Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Padstow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01841 532061

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 169 Reviews
              9/10 from 169 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluelad 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days at this site. Very friendly, very clean and excellent walking access to Padstow. Having gone there on the moorbike this time we didn't use electric etc and 10 a night gave excellent value for money. We will definitely be going back with the big tent to enjoy another holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allenfamily 1 review from this member

We spent three nights here, at the end of Whitsun week. We had an EHU pitch and found that there was plenty of room for our Montana 6 tent, extension and car.

The site was well maintained with modern, clean showers. These were large enough for an adult and two children. I never had to wait for a shower but then again the site wasn't full, pitches were emptying as the Bank Holiday week came to an end. The first time we went to do the washing up the water was only luke warm, we didn't encounter this problem again, so I think this was just bad timing on our part. The shop appeared to stock the usual range of camping paraphernalia but we tended to stop at Tescos on our way back to the site - I did go on an emergency wine buying sortie to the site shop one night and was dissapointed, so definitely recommend stocking up on this!

We walked to Padstow, using the footpath, and our children aged 7 and nearly 4 managed this fairly easily. I saw other families with young children use the path but can't remember seeing any buggies. It was across farmland with three stiles to climb over before reaching Tescos and then it was downhill all the way to Padstow (unfortunately uphill coming back!).

The staff were friendly, efficient and polite, giving us useful advice about local beaches when asked. The site was within 5-10 minutes drive of some great family beaches, all with parking, toilets,cafes or pubs close by. The weather, when we stayed, was excellent so we didn't venture any further afield.

There was a small, not overly exciting playground, but it seemed to be used by children of quite a range of ages. There is no clubhouse or gamesroom, but the children were quite happy using the playground or playing racket and ball games (cricket and football were only really possible when a couple of nearby pitches had vacated) or just playing with friends they had made on site.

All in all we would recommend this site to others and stay there again ourselves.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil crowder 6 reviews from this member

We visited Padstow Touring Park in the Whitsun week & spent 9 lovely nights there. The site is quiet, very clean and in a very good location, with a nice walk into Padstow. We had one of the kernow pitches which was probably the biggest pitch we have ever had and you get your own private toilet & shower block, but the shower block near our pitch was very clean & nice any way. The staff on site were very friendly & pleasant especially Pete the warden.

My only negatives points are the waste disposal point was the other end of the site and the fact the shop didn't sell newspapers which from a business point I couldn't get my head round, but I will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vanuata 3 reviews from this member

We were so lucky with the weather so a positive slant on the site is to be expected! Wash facilities away from the main entrance were always clean and we never had to queue. Facilities nearer the main entrance did appear more dated though owners kept them well maintained. Pitches were a little tighter than C&CC regulations but manageable.
The site as a whole was kept very clean and planting really complimented it. As with last posting, beware the footpath to Padstow, whilst dry while we were there, it would be treacherous when wet. Padstow really lovely and you are within easy reach of most Cornish attractions.
One Negative, we didn't realise dogs were allowed on site, which on the whole live and let live, but after you've cleaned dog poo from your shoes a couple of times it does wear thin. In the staffs favour when we complained about it , they were very quick to deal with it.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Monks 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site during the good weather in May 09, we were concerned, prior to arriving, as the majority of the country had endured heavy rain, that the pitch would be soft and muddy under foot, however the drainage measures the site had introduced had given us a perfect pitch, flat, large and dry.

The toilet and shower blocks are kept very clean and are finished to a high standard with hot water available at all times, however there are negative points, the site shop is expensive although freshly baked goods offered on a daily basis are delicious and worth the extra.

The site has access to a foot path which leads to Padstow but it should be noted that it is unsuitable for push chairs and does require the user to be confident underfoot as it can be narrow, uneven with several stiles to cross . The foot path was used by us on several occasions and I would not use the path after dark or during heavy rain.

