Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 195 Reviews
              9/10 from 195 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  195 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weirgzl 7 reviews from this member

After a 7 hour drive and having to wait to check in we then had to queue up for a further 20 minutes for someone to take us to our pitch. Our pitch was in the furthest field from the complex and a 7 minute walk to the clubhouse and shop. The toilets and washing facilities were a portacabin. The 'heated' pool was cold and the chippy prices were extortionate. On the second night in the bar I was asked to provide proof of age, as I had none I was refused buying alcohol (I am 36 years of age!) I went to reception the following morning to complain and the bar manager was brought in. She said it was procedure and I should carry picture ID so there was nothing she could do. I spent the remainder of our holiday drinking soft drinks while my wife went to the bar for her drinks. I wrote a written complaint to the management and when I returned home there was a letter waiting saying they were within their rights, with a poster attached about proof of age.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 82 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week during peak season, we have visited before several years ago and the site has been developed since we last visited.

Positives:-

Fantastic shower block, very clean and never had to queue for a shower, always warm.

Very clean site in nice surroundings.

Good children's play areas dotted around the site.

Negatives:

The swimming pool was freezing even on a hot sunny day, it took your breath away!

The site was very busy and felt crammed, the touring pitches are close together, not much privacy.

We stayed on a premier pitch which was great has it was hardstanding with its own BBQ, however, they are located at the top of a very steep hill and far away from the main facilities, they are also difficult to get large caravans into due to the space.

The family clubhouse at night is far too small for the size of the site, we only went once as you couldn't get a seat and we saw lots of people turn away, the site is losing a lot of business because of this.

The surrounding area isnt as nice as it used to be, Dawlish itself looks alittle tired and Dawlish Warren beaches are not as nice as other parts of Devon, you have to drive at least 45 mins to get a nice beach.

There is nothing to do on this site if the weather is wet and we had two days of rain.

It is a very busy site so if you are looking for a quiet site then avoid this one, if it had an indoor pool and larger indoor area for night time then it would be a perfect site. We wont be visiting again as it was expensive and we didn't think the area was attractive at all.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boyse7en 1 review from this member

Just got back from a few days camping on the terraced Ten-Acre Field at Cofton. This is a large site, well maintained with plenty of trees, flowerbeds and hedges to break up the appearance. Very busy, being the first week of the school holidays, but didn't feel crowded at all - plenty of room with large pitches.

The only complaint was with the toilet block in the camping field. An old prefab block which leaked when it rained (so water all over the floor) and had the smallest toilet cubicles I have ever seen - you have to go in backwards as there isn't enough room to turn around. I walked across to one of the much nicer blocks in the next (caravan) field to shower, which were fantastic. Spacious, clean and well designed. It's not a cheap site in the peak season, and I feel slightly short-changed by the poor toilets in comparison to the 'van owners.

Overall, a good site with all the amenities (shop, pool, bar, restaurant, chippy, laundry, fishing lakes, free hot water, etc) in a nice location. There are plenty of walks from the site to the coast or woods and there are loads of beaches nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andreachapman 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at Cofton at about 4pm on on of the busiest saturdays of the year. The site check in system is easy and the staff in reception are helpful.A little golf style buggy takes you around the site to choose a pitch.The site is huge and we were able to pick a pitch to suit ourselves. We chose a larger pitch which was easy to get on to because this was only our second time out with our caravan. The pitches are fairly close together,we didn't have room for a table and chairs outside our awning,however we did have our car alongside too. The surroundings are lovely and tents and caravans are mixed in together.Please note that although check in is supposed to be after 11am there was a huge queue as we left at 8 am and so by pm there were not many pitches left on a busy weekend.

The toilet and shower blocks are superclean. The only problems that I could see were that the loos and showers were in separate parts and there was only one hand drier. The showers were free and lovely.

The onsite club/pub and pool area are lovely. The pub is reasonably priced and the meals are tasty.

There are great facilities for children. Play areas and an assault course with zip slide.There are ponies and donkeys too.

