Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
              9/10 from 189 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 30 reviews from this member

This is probably now our favourite site - it can not be faulted.

Everywhere is clean, lots of maintenance to grounds always underway. The bar is good with reasonable food, good shop, loverly setting not too regimented with different fields and despite being large and popular it attracts a good crowd and is not burdened with do's and don'ts.

Toilets, showers etc and great with lots of good touches like temp. Control and enough space to put your stuff.

No need for the super pitch - they are not any better than many others (apart form the water etc) in terms of positioning.

Great for mtorhomes as nearby train, ferry, pubs etc our first ever 'no drive' week away worked a treat.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah aylmer 1 review from this member

Well what a site. It was fantastic, clean hot showers, beautiful surroundings, the shop was very reasonably priced as was the pub 'The Swan'. We had fish and chips on the 1st night due to spending a long time setting up and they were lovely.
Booked to go for a week in august cant wait to go back and take my 13 yr old as I'm sure she will love it as much as my partner and I did .

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katycancamp 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we stayed here as a chance to get away without kids for the night and this was great choice, everywhere very clean and tidy, feels slightly upmarket, but not over priced

Fantastic chips in chippy, great staff, well organised, we kept thinking how much kids would like the site and will perhaps go back with them next year.

would definitely go back at some point.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Drfje 8 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Cofton and we were not disappointed. This is our second season caravanning and we have been to many sites in and around the South West, I can honestly say that nothing has compared to this site so far. Cofton is set in a beautiful hollow just five minutes between Starcross and Dawlish. Outside the site is a main bus route with a regular service taking passengers along the coast through Dawlish, Teignmouth, Torquay and Paignton, all for around a fiver on a ride all day basis. The camp itself while large taking around 400 units, is very very well laid out with excellent spacious level pitches.

Hardstandings are all situated around the fishing lakes and rock pegs for your awning are a must, these are available at the onsite shop should you forget !. Please note the hardstanding pitches are of a good size but not as spacious as the grassy field pitches.

The grounds are in excellent condition with very well planted borders and neat trimmed grass. Two of the fields are tiered and give a superb feeling of a smaller site. The site boasts a heated outdoor pool which is open between 10am and 5pm daily, I would have liked to have seen the pool open for longer hours however, there is always a lifeguard on site and during the high season I believe the pool is in use for scuba lessons etc during the evening.

Onsite is a well stocked shop with a good selection of camping accessories and spares along with basic provisions, all reasonably priced.

There is a small bar and terrace serving a wide variety of beers and spirits etc also good food.

The camps chipshop is always busy in the evening and next door is a small amusement arcade for the kids. Staff are welcoming and helpful as were the ducklings who wander around the lower field with their mother checking out the neighbours every morning !.

I have to say that this site caters for families with small children or for adults only, as there is little here to keep teenagers occupied unless they have an interest in fishing. If you have children in their mid to late teens and you want peace while they enjoy themselves, then look elsewhere, this is not however a criticism of the site, as the lack of groups of bored teenagers is what makes this site all the more appealing.

There are several well stocked fishing lakes so the Anglers with you will be very happy. I do a little fishing myself at times but the guys who turn up here have all the kit, so the fishing must be good.

I noticed on my visit this year that Cofton have installed a few more hard standing superpitches, and are in the process of building more. These look to be fantastic spaces with block paving and dwarf wall divisions.

As before the toilet and shower facilities are very good and very clean. There are plenty of fresh and waste water points along with several elsan disposals. If using a tent there are plenty of washing up posts. There is also a laundrette on site. Overall I rate the camp very highly and look forward to visiting again next year.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sbkelly 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 7 nights - prices reasonable, we had a hardstanding pitch right by the fishing lakes, (which suited my son perfectly, being a fishing fanatic)

The site and grounds etc are spotlessly clean, including the showers / washrooms, and kitted out with modern equipment etc.

The site staff are very helpful and friendly and are obviously really proud of their site. The small shop is surprisingly well stocked with more than just the basics and a really good assortment of camping / caravanning accessories at reasonable prices.

The pub/restaurant provides good quality food at reasonable cost and good quality beer / lager at extortionate prices, (But then again I begrudge paying anyone 3 quid a pint)

All in all a very pleasurable experience which we will definitely repeat.

