Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
              8/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 474 reviews from this member

We turned up without a booking - to find the site not open for another 2 weeks!

Owner working on the site - offered to let us stay if we were self sufficient as working on electrics and water not on yet.

The site is undergoing some refurbishment work - all the pitches being reset in gravel with new electrics.

Having stayed before in summer we know this is a fabulous site and the work appears to be improving it further.

The village is lovely, great pub and lovely walks.

Recommend a visit - and in summer try the farm made ice-cream available on site.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrneillees 7 reviews from this member

I would echo many of the other reviews. This site is visually stunning with views across the entire Morecambe Bay area, from sunrise to sunset, in good weather and bad, you won't fail to be impressed by the vistas.

The toilet and shower block is basic, but always clean or being cleaned (but they can be overwhelmed on busy weekends, we solved this by foregoing the odd shower and using babywipes!). The adjacent village is great with 3 pubs, a pizzeria, small supermarket and butcher's, chemist's etc

Mike and Lynne the onsite wardens are friendly and helpful (even more so once you've been a couple of times)and do keep an eye on things most of the time.

The only downside is that it is a very family orientated site which has meant on more than one occasion (we've been 8 times this year) groups of loud, unsupervised and hyperactive kids running wild from dusk til dawn (and later). But, when asked to move away from our tent or pipe down a bit etc, they have always politely done so and we have stayed up late with a few beers on occasions, so it works for us too as we hate those 'lights out at 8.30pm because we're all up at 5.30am to do a 30-mile hike' type sites.

Put it this way, we will be back as many times as possible in 2009.

Could I just add that campers should really check the wind speed forecasts before using this site.

If it is predicted to be windy (20pmh+), pitching down by 'the woods' is a good idea as once past the wooded area winds whip in from offshore and only frame or mountain tents are advisable!

We still had a great five days and will be back for all this year's Bank Holidays and more.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 17 reviews from this member

If youíre looking for peace and quiet then this is not the site for you! We went for a long weekend expecting it to be quiet because the kids are back at school. But itís very popular with families arriving after work on a Friday and turning up for the night on a Saturday. However, if youíre a couple or a single person donít let this put you off as itís worth it for the location and views.

Itís a very laid back site. Just turn up, park and pitch where you like and then pay the stewards when they appear mid morning. The stewards, Linda and Mike are extremely friendly and helpful and wonít take any messing! Unfortunately when we were there a group of campers turned up late on the Friday night, pitched their tent in the car headlights and stayed up drinking, talking loudly and swearing until gone 3.00 am. Although there is a noise curfew of 11.00 pm, this is very relaxed and unless you report the incident to the stewards nothing will be done about it. Sadly on the Saturday night, kids were allowed to run amok past our tent, shaking it as they went in some sort of game. The parents clearly werenít interested and nothing was done about it until it was reported to the steward who then patrolled the site for a couple of hours.

The facilities are quite basic but cleaned on a regular basis throughout the day. They were overstretched a little as people had to queue to use them and we would imagine itís even worse during the summer holidays. As previous reviews have mentioned, it would benefit from a couple more showers in both the ladies and the gents due to the popularity of the site. But the showers are free and you can have them as hot and for as long as you like!

There is a lovely wood leading to the beach and then a coastal path adjacent to the camping field. However, the path is very narrow and treacherous in places and we wouldn't recommended it for kids or the elderly. We walked along it when the tide was in as we didnít fancy walking along the beach and the sinking sand. But the views are stunning both during the day and the night from the sunsets to the stars Ė weíve never seen so many!

We look forward to returning again, although as a couple looking for peace and quiet weíll make sure itís a break midweek when the kids are at school.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Post4dawn 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site because we wanted to explore Arnside and Silverdale, but we didn't get chance because we only stayed one night. When we arrived we were pointed in the direction of a field for motorhomes but the ground was quite soft and we ended up getting stuck so had to wait for the farmer to come with the tractor to pull us out, he was very pleasant & we were grateful. We then tried up on the hill but we got stuck yet again but luckily we managed to roll backwards down the hill. In the end we ended up right next to the campsite road. This site is really for families with children, there were lots of children running around till quite late at night and if you want peace & quiet this is not the site for you, we were kept awake till early hours of the morning by a group of campers drinking & shouting to each other across the field. The toilets were ok, full of cobwebs but the spiders help to keep the flies down, but could do with more showers in the ladies, there is only two, one is a disabled shower.I don't think we will return to this site, we like our peace & quiet.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reemo 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Gibratar Farm. The first thing that struck us were the amazing views across the bay. And the sunsets. Well they have to seen to be believed!

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and said we could pitch wherever we wanted.

The toilet/shower block was clean but quite old and small, the weekend we were there was quiet so don't know how these facilities stand up during a busy weekend in summer. Although on Saturday morning we walked to Holgates holiday park for breakfast and ended up using their facilities (all looked new, amazingly clean!)