The onsite shop is excellent with good prices (cheaper than the supermarket in dawlish). Wonderful freshly baked bread in the mornings.

We took our 3 dogs with us,there is a dedicated dog walking area and there are loads of woodland walks.

It is about 20 mns on foot to dawlish warren which we did not like,although it does have a great cake shop ! Dawlish warren is one street with endless caravan sites and amusements.

Dawlish is about 10 mins by car and is much nicer,with a lovely brook and its well known black swan families.

Torquay,teinmouth and Brixham (gorgeous) are all within driving distance for great days out.Ansteys cove is worth a look and the model village at Babbacombe is nice and you can take your dog.

A short walk down the back lane to the nearest village is a must,the anchor inn is a fantastic pub with the most fantastic food. Be sure to go inside and sit at the far end with all the shipping items.Great for the kids too.

We could not fault the site,it is clean and the staff are very good.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trussie 4 reviews from this member

We've just been to Cofton over the bank holiday weekend, it was our 1st trip to Cofton. Even though it was the busiest weekend of the year, we were really impressed with the whole site.

We were able to pitch next to friends and had a lovely private, corner plot. The plots were roomy and there was plenty of room next to the tent and all over the park for the children to play, fly their kites etc.

We were right near the lovely and clean, modern toilet blocks which were cleaned once a day. There were plenty of toilets but there was a queue for the showers every morning (to be expected on this weekend). There were also separate sink cubicles which provided an extra place to change and freshen up without the use of the showers. We travelled with my disabled sister and the disabled toilet facilities were brilliant, clean,large and a Radar key had to be used for access which was great. There were plenty of washing up sinks as well.

There appeared to be a lot of toilet blocks spotted around the massive site.

The outside swimming pool was nice, a little overrun with people with it being peak season but pleasant although a little cool. The bar is right next to the pool so you can sit and watch the kids whilst having a relaxing drink.

The supermarket was well stocked and not overpriced, the fish and chips on site were extremely tasty and there was a very small arcade. There was always special entertainment being laid on, a big bouncy slide was provided for the kids on Rodeo sunday, along with Sumo Wrestling suits, free face painting, bucking broncho and other activities were were very good. The nightly entertainment was family orientated and there was a singer, kids games, DJ's depending on the night.

There were a couple of issues. There were no road markings, one way systems or speed limits in place when driving around the park and on a couple of occasions we saw kids playing on the road or riding bikes but cars were driving too quickly and there were a couple of near misses.

With regards to the Elson Points / Chemical toilet disposal - there were plenty of these available on site as marked on the map. There were also separate waste water points placed directly next to clean drinking water points and although some places clearly stated that the waste water point was not for chemical disposal, some fields such as ours, were not signed accordingly and people were dumping their chemical waste at the water points, directly next to and splashing into the clean drinking water point!

I would also not recommend eating at the restaurant. Our meals came out at different times, some were cold and had to be sent back, steaks were all well done. Upon complaining the young staff were disinterested and giggling. There was one young barmaid who was very professional and dealt with our complaint satisfactorily. The complimentary pudding that was sent to apologise for the bad meals was sent out still frozen in the middle! However, the girl did compensate us accordingly and what was rapidly turning into a disappointing night, turned out to be quite enjoyable thanks to her.

These were all minor points and certainly did not reflect a bad park. Although we would not return to the area (highly disappointed in Dawlish and North Devon), I would highly recommend Cofton and the fantastic, child friendly site that they run, on behalf of myself and my disabled sister who was most impressed.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arbk5 7 reviews from this member

We stayed for 9 days during peak summer season. This is a big site in a valley approx half a mile from the Exmouth estuary. The valley gives some protection against strong winds blowing in off the sea. Most of the pitches are on tiers cut into the side of the valley. They weren't perfectly level but we have seen worse. We had some very heavy rain during our stay and although a few pitches at the bottom of the site looked a bit boggy, the vast majority drained very well.

