Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TOPCAT40 5 reviews from this member

Without doubt, this site sets the benchmark for all sites. Good sized pitches, best toilet block I have ever seen, well maintained, quiet, pretty site and helpful staff. Glastonbury about an hours walk if you are reasonably fit otherwise you need transport to go anywhere.

If there is one negative then its something over which the site owners have no control and that's the road leading to the site. It's over a mile in length and quite narrow in places with some passing places. It carries L. G. V's and tractors and if you meet one at the wrong place whilst towing, like we did, it can be very awkward. But I wouldn't let this put me off and will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 17 reviews from this member

If I was intending to set up a 'perfect' campsite I would use this site as a blueprint. The owners have thought of everything that guests could possibly want and much more. Yes it is a bit more expensive than some sites but look at what you get.

State of the art shower block (that truly is state of the art) with outstanding green credentials. Friendly wardens and other guests/campers who always have a smile on their face (and why wouldn't they when staying on such an exceptional site). Fresh, home baked cakes (the list frequently changes throughout the day as they do sell 'like hot cakes')! An outstanding information room with details of every kind of local amenity that you could imagine (with guest discounts available for local restaurants and pubs).

The site offers twice daily minibus trip into Glastonbury with its wonderful Abbey ruins in the centre, Chalice Well and quirky shops. The smallest city in England, Wells can be seen from the site (the cathedral and moat is a must if you visit the city) and of course the Mendip Hills offers Cheddar Gorge and lots of pretty villages.

Enormous pitches that are tastefully landscapes - some of the best views of the Mendip Hills are to be seen from the top pitches in the Top Oaks field (pitches 9-16).

It is a great area for cycling and you can hire bikes from the site at quite reasonable half day and daily rates. Fishing is also available on site and we saw some whoppers jumping in the pond during an evening stroll. The famous Glastonbury Tor is approx 1 mile walk through public footpaths and fields.

If you are looking for a peaceful haven in the middle of fabulous Somerset countryside with a quirky town and small 'city' not too far away then this site provides a wonderful base.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jumper5281 1 review from this member

Without doubt this is one of the best sites in the UK that we have visited. The pitch sizes are generous and they are not overlooked from the front or the rear and many have hedging to separate the pitches. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch which worked well and the drains and electricity were conveniently placed.

The shower facilities are second to none, ultra modern with a very high standard of equipment, stainless steel self closing bins etc. Spotlessly clean. There is a choice of self contained cabins with shower sink and lavatory or the usual block type facilities with showers lavatories and sinks. There is an indoor pot wash with spotlessly clean stainless steel sinks and in indoor laundry room complete with iron and ironing board, including separate washer and dryer for dog bedding. An adult only quiet and peaceful site with excellent views of the Mendips, a mile walk to Glastonbury Tor straight from the site. There is adequate facilities for dog walkers on the site and there is a large fishing lake that can be accessed for a small fee. The site has it's own well stocked shop and can supply fresh bread, newspapers daily. For those people not on fully services pitches the water and refuse points are all within easy reach no more than 50 yards maximum. The site is also very keen on recycling and has many well signed recycling bins. Highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamedav38 8 reviews from this member

Does what it says on the can - and more! Just what you'd expect from a five star Adult only site, hence the number of recent awards. Very warm and welcoming staff, beautiful state of the art facilities, reception/shop with local produce, local information and bikes for hire. Transport into Glastonbury, a unique town. An excellent Discounted shopping centre in nearby Street and plenty of local pubs, walks and scenic countryside and wildlife. Like their Facebook page and you'll be drawn in just by reading their weekly postings. And if you haven't got a dog then borrow one as it's doggy heaven.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 25 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site. Just as good second time. Friendly staff. Good shop, local bread and produce, etc. Hard standings a good size and not too difficult to hammer in a decent peg. Still love the shrubs between each pitch you can be gregarious or not as you choose. The old shower block is still well maintained and cleaned. The new block is impressive, with lots of eco credentials, check the info in the foyer. The owners have stuck with conventional showers, no timers and adjust temperature yourself, hooray. So eco on site you can even recycle your BBQ ash, that's a first for me.

Stourhead House and Garden is a great visit ideal to take a Picnic.

