Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spuds+blobbys 1 review from this member

Don't think the website does full justice to the campsite. We had a lovely holiday didn't want to come home made all the better by Gwithian Farm. Ideal location great facilities everything clean and tidy,large pitches,nice and quiet after 11.00.
Ten minute walk to the lovely beach which even on a busy day isn't crowded, life guards on beach. Will use this campsite again. A must if you come to Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millberts 5 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful campsite. We chose it for its proximity to the sea. A short (10min) walk through the sand dunes to the most amazing beach. Brilliant for surfing and admiring the views of St Ives.

The site itself is well laid out and the pitches are a good size with hedges/plants to divide them. The facilities were modern and clean, we experienced some queuing but it was the busiest time of year and time of day, so to be expected.

The shop is small but well equipped. We particularly liked the evening visits from ice cream van, fish and chip van and curry stall.

We didn't visit the pub opposite but definitely will this year on our return visit.

Finally we found the staff very friendly and helpful and booking was a pleasure.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ed_pete 3 reviews from this member

Overall location very good. Close to A30, shops and supermarkets in Hayle, St Ives (if you can bear the crowds). Gwithain beach very good with separate area for dog owners. Lifeguard monitored (probably holiday times only). Excellent farm shop/PYO/cafe/restaurant a couple of miles away.

Pitch size adequate, though not much space between you and your neighbours. Well drained I assume it must be the light soils as we had plenty of rain. Toilet block newish but in spite of what others have said I felt I could have still done with a really decent clean (check out the cobwebs and what looked like soggy toilet paper on the veluxes - kids !). Non-concussive taps in the showers mean you don't linger as you have to keep pressing it every 15 seconds, water was warm enough. Only six sinks for washing up which are outside, but protected from the rain. Had to queue at popular times, probably not an issue outside of peak season. Take your own plug as some were missing. No facilities for handwashing in the laundry though we used the washing up sinks and no-one objected.

On site hire of wetsuits and body boards much cheaper than from places on the beach. Could do with a large tank for rinsing wetsuits as it was a slow process using the hose or one cold outside shower (try holding up a full size wetsuit when its wet - it makes your arms ache !).

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scarab15 3 reviews from this member

What can I say,still one of the best sites I have visited in Cornwall.

The reviews already written say it all. The showers clean and water always hot. Most pitches are big enough for any size of tent.

The shop had all the basics and you can hire wet suites + bodyboards.

Lidl/marks and spencers/co-op or tesco close by.

10 minutes walk to beach which is fantastic- great surfing and bodyboarding, and when you have done call in at the sunset cafe have a gorgeous hot chocolate or a beer.

Don't want to cook no problem: fish & chip van or authentic indian currys visit the site over the week,ice cream van visits daily.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SimonIG10 3 reviews from this member

We are just back from Gwithian Farm and were very impressed with the site. Others have mentioned the visiting vans/curry and Icecream van. We really liked the Fish and Chips from the van and the Curry deliveries. Bob the Icecream man visited most nights and the kids (and us) enjoyed more than a few '99s'. The owners are really friendly and laid back.

We hired body boards and a wetsuit for my son and bought one for my daughter from the site shop. I was surprised that they took little details and no deposits on hires but people did not abuse the situation. For buying adult wetsuits there is a small industrial unit just near St Erths station called Tombstone Surf off the A30. The guys in there are very helpdful. We didn't find the walk to the beach too bad via the path next to the OAP home although we tended to park in the NT car park at Godrevy and walk to the beach that way. The trouble with the beach is that it is absolutely huge and the lifeguards only patrol a small area for body boarders etc which tends to be to the left of the beach. We decided to join the NT while we were at Godrevy and made good use of our membership visiting mines, Gardens etc plus lots of carparking.

The walk to the beach via the Sunset cafe is very nice of an evening to watch the surfers and the sun set from the lifeguard station. The Lidls is an awful shop and the Co-op in Hayle is much better and not much further away.

We ate at the Red River Inn and the food is very good although not cheap.

Regarding the site, we had an electric pitch which was fine and reasonably level. We had some terrible rain during the first week and the site stayed okay with not too much mud. The wash block was kept very clean with good washing up facilities and even a family bathroom. There are also areas to wash down wetsuits etc. There are Goats and Guinea Pigs for the kids plus an outside Table Tennis table and a sandpit. No swings etc here.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a beach holiday away from the hussle and bussle of a typical seaside resort. If you want this then St Ives is only a short trip in the car and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LJB1969 7 reviews from this member

Just visited this site with kids aged 5 and 8 and we all really enjoyed it.

The atmosphere is relaxed and everyone is really friendly. My husband had all the kids on our bit playing cricket most nights and even the other Dads joined in too!

