Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie32 1 review from this member

We have literally just returned from this site after staying for 2 nights. I can only echo what others have said in that it was superbly clean, we received a very warm welcome and it was very lovely indeed.

We went to Boot and went to both pubs (rude not to!), we found the Brook Inn to be our favourite, really nice atmosphere and lovely food. Both pubs about a 2 minute walk from campsite. Didn't venture any further other than to do a lovely long walk over the moors on Sunday up to Blea Tarn - windy but invigorating!

Highly recommend this site, facilities superb you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Polska74 1 review from this member

1st of all DO NOT attempt the Hardknott Pass unless you have a big-engined (turbo) car or a 4 x 4. We tried ascending from Eskdale in a 1400cc Peugeot 307 HDI and had to give up + turn round after the 1st 3 hairpin bends because the car felt as if it would grind to a halt in 1st gear! One of the campers on the site had 2 blowouts coming over the pass! A very hair-raising experience!

We stayed in the pods. Lovely experience. You can easily fit 4 average-sized people in and still have enough room for your gear, so it's ideal for a family or even for a group of hardened walkers who need their wet gear dry for the next day. They're raised off the ground so no worries about water ingress, and there's an extended patio area where you can cook food and just chill.

The actual camp-site is in a beautiful location. Very peaceful with no late-night revellers. Ideal for low-level walking (e.G. Stanley Force Waterfall is 20mins walk) or for high peaks (e.G. Scafell/Great Gable - drive to Wasdale Head is only 20mins). Facilities are 1st class (showers/toilets are immaculate with a family room available, hot water on demand, good washing-up facilities + laundry room)and well-stocked shop, even if a little pricey. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. For the kids there's a small playground with a trampoline and swings by the pods.

We only tried the 1 pub (Boot Inn) and would recommend it. It has a lovely beer-garden with a kids playground.

For beach-lovers the coast is 30min drive away. Would recommend Silecroft (empty and long stretches of sandy beach). If you like horseriding on the beach would recommend Murthwaite Green Trekking Centre at Silecroft. We didn't go on the Eskdale railway as were told that there's not much to see/do at Ravenglass.

If you like peace and tranquillity and fantastic views go to Wast-Water, particularly the SW edge by the YHA. If you follow the footpath round towards Low Wood you will find lots of small coves where you can just chill and not see hardly anyone all day. Or if you're feeling adventurous the trek around the lake is worth it, specially the scrambling over the Screes(allow 3hrs)

Would definitely go back again to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

A fantastic beautiful campsite. The site is clean and the toilet blocks superb especially as I could use the family shower with my children. Alan and Lyne never stopped the whole holiday getting the toilets clean.

The shop was stocked and had everything you would wamt in an emergency. The surrounding landscape and moon lit nights were superb.

Ravensglass on the train was a bit of a disapointment but Lake Coniston, Whitehaven swimming baths and Munkster castle were superb for days out. I don’t want to speak about hardnott pass experience; I am still emotionally bruised from that adventure. Lol

The kids met new friends and ended up in the “Camping gang” which basically meant they went everywhere together even on the trampoline -it was all very safe- great for the kids.

A great night out in the local pub at Boot and some nice food, nice change from Barbecued sausages.

Just a few things to take advice from- take a good hammer to get those tent pegs into the ground and also some good insect repellent – if you are sitting out you will be bitten. We had 8 hours of rain and to be fair I thought we would be flooded but it wasn’t too bad.

All in all the best value for money camp site we have been on and will be returning probably next year. It is brilliant.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annadams 1 review from this member

Beautifully clean and well equipped site. Shower and toilet block second to none (even had fresh flowers). Showers were always clean and warm, and having small children the family shower room was fantastic.

Washing up facilities, laundry and drying room were all very well equipped. The shop was nicely set out, and there was a beautiful selection of speciality bread, local meat and basics, along with camping equipment. However, I would take more along with me next time as it was a long way to the nearest town for additional supplies. We went to Whitehaven to Aldi (long way).

Lovely play area for the kids, I was also impressed that all the families with small children were sited around the play area which made our holiday easier. However having small children I was a little worried with my two trying to climb over the rocks and bolders!

There is a beach at Bootle, however it is MOD so we were careful where we wandered. The beach is stony with gravely sand. No facilities, but my kids enjoyed their afternoon.

If the weather is nice a trip to Ravensglass is lovely. There are a couple of nice pubs on the front and you look out over the harbour.

Muncaster Castle is also worth a day out (however note the Castle bit itself if shut on Saturdays, however you are not charged for this part if it's closed). The National Owl Centre was fantastic and we sat and listened and watched the owls for a good hour. Again on a Saturday the owls can't fly as the Castle is used for weddings.