The bus service stops outside the site ( on demand ) which will take you into Padstow, however keep an eye on return times as they stop early evening and we found that taxis in Padstow can be hard to obtain ( the pub landlord called five before one agreed to pick us up after a forty minute wait )

It should also be noted that there is no local pub or take away within reasonable walking distance, so there is no nipping off for a quick pint unless it involves the bus or car!.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Evansa 2 reviews from this member

Have stayed on this site a few times over the past few years and it just keeps getting better and better. Fits my 30ft m/home on with no problems at all. The new heated shower block is one of the best I have seen on a campsite. After speaking to the owners it looks as if this winter is going to be another busy one, with more improvements and new pitches coming in 2009.

Looking forward to returning in the spring to see how it's all going. Keep up the good work!

Ps The footpath to padstow is a real bonus.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biggasyoulike 2 reviews from this member

This was our first site for a full week away and it was fantastic! Friendly greeting with explanation (albeit at a pace) of the the site, plentiful and clean facilities (unlike recommended sites we have experienced since) and close proximity to Padstow. Liked the size of pitches which are marked out - you don't feel on top of each other unlike other sites since this one!

Lovely walk into town or shorter to Tesco for essentials. Reasonable road network to get to most other places in Cornwall or west Devon for that matter. Kids loved the park which generally felt very safe for them to play in. Shop stocks most things you'll need but can be pricey (check out nearby mini-Tesco if you have the time!)

This site has set a very high standard which will be difficult for others to achieve. Will certainly be back (just hope the weather is as kind to us again) and most people ignore this review! Oh & Rick Stein's chippy is well worth a visit but be ready to queue - Bon appetit, Ricy!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TWOTWINS 1 review from this member

We have visited this park several times and have always received a warm welcome from friendly staff. The facilities have been improved with the addition of extra toilet and shower facilities, a new laundry room and extra washing up areas. The toilets etc. were always clean and tidy and the shop well stocked.

The only problem we experienced was a very wet holiday leading to our awning and those of our neighbouring pitches becoming somewhat waterlogged, due to inadequate drainage on the field, however we were informed that this was hopefully going to be rectified over the winter period, so watch this space!

The pitches are of an excellent size, we have always booked a superior pitch to gain that extra room.

We would highly recommend this site for its' easy access to padstow and many beautiful beaches nearby. Hope you have better luck with the weather!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rebeccah809 4 reviews from this member

My partner and I and our 8 year old (& 1 dog) have just returned from Padstow Touring Park for 1 week.

Fantastic park, very well laid out, with plenty of privacy and plenty of room on each plot. (We had a standard plot, the superior plots are even bigger)

Nice clean shower/toilet block. Showers are warm and very well maintained.

There is a well stocked shop (however quite pricey). But Tesco is only a short walk/drive away.

Our 8 year old absolutely loved the play area - so a thumbs up there.

All in all a nice, peaceful, small site, ideal for a family.

Will definitely return!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire and Tom 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this campsite. Having stayed at more than a handful of sites, up and down the country, this is the best campsite we have stayed at. You are welcomed by friendly staff in the reception / shop and given a thorough explanation of the site and then directed to your allocated pitch.
The pitches are of ample size and ours was in a good location, we were near the shower block but not too close! The shower blocks are excellent with ample toilets and showers and were very clean and always had plenty of hand soap! There is a good sized washing up area with ice pack freezer which is free and allows 2 packs per pitch.
There is also an electrical socket and mirror for the use of phone chargers and hairdryers. Although we didnt use the shop it seemed well equipped. There is a daily A.M delivery from a local bakery, orders for which have to be placed by 1pm the previous day. There is also a daily visit from 'The Smoothie Van'.

The campsite is in an excellent location for the local area, short walk through the fields into Padstow and it was within easy bike or car ride to many nice local beaches. We had an excellent time and our only criticism if we had to find one was that it was slightly windy on the campsite due to the high location and for the wind we would have preferred a seaview. (The wind didnt seem related to the weaather as it was windy when sunny and rainy!) Apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay.

Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1016
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec