Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Silverhill Lane
Teversal
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG17 3JJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 551838

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
              9/10 from 167 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaqugra 28 reviews from this member

We used this site for our first ever caravan trip after a few years of camping. It is a very friendly site which looked about 3/4 full despite it being a very frosty and cold few days in early January. The new amenities block was not completed but there was never a queue for the remaining 2 showers / toilets.(I think the site could easily have been full but they were limiting the amount of pitches being made available due to the reduced amenities) Quite a few people had dogs with them, which isn't surprising considering how good the walks are across the road at Silverhills. There was a good play area for children in the corner of the site.

Having read some of the other reviews regarding this site, I can only confirm that this really is a lovely place with a lot of attractions within easy reach. We will definitely be returning (probably next month)

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Whelpton7576 12 reviews from this member

As this is our first year of touring, we were a little worried about being out and about during the cold winter months. We needn't have worried. This year round site was excellent! We arrived quite late on Friday night, expecting to make do in the late arrivals area; however, the owner met us and personally took to us our site. It was dark so he ensured that we were fully settled before he left - excellent service.

The site itself is excellent, spacious pitches, lots of recycling areas. The shower blocks were undergoing building work, so they were reduced to 2 during our stay (this wasn't a problem!)

Silver Hill (over the road) was ideal for walks and bike rides - Angus (our west highland white) enjoyed his walks there!

Hardwick Hall is closed quite often during the winter months so it is worth checking before you go.

The sausages and bacon sold on the on-site shop are from the Hardwick farm shop - they are to die for!

All in all a lovely site

See you in the summer

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesnlew 4 reviews from this member

What can we say about Teversal only its a fabulous site to stay on.

The site is situated in an ideal spot,as literally across the road is the Silverhill country park ideal for walking, and trails for cycling.

The cleanliness of the toilet/shower block is that good I could have spent a holiday in there. The block is the best we have ever used in all the sites we have been to.

There is a small playground ideal for children which is fenced off but in view of the caravans.

We found the atmosphere to be friendly and welcoming as we arrived very early on one of our first visits and the deputy warden brought us a most welcomed cup of tea to our car.

There are hens wandering around the site (when we were there) and were able to buy free range eggs.

About 2miles away is an ASDA store so shopping is not a problem. Further down the road from the site is a pub that serves up a decent meal.

The only criticism that I will make (we found) is that the site was not well sign posted when leaving the motorway and travelling along the 'B' road.

I would advise everyone who enjoys their caravan holidays and have never been to Teversal please go as you will not be disappointed.

A 5* holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave and Jane 1 review from this member

This is the third time we have stayed on this and we will undoubtedly be staying a fourth; the first in our trailer tent and the following two times in our caravan. Every time the staff have been helpful and friendly and more than welcoming.

The pitches for caravans are spacious with the hard standing having room for the van, awning and then wide grassed area for relaxing.

The childrens playground is aimed more at the older child although our 5 year old made more than enough friends and had fun on the equipment available; our 1.5year old not so much fun - no baby swings, small slide etc.

There are both a shower room block and a toilet block containing showers; the former comprises 3 individual rooms containing a shower, toilet and sink with the latter the showers in the shower block are a little bit unpredictable with the amount of water that comes out of the massive head. This ranges from a rather pathetic dribble to full on power shower. This is my only small and insignificant gripe when offset against the rest of the facilities. There is also a dedicated baby / family room with shower, sink, toilet and baby changing unit.

The site shop has all the basic provisions you could possibly need and just like every other review on here, the local sausage and bacon is an absolute must to buy!

The pot wash is an enclosed area with around 5 or 6 individual sinks, with an area for veg prep if you were staying in a tent and required this facility.

Wi-Fi is available but is 6/day, 10/weekend or 20 for the week (these are from memory but if not correct aren't too far adrift). As I wanted to escape I left the laptop at home and therefore didn't try out this facility - the Caranarvan arms advertises free wi-fi (but not sure if I am allowed to say this on here!)

There is an abundance of pubs nearby to the campsite the nearest being the carnarvan arms, with several other around and about most notably the Woodend which does a great Carvary Monday - Saturday for 3.50/person (kids 3.25) Bargain!.

The site is within a short drive of Gullivers Kingdom, Sundown Adverture Park and the Heights of Abraham, Sherwood Forest attractions and about 5-10 minutes to the nearest Designer outlet. For walking the campsite is across the road from a vast lanscaped area which is based on the land of the disused Silverhill colliery. There is a whole host of other nearby attractions, so much so there is a dedicated sun house full of leaflets and booklets to review on site.

