Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Garbitash 7 reviews from this member

First off, there is nowhere to eat nearby. The nearest pub is 1.5 miles downhill to the main road, and of course 1.5 miles back uphill later. There, the food is frankly overpriced for any campers on a budget. Average main courses are way over 10 and just not worth the trudge. Next nearest food is in Pooley Bridge, which is a drive away. So, you get the picture, anyone who wants to buy their evening meal is going to drive to it. And when they drive back from the pub at 11, 12 or whatever, they are going to wake you up with their car engine, slamming car doors, talking, giggling, etc This is partly because cars are not allowed on the tent park, so all tenters have to park on the perimeter road, which will be right next to your caravan.

Now, this Quiet bar thing. The place was packed and worse, over-run with kids. The adults were getting drunk while their kids were (supposedly) in the adjacent games room, but were constantly running back and fore through the pub, asking for another coke or 50p for the pool table, etc etc; or worse,simply treating the pub as the games room. Come 1130pm, these families were walking past our caravan, half-cut, shouting at their tired grizzly children, waking you up once again.

The gent's toilets and showers are tragic. And the roof leaks badly. The planned upgrade for 2009 has not happened.

Finally, if you are tenting, be warned that the tent park is on a slope.

The nicest thing I can say about this site is that the lady is really nice.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zip1022 1 review from this member

First time camping. 2 ad,2 ch aged 4 and 9. Stayed 2 nights,Thu and Fri.

Toilets and showers cleaned regularly, sockets for straighteners/hair dryer if desired, also hairdryer 10p to use. Separate family bathroom with bath, toilet, sink and a couple of sinks/drainers in connecting room so my husband did the dishes while I bathed the kids ,ideal.

SHOP. Got everything you may of forgotten. Washing up bowl /bucket/ toiletries/ matches, disposable bbqs, football etc. Also a decent range of Confectionery/ ice creams/ cans of pop/ bread/ alcohol and so on. Outside there's a couple of fridge freezers where you can leave your freezer blocks, 40p a day per block and the shop will even charge your mobile overnight for 1.50 I think. There is a microwave for use too with the fridge freezers. Large recycling bins which they encourage you to use.

PITCH. Large pitch, had been a lot of rain over the past few weeks so was a bit boggy around the tent but was fine with trainers on, didn't sink or anything. Sunken graven to pitch tent on which was still soft enough. Had electric hook up 10a but we didn't use it.Back to basics and all that! Grassy area to the front and side so kids had a swingball there,plenty of room for them to play and safe,cld also stick a tent there for a portable loo if required. We have a Hi Gear Corado 6 tent and was still plenty of space to play and for our car.

PARK. Rope swing, log climbing frames, playhouse, picnic tables,wooden fort with underground tunnel/ tube thing, baby swings x2 and loads of grassy area, its huge and perfect to let kids let of bit of steam. As previously said had lots of rain recently,it was bit boggy but we just stuck wellies on to play so was fine.

BAR. Very quaint,a really lovely bar, bar conversion, barrels made into seats,settees around an open fire. Well stocked bar,also sold crisps,choc bars,cans coke etc. People were using their laptops in the bar so I'm presuming there's wifi. Theres a pool table upstairs but mind your head on the roof beams,ha ha. Upstairs a playroom for little uns. Playhouse,books etc but mainly room to run around. Downstairs a tv room with limited sky channels but adequate and another playroom with table football,table tennis and an air hockey table which was 1 a go. The bar didn't open until 7pm so I'm not sure whether you can use the play facilities before then.

AREA. Beautiful, walks, scenery. Didnt have time to make it into Pooley Bridge but will next time. Went to Penrith for a potter around. Kids found the Toymaster where we bought the swingball, was the best thing to keep kids entertained while we got tea sorted. Had lunch at a pub there.Kids ate free with full paying adult,food was lovely.

All in all it was a successful camping trip. We are hoping to stay at this site again at end Aug,we loved it and so did the kids. It was quiet but still plenty of kids around playing,everyone was so friendly. Def a family friendly place,quiet time between 11pm and 8am which people seemed to acknowledge and honour the request. We didn't know what to expect but this place has something for everyone. Cant wait to go back again. Staff were friendly and helpful. We paid 52 for 2 nights which is more than some of the sites but I suppose you get what you pay for. I feel it was worth every penny!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Severus 10 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely trip to this site.