The only problem I see with what is a stunningly beautiful part of the country is likely to be traffic congestion. We visited early June and experienced traffic jams every where we went, particularly in and out of Torquay / Paignton, no matter which route we took.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mallett61 5 reviews from this member

Stayed the 1st week in june in the field near the fishing lakes. This is a big site and having stayed here 3 years ago in the aug school hols we were put off it, we didn't like the gangs of teens which seemed to roam around on an evening. We thought we'd give it another try out of the main holiday period and I am glad we did
The staff were all friendly and gave help and advice when needed. The toilets and showers were spotless and cleaned every day, the shop is well stocked and prices fair.
The only downside was it closed at 6pm along with the swimming pool which was a shame but they both stay open longer at peak times, the pool and pool area are kept immaculate as is the rest of the site, being maintained all the time we were there.
The swan pub/bar was great when it was open. We had a hard standing pitch and you need rock pegs when putting up the awning. The on site fish and chip shop is worth a visit good fish and chips a bit dear at £5.50 a portion.
Overall superb site with lots to do, dawlish is a nice town and home to the black swans. The anchor pub in cockwood does quality food and is well worth going to. Going the other way through dawlish on the way to teignmouth the smugglers inn on the left is another good food pub. Would visit again out of season .

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shellfishb5 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site based on reading reviews on here, was not disappointed. Lovely site well organised and laid out. Arrived on the Friday for a 2 night stay, staff in reception very helpful and because it was quiet had a choice of pitch so we put up our tent right in front of the chips shop close to the shower block.
Lovely big pitches with EHU and very good value at £13 a night. Onsite pub was very nice, prices reasonable onsite shop stocked a wide range of goodies.Had meal from the chip shop on Friday evening very nice.
Shower and toilet facilities were very impressive and clean not sure about the pipped music Radio Devon a bit distracting when they are playing country music lol.

A couple of local pubs about 15min walk from the camp provide nice ales and food.

Went to Exeter on the saturday you know the token shopping day where your other half drags you around all the clothes shopping lol, we went in on the train from Starcross which is about a mile away from the site on the Exeter road parking cost 70p for the day and return train fare was £3.20 each.
Sunday went to Dawlish warren and walked along the shore to Dawlish about 1/2hr whilst in Dawlish went to Gays cake shop had a clotted cream ice cream and bought a cream tea to take away, sat in the park and ate ice cream whilst watching the black swans swimming about with their cygnets.
Because we had enjoyed ourselves and the weather was superb I went into reception on sunday morning and paid for an extra night will be returning again cant recommend it highly enough

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elc5wo 1 review from this member

Just returned from Cofton, it was the first trip of the season. This site was recommended, so thought we would try it.

We arrived on Easter saturday and stayed for three nights. Weather was gorgeous, and couldn't have asked for better.

The site was very good, all pitches with electric. We were very impressed with the prices, we got a discount for booking in advance, we didn't have to pay extra for electric hook up,and the price didn't increase with it being Easter - which was a massive plus!

Site was very clean and tidy, shower block was lovely.They had music in there and thermostatic showers which were always warm and clean.

We didn't really explore the site much, but saw there was plenty for children.Even donkeys on site!

All in all, we couldn't fault it, and would definitely recommend and go back

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy__Mac 7 reviews from this member

We booked this a litte late, so didn't really benefit from any discount. After a week in Cornwall, we packed up, drove here and set up again, for what turned out to be a wonderful week. It is a BIG site, but I think they have the balance right, ie the facilities and mod-cons of a large resort, but the field layout and atmosphere associated with traditional campsites. The fields are cleverly separated so you don't always feel you are on a massive site. We had good weather, which meant we could explore and have a couple of walks to Dawlish / Warren and in the other direction there were a couple of nice pubs in Cockwood in walking distance.

We drove to Exeter for a bit of an explore and Torquay was easy driving distance for a good day out.

Because the site was so large, we wer'nt always at ease that the youngest (7) was out of sight, but the eldest (9 at the time) was off playing footie or at the games room with a good bunch of kids.

Our corner location in one of the fields was superb and the views idyllic.

Toilet facilities were modern, clean and spacious (though I slipped head over heels every time I walked in. Maybe it was my choice of footwear ?)

Lovely site - I imagine we will visit it again at some point, probably with other camping friends as I believe it would suit the group environment.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chipmonk 8 reviews from this member

Spent 4 days from 21/08/2008.

The general layout of the site is very good. We had a short wait for a warden to show us to our pitch. She asked if I had a preference to where we wanted to stay. We were shown several pitches and found one that looked suitable. The pitches are on the small side as I have a large tent and had to park my car in front.

The toilet block was the new one, but you had to get there very early or very late to get the hot water. By 10a.M. The water was freezing to even wash up in.

The toilets were always cleaned at regular intervals.(A mop would have been nice to mop up some of the mud that was left on the floor).

The bar was small and entertainment for children limited. I agree with other reviews that the games room was full of mouthy drunk teenagers. This is down to lack of supervision of the parents.

The food in the bar was very good as was the bar prices. Did not use the pool as it was too cold.

Dawlish Warren has gone down hill over the past 2 years, which is a shame. The people in the area are always friendly. The 2 pubs in Cockwood are both very good.

All in all, this is a well run site, kept clean and tidy, but could do with a few improvements.

Would probably return for a short stay again as it is in ideal place to explore the area.

Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4804 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0586