Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
              8/10 from 99 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 67 to 72                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Magic48 22 reviews from this member

Spent four nights here. Superb loch side location with stunning views. All level pitches. Great reception by site staff when booking in. Plentiful and clean facilities. Lovely Luss is within walking distance. Handy location for a tour of the Trossachs. If you do this then make sure you call in to the Pier Tea Rooms on Loch Katrine. Sterling is also a good excursion.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry+Pete 4 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites I have visited. We booked on the day and they managed to fit us in once we arrived. We camped right at the edge of the Loch and the views were stunning!

The site management were fantastic and so helpful, even defrosting some bread for us after the shop had shut! They were so nice we signed up to the Caravan Club on their recommendation.

The onsite shop sold the basics, and for anything else the local village shop sold everything else. Not much in the local village but it was a really lovely place. There are boat tours of the Loch but finding information about them was quite difficult.

The facilities were excellent, always clean.

We visited a local pub/restaurant which was a bit further up the road and it was lovely. My partner was impressed with the range of over 200 Whiskys!

There is a lot of wildlife on the campsite and the rabbits and swans were really tame.

I would say the only downsides were 1. At night you could hear the noise from the road, and 2. Beware of weddings at the hotel next to the Campsite. The music was so loud and people singing and playing bagpipes at 1.30 in the morning was a bit annoying!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NobbyPompey 2 reviews from this member

We recently stayed at Luss during the Scottish Open Golf Weekend. I work for the BBC at the events. On arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff and escorted to where we were going to pitch our tent.

Our tent is the Georgia XL and is larger than most. This was no problem for this site. The facilities at the site are excellent. The only criticism that my wife had was that there is only 1 washing machine and always seemed to be in use.

We were at the bottom of the site and had a short walk through the surrounding trees to the shore of Loch Lomond. The views were astounding and on occasions were had the local Seaplane land right infront of us.

The small shop on the site stocks a few essentials and there is a small local store 5 mins walk from the site in Luss.

The Colquhoon Arms is in Luss. Families, please bear in mind that they cannot allow children in the bar area after 8pm.

We visited several places during our stay and could right a small novel on the friendliness and enjoyment of our stay.

We will be booking again for next year and would like to thank the Staff at the site for an extremely enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 41 reviews from this member

The friendliest thing here were the midges.

We're new to motorhoming and had joined the Caravanning & Camping Club top get access to their Sites. Some of our friends had told us that C & C could be quite prickly from time to time. This Site was a good example:

We were interrogated about our age and had to produce documentation to prove we were over 55. No other C & C site had asked for this.

We were told to stay off grassed areas by staff, in spite of their not being any signs of restricted access.

The Site is located next to Loch Lomond and appeared to have been designed specifically to aid midges in their breeding - lots of shade, trees and water. The toilets were OK, apart from the numbers of drowned midges round the sinks, but getting there was a nightmare. Space is also restricted and there wouldn't have been room to put up our awning.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennie09 1 review from this member

We stayed here in our tent over the bank holiday at the end of May but ended up with a pitch at the end of the campsite (due to it being a large pod tent) which was very close to the A82 and therefore very noisy from the road.
We also had a tent and caravan between us and Loch Lomond so we didn't have a great view. Some pitches are very close to the loch edge with stunning views but most seemed to be with electric hookups or for smaller tents. There also didn't seem to be as much road noise along the loch edge.

There had been quite a bit of rain prior to our visit and while we were there and although muddy in a couple of places the grass was just very wet rather than muddy which was good. The road through the campsite has been resurfaced as well so easy to drive through.

The toilets and showers were good and very clean. There is a small shop on the campsite and a well stocked shop in the village. The meal that we had at the Village Rest on Sunday night was OK but not brilliant.

The village of Luss is lovely to walk round and there's a 6 mile walk up Beinn Dubh from the village which on a good day will provide fantastic views of Loch Lomond and the surrounding area. We went up there when it was raining and with clouds skimming the hill tops and still saw great views. It can be extended into a longer walk as well. The beach along side the campsite is lovely and clean with beautiful views over the loch.

For child friendliness I can't really comment as we don't have kids, however there was a small play area with a slide and some swings. I'm sure the beach would keep them entertained for hours though and there was a number of kids there who seemed very happy.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 28 reviews from this member

We chose this site for our first outing with our first ever caravan.

The site staff were all very friendly and helpful. The loos and showers were spotless. The lochside setting is beautiful but there is some road noise.

In Luss the shop was very well stocked , both food and some camping kit. The Colquhoun Arms is shut for refurbishment, reopens in May.

All in all a lovely site, would recommend it.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 67 to 72      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5225 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172