The weather was 'interesting' at times, but it didn't spoil our holiday.

The site is in a gorgeous location. It has a little shop where you can buy the basics, a great adventure playground which our children loved (when they could get on it due to the weather), and lovely, clean, free, hot showers. They also have family bathrooms which we really liked and they were spotless when we used them.

The best thing, which our family really enjoyed, was the bar! It's an incredible building with a huge log fire, which was very welcome on chilly nights. Even better, as far as our children were concerned, were the mugs of hot chocolate with squirty cream and marshmallows! Delicious, and to be recommended.

The site has fantastic facilities for recycling which impressed our children. They have some information on days out in the shop, and if you visit their own website you can download maps of walks to do from the site itself, which we thought was another nice touch.

We enjoyed days out in Keswick. It's a beautiful town. Our children had fun in the pencil museum, which is only small but very reasonably priced and included a treasure hunt and drawing competition. Fish and chips from the Old Keswickian is a must!

Other enjoyable days were had walking up Catbells, Haystacks, and the ache inducing Blencathra, all not too far from the site. Aira Force waterfall is spectacular and well worth a visit also, although the National Trust car park is rather expensive.

I think our main negative would be parking the car. Due to the weather (we think) cars were not allowed to be parked on the grass. There was some hard standing, but 9 times out of 10, you couldn't get your car anywhere near your tent. As we were on the most distant pitch in the site, there was often quite a trek accross the muddy grass to actually get to our tent.

However, despite that last moan, we would all return to this site. It's probably one of the loveliest we have stayed on and we were sorry to leave at the end of our holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingbunnies7 6 reviews from this member

This site is very popular not least because of its location (very picturesque) and the really quaint bar with its log fire and kids games room to retreat to on the (very wet) evenings. However, I would not return to the site for the following reasons:

We were really unlucky with the weather. It rained constantly when we were there, and a cloud seemed to be permanently on the top of the hill where the site is! There had been lots of rain before we arrived too. So the whole site was a muddy bog, with no way of keeping the mud out of the tent.

The children's play area was so boggy it was completely unusable. Inside the bar, our boys aged 4 and 6 were too big for the games room upstairs which had toddler toys in but nothing to keep slightly older children amused, but too little to go to the downstairs games room where the teenagers were hanging out.

The mens facilities were pretty dire, so my husband tells me, and the ladies were OK but it's the little things like no shelf to put a washbag down on, and the handdryer blew out a tiny bit of cold air so it didn't dry your hands. The family bathrooms were the best washing areas and it was good to have a bath for the kids who were completely covered in mud! We were told to pitch at the bottom of the slope which meant that we were on the flat (some of the pitches in the middle were very sloped), but the water and mud was everywhere. Although we could drive close to our tent, we were often blocked in by other cars which had parked along the bit of road they weren't supposed to be parked on.

The saving grace in bad weather was the bar which was nice enough, but unless I could get a sunny weather guarantee (!) I will not return here with a tent due to the crazy amount of mud. If you're thinking of going in a tent, I would seriously consider paying a bit extra for a pod just in case the big rain cloud we were in comes back again!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PJ ROBO 3 reviews from this member

Spent a great 5 days at the quiet site in early June. Location is fabulous just near Ullswater and with some great views.

Would be a great base for walking but we were not able to take advantage as we have 2 very young children.

Showers and bathrooms very clean with nice free hot showers.

Shop only has basics but that is sufficient.

Biggest plus point has to be the bar; the open fire is spectacular and is the sort of place we could sit in for hours. There is a separate toddler room upstairs with loads of toys and loads of room to play- it really is the best kids facility we have come accros. There is also a games room for older kids downstairs. Prices in bar quite reasonable also.

Only one drawback was the distance from our electric pitch to the amenities- a good walk which is not great during the night with kids. The addition of just a basic toilet block at the back of the site would improve things no end.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westy21 1 review from this member

My family and I stayed on this site for a week this summer. It was just what a camping holiday should be. The location of the site was absolutely stunning, looked like a postcard! Our 2 kids loved the area, lots of walks to go on, a playground and games room on site and of course near by lakes for water sports.

