Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camperlck 10 reviews from this member

I don't think there is much that hasn't been said about this site. This really is a Rolls-Royce of camp sites.

The super pitch sizes are enormous. I measured ours at 12m x 13m. All enclosed with hedging, trees etc to provide fantastic privacy and a real feeling that this is your pitch.

The site is sculpted and manicured to within an inch of its life and has a great feel to it.

I won't mention the toilet block - others have done it to death. However lets just say even the chemical disposal point has tiling that is better than in my ensuite at home! It also has anti-bacterial hand-gel for use afterwards. A really nice touch.

The dog walk is at least 300 metres long and entirely enclosed. Also well maintained with trees and conveniently placed benches. At the entrance there is a dog shower. The whole site is very dog-friendly.

You can also walk your dog off-site in various directions as walks abound from the site.

The site is very well located for Somerset countryside and local services in and around Glastonbury. There is a direct route up to the Glastonbury Tor too - a lovely evening stroll!

The site offers all sorts of additional services too. You can order bread the night before and you get it fresh from the bakers the next day. The shop on site sells a good range of products, from local produce, to basic food stuffs, household wares, speciality, alcohol, camping spares etc. You can hire bikes, you can get walking maps, you can have your caravan washed and on and on.

We ate at-

Elaichi Tandoori - Glastonbury. Good food but service sometimes a little slow.

Knights Fish n Chips - Glastonbury. Excellent but pricey.

Beah English & Mediterranean - Wells. Excellent food and very good value.

So what is not to like about this site?

Well there are a few possibles-

1) It is very expensive.

2) Because it is so dog-friendly, there are, not surprisingly dogs everywhere. If you don't like dogs, or if your own dog isn't great with others - then this could be a problem. You will meet dogs all the time around the site. Not all of them are well behaved and not all owners have them under control (even if they're on leads).

3) It is almost too manicured and for some people, this could be a step too far from a caravan in the corner of a field with a water tap.

4) The Wi-Fi was continually dropping out and was virtually unusable.

We loved it and would definitely return. I would highly recommend you try it at some point.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HJN1 5 reviews from this member

This is a site that just keeps giving! It is outstanding.

In doing our research into this particular location we were very excited by the consistently high scores and positive comments, but a little concerned that nothing could live up to this kind of hype! How wrong we were, we now know why it consistently receives such stunning reviews.

Going to have to confess that our satnav led us to approach the site along a very narrow lane that unfortunately was closed for repairs only some 100m from the entrance, however on ringing the Wardens they very kindly talked us in via an alternative route and stayed on the phone until we were safely on the driveway, now that's service.

In fact all of the Wardens and also the owners who are often seen around the site are incredibly friendly and helpful ensuring that as guests we felt at ease and relaxed throughout our stay.

The facilities, what can we say that hasn't already been said? Believe all of the reviews, quite frankly the best we have ever seen, and trust us we are very particular! The new facilities block (our closest) was real 5* luxury and had both ladies and gents toilets along with a generous number of unisex en-suite type shower rooms.

There is a great shop on site selling pretty much everything you need and probably stuff you don't, and for all cake addicts there is usually a choice of two freshly baked cakes each day, whilst stocks last! Can also recommend the local bread deliveries from the unusually and rather worryingly named 'Burns the Bread' Bakery.

The surrounding area is beautiful and Glastonbury Tor is but a short walk away, albeit a fairly vertical short walk, but one worth undertaking as the views are out of this world.

Glastonbury, again a manageable walk away is a truly surreal place to visit, but a must do!

For us, visiting this site is a six hour drive, but that said, is one we will happily do time and again, in fact so good was the Old Oaks that we booked in for our next visit before leaving for our 6hr marathon home.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

We have visited this wonderful campsite several times and are now greeted like old friends. It is the best campsite we have ever been to. Ok it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. The new shower block is better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The pitches are large, the site is immaculate and the home made cake is to die for. We did them a favour and had had a grass pitch on our last visit - we were rewarded with a free weekend which we have booked for October. Lots of lovely walk into Glastonbury- needed to walk off the cake! We plan at least 2 visits here each year as we love it so much

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kim n Tom 4 reviews from this member

Beautiful site - the best toilet/shower facilities I've ever seen on a camp site.

We only stayed for a weekend but the whole site is well maintained within easy walking distance of Glastonbury Tor and town.

Lovely homemade cakes available and mini bus that takes you to Wells. There was also a large room with tourist info, pool table and sofa which could be used on a wet day.

Would definitely return to this lovely adult only site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 159 reviews from this member

Have to agree with all positive comments of this immaculate site with regard to the toilet/shower block, large pitches, friendly staff-certainly amongst my top ten. As others mentioned site is almost next door to Glastonbury Tor and the town itself about half hour walk but both involve a steep climb, we walked there and got the taxi back (£7). Other than walking not a great amount to do locally for instance no pub within reasonable walking distance however the well stocked shop sold some interesting local bottled beers. Paid £21/night (senior rate) which included free wifi.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendywoo28 2 reviews from this member

Wow! This is the place all touring parks should aspire to. The welcome we received was so friendly and informative that we immediately felt at home. The approach and grounds were immaculate - grass neat, hedges trimmed and beautiful flower beds. Our pitch -we were in Lower Oaks had fantastic panoramic views but with privacy and a good distance from our neighbours.

On site there was an excellent shop that seemed to sell everything and you could order fresh bread and newspapers, there were also daily homemade cakes which were just too nice to resist -so we didn't !

We also hired a bird feeder -big bonus -we were rewarded with a large variety of wild birds on the feeder and the local ducks picking up what was dropped. We also encountered a very cheeky squirrel who had learnt various ways of getting the 'fat balls' off the tree.