The pitch we were allocated was in the front field which is where most of the caravans seemed to be, these pitches were separated by trellis and plants, very nice indeed, lots of space. Must say, thought that the tent field look a lot more cramped, so we were glad we got the pitch we did. Shower block was nice and clean with constant hot water no matter what time of day you went. The shop hires out body boards for a very reasonable 2 per day (we went to other beaches and they charged you 2 per hour!), it also hires out wetsuits too and stocks bread, milk etc. There is an M&S, Lidl and Co-op in Hayle just a few minutes drive away.

The walk to the beach took about 15 mins, although you can be lazy and drive down if you want. A word of warning, by the carpark are some cliffs and from the carpark it looks like dunes going down to the beach, but its a sharp drop, there are no warning signs, our kids nearly went over the edge! Having said that when you do get to the beach its fantastic, great for surfing and rock pooling too.

We had a really great time here and will hopefully be going again soon, if it doesn't get booked up, people were booking for next year while we were there.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dandensam 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely location within walking distance of a fantastic beach and nice pub for a drink over the road.

No playground for kids, but this doesn't matter in the slightest as they all play very happily on the field in the middle. My wife and I went with our son and he wasted no time in making friends with several other kids and played cricket for hours.

Weather was dreadful for us and we ended up coming home several days early. We were at the top of the site (pitch 54, be warned) and it was very windy there, as it was for all in that top corner. The man cutting the grass warned us that we were in a windy spot when we arrived. After the last night of no sleep and worry that our tent would stay up we decided to throw in the towel.

I only have a couple of criticisms of the site (apart from the wind, not their fault) One was that the toilet block and dishwashing facilities were too far away from the pitches at the our end of the site. It is a bit of a trek particularly when there is a heavy load of washing up, and I found there was generally a small queue waiting for the washing up facilities (need more sinks).

Also the water taps are located on the corners of the playing field and to get to them without walking all the way round the bottom of the site you have to cut through other people's pitches, which a couple of people obviously didn't like. The site owners need to put in some paths to these taps.

The toilet/shower block was one of the cleanest I have found on a campsite and there always seemed to be somebody cleaning them.

I would probably go back when they have installed further shower/dishwashing facilities, or maybe get a more sheltered pitch a bit closer to the existing facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Snowyfox 1 review from this member

Lovely traditional campsite with no club/bar/amusement arcades (hurrah!). Quiet site at night which everyone was very respectful of, so good for families and couples.

All necessary facilities done very well and everything seems to have been thought of. Excellent spotlessly clean shower/toilet block and the family shower room and bathroom were particularly useful to us with our 4 year old (a shelf or shelf unit in the shower room would be a useful addition, as has already been done in the family bathroom). Constant hot water just at the right temperature at any time of the day. Water pressure a little variable but the lashings of hot water made up for it! Large, clean outdoor washing up area with plenty of sinks. Able to charge up phones or cameras in the shop or launderette. Shop very reasonable and well stocked.

Flat pitches, nicely laid out, well kept and not at all boggy after torrential rain. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. Very safe site for kids as the speed limit is 5mph.

The beach is a bit of a stroll, but safe for little ones if you go on the dunes. Wonderful beach with deep rock pools and fantastic surfing. Only got to spend one sunny day there, but could quite happily spend every day there during a holiday and not get bored. Beach cafe's a little way back off the beach, so take a flask if you want piping hot drinks on the beach or stop at the cafe's for a drink and a snack. (The Jam Pot do amazing carrot cake).

Pub opposite the camp site serves very good food and Rattlers cloudy cider ;-) The cider farm is a short drive away on the A3075 to Newquay, so we stocked up on the way home.There is an ice cream van on site every day and I understand fresh fish, fish and chips and also a curry night, which we didn't make use of unfortunately, so plenty of alternatives to camp food and a great touch.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chr1s23 2 reviews from this member

Tidy, quiet site. Friendly welcome. Toilet facilities immaculate - clean and well lit at night. Grass cuttings collected by the mower, which meant no grass in the caravan! Site shop stocks all necessary items, but there is a Co-op and a Lidl in Hayle if you need a supermarket.

Fish'n'chip / fresh fish / curry vans call on different evenings, and the ice-cream man called every evening - just right for 'afters'. The Red River Pub, opposite the site entrance, does great meals at a reasonable price.

The trek to the beach seemed a long way, probably because I'm getting lazy, but what a great beach. Well worth the trek, and he site well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flying welshman 3 reviews from this member

Visited this very well laid out site during the period 8th July - 13th July. Lovely people who run made us feel very welcome. We took our granddaughter with us she really enjoyed the area. Our only criticism was that it was for my wife and myself a rather long walk to the beach and it was a lot harder on the way back,slightly up hill all the way so I would say if you have any trouble with your mobility I would definitely think before going.

The toilets were very clean showers had plenty of hot water electric. Hook ups were free as was the use of freezer blocks. You could also use free fridges on site.

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4773 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016