PS. If you take the Cheddar Gorge Walk downloaded from the site take care to look for the stile on the right hand side as you approach the top of the hill. It is easily missed in high summer due to tall vegetation. If you reach a kissing gate turn back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The fab 4 2 reviews from this member

Our holiday dates were from 15-06-13 to 30-06-13. (two couples with 1x dog each, 1x family sized tent, 1x touring caravan) we booked in April requesting 2 adjoining pitches with hook-up and were successful. This is a well laid out Adults Only site which is divided into several smaller areas, each pitch being a hard standing divided by a grassed area and hedging in the area we were on, with a large grassed area in the centre, the pitches were arranged around the perimeter or area dividing hedging giving the small site atmosphere. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The site shop was reasonably priced and covered most necessities (equipment and food\drink), local food produce hampers, bread, and newspapers can be ordered at the shop. The information centre was well stock with attraction leaflets, local services information, a pool table, and TV. There's a public phone box on site, a fishing lake is also available on site, The site facilities were second to none, in 15+ years of enjoying camping holidays around the country and now in our first year using a caravan, we have never had facilities of such a high standard. Washing machines, tumble dryers (pay as you use), a communal freezer (free), microwave oven (free), dish washing facilities, ladies and gents toilets and showers, and 7 or 8 individual unisex en suite wash rooms, (we didn't notice any shortages of hot water at any time during our stay), all amenities being in one new building. These facilities were in a very clean condition no matter what time of day we used them. The other wash facilities on the other side of the site were of a good standard but older, there was a bathroom in the older toilet facilities area, the older facilities were as clean as the new block, showers were free on the whole site. The dog walking area has a doggie shower hut with electric shower (free), cold tap, and water bowl, located at the entrance to the dog walk, the area was of a good size and fenced in so friendly dogs were safe off the lead. There were ample dog foul bins all around the site. TV reception where we were was good, but you will need your own ariel \ satellite system as there did not appear to be TV points on any pitches, wi-fi was available across the site, and the down load speed was good. There were ample refuge \ recycling \ drinking water \ waste water points around the site, Basically if they mention it on their website then its available and there are no embellishments, yes the site is expensive but we thought it was worth it, and all four of us and the dogs had a great holiday and we would recommend and will use this site again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blacktrucker55 1 review from this member

Just returned after 4 nights thought the campsite was excellent. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and the man on the bike showed us to our pitch thought this was a nice touch as other sites we have been to just give you a map and leave you to it. Everything was very clean grass was nicely cut and the pitch was very generous our 26ft caravan fitted in nicely. The toilet block was immaculate didn't use the showers as we have our own but they looked clean. We had brilliant weather which I think always helps so we had three lovely days out Weston-Super-Mare is lovely Wells cathedral and the bishops palace well worth a visit so is Glastonbury Abbey and gardens. We didn't really eat out took picnics. There is a Tescos and Morrisons about 3 miles away. We would highly recommend this campsite and would go back. Very dog friendly to.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Househunters 8 reviews from this member

We visited The Old Oaks because we wanted to be on an adult only park during the Easter holidays.

The park is immaculate and extremely well run. The wardens are very professional, friendly and helpful. We particularly liked the spacious layout of the individual areas where all units have super all weather pitches around the perimeter leaving a park-like centres.

It is quite obvious that the owners will not be tempted to fill up these wonderful open spaces with more pitches. The new facility building is fabulous.

We found the site quite easily coming via the A361 using the park's directions, our satnav and having 'google street viewed' all the junctions and narrow lanes before we left home!

Apart from the walks around, a car is needed to get about and see the area. We enjoyed visiting Wells on market day and lunching at the Cathedral Refectory. We also enjoyed a good strenuous ramble in Ebbor Gorge near Cheddar and a wild and windy climb up the Tor. The Old Oaks is a good place for a very civilised chillout holiday away from the grandchildren.

Vodaphone signal was rubbish everywhere. The wifi is now free but the signal is low in Top Oaks field.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dkloader 2 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a four night stay at the Old Oaks in early June this year. The park is beautifully landscaped and kept very tidy indeed. Most of the pitches are of a very good size with good space between them. The trees and shrubs are a joy to see. The new shower block is absolutely 5 star and there is a well stocked shop in the reception area with good locally sourced product always available. All the staff we met during our stay were friendly and very helpful. All in all a superb campsite that we will certainly be revisiting.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alanlflower 3 reviews from this member

A quiet site with excellent facilities that not only allows dogs but positively makes dogs welcome.

All electric pitches are hardstanding and if you have a tent, especially built in groundsheet, you need to ask for one of their extra thick groundsheets to go under your own footprint or groundsheet to avoid the chippings creating holes.

Non electric pitches are all grass and are well spaced around a field with no pitches in the centre so feeling much more spacious than some other sites.

Overall a good retreat especially if you have a dog.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328