The site was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent, we particularly liked the family bathrooms which meant the kids could have baths. The bar is quirky and old fashioned with a lovely open fire, just what is needed after a day of fell walking. The little shop stocked everything we could have needed and everything we had forgotten. The owners of the site are also doing their bit for the environment and striving to make the site carbon neutral which we loved. There is a reed bed water treatment area, places to recycle and the owners run a tree planting program in the surrounding areas.

We stayed in our caravan on a hard standing pitch, no complaints. The tent field is on a slope but there are plenty of flat pitches available as well as pods - little log cabins - which are an easier alternative to tents. As we booked to stay again we took advantage of the caravan storage offered, saved us a lot of hassle!

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone, no complaints at all.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Pheel 7 reviews from this member

We stayed in a Pod for 3 nights, which was amazing! I wasn't overly looking forward to staying at this site but it wasn't bad.(I'm not into caravan/family style sites normally).

The facilities are o.K and cleaned regularly (the mens loos/showers need a refurb which is due next year apparently). I would definitely recommend going in the on-site bar, it is lovely. I would also highly recommend doing the walk to the Waterfalls.

The staff were friendly, the on site shop was good and the whole site has quite a natural feel (considering its an organised caravan site). To be honest I think 40 a night for a pod is a little steep, but I think there 30 out of season. (I've paid 25 before for ones in season!)

Also, Keswick is definitely worth the 20-25min drive. It has loads of great bars and restaurants. Penrith is closer at about 15mins but I really wouldn't bother (its not a scratch on Keswick)

Over all. A fairly good camp site if you like these styles of sites (would be good if you have kids and/or dogs)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Debrazebra 2 reviews from this member

As we were only in the lakes for the weekend we opted for the camping pods. These are fantastic as we could leave the tent (and the roof box)at home. The pods are just big enough for two adults and two young children, carpet inside, a small window, french style doors - with lock, and a blind for privacy. The pod could do with a ceiling hook to hang a lamp and maybe 2-3 hooks for coats etc but I would definitely use them again for a short break.

The site itself was one of the best we have stayed in, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the shop had essentials. Bathrooms are a nice touch and the toilets and showers were very clean, hairdryer at 10p a go along with a power point (also 10p) if you must bring your GHDs.

The bar is lovely,and a nice place to go for a nightcap, they also serve hot chocolate with marshmallows and cream which our daughter had as her nightcap. Nice games rooms to keep young and older kids entertained.

We are coming back to the site in August for a week this time in the tent and are really looking forward to it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Primrose22 3 reviews from this member

The facilities at the site are adequate but not fantastic, at 24 per night I expect them to be perfect. What we got were dirty toilets/showers, no toilet paper for 2 days, no hot water in the ladies toilets. There are 3 family bathrooms which aren't ideal for families with young children. We have a toddler and found we had nowhere to lie our toddler down to change his nappy. We paid extra for a flat pitch so that our toddler would not fall over, however the flat pitches are tiered so at the end of our pitch there was a 2 foot drop

We paid 24 a night for a flat pitch with electric hook up, however, when we got there we found electric was not available on the pitch we were on, but as it was a flat pitch it was still 24 per night.

The bar is nice, the playroom is a good idea as had plenty of toys suitable for toddlers and sofa's for the parents to sit on, however, it did need a good clean.

The 'well stocked shop' is the smallest shop I have ever seen, yes they sell a loaf of bread and a bin of beans but that is about it. Dont expect a Tesco Extra!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

Other reviews sum this site up. We stayed there a couple of years ago. Wouldn't rush back there but it's more to do with the location, other locations in the Lakes better for us.

The site is well-run and well-organised. Pitches very close together, a bit too close for us but not a massive issue. Staff friendly and helpful, keep the site clean. The on-site pub is good; it didn't serve food when we were there, however a good retreat on a night time. Showers and toilets clean, hot water ok. Remember it was more expensive than many sites & couldn't see why, but again not a major issue.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1211