Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 214 Reviews
                8/10 from 214 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 14 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights over a long weekend in September; I reckon they were probably the best 3 consecutive days of weather we have had this year, which only enhanced a great stay!

The site is in a really lovely, peaceful location with great views of the fells behind Ullswater. Thereís plenty to do in the immediate vicinity; lots of walks (I can recommend the walk up Place Fell from Glenridding, returning via the lake path from Sandwick), boat & kayak hire, Aira force waterfall, the Ullswater steamerÖ

The lack of light pollution in the area also means there are good opportunities for star gazing at night. Thereís plenty of wildlife on site too; owls hooting and bats flying about above, lots of birds, rabbits etc.

The facilities on site are excellent; ladies bathrooms - lots of free hot water, very clean and practical. I believe the menís are maybe not quite so good but due a refurb for next season. The family bathrooms, complete with a bath, were spacious great for a nice soak after a long walk. It is an environmentally friendly site with great recycling facilities. The on site shop sells a good range of basics.

It has already been said, but for us a negative on this site was the car parking. Cars were not allowed to be driven or parked on the grass (fair enough, it looked like it head been pretty muddy on there this summer), but the fact they were all parked on a narrow strip of hard standing around the perimeter road, circling the main field, meant that you often could not get your car anywhere near your pitch. From where we were on the furthermost pitch on the site, it gave the impression of being camped in a giant car park and this did ruin the majestic views.

I also disliked the staticís and the large number of touring caravans at the bottom of the site; I thought they also ruined the views and atmosphere a little bit. Although by no means full the site also seemed quite busy, maybe because it is one of the bigger sites we have stayed at.

As another reviewer suggested, I think that perhaps some features such as low indigenous hedging would improve the feel of the camping field and also help separate the pitches, this might also improve the obvious drainage issues.

We opted for a slightly more expensive level pitch, which Iím glad we did as the rest of the main field was on quite a slope and the pitches seemed smaller. However, the owners of the site had put gravel down on most of the actual tent pitches, I guess to combat the mud issue again, so most of them were sort of 'hard standing' pitches Ė is that the right term? I've never pitched my tent on gravel before and was really worried all weekend that without a footprint the ZIG might get damaged. Had I known this I may not have chosen to stay on the site at all.

And yes, from where we were pitched at the top of the field the facilities were a bit of a trek; not an issue for us but I can see that it may be for some.

All this sounds rather negative, but I donít mean it to. Overall it is a great family site and the thing that made up for all the small niggles, for us, was the on site bar! It was a real pleasure to have a few drinks in this old converted barn, next to a roaring fire, on an evening and not have to worry about walking or driving back to the site. Good local beers served too, perfect!

I would definitely return here, which I guess says it all.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayne bigsby 3 reviews from this member

We had booked this holiday a few months before, but unfortunately although there was a group of 3 families, we were not pitched together. The weather was awful, and the 'slighty sloping' pitch we had chosen turned into a mud bath, with people frequently slipping and falling. The owners did their best with gravel and metal girders to walk on, but to be honest the central pitch should not be used until adequate drainage has been sought. This could be achieved cheaply by inserting soak-a-ways (holes filled with beach)every few metres, or by using the plastic honeycombe mesh between pitches so one could at least walk on the pitch. There are toilets situated at the entrance to the site, which is a very long walk in the night or early morning. We visited the bar in the evenings which was a relief from the cold, the open fire is wonderful, the pub supplied some table top games which we enjoyed. Our children are 10 and 12, they used the teenagers room, but its not up to much, the toilets in the pub smelt dreadful too.

The area is absolutely beautiful, the Quiet Site is an ideal location to go walking or sight seeing, we enjoyed a cruise on Lake Windemere, a trip to the falls and visited the The World Of Beatrix Potter. We had a meal at Lake Windermere at the Crown Carvery for £3.50 each, superb!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Icole7 3 reviews from this member

We have just managed to catch some excellent August weekend weather at The Quiet Site. The facilities were the most child and dog friendly that we have experienced. The family bathrooms and the bar with it's roaring log fire, local real ales and upstairs play room really made our weekend. Free hot showers and clean toilets. Communal fridge, freezer and microwave were a nice touch. Disposable barbeques were permitted with bricks available to lift them off the grass.

Our two toddlers loved walking around the waterfalls at Aira Force and alongside Ullswater. The site would make a good base to explore the Northern Lakes and close to the Rheged discovery centre.

Only downside was a cock-up with the booking. Quickly sorted out but which meant we were left with the choice of a caravan/trailer tent type hard standing pitch or a place on the sloping field. Spent the weekend retrieving items that had rolled downhill to the low end of the tent but it couldn't detract from a truly great campsite!