Lots of toilet / shower blocks, a few are older units but most were new to a very good standard and cleaned at least twice a day. There is a large on-site shop selling a good range of food, gifts etc and lots of camping spares, the prices were pretty competitive too (note that you have got a long drive to the nearest big supermarket). The on-site entertainment finishes at 11pm so it is pushing midnight by the time things have totally quietened down.

Lots to do on site and in the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 30 reviews from this member

This is probably now our favourite site - it can not be faulted.

Everywhere is clean, lots of maintenance to grounds always underway. The bar is good with reasonable food, good shop, loverly setting not too regimented with different fields and despite being large and popular it attracts a good crowd and is not burdened with do's and don'ts.

Toilets, showers etc and great with lots of good touches like temp. Control and enough space to put your stuff.

No need for the super pitch - they are not any better than many others (apart form the water etc) in terms of positioning.

Great for mtorhomes as nearby train, ferry, pubs etc our first ever 'no drive' week away worked a treat.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah aylmer 1 review from this member

Well what a site. It was fantastic, clean hot showers, beautiful surroundings, the shop was very reasonably priced as was the pub 'The Swan'. We had fish and chips on the 1st night due to spending a long time setting up and they were lovely.
Booked to go for a week in august cant wait to go back and take my 13 yr old as I'm sure she will love it as much as my partner and I did .

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katycancamp 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we stayed here as a chance to get away without kids for the night and this was great choice, everywhere very clean and tidy, feels slightly upmarket, but not over priced

Fantastic chips in chippy, great staff, well organised, we kept thinking how much kids would like the site and will perhaps go back with them next year.

would definitely go back at some point.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Drfje 8 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Cofton and we were not disappointed. This is our second season caravanning and we have been to many sites in and around the South West, I can honestly say that nothing has compared to this site so far. Cofton is set in a beautiful hollow just five minutes between Starcross and Dawlish. Outside the site is a main bus route with a regular service taking passengers along the coast through Dawlish, Teignmouth, Torquay and Paignton, all for around a fiver on a ride all day basis. The camp itself while large taking around 400 units, is very very well laid out with excellent spacious level pitches.

Hardstandings are all situated around the fishing lakes and rock pegs for your awning are a must, these are available at the onsite shop should you forget !. Please note the hardstanding pitches are of a good size but not as spacious as the grassy field pitches.

The grounds are in excellent condition with very well planted borders and neat trimmed grass. Two of the fields are tiered and give a superb feeling of a smaller site. The site boasts a heated outdoor pool which is open between 10am and 5pm daily, I would have liked to have seen the pool open for longer hours however, there is always a lifeguard on site and during the high season I believe the pool is in use for scuba lessons etc during the evening.

Onsite is a well stocked shop with a good selection of camping accessories and spares along with basic provisions, all reasonably priced.

There is a small bar and terrace serving a wide variety of beers and spirits etc also good food.

The camps chipshop is always busy in the evening and next door is a small amusement arcade for the kids. Staff are welcoming and helpful as were the ducklings who wander around the lower field with their mother checking out the neighbours every morning !.

I have to say that this site caters for families with small children or for adults only, as there is little here to keep teenagers occupied unless they have an interest in fishing. If you have children in their mid to late teens and you want peace while they enjoy themselves, then look elsewhere, this is not however a criticism of the site, as the lack of groups of bored teenagers is what makes this site all the more appealing.

There are several well stocked fishing lakes so the Anglers with you will be very happy. I do a little fishing myself at times but the guys who turn up here have all the kit, so the fishing must be good.

I noticed on my visit this year that Cofton have installed a few more hard standing superpitches, and are in the process of building more. These look to be fantastic spaces with block paving and dwarf wall divisions.

As before the toilet and shower facilities are very good and very clean. There are plenty of fresh and waste water points along with several elsan disposals. If using a tent there are plenty of washing up posts. There is also a laundrette on site. Overall I rate the camp very highly and look forward to visiting again next year.

Previous     195 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0508