Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elc5wo 1 review from this member

Just returned from Cofton, it was the first trip of the season. This site was recommended, so thought we would try it.

We arrived on Easter saturday and stayed for three nights. Weather was gorgeous, and couldn't have asked for better.

The site was very good, all pitches with electric. We were very impressed with the prices, we got a discount for booking in advance, we didn't have to pay extra for electric hook up,and the price didn't increase with it being Easter - which was a massive plus!

Site was very clean and tidy, shower block was lovely.They had music in there and thermostatic showers which were always warm and clean.

We didn't really explore the site much, but saw there was plenty for children.Even donkeys on site!

All in all, we couldn't fault it, and would definitely recommend and go back

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy__Mac 7 reviews from this member

We booked this a litte late, so didn't really benefit from any discount. After a week in Cornwall, we packed up, drove here and set up again, for what turned out to be a wonderful week. It is a BIG site, but I think they have the balance right, ie the facilities and mod-cons of a large resort, but the field layout and atmosphere associated with traditional campsites. The fields are cleverly separated so you don't always feel you are on a massive site. We had good weather, which meant we could explore and have a couple of walks to Dawlish / Warren and in the other direction there were a couple of nice pubs in Cockwood in walking distance.

We drove to Exeter for a bit of an explore and Torquay was easy driving distance for a good day out.

Because the site was so large, we wer'nt always at ease that the youngest (7) was out of sight, but the eldest (9 at the time) was off playing footie or at the games room with a good bunch of kids.

Our corner location in one of the fields was superb and the views idyllic.

Toilet facilities were modern, clean and spacious (though I slipped head over heels every time I walked in. Maybe it was my choice of footwear ?)

Lovely site - I imagine we will visit it again at some point, probably with other camping friends as I believe it would suit the group environment.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chipmonk 8 reviews from this member

Spent 4 days from 21/08/2008.

The general layout of the site is very good. We had a short wait for a warden to show us to our pitch. She asked if I had a preference to where we wanted to stay. We were shown several pitches and found one that looked suitable. The pitches are on the small side as I have a large tent and had to park my car in front.

The toilet block was the new one, but you had to get there very early or very late to get the hot water. By 10a.M. The water was freezing to even wash up in.

The toilets were always cleaned at regular intervals.(A mop would have been nice to mop up some of the mud that was left on the floor).

The bar was small and entertainment for children limited. I agree with other reviews that the games room was full of mouthy drunk teenagers. This is down to lack of supervision of the parents.

The food in the bar was very good as was the bar prices. Did not use the pool as it was too cold.

Dawlish Warren has gone down hill over the past 2 years, which is a shame. The people in the area are always friendly. The 2 pubs in Cockwood are both very good.

All in all, this is a well run site, kept clean and tidy, but could do with a few improvements.

Would probably return for a short stay again as it is in ideal place to explore the area.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zero9877 2 reviews from this member

Returned from this site 23/08/08 and it was our first camping holiday with our new equipment. Had spent two weeks looking at the weather reports and nearly cancelled but made the 500 mile round trip. Myself my wife and 4 year old son arrived and the wind was gale force with horizontal rain, I could not believe it, even so the pitch I received was still in good condition.

The toilet and shower blocks during my stay were managed excellently and due to the amount of mud around this must have been some task!

The childrens play areas were good and the donkeys were a nice touch, but call me a wimp the pool was freezing, only went in once and was straight out, my son was turning blue!

There was a nice walk past the church down to a small harbour where there were two lovely pubs that served excellent food and can highly recommend the anchor which is a 450 year old inn.

I would not recommend Dawlish Warren beach it is quite shingley and not as nice as the short boat trip to Exmouth which is lovely.

All in all a good trip despite the weather, well run site but due to our own inexperience would now like to try a smaller scale site as we found it a little too busy with cars in and out all the time. There also appeared to be a lot of teenagers around with very little for them to do in my opinion which led them to drinking and smoking around the site. I found our pitch quite small no room for playing with my son just enough for car and tent.

I would give the site 7 out of 10 but this is my first trip and have nothing to compare, we had a very good holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PB and family 3 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our two week stay at Cofton despite the poor weather. It's quite a large site with quite a few statics, but well laid out and spread over lots of separate areas. Although the site is quite hilly, most pitches are flat and very well maintained.

The central area consisting of the pub, shop, pool, reception etc is really nice and has a continental feel to it. There is an outside area for eating drinking beside the pool which is similar to the layout you find in lots of French sites. Really nice to stop there for a coffee or a cool beer. The pool area itself is excellent and has a large grass area for people to sit and relax.

Toilet facilities were always clean and we rarely had to queue for showers, despite it being August. There are some extra pre fab style toilet blocks in some fields, which are not great, but save a walk to the main blocks.

There is a nice walk to Dawlish Warren where you can take in the Woodland Trail and a walk to Cockwood, where you can have a very nice meal at the Anchor or Ship pubs. The food at the Anchor was a bit pricy, but excellent quality. Try the mixed seafood starter for two and the fish or meat hanging meals - You won't need a starter if you have the meat hanging meal - we could hardly walk back. You need to arrive early or book a table.

