Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

Other reviews sum this site up. We stayed there a couple of years ago. Wouldn't rush back there but it's more to do with the location, other locations in the Lakes better for us.

The site is well-run and well-organised. Pitches very close together, a bit too close for us but not a massive issue. Staff friendly and helpful, keep the site clean. The on-site pub is good; it didn't serve food when we were there, however a good retreat on a night time. Showers and toilets clean, hot water ok. Remember it was more expensive than many sites & couldn't see why, but again not a major issue.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollyjean 16 reviews from this member

A very good site, spotlessly clean toilets and free hot showers. On site bar which was open most nights, small shop and plenty of fridge space, in fact everything most people need on a camp site.
The pitches were large and separated into flat and not so flat. The flat pitch we opted for was well placed for spectacular views but not for the faint hearted if not so mobile as it was a huff and a puff back from the toilets. In the main we BBQ'd but did try a couple of the local eateries. I can't recommend The Brackenrigg Inn, which is the pub about a mile down the road back towards Ullswater, the food is pretentious and overpriced ( 12 for mediocre fish and chips was probably the cheaper of the menu items), a big no no in my book is a restaurant that feels the need to charge extra for veg and bread. I can however recommend The Mill Inn, Mongrisdale which provided a great meal at a fraction of the cost of the former, the lamb pie is recommended and they also had a number of real ales if that is your bag. I would also recommend the Jennings Brewery Tour at Cockermouth @ 5.50 it was great value with the added bonus of a choice of 3 halves of Jennings beer at the end, upside-fabulous beer, downside-had to have a kip when we got back to the tent!
Overall a great location, excellent views, in easy distance to some of the great places to visit in the lakes. Superb!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Headquarters7 4 reviews from this member

Only camped here for one night on our way up to Scotland but can definitely recommend this site. Not only does it have a fantastic viewpoint over the mountains but also a great bar with real fires and bear skins on the walls! yes real bear skins - teeth and all!

We cycled from the campsite to glenridding which was a great ride but have to admit that pushing the bike up the last mile on the way back to the campsite was pretty hard going. You do get great views from the site but it is tough going!

I'd recommend it if you have a sense of adventure and are looking for an out of the way-self-sufficient camp site - it is a long way up from the lake road!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rach6912 2 reviews from this member

We were so excited for this holiday after reading previous reviews

We have 2 children aged 2 and 1 and on arrival found that the toddler play area could only be accessed through the bar which didn't open until 8pm! After questioning this the next day a man did say that if we really wanted to use the area then someone would open it up for us but not really the point as children of this age should have open access throughout the day. The indoor areas for teenagers had open access but a pool table and air hockey were not much use to our two!

Although the ladies shower area was fairly new and clean my husband said that the gents left a lot to be desired. The family bathroom which we used was also a bit grubby.

On the other hand it was a lovely peaceful site with fantastic views

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dougal1999 3 reviews from this member

We have our caravan in storage with them. They will put it on site ready for you to use. Which is good, because it means you don't need a car to tow or have the expense of a static caravan.

The weather was great. Our kids 3, 12, & 13 loved the site. There are 3 baths and plenty of showers, hot water, toilets and washing facilities. Its a great place to chill out. The bar has a separate play area for little ones and a bigger 'play' area for the older ones, which has air hockey etc.

We spent some time in Pooley Bridge. There is a great pub called The Sun Inn. It does great food, has a castle for kids (under 11) to play on. The food is wonderful. We also had a walk down to the water front. It has a small shingle beach, with the usual boat hire. The kids loved fishing in the stream. It was unusual to see sheep so close and running around - no fence between the water front and the sheep.