Would recommend to families of all ages.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Garbitash 7 reviews from this member

First off, there is nowhere to eat nearby. The nearest pub is 1.5 miles downhill to the main road, and of course 1.5 miles back uphill later. There, the food is frankly overpriced for any campers on a budget. Average main courses are way over £10 and just not worth the trudge. Next nearest food is in Pooley Bridge, which is a drive away. So, you get the picture, anyone who wants to buy their evening meal is going to drive to it. And when they drive back from the pub at 11, 12 or whatever, they are going to wake you up with their car engine, slamming car doors, talking, giggling, etc This is partly because cars are not allowed on the tent park, so all tenters have to park on the perimeter road, which will be right next to your caravan.

Now, this Quiet bar thing. The place was packed and worse, over-run with kids. The adults were getting drunk while their kids were (supposedly) in the adjacent games room, but were constantly running back and fore through the pub, asking for another coke or 50p for the pool table, etc etc; or worse,simply treating the pub as the games room. Come 1130pm, these families were walking past our caravan, half-cut, shouting at their tired grizzly children, waking you up once again.

The gent's toilets and showers are tragic. And the roof leaks badly. The planned upgrade for 2009 has not happened.

Finally, if you are tenting, be warned that the tent park is on a slope.

The nicest thing I can say about this site is that the lady is really nice.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zip1022 1 review from this member

First time camping. 2 ad,2 ch aged 4 and 9. Stayed 2 nights,Thu and Fri.

Toilets and showers cleaned regularly, sockets for straighteners/hair dryer if desired, also hairdryer 10p to use. Separate family bathroom with bath, toilet, sink and a couple of sinks/drainers in connecting room so my husband did the dishes while I bathed the kids ,ideal.

SHOP. Got everything you may of forgotten. Washing up bowl /bucket/ toiletries/ matches, disposable bbqs, football etc. Also a decent range of Confectionery/ ice creams/ cans of pop/ bread/ alcohol and so on. Outside there's a couple of fridge freezers where you can leave your freezer blocks, 40p a day per block and the shop will even charge your mobile overnight for £1.50 I think. There is a microwave for use too with the fridge freezers. Large recycling bins which they encourage you to use.

PITCH. Large pitch, had been a lot of rain over the past few weeks so was a bit boggy around the tent but was fine with trainers on, didn't sink or anything. Sunken graven to pitch tent on which was still soft enough. Had electric hook up 10a but we didn't use it.Back to basics and all that! Grassy area to the front and side so kids had a swingball there,plenty of room for them to play and safe,cld also stick a tent there for a portable loo if required. We have a Hi Gear Corado 6 tent and was still plenty of space to play and for our car.

PARK. Rope swing, log climbing frames, playhouse, picnic tables,wooden fort with underground tunnel/ tube thing, baby swings x2 and loads of grassy area, its huge and perfect to let kids let of bit of steam. As previously said had lots of rain recently,it was bit boggy but we just stuck wellies on to play so was fine.

BAR. Very quaint,a really lovely bar, bar conversion, barrels made into seats,settees around an open fire. Well stocked bar,also sold crisps,choc bars,cans coke etc. People were using their laptops in the bar so I'm presuming there's wifi. Theres a pool table upstairs but mind your head on the roof beams,ha ha. Upstairs a playroom for little uns. Playhouse,books etc but mainly room to run around. Downstairs a tv room with limited sky channels but adequate and another playroom with table football,table tennis and an air hockey table which was £1 a go. The bar didn't open until 7pm so I'm not sure whether you can use the play facilities before then.

AREA. Beautiful, walks, scenery. Didnt have time to make it into Pooley Bridge but will next time. Went to Penrith for a potter around. Kids found the Toymaster where we bought the swingball, was the best thing to keep kids entertained while we got tea sorted. Had lunch at a pub there.Kids ate free with full paying adult,food was lovely.

All in all it was a successful camping trip. We are hoping to stay at this site again at end Aug,we loved it and so did the kids. It was quiet but still plenty of kids around playing,everyone was so friendly. Def a family friendly place,quiet time between 11pm and 8am which people seemed to acknowledge and honour the request. We didn't know what to expect but this place has something for everyone. Cant wait to go back again. Staff were friendly and helpful. We paid £52 for 2 nights which is more than some of the sites but I suppose you get what you pay for. I feel it was worth every penny!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Severus 10 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely trip to this site.

The weather was 'interesting' at times, but it didn't spoil our holiday.

The site is in a gorgeous location. It has a little shop where you can buy the basics, a great adventure playground which our children loved (when they could get on it due to the weather), and lovely, clean, free, hot showers. They also have family bathrooms which we really liked and they were spotless when we used them.

The best thing, which our family really enjoyed, was the bar! It's an incredible building with a huge log fire, which was very welcome on chilly nights. Even better, as far as our children were concerned, were the mugs of hot chocolate with squirty cream and marshmallows! Delicious, and to be recommended.

The site has fantastic facilities for recycling which impressed our children. They have some information on days out in the shop, and if you visit their own website you can download maps of walks to do from the site itself, which we thought was another nice touch.