Beaches in the area are quite variable with Dawlish Warren being a bit downmarket and scruffy. Dawlish was better and the town itself was quite nice, with shops and a central grass area with a stream running though it. It's well worth making a trip to Exmouth on the ferry from Starcross and driving to Sidmouth, which has nice beaches, shops and Gardens. Torquay was also well worth a visit, with a nice promenade, with restaurants and bars overlooking the harbour and marina. You can also go for speedboats trips, banana boats rides and various boat trips. There is also a fair. We took the train which cost £4 return per adult.

It's also worth a visit to Bicton Gardens, where the grounds are stunning, with lots of walks and there are play areas for the kids and a train ride - Take a picnic and just choose a spot. Powderham castle was also good, with things to keep adults and children happy.

If you need a cinema there is a Vue in Exeter with parking a few minutes away. It's also right in the city centre a few minutes from all of the main shops.

Overall a very nice site with lots to do in the area so highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rockingal 6 reviews from this member

When we arrived at Cofton, a girl on a golf cart showed us to a pitch which was past the pool area, turn left and up the hill. She seemed to think we could see the play area from there, but we certainly couldn't as there was a row of tents in front of us, then it was down the hill.

A very large spread out campsite with reasonable sized tent pitches. The main large toilet and shower block was lovely, clean and warm with music but the small block near us was freezing, dirty and waterlogged. A bit of gravel or paving around the building wouldn't hurt.

The shop on site was great and had everything you could ever need and the prices were soooo reasonable. Very friendly too.

Unfortunately my kids only got one day in the gorgeous pool because of the bad weather.

Chip shop was good if like queueing for about 45 mins. Do not buy the chicken Korma as they only just half fill the tubs and it was so bland & horrible. A rip off at £5.50. The fish etc was excellent though.

There was a games room, but we were too afraid to take the kids in because of the young louts that were hanging out there swearing there heads off and swigging beer and cider.

We also noticed a lot of foul language and shouting on this site but there didn't seem to be many wardens about sorting this out.

Such a shame as this site is in a beautiful setting and just a short walk from the lovely little harbour village of Cockwood.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellisjamie 2 reviews from this member

We have just arrived home from our weeks stay at cofton, we stayed in the orchard which was lovely and close to all facilities. The weather wasn't great but I'm glad to say this didn't spoil our stay.

Our first night was eventful as we had noisy, drunken family of ten next to us! but I can't fault the management of the site as they were asked to leave the next morning much to everyones delight.

The showers and toilets were kept nice and clean as much as possible, bearing in mind there was plenty of wet muddy shoes going in and out.

My only criticism is not of the site but of some of the people who stayed there! There were plenty of teenagers who were unsupervised drinking in the games room every night, this put me off taking my younger children in to enjoy the facility as they were loud and often swearing. Where were the parents of these children and who was supplying them with the alcohol? Also there were younger children on the play areas who were unsupervised and often being dangerously boisterous which meant we had to take our five year old out of the situation as we could see him being hurt.

Maybe anyone who reads this review who leave there children to there own devices may want to ask themselves why?

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BoyceFamily 1 review from this member

Although we feel that the other reviews are accurate in terms of the quality of the facilities and helpfulness of staff we do feel the need to warn other holiday makers that the site is enormous and that their marketing literature is really misleading in this respect.

When we arrived on a Monday (obviously a mistake) we couldn't camp in the orchard, we couldn't even camp on the tent field but ended up amongst the caravans. We were really unhappy with this although as the week went on more and more tents ended up in this area and we didn't feel quite so hemmed in. (It does show that they don't have segregated tent/caravan areas, which we much prefer.) We are not unrealistic and understand that August will be busy but we had no idea the site would be this big - it felt that they simply accepted every enquiry, filling the overflow areas also.

In summary: A very busy site but if you don't mind that, the facilities are good. Due to its size it didn't suit us so we would definitely not go back there - also, Dawlish Warren beach was unattractive and stony, not a patch on the North Devon coast.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+j cummins 2 reviews from this member

Hi my wife my self and some friends stayed at this site for a week the men for fishing witch was not bad some good bream carp and roach were landed the ladies got the local bus for days out nearest bus stop 10 min walk .Local pubs not bad but mainly for food

The toilets showers etc were spotless as was the camp

The camp site itself offered good food at fair prices the ale was good and also fairly priced and entertainment most nights the bar staff ground staff in fact all staff seemed to be helpful and the shop was well stocked with your every day needs

Wen we arrived every thing was busy but staff did there best to site us together near the lakes thanks

The weather bad but thats not the owners fault but considering the amount or rain the ground did seem to drain ok

Bonus for us was dawlish carnival great day out

All in all a good stay well worth a visit and we will visit again so thanks to all staff for a good visit

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H_kate 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site in May and had a lovely time. It was reasonably quiet and most of the camping fields were shut. The facilities were really good with plenty of showers and toilets even if the site was full. They were kept really clean and the dry areas in the showers actually stayed dry! Had a good free hairdryer too. There were additional portaloos in the field a bit closer than the shower block although this was no more than 100 metres away!

We didn't visit the shop or the takeaway so can't comment on this. It all looked very professional and well managed though. Only slight moan would be that the entertainment in the pub was quite noisy and went on past 10:30 which did disturb the peace. Only happened on the Saturday night though.

The surrounding area was ok with a nice 30 minute walk down to Dawlish Warren, although this area is a bit tacky with lots of amusement arcades, takeaways etc. A walk out onto the dunes is worth it.

Overall, an excellent well managed and clean site - we'll definitely be back!

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1406