaks in early June this year. The park is beautifully landscaped and kept very tidy indeed. Most of the pitches are of a very good size with good space between them. The trees and shrubs are a joy to see. The new shower block is absolutely 5 star and there is a well stocked shop in the reception area with good locally sourced product always available. All the staff we met during our stay were friendly and very helpful. All in all a superb campsite that we will certainly be revisiting.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alanlflower 3 reviews from this member

A quiet site with excellent facilities that not only allows dogs but positively makes dogs welcome.

All electric pitches are hardstanding and if you have a tent, especially built in groundsheet, you need to ask for one of their extra thick groundsheets to go under your own footprint or groundsheet to avoid the chippings creating holes.

Non electric pitches are all grass and are well spaced around a field with no pitches in the centre so feeling much more spacious than some other sites.

Overall a good retreat especially if you have a dog.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camperlck 10 reviews from this member

I don't think there is much that hasn't been said about this site. This really is a Rolls-Royce of camp sites.

The super pitch sizes are enormous. I measured ours at 12m x 13m. All enclosed with hedging, trees etc to provide fantastic privacy and a real feeling that this is your pitch.

The site is sculpted and manicured to within an inch of its life and has a great feel to it.

I won't mention the toilet block - others have done it to death. However lets just say even the chemical disposal point has tiling that is better than in my ensuite at home! It also has anti-bacterial hand-gel for use afterwards. A really nice touch.

The dog walk is at least 300 metres long and entirely enclosed. Also well maintained with trees and conveniently placed benches. At the entrance there is a dog shower. The whole site is very dog-friendly.

You can also walk your dog off-site in various directions as walks abound from the site.

The site is very well located for Somerset countryside and local services in and around Glastonbury. There is a direct route up to the Glastonbury Tor too - a lovely evening stroll!

The site offers all sorts of additional services too. You can order bread the night before and you get it fresh from the bakers the next day. The shop on site sells a good range of products, from local produce, to basic food stuffs, household wares, speciality, alcohol, camping spares etc. You can hire bikes, you can get walking maps, you can have your caravan washed and on and on.

We ate at-

Elaichi Tandoori - Glastonbury. Good food but service sometimes a little slow.

Knights Fish n Chips - Glastonbury. Excellent but pricey.

Beah English & Mediterranean - Wells. Excellent food and very good value.

So what is not to like about this site?

Well there are a few possibles-

1) It is very expensive.

2) Because it is so dog-friendly, there are, not surprisingly dogs everywhere. If you don't like dogs, or if your own dog isn't great with others - then this could be a problem. You will meet dogs all the time around the site. Not all of them are well behaved and not all owners have them under control (even if they're on leads).

3) It is almost too manicured and for some people, this could be a step too far from a caravan in the corner of a field with a water tap.

4) The Wi-Fi was continually dropping out and was virtually unusable.

We loved it and would definitely return. I would highly recommend you try it at some point.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HJN1 5 reviews from this member

This is a site that just keeps giving! It is outstanding.

In doing our research into this particular location we were very excited by the consistently high scores and positive comments, but a little concerned that nothing could live up to this kind of hype! How wrong we were, we now know why it consistently receives such stunning reviews.

Going to have to confess that our satnav led us to approach the site along a very narrow lane that unfortunately was closed for repairs only some 100m from the entrance, however on ringing the Wardens they very kindly talked us in via an alternative route and stayed on the phone until we were safely on the driveway, now that's service.

In fact all of the Wardens and also the owners who are often seen around the site are incredibly friendly and helpful ensuring that as guests we felt at ease and relaxed throughout our stay.

The facilities, what can we say that hasn't already been said? Believe all of the reviews, quite frankly the best we have ever seen, and trust us we are very particular! The new facilities block (our closest) was real 5* luxury and had both ladies and gents toilets along with a generous number of unisex en-suite type shower rooms.

There is a great shop on site selling pretty much everything you need and probably stuff you don't, and for all cake addicts there is usually a choice of two freshly baked cakes each day, whilst stocks last! Can also recommend the local bread deliveries from the unusually and rather worryingly named 'Burns the Bread' Bakery.

The surrounding area is beautiful and Glastonbury Tor is but a short walk away, albeit a fairly vertical short walk, but one worth undertaking as the views are out of this world.

Glastonbury, again a manageable walk away is a truly surreal place to visit, but a must do!

For us, visiting this site is a six hour drive, but that said, is one we will happily do time and again, in fact so good was the Old Oaks that we booked in for our next visit before leaving for our 6hr marathon home.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

We have visited this wonderful campsite several times and are now greeted like old friends. It is the best campsite we have ever been to. Ok it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. The new shower block is better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The pitches are large, the site is immaculate and the home made cake is to die for. We did them a favour and had had a grass pitch on our last visit - we were rewarded with a free weekend which we have booked for October. Lots of lovely walk into Glastonbury- needed to walk off the cake! We plan at least 2 visits here each year as we love it so much

Previous     300 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin your choice of a 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Full info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5908 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1094