Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cdenham 4 reviews from this member

We loved this site. It is right next to the river.

It was very peaceful.

Facilities very good. Ground was well tended and looked after, grass mown regularly.

Friendly pub just down the road.

The town of Dulverton just a few miles down the road is lovely.

The price of 14 for a night I thought was excellent as we had paid this for a previous site which was just a field and limited facilities.

We would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dese 3 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have been to this site and will definitely be returning again. Beautifully laid out pitches either by the river of the mill stream and with good sized pitches.

The dog walk area is on site and is very pretty with the river and millstream leading down to a weir. Owners very helpful. There are masses of walks close by and varied scenery with the moors and beautiful wooded valleys. Can't wait to go back. The only negative point is husband thought more Gents toilets would be good.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

We were welcomed with a cup of coffee and given several pitches to choose from. Most were flat or slightly sloping all were large and one side was against the road and the other side the river.

We chose the road half way up and it was noisy also we did not get the sun late in the day. Showers were hot but not much room to change and the toilet block seemed like public loos. All was clean and tidy and shop sold basics so take food with you as there are no shops in walking distance.

There wase water in several places and a waste drain for motorhomes and tv booster but only got 5 stations. Location was remote and quiet when out walking but the hills are very steep so not really suitable for cycling. We chose this site for peace and no kids but I was a little disappointed I'm not sure why!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 88 reviews from this member

A very well maintained, adult only site, bordered by the river on one side and the mill stream on the other. The sites are reasonably flat and the EHUs are plentiful. There are many good, welcoming touches about the site; from the pick your own herbs, an extensive information centre and a neat little shop.

The toilet facilities are clean but inadequate, I would not recommend your going there without your own facilities. Owner's comment: It would appear that 'SGThomas' did not find the toilet block, but used the one toilet in the shower block which is about 5 yards away. The number of toilets on the campsite is twice the number required by our licence, and there should not be any reason for queues.

This problem is enough to deter us from returning to an otherwise idyllic site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeanK 2 reviews from this member

This is an immaculately well kept camping site set between a mill leat and a small river. The owner is happy to show people around the old mill which also comes complete with the odd resident bat.

It has plenty of shower, loo and washing up facilities, even a microwave oven and washing machine.

There's also a separate area between the leat and the river which is perfect for ex deciding dogs or having a picnic.

The nearby pub is also run by a very friendly couple and their food's pretty good too

I've returned to this site numerous times and can highly recommend it, if you like falling asleep to the sound of owls and wildlife you won't be disappointed, although it's close to a road it's amazingly quiet.

First class!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badsey 1 review from this member

Friendly and welcoming hosts, and the cup of tea we received on arrival hit the spot. Our pitch was level and in a very peaceful corner opposite the shop, water close and electric hook up even closer.

The walks were fantastic and everything was in spitting distance too, we heartily recommend the Badgers Holt pub across the road, the landlord Keith was friendly and the home cooked food was out of this world, you really have to try the steak and Exmoor ale pie!

It's the little things that did it for us. The help yourself to herbs garden by the shop, the nicely stocked shop, the picturesque setting, the peace and quiet and of course the weather too.

If I was going to find a down side, not that it really was one. There just aren't enough showers for the amount of pitches, but its such a lovely site I almost hate to say that.

We will all be going back again this year, oh and one more thing, only have one pint of the addlstones cloudy cider if you walk the 1 mile to Winsford, you have been warned!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziee 3 reviews from this member

There's lots of things to like about this site, although for me it isn't really my cup of tea, being very orderly and regimented.

What I liked:

Nice large, flat, riverside pitch

Well mown grass

Good, clean facilities

Very handy and safe dog off-lead walking area

Good pub serving excellent food (the venison was to die for!) on the doorstep

Handy location for many of Exmoor's delights

What I liked less:

- On arrival, having driven for over 4 hours, we failed to notice the signs asking to report to reception and only saw that the shop was closed so assumed we were to help ourselves to a pitch. As we were nearly finished erecting our tent, the owner appeared to say that we should have been on the next-door pitch, and made us feel very unwelcome. When I went to the reception to pay, he made sure that he made all the changes he needed to make because of our 'stupidity' (how I felt, not what he said!) in front of me. I felt this was very poor customer care, especially as the next day he put 'reserved' signs on other pitches, so could easily done that on ours! We spent all the time there feeling faintly guilty.

- As mentioned previously, the site is very regimented, with everything 'just so'. I'm sure most people like this, but it's not my thing.

- The road was noisy (it's a main road) and there was noise of one sort or another (a strimmer or Chain saw and, on one evening, a woman wailing!) for hours every afternoon and evening we were there.

If you are after suburbia-in-the-countryside then this site is perfect, but if you like to feel you have gone somewhere a bit different and wild it may feel rather twee and parochial.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bohemia 6 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site. We were next door to a babbling brook which the dogs loved. There was a super dog walking area and a pub within walking distance. Walking in the area is superb and we were spoilt for choice.

We were not crowded and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

There was plenty of free information on where to visit and the managers were friendly.

If you have a really big unit the way in could be tight but with a bit of assistance we saw one of those huge demountable units go out so it's not impossible.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aguilera08 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful stay at this site, the pitch size was ample it was easy to find and our two dogs had a great time as the dog walking area at the end of the site was perfect. An enclosed area with access to the river so they could cool off. Any dog owners interested in this area should definitely visit this site.

The shop was well stocked and the site was easy to find. Toilet block and showers were fine, very clean.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anidav 7 reviews from this member

Lovely camp site, excellent shower / toilets / facilities. Loads of room really spacious quiet, very laid back week, we were lucky and actually had sun!

Pub walking distance and really good food, roads were a little scary as busy and narrow. Dulverton really lovely and excellent supermarket for good food. Would definitely go back.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977