The information room was absolutely brilliant -detailed walk leaflets that you could borrow, lovely sofa to rest on and read or watch tv, and a large amount of other leaflets with all the local attractions plus a pool table.

During our stay we met all the wardens -it was obvious they all love their jobs -this was demonstrated by their positive attitudes, friendliness and helpfulness at all times.

Now to the facilities -just sensational and I am very, very fussy

Would like to express my sincere thanks to all at Old Oaks we had a fantastic stay and we will be back as soon as we can

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nic green 5 reviews from this member

Our first visit to what must be the most immaculate campsite we have ever visited. The standards at this site must set the benchmark for all others. Fantastic sized pitches with easy access in the most beautiful manicured setting with wonderful views. What more could you want?

The newest shower/toilet block would put most 5 star hotels to shame and is just luxurious.

You can just tell that a passion to do things to the highest of standards runs through this site at every level. I just wonder if other sites are going to feel a little lacking after visitng here ??????

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Eagles 12 reviews from this member

My partner and I stayed here for the Easter weekend having seen it advertised in the Best of British brochure. I booked direct with the campsite in October 2012. One of the attractions was the ‘Adult Only’ having spent too much of 2012 at campsites where you get woken during the night with unruly babies/children! The area was also a factor as we had not camped in Somerset before and it also meant we could attend the speedway meeting at Somerset speedway on Good Friday.

We arrived mid-afternoon on Thursday and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by the wardens. We were shown to our pitch T3 in Top Oaks. There are about 5 different areas where you could stay. More than happy with our pitch, very large with hedging around the edge and two bits of grass, if the weather had been warmer (our heater was a godsend in our tent, a very cold Easter weekend!) we could easily have sat out on the bigger bit of grass. All off the site is kept to a very high standard, even saw the gardener working.

We did our usual wander round to familiarise ourselves and could not believe the new facilities block, it was if we were at a 5 star hotel, just superb. They even have a washing machine and tumble dryer for dog bedding. There are 13 showers 5 of them mixed. Washing up area again 5 stars. There is also a freezer if you need to freeze ice packs. The little shop is well stocked and they even sell homemade cake each day which is advertised. You can also order bread which comes from the local bakers, just no delivery on Sundays or Bank Holiday Mondays. They have a games room with a pool table and a very large flat screen TV with a sofa and heater. As most people were in caravans the couple of times we popped up there the TV was not in use. There is also a wonderful selection of leaflets advertising places to visit. They hire bikes and that was our plan for one of the days, the cold weather stopped us sadly.

The campsite is nicely positioned to get out and about. We made use of the local mini bus service that picks up at the campsite, we went into Wells, and it gives you 4 hours there and costs £10. 00 return per couple. It is on a first come first on and the last couple missed out on this day, I would think it could be popular during the summer and they may put on a bigger mini bus.

The walk to Glastonbury Tor is about ¾ mile away and is signposted from the campsite. We walked up there on Easter Sunday and although cold the sun was out and the views are worth the walk. We then continued on into Glastonbury. We walked a different way back which included crossing fields; you get a lovely view of the campsite from this walk.

Maybe a little expensive however you pay for what you get and you get 5 star here without a shadow of a doubt, so worth it, we are booked to go back in May and again in August.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VandJ Dorset 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights at this site on route home from Cornwall. It was very cold March weather with occasional snow flurries so the heated shower block was wonderful, even the floors felt warm! The campsite was beautifully kept and the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. They gave us information on all the lovely walks around, including up to the Tor. In spite of the biting cold, the views were fabulous. We will definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rethomas 6 reviews from this member

We decided to try this site after reading so many great reviews from lots of people, so our expectations were quite high. Well we weren't disappointed either. What a truly fantastic site.

We booked through the Oaks' own website requesting a super pitch with a clear line of sight to the SE for our satellite system. We were allocated pitch number 3 in the Lower Oaks section of the site which was perfect for our needs. We arrived a little later than planned but received such a warm and friendly welcome which was great after quite a long journey. We were booked straight in and given a good explanation of the park and it's facilities as well as the surrounding area. We were even asked if we needed wifi internet access which is free by the way and very fast.

We were escorted to our pitch which was a great size, nice and level with hedging either side giving a little privacy without being overbearing. ECU hook-up, water and waste drainage all to hand which made life very easy once connected up. We were close to the new facilities block which can only be described as something out of a 5* hotel! Having been to many campsites both in this country and across the channel, I have never seen anything to match this. Absolutely stunning and spotlessly clean. There was a well stocked shop next to reception selling all the usual essentials as well as some nice luxury items too.

As we were staying over the Six Nations rugby weekend, we were told about the 42' TV room which would have the Wales v England game playing if we wanted to see it on a big screen. Being Welsh, we had the usual banter with the Wardens who just so happen to be English, but we ended up watching the game in a lovely pub in Glastonbury. Following the thrashing Wales gave England, we didn't hear too much from the Wardens after that!

There are great walks from the site including one to the Glastonbury Tor which is about 3/4 mile away. We managed to pick a great sunny day to try this walk and the views from the top are quite spectacular and well worth the trek because you can see for miles around in a great panorama. It's about a mile and a half's walk into Glastonbury but we just took taxis which were between £7 and £8 each way. There is a taxi service that runs from the site but we were a little too early in the season to be able to take advantage of this as it hadn't started running yet.

So all in all, a fantastic site with fantastic facilities in a fantastic part of the world with lots to see and do. It really does deserve it's average rating of 10 out of 10 and we can't wait to return.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1719