Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Househunters 8 reviews from this member

We visited The Old Oaks because we wanted to be on an adult only park during the Easter holidays.

The park is immaculate and extremely well run. The wardens are very professional, friendly and helpful. We particularly liked the spacious layout of the individual areas where all units have super all weather pitches around the perimeter leaving a park-like centres.

It is quite obvious that the owners will not be tempted to fill up these wonderful open spaces with more pitches. The new facility building is fabulous.

We found the site quite easily coming via the A361 using the park's directions, our satnav and having 'google street viewed' all the junctions and narrow lanes before we left home!

Apart from the walks around, a car is needed to get about and see the area. We enjoyed visiting Wells on market day and lunching at the Cathedral Refectory. We also enjoyed a good strenuous ramble in Ebbor Gorge near Cheddar and a wild and windy climb up the Tor. The Old Oaks is a good place for a very civilised chillout holiday away from the grandchildren.

Vodaphone signal was rubbish everywhere. The wifi is now free but the signal is low in Top Oaks field.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dkloader 2 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a four night stay at the Old Oaks in early June this year. The park is beautifully landscaped and kept very tidy indeed. Most of the pitches are of a very good size with good space between them. The trees and shrubs are a joy to see. The new shower block is absolutely 5 star and there is a well stocked shop in the reception area with good locally sourced product always available. All the staff we met during our stay were friendly and very helpful. All in all a superb campsite that we will certainly be revisiting.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alanlflower 3 reviews from this member

A quiet site with excellent facilities that not only allows dogs but positively makes dogs welcome.

All electric pitches are hardstanding and if you have a tent, especially built in groundsheet, you need to ask for one of their extra thick groundsheets to go under your own footprint or groundsheet to avoid the chippings creating holes.

Non electric pitches are all grass and are well spaced around a field with no pitches in the centre so feeling much more spacious than some other sites.

Overall a good retreat especially if you have a dog.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camperlck 10 reviews from this member

I don't think there is much that hasn't been said about this site. This really is a Rolls-Royce of camp sites.

The super pitch sizes are enormous. I measured ours at 12m x 13m. All enclosed with hedging, trees etc to provide fantastic privacy and a real feeling that this is your pitch.

The site is sculpted and manicured to within an inch of its life and has a great feel to it.

I won't mention the toilet block - others have done it to death. However lets just say even the chemical disposal point has tiling that is better than in my ensuite at home! It also has anti-bacterial hand-gel for use afterwards. A really nice touch.

The dog walk is at least 300 metres long and entirely enclosed. Also well maintained with trees and conveniently placed benches. At the entrance there is a dog shower. The whole site is very dog-friendly.

You can also walk your dog off-site in various directions as walks abound from the site.

The site is very well located for Somerset countryside and local services in and around Glastonbury. There is a direct route up to the Glastonbury Tor too - a lovely evening stroll!

The site offers all sorts of additional services too. You can order bread the night before and you get it fresh from the bakers the next day. The shop on site sells a good range of products, from local produce, to basic food stuffs, household wares, speciality, alcohol, camping spares etc. You can hire bikes, you can get walking maps, you can have your caravan washed and on and on.

We ate at-

Elaichi Tandoori - Glastonbury. Good food but service sometimes a little slow.

Knights Fish n Chips - Glastonbury. Excellent but pricey.

Beah English & Mediterranean - Wells. Excellent food and very good value.

So what is not to like about this site?

Well there are a few possibles-

1) It is very expensive.

2) Because it is so dog-friendly, there are, not surprisingly dogs everywhere. If you don't like dogs, or if your own dog isn't great with others - then this could be a problem. You will meet dogs all the time around the site. Not all of them are well behaved and not all owners have them under control (even if they're on leads).

3) It is almost too manicured and for some people, this could be a step too far from a caravan in the corner of a field with a water tap.

4) The Wi-Fi was continually dropping out and was virtually unusable.

We loved it and would definitely return. I would highly recommend you try it at some point.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HJN1 5 reviews from this member

This is a site that just keeps giving! It is outstanding.

In doing our research into this particular location we were very excited by the consistently high scores and positive comments, but a little concerned that nothing could live up to this kind of hype! How wrong we were, we now know why it consistently receives such stunning reviews.

