Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
              8/10 from 206 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieannjip 1 review from this member

Me and my husband and our jip dog have just returned from a lovely week away. This is our first time at silverdale, the farm was great the staff are very nice the only thing I would say is they need to update the toilets ,but everything else was A1.
We had a lovely view from our caravan towards the sea,and people having campfires and singing playing guitars and mouth organs at night fall it was a really relaxed atmosphere. I would really recommend Gibraltar Farm to you, we will be going back very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ML1998 1 review from this member

Just had our very first camping trip ever and we had a fantastic time. The site is quite basic but we thought the facilities were very clean and tidy most of the time. We did not have to queue for a shower as we went in the evening rather than the morning and this worked well for us.
There could have been a little more washing up facilities though for campers and more hot water but other than this we had a fab time. There is a little homemade ice cream cabin on site which was very popular and the local vilage is is just 10 minutes walk.
This is a working farm though, and the cows hurtling towards us was a little scary for the children but made it quite entertaining for the rest of us. The views are fantastic over Morecombe bay and our pitch was at the back of the field next to the wall, so we were not disturbed by anyone else throughout our stay, all in all it was great.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathymac 18 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a visit to this site Thursday and Friday night. Thursday was fantastic but come Friday the place was jam packed. The site facilities were insufficient to cope with this amount of people at least a 25 min queue for shower and to use the toilet. The cleaners tried their best but they were fighting a losing battle. Thank god we were in a caravan.
The site was very noisy. Kids running around well after 11PM and then we were wakened at 5.30 AM by kids running round the toilet block. Many other site users had no regard for fellow visitors, They seemed to think it was OK to stop at the toilet block. Leave their big noisy car engines running while the whole family used the facilities. One family was there for 20mins I eventually had to ask them to turn off their engine we couldn't hear ourselves think. None of the staff did anything to keep the noise down

Shame really because with a bit of investment in extra facilities the site could be fantastic, lovely location the sunsets were spectacular. The surrounding area enjoys exceptional natural beauty with the views over Morecambe Bay not to be missed. Only a 5 min walk to the village with great hotels that sell wonderful food at a reasonable prices and shops where you will get all your necessities. Please note : there is no ATM in the village

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James butterworth 1 review from this member

Just arrived back from our first camping holiday and we could not have picked a better place. The kids (5 & 10 yrs old) had a fantastic time playing games on the fields and exploring the woods and the rocky beach. Not a place for sunbathing or swimming but gorgeous views. The toilet and shower block, washing up area etc are cleaned every day and are basic but very well equipped. You have to drive to the nearest shop if you need any essentials. We had to go for some ice. They sell ice lollies and drinks on site. Staff are friendly, as are the other campers, the kids made friends very quickly and we found people very helpful.

We are planning to return very soon.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elorac1 1 review from this member

The site is well maintained and friendly, with open spaces for children to ride and play. Really good atmosphere on the whole visit. The toilets were clean but a little under stress with only 4 or 5 for the whole site. Shower cubicles were clean and free, as were the sockets in the toilets for hairdryers and the all important mobile recharge, you just have to pick the right time to go up there!

In the evening there were guitars and mouth organs being played round friendly BBQs and a really good atmosphere. So if you play take something with you to join the scene, no one will mind!

On the whole a really nice place to go. Will definitley be back SOON !

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jarrcad 2 reviews from this member

This is my first visit to this site, I found the scenery and walks fantastic. Its a site I would sugest best used as an overnighter as the facilities are poor, the toilet block has only one shower in the mens and again in the womens to cater for all on the site (the owners could make two showers out of one in each of the toilets as there is plenty of room.)
With a little investment from the owners this could be a site that will do well. The gentle walk to silverdale across the fields following the shore is rewarded by the fantastic views across the bay. The silverdale hotel is a must to rehydrate, with great food to match.
The children loved the site, it was good to see no playstaion or gameboy in site, just kids playing on the rocks and as evening drew in they were using torches making it more exciting.
So owners, invest in the showers. 5/10 before I submit, you have to try the farms icecream. Make that 6/10

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy chappy 44 1 review from this member

We have just had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend at this beautiful campsite which is run by a very friendly and helpful steward and his wife. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always on hand to help.

Although the toilet facilities are limited they are regularly cleaned and we never had any problem waiting for showers.

This campsite is perfect for families as you do not have to worry about children letting off steam, it may be noisier than other sites but this is usually down to people having a great time and relaxing which for us is the object of getting away from it all with our family. It makes a change from other sites we have visited were the children have been too worried about being told to be quiet to have a good time!

We would highly recommend a visit were you will find a very warm welcome, beautiful scenery and countryside and a place to relax and get away from it all with a wonderful woodland area which the children enjoyed many hours exploring.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Te Camper100 4 reviews from this member

Just back from Gibralter Farm.As has been mentioned the facilities (toilets )are inadequate for the number of people that go on a Bank Holl or weekends as there were only 4 toilets & 1 shower,they even started queing to wash the pots. There must have been over 100 tents,caravans etc,& the facilities are at one end near to the regulars caravans there is nothing on site you cant even watch t.V. Unless you can get hold of a grade A ariel you can get no reception at all,the steward on site did have a couple spare which you can rent for your stay,there are shops in Silverdale village 15 mins walk away. The site is no good if you want peace & quiet although it is a pretty site,it cost 14 a night for two with electric & we had to put the awning up on the hardstanding which was stones,no good for a bedroom in the awning.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Makie 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a visit to this site over a bank holiday weekend. The site facilities left a lot to be desired. The shower/toilet block was insufficient for the number of people on the site (20 minute queue for shower and to use the loo) and because of over use were dirty. The site was very noisy with large groups of kids/youths roaming completely unchecked by parents or staff. Many other site users had no regard for fellow visitors, on the last night of our stay a party took place in a caravan behind us that went on until 4am. None of the staff did anything to keep the noise down could it be because the site wardens family were attending the party.

In its favour the site is set in a lovely location the sunsets were spectacular, the pitch I had was good and level. The surrounding area enjoys exceptional natural beauty with the views over Morecambe Bay not to be missed.

All spoilt by an ignorant few and the owners cramming too many people onto the site for the facilities they have.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scottie Chorton 10 reviews from this member

It has a nice location with great views, and you can do some good walks along the coast.

The beaches however can be treacherous in parts, some are often not safe to walk on. However the beach nearest the site is fine

We found the wardens to be less than friendly on our visit.

A few of our group arrived separately and on each occasion we were all greeted with a miserable welcome.

We got a complaining moan that a cheque was used to pay the fee.

Our friend went to check in and he said 'you should have checked in here before you joined the others', (she wanted to say hello to us for a few minutes before checking in)

Another got an angry 'put your dog on a lead!' (she'd literally just got out of her car after a 2 hour journey and the dog was still in the car!

Maybe they were just having a bad day as all the other reviews say they are normally friendly

(I must point out that we're not a rowdy bunch either!)

Because of this attitude we probably wouldn't go back

Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win tickets to the NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3245 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1309