If you have decided that this is an area of England you would like to visit then I totally recommend using this site as your base.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Goofyden 6 reviews from this member

Well what can I say, this site is truly blessed, when the rain is falling in the rest of GB, only in Teversal is it glorious sunshine. We had a few showers, nothing to write home about, and once it rained during the night, but the 6 nights we were there I think we had at least 4 days of really good, dare I say hot weather.

The site itself is more than just a haven for good sausage and bacon as mentioned numerous times in other reviews, it is a very good site all round, staff are friendly, the site is safe, it is quiet, it had enough space for our children (3&5) to run around in, along with the tent next to us with there 3 children (1, 5 & 7).

The site is also a fantastic location to be able to go out and about, Peak District is literally 30 minutes away with some fab attractions in Matlock Bath (Tram Museum, Heights of Abraham, Gullivers Adventure land, and that's just in one place.

This was a first outing in our newly acquired Conway Oxford and I can't think of a better site to have a maiden voyage.

Thank you to Teversal C&C club site, we will definitely be back again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hollydood 8 reviews from this member

Very nice friendly site with great toilet blocks.Dog Friendly, and just across the road is the old Silverhill pit site so you can walk for miles on well set out trails, The bacon and sausages in the site shop are to die for we bought extra to take home.

We had a walk around near by Hardwick Hall, that was nice and also have a good farm shop.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy R 16 reviews from this member

I'd agree with all of the positive comments from the others reviewers. A lovely site with very friendly staff.

It felt a very safe site for our 6 and 4 year olds, who loved the play area (which looked almost new). The walk in the adjacent country park is great - you can take bikes on the trails there too.

And one of the best things - the local butcher's sausages on sale in the shop - delicious!

We'll be back.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patmcbride 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly site with excellent facilities. The pub at the end of the road will be great when it reopens after refurbishment. Lots of lovely walks The grandchildren loved the safe play area.

We ended up staying 10 days necessitating a lot of 'juggling' of pitches over a bank holiday period ( due to me being admitted to hospital !)The staff were very helpful and enquired regularly about my progress -apologies again for waking them up to let us drive out to the local hospital at 3am .

We will certainly be back

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Menagerie_keeper 2 reviews from this member

We found the site by using the search facility here and booked with the owner that day. He was really helpful and answered novice questions (this was our first camping trip) about hook ups etc. Torrential rain started 4 days before our trip and as it was our first time we were a little concerned about going so I phoned the owner who assured me that the weather there was lovely and their local forecast did not predict rain for the length of our stay, so. Car packed, kids packed and we arrived there only a short trip from Birmingham - the site is well signposted locally.

The owner couldn't have been more helpful and even checked that we'd managed to put our tent up for the first time OK. The site's facilities were fantastic. Decent toilets with showers but the heated wet rooms made life so much easier, as did the washing up and laundry facilities.

There's a local Chinese that delivers and due to delays in arriving we opted for this to feed and keep some toddlers happy.

The play ground was good, nothing for younger children (i.E. No baby swings) but lots of older kids to amuse themselves. Our 4 year old spent loads of time up there and was very happy.

Locally it's mainly walks, from the campsite you can see a hill with a statue on top and it was a lovely walk up to the top to see that (there are various levels of walks up it and around it inc. Lake with swans). The easy walk is pushchair friendly, better with a 3 wheeler, don't fancy it with a stroller!

There are a couple of cheap pubs locally for food. The Grange (we didn't eat in) got good reviews from the locals, it's located in the middle of a housing estate and is a social club style premises.

Only a short journey in the other direction is a pub called the Woodland Inn, it's a cavery and the food isn't great but with a fantastic great adventure play ground for the kids and hot food. My tip would be to arrive early (opens at 11am, we got there are 12pm and it filled up by 1pm, uncomfortably so!).

There is a pub at the bottom of the road the site is on, only it's being renovated - which is a good sign!

All in all it gets 9.8/10 for me! I feel terrible for what I'm about to say, considering when I last went camping as a child showers were a luxury BUT the showers only gave a dribble (when the two I tried anyway!) and it was a pain with kids. There's a huge shower rose but very little comes out. But taking the site as a package it was wonderful, quiet, set in country (although a bloody great big road running up it you only really hear at night!) with great facilities.

If you're after somewhere for a short break where the kids are safe (perfect if you have dogs!) where the site shuts at 11pm (no driving round etc.) no music, loads of recycling etc. Then this is the site for you!

We'll be going back shortly I'm sure!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atherwitzend 7 reviews from this member

When we were there, there were about 6 other tents and the rest were caravans/motorhomes but we didn't find this an issue

The pitch was flat and we had plenty of space between us and 'next door'.

Everywhere was spotless.

Wardens were great.

Facilities spot on.

Best playarea on a any site we have seen so far.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10935 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547