Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RickSolly 1 review from this member

We found this site in the Camping and Caravanning Club 'Big Sites Book' and looked at their web site. It looked great and it certainly was!

We too were welcomed with a hot drink when we arrived and also given a choice of pitches. We chose to be by the river, supposing that there may have been some noise from the road. However there is hardly a car that passes after dark. (Talking of dark, the sky is wonderful.)

The site is wonderfully maintained with so many nice touches: music in the shower blocks and washup; free washing up liquid; help yourself herbs for cooking; free use of microwave, iron and hairdryer; lots of well written local walks. The toilets and showers were not quite C & C Club standard but were clean, free, lots of hot water and there never seemed to be a queue.

The Local, called the Badger's Holt, serves excellent food and again with a warm welcome.

Finally you could not ask for a nicer area to explore; the wooded scenery is spectacular and when we went, there were lots of grouse running about the surrounding countryside.

We will definitely try to return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carolyn51 3 reviews from this member

Beautifully maintained site in lovely setting. Toilet block and showers spotless if a little tired. River runs alongside dog walk so ideal if your dog love water. Couldn't keep ours out! Badgers Holt very friendly pub serves lovely hot food and dogs are allowed in the bar, there is also a separate dining room.

Unfortunately the noise from the road nearly drove me mad, its a very busy road which runs alongside the site, we were aware of it through reading reviews but never dreamt it would be this noisy.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barb n Barney 14 reviews from this member

We spent a weekend here, the pitches are very generous and the setting of the site is brilliant. Our pitch backed onto the road but it didn't disturb us at all. The owners were very kind and helpful - the water wheel demonstration on a Sunday morning is excellent. There are ducks in the brook and kingfishers on the river. The dog walk takes you right up to the weir and is probably one of the prettiest we have ever encountered!

The owners have worked very hard in providing really excellent walking guides for 6 different walks in the area. We did Walk No 2 which is a 5 mile walk, taking you through lots of different areas from forest to water meadows. The instructions were spot on and very easy to follow. We stopped at the half way point in Winsford to eat in the picnic on the village green - such a pretty area.

The loos etc were all very clean and the shop had some nice goodies such as the local icecream!

We shall definitely return - we have 5 more walks to do!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Easyroy 6 reviews from this member

We had a great time and we are sure to book for next year. The toilets and showers were ok and we did not have to wait at any time although the park was full

The coffee and tea on arrival was just great after those narrow lanes but once there it was well worth it. Thank you very much paul and christine your restoration of that old mill is a joy to see and to actually see it going well

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cdenham 4 reviews from this member

We loved this site. It is right next to the river.

It was very peaceful.

Facilities very good. Ground was well tended and looked after, grass mown regularly.

Friendly pub just down the road.

The town of Dulverton just a few miles down the road is lovely.

The price of 14 for a night I thought was excellent as we had paid this for a previous site which was just a field and limited facilities.

We would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dese 3 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have been to this site and will definitely be returning again. Beautifully laid out pitches either by the river of the mill stream and with good sized pitches.

The dog walk area is on site and is very pretty with the river and millstream leading down to a weir. Owners very helpful. There are masses of walks close by and varied scenery with the moors and beautiful wooded valleys. Can't wait to go back. The only negative point is husband thought more Gents toilets would be good.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

We were welcomed with a cup of coffee and given several pitches to choose from. Most were flat or slightly sloping all were large and one side was against the road and the other side the river.

We chose the road half way up and it was noisy also we did not get the sun late in the day. Showers were hot but not much room to change and the toilet block seemed like public loos. All was clean and tidy and shop sold basics so take food with you as there are no shops in walking distance.

There wase water in several places and a waste drain for motorhomes and tv booster but only got 5 stations. Location was remote and quiet when out walking but the hills are very steep so not really suitable for cycling. We chose this site for peace and no kids but I was a little disappointed I'm not sure why!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 97 reviews from this member

A very well maintained, adult only site, bordered by the river on one side and the mill stream on the other. The sites are reasonably flat and the EHUs are plentiful. There are many good, welcoming touches about the site; from the pick your own herbs, an extensive information centre and a neat little shop.

The toilet facilities are clean but inadequate, I would not recommend your going there without your own facilities. Owner's comment: It would appear that 'SGThomas' did not find the toilet block, but used the one toilet in the shower block which is about 5 yards away. The number of toilets on the campsite is twice the number required by our licence, and there should not be any reason for queues.

This problem is enough to deter us from returning to an otherwise idyllic site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeanK 2 reviews from this member

This is an immaculately well kept camping site set between a mill leat and a small river. The owner is happy to show people around the old mill which also comes complete with the odd resident bat.

It has plenty of shower, loo and washing up facilities, even a microwave oven and washing machine.

There's also a separate area between the leat and the river which is perfect for ex deciding dogs or having a picnic.

The nearby pub is also run by a very friendly couple and their food's pretty good too

I've returned to this site numerous times and can highly recommend it, if you like falling asleep to the sound of owls and wildlife you won't be disappointed, although it's close to a road it's amazingly quiet.

First class!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badsey 1 review from this member

Friendly and welcoming hosts, and the cup of tea we received on arrival hit the spot. Our pitch was level and in a very peaceful corner opposite the shop, water close and electric hook up even closer.

The walks were fantastic and everything was in spitting distance too, we heartily recommend the Badgers Holt pub across the road, the landlord Keith was friendly and the home cooked food was out of this world, you really have to try the steak and Exmoor ale pie!

It's the little things that did it for us. The help yourself to herbs garden by the shop, the nicely stocked shop, the picturesque setting, the peace and quiet and of course the weather too.

If I was going to find a down side, not that it really was one. There just aren't enough showers for the amount of pitches, but its such a lovely site I almost hate to say that.

We will all be going back again this year, oh and one more thing, only have one pint of the addlstones cloudy cider if you walk the 1 mile to Winsford, you have been warned!

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0981
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window