Going to have to confess that our satnav led us to approach the site along a very narrow lane that unfortunately was closed for repairs only some 100m from the entrance, however on ringing the Wardens they very kindly talked us in via an alternative route and stayed on the phone until we were safely on the driveway, now that's service.

In fact all of the Wardens and also the owners who are often seen around the site are incredibly friendly and helpful ensuring that as guests we felt at ease and relaxed throughout our stay.

The facilities, what can we say that hasn't already been said? Believe all of the reviews, quite frankly the best we have ever seen, and trust us we are very particular! The new facilities block (our closest) was real 5* luxury and had both ladies and gents toilets along with a generous number of unisex en-suite type shower rooms.

There is a great shop on site selling pretty much everything you need and probably stuff you don't, and for all cake addicts there is usually a choice of two freshly baked cakes each day, whilst stocks last! Can also recommend the local bread deliveries from the unusually and rather worryingly named 'Burns the Bread' Bakery.

The surrounding area is beautiful and Glastonbury Tor is but a short walk away, albeit a fairly vertical short walk, but one worth undertaking as the views are out of this world.

Glastonbury, again a manageable walk away is a truly surreal place to visit, but a must do!

For us, visiting this site is a six hour drive, but that said, is one we will happily do time and again, in fact so good was the Old Oaks that we booked in for our next visit before leaving for our 6hr marathon home.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

We have visited this wonderful campsite several times and are now greeted like old friends. It is the best campsite we have ever been to. Ok it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. The new shower block is better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The pitches are large, the site is immaculate and the home made cake is to die for. We did them a favour and had had a grass pitch on our last visit - we were rewarded with a free weekend which we have booked for October. Lots of lovely walk into Glastonbury- needed to walk off the cake! We plan at least 2 visits here each year as we love it so much

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kim n Tom 4 reviews from this member

Beautiful site - the best toilet/shower facilities I've ever seen on a camp site.

We only stayed for a weekend but the whole site is well maintained within easy walking distance of Glastonbury Tor and town.

Lovely homemade cakes available and mini bus that takes you to Wells. There was also a large room with tourist info, pool table and sofa which could be used on a wet day.

Would definitely return to this lovely adult only site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 163 reviews from this member

Have to agree with all positive comments of this immaculate site with regard to the toilet/shower block, large pitches, friendly staff-certainly amongst my top ten. As others mentioned site is almost next door to Glastonbury Tor and the town itself about half hour walk but both involve a steep climb, we walked there and got the taxi back (7). Other than walking not a great amount to do locally for instance no pub within reasonable walking distance however the well stocked shop sold some interesting local bottled beers. Paid 21/night (senior rate) which included free wifi.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendywoo28 2 reviews from this member

Wow! This is the place all touring parks should aspire to. The welcome we received was so friendly and informative that we immediately felt at home. The approach and grounds were immaculate - grass neat, hedges trimmed and beautiful flower beds. Our pitch -we were in Lower Oaks had fantastic panoramic views but with privacy and a good distance from our neighbours.

On site there was an excellent shop that seemed to sell everything and you could order fresh bread and newspapers, there were also daily homemade cakes which were just too nice to resist -so we didn't !

We also hired a bird feeder -big bonus -we were rewarded with a large variety of wild birds on the feeder and the local ducks picking up what was dropped. We also encountered a very cheeky squirrel who had learnt various ways of getting the 'fat balls' off the tree.

The information room was absolutely brilliant -detailed walk leaflets that you could borrow, lovely sofa to rest on and read or watch tv, and a large amount of other leaflets with all the local attractions plus a pool table.

During our stay we met all the wardens -it was obvious they all love their jobs -this was demonstrated by their positive attitudes, friendliness and helpfulness at all times.

Now to the facilities -just sensational and I am very, very fussy

Would like to express my sincere thanks to all at Old Oaks we had a fantastic stay and we will be back as soon as we can

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nic green 5 reviews from this member

Our first visit to what must be the most immaculate campsite we have ever visited. The standards at this site must set the benchmark for all others. Fantastic sized pitches with easy access in the most beautiful manicured setting with wonderful views. What more could you want?

The newest shower/toilet block would put most 5 star hotels to shame and is just luxurious.

You can just tell that a passion to do things to the highest of standards runs through this site at every level. I just wonder if other sites are going to feel a little lacking after visitng here ??????

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1250