We enjoyed days out in Keswick. It's a beautiful town. Our children had fun in the pencil museum, which is only small but very reasonably priced and included a treasure hunt and drawing competition. Fish and chips from the Old Keswickian is a must!

Other enjoyable days were had walking up Catbells, Haystacks, and the ache inducing Blencathra, all not too far from the site. Aira Force waterfall is spectacular and well worth a visit also, although the National Trust car park is rather expensive.

I think our main negative would be parking the car. Due to the weather (we think) cars were not allowed to be parked on the grass. There was some hard standing, but 9 times out of 10, you couldn't get your car anywhere near your tent. As we were on the most distant pitch in the site, there was often quite a trek accross the muddy grass to actually get to our tent.

However, despite that last moan, we would all return to this site. It's probably one of the loveliest we have stayed on and we were sorry to leave at the end of our holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingbunnies7 6 reviews from this member

This site is very popular not least because of its location (very picturesque) and the really quaint bar with its log fire and kids games room to retreat to on the (very wet) evenings. However, I would not return to the site for the following reasons:

We were really unlucky with the weather. It rained constantly when we were there, and a cloud seemed to be permanently on the top of the hill where the site is! There had been lots of rain before we arrived too. So the whole site was a muddy bog, with no way of keeping the mud out of the tent.

The children's play area was so boggy it was completely unusable. Inside the bar, our boys aged 4 and 6 were too big for the games room upstairs which had toddler toys in but nothing to keep slightly older children amused, but too little to go to the downstairs games room where the teenagers were hanging out.

The mens facilities were pretty dire, so my husband tells me, and the ladies were OK but it's the little things like no shelf to put a washbag down on, and the handdryer blew out a tiny bit of cold air so it didn't dry your hands. The family bathrooms were the best washing areas and it was good to have a bath for the kids who were completely covered in mud! We were told to pitch at the bottom of the slope which meant that we were on the flat (some of the pitches in the middle were very sloped), but the water and mud was everywhere. Although we could drive close to our tent, we were often blocked in by other cars which had parked along the bit of road they weren't supposed to be parked on.

The saving grace in bad weather was the bar which was nice enough, but unless I could get a sunny weather guarantee (!) I will not return here with a tent due to the crazy amount of mud. If you're thinking of going in a tent, I would seriously consider paying a bit extra for a pod just in case the big rain cloud we were in comes back again!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PJ ROBO 3 reviews from this member

Spent a great 5 days at the quiet site in early June. Location is fabulous just near Ullswater and with some great views.

Would be a great base for walking but we were not able to take advantage as we have 2 very young children.

Showers and bathrooms very clean with nice free hot showers.

Shop only has basics but that is sufficient.

Biggest plus point has to be the bar; the open fire is spectacular and is the sort of place we could sit in for hours. There is a separate toddler room upstairs with loads of toys and loads of room to play- it really is the best kids facility we have come accros. There is also a games room for older kids downstairs. Prices in bar quite reasonable also.

Only one drawback was the distance from our electric pitch to the amenities- a good walk which is not great during the night with kids. The addition of just a basic toilet block at the back of the site would improve things no end.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westy21 1 review from this member

My family and I stayed on this site for a week this summer. It was just what a camping holiday should be. The location of the site was absolutely stunning, looked like a postcard! Our 2 kids loved the area, lots of walks to go on, a playground and games room on site and of course near by lakes for water sports.

The site was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent, we particularly liked the family bathrooms which meant the kids could have baths. The bar is quirky and old fashioned with a lovely open fire, just what is needed after a day of fell walking. The little shop stocked everything we could have needed and everything we had forgotten. The owners of the site are also doing their bit for the environment and striving to make the site carbon neutral which we loved. There is a reed bed water treatment area, places to recycle and the owners run a tree planting program in the surrounding areas.

We stayed in our caravan on a hard standing pitch, no complaints. The tent field is on a slope but there are plenty of flat pitches available as well as pods - little log cabins - which are an easier alternative to tents. As we booked to stay again we took advantage of the caravan storage offered, saved us a lot of hassle!

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone, no complaints at all.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Pheel 7 reviews from this member

We stayed in a Pod for 3 nights, which was amazing! I wasn't overly looking forward to staying at this site but it wasn't bad.(I'm not into caravan/family style sites normally).

The facilities are o.K and cleaned regularly (the mens loos/showers need a refurb which is due next year apparently). I would definitely recommend going in the on-site bar, it is lovely. I would also highly recommend doing the walk to the Waterfalls.

The staff were friendly, the on site shop was good and the whole site has quite a natural feel (considering its an organised caravan site). To be honest I think £40 a night for a pod is a little steep, but I think there £30 out of season. (I've paid £25 before for ones in season!)

Also, Keswick is definitely worth the 20-25min drive. It has loads of great bars and restaurants. Penrith is closer at about 15mins but I really wouldn't bother (its not a scratch on Keswick)

Over all. A fairly good camp site if you like these styles of sites (would be good if you have kids and/or dogs)

Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5928 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055