Silverdale village is only 5 minutes walk away with a well stocked CO-OP, an italian restaurant (didn't use), a post office and a pub (can't remember the name). We ate at the Silverdale Hotel which had good pub grub.

Would we go back??? The site is very basic with very basic facilities but very cheap (you get what you pay for)

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cavemen 1 review from this member

An almost perfect place for the kids - and adults for that matter.

The only drawback was the lack of shower facilities, although the kids didn't complain, but another shower or two would make it spot on. The shower block was, however, kept very clean.

The area is great for exploring or just chilling out and the home-made ice cream was super, I felt obliged to have at least two helpings per day just to make sure I wasn't dreaming.

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend and wished we could have stayed longer. The on-site Warden was very friendly and helpful and we would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa Dickinson 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience and really have mixed views of Gibralter Farm!

We arrived at the site around 6.00pm and had a choice of pitches, its a beautiful site overlooking Morecambe Bay with a woodland to the left as you drive in! Wardens were friendly and helpful on arrival!

We found the toilet/shower facilities very clean with lovely warm showers and a disabled toilet! An added mega bonus for me was the plug socket in the bathroom so I could use my beloved hair dryer!

There were two sinks for washing up but never had to wait!

The Ice Cream hut was a nice touch to the place with different flavours to choose from everyday costing around £6.00 for 2 adultsand two kids.

We camped in the first tent field to the right it had a mini woodland of about 5 trees were the younger children played they thought it was great as they thought you couldn't see them! But we could! We noticed over the other field a lot of older children playing on the rocky woodland bit! This was to the left!

Now for the bad bit.

The first evening the tent next door spent the whole evening with around 4-6 adults talking at the top of there voices until around 1.30am the men had real toilet mouths! The tent on the other side was rattling with a guy snoring his head off, he sounded like he was choking some of the time it was awful! Through out the night there was a mixture of music, some from the next field which got turned down around 2am but the worst was some terrible ravy kind of music which seemed to be coming from the woods! The next day the wardens insisted it was from a house on the hill! This music went off at 5AM!

The second day a group of about 7 lads 6 girls arrived and pitched directly across from us! The thoughts of oh no was apparent on all the faces of the campers! They went on to fulfill our dreads, screaming shouting swearing talking absolute filth at about 1am my husband asked them to shut up as they had woken up my kids but they didn't! I went to the loo around 1.30 am as there was loud talking from somewhere else only to find that the warden was with a group sat round a fire talking very loudly swearing at the top of his voice!

All in all a great weekend but with very little sleep! Such a shame as this was great site but with rules on noise not adhered to I don't think we would return unless promised little or no noise after 11.30pm.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyfrog 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long Bank Hol weekend.

Just how steep is that hill out of the site?

The site as reviewed by previous visitors is in a super location. Great scenery, with great views over Morecambe Bay. Plenty of space for kids to play, climb trees etc.

It is the sort of site where parents can (and do) send their kids of all ages out to run riot from dawn to well after midnight.

The site have a few rules like no open fires, no football or ball games near caravans, no noise after 11pm, but no one takes any notice of them. It is not the place to expect peace and quiet or to relax.

This could be a super site if they built an additional toilet/shower block to supplement the single shower and 3 toilets per sex at present. The existing facilities are inadequate for the 3 fields of tents and caravans. They are also far away from the furthest point of the site

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Strong Arms 2 reviews from this member

Back again - what a fabulous 4 days. Only wish we lived nearer to visit more often. It is the most uncommercialised campsite we have been to - but it is great. Nice friendly owners and site wardens, clean facilities and everything is well controlled. The kids love it - freedom to them. Great walks and fresh air! Early morning wake up (not really about 8am) with the cows coming back through the camp fields after being milked, and then their daily walk back through at tea time back up to the milking station. Great to see, even at my age!

And the Home Made Ice Cream is absolutely delicious. Which we had had more time to try every flavour.

Even in bad weather, the campsite is great.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jazzy62 1 review from this member

We stayed for a fortnight on this site. Our 3 children (12, 10 and 8) loved it, especially the rope swing and ice cream and made friends quickly. We tended to have showers in the late afternoon/evening and never had to queue. The steward was really nice and helpful and he organised a water slide and disco for the children when we were there. The site was busier at weekends, but even though the toilet block was busy and the amount of rain we had, the toilets and showers were kept really clean. We didn't spend much time on the site, as we toured Lancashire, Cumbria and Yorkshire - it's a good central base. We did walk to Silverdale village (nice Italian restaurant) and Arnside, although we shopped mainly in Carnforth which has a Tesco. Really good value for money, as I stayed on a site recently with only 1 toilet and a sink with cold water at three pounds per person per night. This works out at the same price for all of us on this site which has better facilities and we had an electric hook-up.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool Ďní Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5988 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0947