Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
              8/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 67 to 72                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edwards653 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at Luss. The site was great, toilets were spotless and showers never to busy. Water points were close at hand and there was plenty access down to the beach area that runs the full length of the site.

The attendant's were very friendly, giving us a choice of pitch when we arrived and they were never far away with a friendly hello!

Luss itself was very nice, a couple of pubs and a great wee shop which had everything we needed. The site is pretty much bang in the middle between Balloch and Arrochar so it's well placed for sightseeing trips. The weather was fantastic when I was there, the only downside were the dreaded midge's, but a few sprays of skin so soft from the site shop soon sorted that out!

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this site to anyone, and i'll certainly be back!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona karen 20 reviews from this member

Just got back from Luss and had a really good time, the wardens were really friendly and we had a pitch next to the lock.

I was impressed with the local shop in the village, it sold most things from camping stuff to fresh backed pastrys, cakes, bread, wine and beer, infact most thing except not a lot of fresh meat, the prices were reasonable as well, I thought we'd have to move the van a drive to balloch but we didn't move the van all week.

There's also a good cycle path from Balloch to Tarbet and with Luss being in the middle we cycled to tarbet one day and balloch the next, its approx 8 miles to each, the cycle to Tarbet was all off road and really nice, next time we would stop at Firkin point where there's a picnic area and toilets, as there wasn't a lot in tarbet itself.

The cycle to Ballock is mainly off road except for a 5 min section on the luss old road, you then go down the side of the golf course on the right of the big gates as it can be hard to see the path from a distance, but its easy to follow from there.

We had a really lovley evening in The Village Rest where the food was brillient and a good price but it can get busy so its best to book, the number is 01436 860220

We also went in the Colquhoun Arms hotel, it could do with refubishing, but was friendly and has a pool table and Sky, the food and serves was good but not as special as the village rest.

We also had a day out in Glasgow, you can catch the train in Balloch, it cost 2.30 return on the train, there's a bus that goes from the village to Balloch, but we missed the bus back so had to get a taxi, next time we'll drive to Balloch and park the van.

We really enjoyed our time in Luss and will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grandma2000 9 reviews from this member

Firstly, I must say, do not use your SatNav, it will probably take you to the golf club!

Lovely site, well kept although road a little bumpy in places but only to be expected due to being so popular.

Toilets were very clean and plenty of hot water for showers.

The rabbits and ducks didn't seem to mind the visitors!

We arrived and was told that if we wished we could move the following morning to a loch side view, we did and it was absolutely wonderful.

The site is in sections which makes it feel more secluded. Pitches are of a nice size. 2 shower blocks, never too busy. Even cut flowers in the toilet block which I thought was a nice touch. Dish washing areas were clean, light and airy.

There is a shop where you can purchase most of your groceries a short walk from the site and a lovely little village that is a must to see together with an interesting church and viking grave to be found. Nice walks around the area.

Although this site is situated by a main road the traffic noise was muted by trees etc and was not a problem at all.

The keepers of the site were very helpful, friendly and above all cheerful and made us feel very welcome.

The nearby pub was a bit grubby and wouldn't recommend but the 'Village Rest' was a lovely place to eat, friendly staff and not expensive

Would certainly like to visit this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happymckinley 2 reviews from this member

Grrrreat site, hot powerful showers, clean toilets that even had freshly cut flowers in them, wardens helful and friendly even boiled their kettle for us wen we 4got ours.
Big co-op in Balloch for all your supplies and lavender sticks from poundland will make sure you're not the midges buffet.
We camped on the waters edge and had breakfast on the beach. A great advert for camping.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon 8 reviews from this member

Well the views from this site are unbelievable as this is right on the edge of Loch Lomond, when we visited the was a slight water problem. Heavy rain the week before which made the pitches a bit boggy, but other than that its a very clean site with helpful managers, we found that the nearest shops were some distance away in Dunbarton as was the petrol station, so we always topped up the petrol when we got the shopping. A very well set out site, but beware of the dreaded Midges.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobby 1 review from this member

This was my first camping trip so don't have anything to compare it to but I had a great weekend at Luss. Facilities were good and clean, hairdryer was a bonus (takes 20p a time).

Staff were friendly and gave me help to put the tent up. I was pitched near the entrance and right next to the loch which was lovely.

The only slight downside to this site was the midges, but can these be avoided in Scotland? and the hotel next door had something going on at night, music playing until 12pm but once the earplugs were in wasnt a problem. The shop on site sells midge repellent and Avon skin so soft for those who don't come prepared.

The village of Luss itself is good for a wander also a few well signposted planned routes around the surrounding area and you can also take a boat trip around the islands on the loch from here. The shop has a wide variety of items including some camping equipment but try to make sure you take everything with you I paid 11 for a bottle of sun cream.

Will definitely visit this site again.

Previous     90 Review in total, now showing 67 to 72      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391