The campsite looks out of amazing countryside, and was very peaceful. We will definitely return again.

As with anywhere it's the people who make and place and the staff at Eskdale were extremely friendly and always went the extra mile for us.

N.b. Please take insect repellent, and as instructed follow the directions in the book as you will end up coming through hardnott pass. This is not adviseable unless you like extreme driving conditions (my husband loved it, I had my eyes closed).

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keanonwuk 8 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip with our new Lulworth 6. On arrival we were shown to our pitch by two of the wardens, just prior to our visit the site had been deluged by 12 solid hours of rain so the ground was sodden. They managed to get us on a bit of grass that was starting to dry out, the downside to this was that we were within 6 feet of another tent and they had a young baby.

The facilities are simply fantastic very clean and comprehensive. There is also a small shop on site a little expensive but very well stocked. For children there is a small play area which was behind us, we no longer have children but we were not bothered by any noise from this area.

The surrounding area is simply stunning plus there is a pub if you head towards Hard knott Pass which incorporates it's own Brewery and very nice it was too.

We would and shall visit here again, nothing is too much for the staff they being very helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: CHAPPELL45 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a splendid few days on this site and have nothing but praise for the facilities on site and the helpful management.

Just a few minutes from Ratty and an excellent public house. Will return at a later date.

Facilities 100% for cleanliness and Pods location.

The site is located close to many natural beauty spots and attractions

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thevaliant67 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a 2 week break and overall, a very satisfying and happy holiday.

There is lots that I could write about as the site is excellent (albeit with a couple of down points) and the surrounding area superb but will keep it short.

First the positives. The facilities were first class and I only had to queue once for the showers which is not bad given we were there is peak season. Martyn and Sara are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. There is loads of space for the kids to play and the trampoline was a huge hit.
The two pubs are literally within 5 minutes walk of the site and both serve good beer and food. The surrounding area is superb and if you like walking, this is a haven (I would personally recommend the view from the top of Whinn Rigg over Waswater and Wasdale - not the biggest mountain but certainly spectacular).

On the downside we did get flooded however, this was during the massive rain storm that the whole of the UK experienced in late July and to put it into context, Keswick was totally evacuated whereas Eskdale lost around 12 pitches.
We did find the big field noisy and a little crowded but again, when we asked if we could move Martyn was very helpful and we moved to the smaller field which was brilliant.

I would thoroughly recommend this site to people.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eggybread 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 days there OMG it was fantastic I camped solo and felt completely safe. It was clean and very quiet. There is a good supplied shop and the toilet and shower facilities were very very clean. There is no mobile phone signal (which for me was great) but there is a callbox on site.
I will be going to this site again! Its next to the village of Boot which had 2 large pubs that sold very good meals there is also a working mill next to a very impressive waterfall

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoonette 5 reviews from this member

The site was lovely; everything very clean with excellent facilities. Toilets, showers, dishwashing, laundry all very nice. Good facilities for children with swings, play area and giant trampoline.

The surrounding area is incredible and we found plenty to do just admiring the local scenery. There are 3 pubs within walking distance; I can particularly recommend the Boot Inn, which does great food and has a wonderful playground for the kids.

Despite all this, we wouldn't actually return to the site. First, the corner of the field we were in was full of midges, meaning we couldn't sit outside in the evenings. I don't think the whole site is affected, but the midges were so bad it really ruined our holiday.

Second, we found the onsite shop overpriced. We don't mind paying extra for the convenience, but when it came to £1.20 for a tin of spaghetti costing 53p at the local supermarket, we thought this was too much. The shop also has very limited opening hours and never seemed to be open when we needed anything.

I am sure most people would love this site. Just make sure you get a pitch away from the midges, and plan your cooking so you can buy any missing ingredients during the 4 hours the shop is open!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Valerie Ellens 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I spent our two weeks holiday at Eskdale and had a really lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The whole surrounding area is very picturesque and there are lots of easy walks straight from the site. We bought some books and identified lots of wild flowers and trees something we wouldn't have thought of doing at home.
The pubs are super, we can recommend the sausage and mash and the local cider!
The only negative is a one that apparently is common to a lot of sites and that is the amenity blocks, because even though they were very clean and up to 5 star standard there just isn't enough for the amount of people that were accommodated on the site. The ladies only have four toilet cubicles and one private toilet and four showers and these are to serve two large camping fields, the new pods and an overflow field. I gave up trying to have a shower on the weekends and I believe the men have even fewer facilities.
Having said all that we still loved it and would go back but hopefully with a portaloo and toilet tent!

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UK’s biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0986