If you want a break from all of the commercialised places. This is a nice place. We will be a regular customer there!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomwilcox 1 review from this member

What a great site for a family. Our girls 12 and 8 loved the outdoor play area (kept them occupied for hours!). Very friendly staff, always smiling and available. Shower blocks clean with plenty of hot water, 2 family bathrooms as well.
Great pub on site with a play area for the kids including a TV room, dogs allowed, roaring fire and reasonable prices. It does get very busy and you can have a wait for a seat. Pitches are a good size with a 10 amp hookup. We found the water to taste a bit strange but we made do with bottled water.
Location is great, away from the busy part of the lakes but with lots of walks without the crowds.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barry_432 16 reviews from this member

We spent 4 days at the Quiet Site and had a lovely time. We had one of the central pitches -so on a slight slope (learnt two things - firstly sleep with your head higher than your feet (only joking!) & it is really useful to have some small blocks of wood to level the table & cooker. Lovely views over the fells

The site has a mixed economy of caravans, campervans, statics and tents. Everyone we met were really friendly.

The weather was both glorious - hot and sunny and wet and windy during our stay. The facilities are very good. The children made lots of friends in the adventure playground and the games room. The showers were always clean & there was always hot water. Lots of indoor sinks for washing up & a laundry room too. The bar is warm (with a roaring log fire) and friendly. Mick is very friendly and good with the kids.

The shop was small but well stocked with essentials (loaf 1.40). Supermarkets for more substantial supplies are in Penrith (Morrisons and Somerfield etc plus good butchers too.) There were fridges & freezers for us to use which was really useful as EHU was only available for 5 or more nights stay.

I would also recommend the walk to the waterfalls from the site - lovely for kids too.

All in all a lovely site, very friendly and welcoming.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millitent 1 review from this member

Arrived in the rain and booked in at the small well stocked shop. We were given a sheet of walks and a brochure with local info and taken to our pitch. We opted for a flat pitch (20/night) at the top of the park (Top10?) which had alpine like views down the valley. Not full on lake view but very dramatic. All the Top pitches have this wonderful view but are further from the services. The pitches in the middle of the field are on a slight slope but are cheaper.

The services are in converted farm buildings. The showers are hot clean and free. There are 3 bathrooms which are excellent if like you me you enjoy a soak at the end of a hard days walking!

The bar has had a lot written about it already. It was re-roofed this winter (did not look new!) We found it a great place to go in the evening and Mick opened up for us and 2 other couples each evening. The bar toilets deserve a mention as they have been decorated with camping and local papers from the last 200 years and put on 5 minutes to every visit!

There is a separate field for children to play in which is fairly low key, rustic play park, rope swing etc. Another field is used for the sites reed bed and dog walk area.

The walk to the waterfalls from the park is a must do. The food at the George and Dragon in Clifton is amongst the best pub food we have ever had.

All in all a unique campsite that will not appeal to the 'mass' camping market (discos and entertainers) but will appeal to families and couples who come more for the area than the entertainment. A firm favourite with our family.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TraceyJH 7 reviews from this member

Arrived in wet & windy weather. We had chosen a 'flat' pitch and were pleased we had. The non-flat pitches were very much on a hill and you would not have struggles to be able to put up tables etc.
The shower/toilet facilities were good. Plenty of hot water and always clean although it was very quiet whilst we were there, only one other tent and about a half dozen caravans.
The shop was OK but wasn't always open at the said times. We were very disappointed that the bar, for which the site has won awards and is one of the reasons we (and undoubtedly others) chose the site was only open 1 night out of the 3 we were there. There were ourselves and others who wanted to use the bar facility and were unable to do so.
Very good views from the top flat pitches although this means you are furthest away from the facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robsosm867 6 reviews from this member

This site is in a lovely location as the name suggest very quite.

Lovely bar on site with huge log fire which was great when we went as it was very cold at the beginning of may.

The toilets are nice and clean.

Only problem we was we got put on a sloping pitch which caused a problems when you where sleeping as you tended to slip off the airbed with being on a angle.

Also a great pub at the bottom of the road which takes you to the site food was amazing worth the steep walk back up in the dark.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977