Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 214 Reviews
                8/10 from 214 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Debrazebra 2 reviews from this member

As we were only in the lakes for the weekend we opted for the camping pods. These are fantastic as we could leave the tent (and the roof box)at home. The pods are just big enough for two adults and two young children, carpet inside, a small window, french style doors - with lock, and a blind for privacy. The pod could do with a ceiling hook to hang a lamp and maybe 2-3 hooks for coats etc but I would definitely use them again for a short break.

The site itself was one of the best we have stayed in, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the shop had essentials. Bathrooms are a nice touch and the toilets and showers were very clean, hairdryer at 10p a go along with a power point (also 10p) if you must bring your GHDs.

The bar is lovely,and a nice place to go for a nightcap, they also serve hot chocolate with marshmallows and cream which our daughter had as her nightcap. Nice games rooms to keep young and older kids entertained.

We are coming back to the site in August for a week this time in the tent and are really looking forward to it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Primrose22 3 reviews from this member

The facilities at the site are adequate but not fantastic, at 24 per night I expect them to be perfect. What we got were dirty toilets/showers, no toilet paper for 2 days, no hot water in the ladies toilets. There are 3 family bathrooms which aren't ideal for families with young children. We have a toddler and found we had nowhere to lie our toddler down to change his nappy. We paid extra for a flat pitch so that our toddler would not fall over, however the flat pitches are tiered so at the end of our pitch there was a 2 foot drop

We paid 24 a night for a flat pitch with electric hook up, however, when we got there we found electric was not available on the pitch we were on, but as it was a flat pitch it was still 24 per night.

The bar is nice, the playroom is a good idea as had plenty of toys suitable for toddlers and sofa's for the parents to sit on, however, it did need a good clean.

The 'well stocked shop' is the smallest shop I have ever seen, yes they sell a loaf of bread and a bin of beans but that is about it. Dont expect a Tesco Extra!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

Other reviews sum this site up. We stayed there a couple of years ago. Wouldn't rush back there but it's more to do with the location, other locations in the Lakes better for us.

The site is well-run and well-organised. Pitches very close together, a bit too close for us but not a massive issue. Staff friendly and helpful, keep the site clean. The on-site pub is good; it didn't serve food when we were there, however a good retreat on a night time. Showers and toilets clean, hot water ok. Remember it was more expensive than many sites & couldn't see why, but again not a major issue.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollyjean 16 reviews from this member

A very good site, spotlessly clean toilets and free hot showers. On site bar which was open most nights, small shop and plenty of fridge space, in fact everything most people need on a camp site.
The pitches were large and separated into flat and not so flat. The flat pitch we opted for was well placed for spectacular views but not for the faint hearted if not so mobile as it was a huff and a puff back from the toilets. In the main we BBQ'd but did try a couple of the local eateries. I can't recommend The Brackenrigg Inn, which is the pub about a mile down the road back towards Ullswater, the food is pretentious and overpriced ( 12 for mediocre fish and chips was probably the cheaper of the menu items), a big no no in my book is a restaurant that feels the need to charge extra for veg and bread. I can however recommend The Mill Inn, Mongrisdale which provided a great meal at a fraction of the cost of the former, the lamb pie is recommended and they also had a number of real ales if that is your bag. I would also recommend the Jennings Brewery Tour at Cockermouth @ 5.50 it was great value with the added bonus of a choice of 3 halves of Jennings beer at the end, upside-fabulous beer, downside-had to have a kip when we got back to the tent!
Overall a great location, excellent views, in easy distance to some of the great places to visit in the lakes. Superb!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Headquarters7 4 reviews from this member

Only camped here for one night on our way up to Scotland but can definitely recommend this site. Not only does it have a fantastic viewpoint over the mountains but also a great bar with real fires and bear skins on the walls! yes real bear skins - teeth and all!

We cycled from the campsite to glenridding which was a great ride but have to admit that pushing the bike up the last mile on the way back to the campsite was pretty hard going. You do get great views from the site but it is tough going!

I'd recommend it if you have a sense of adventure and are looking for an out of the way-self-sufficient camp site - it is a long way up from the lake road!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rach6912 2 reviews from this member

We were so excited for this holiday after reading previous reviews

We have 2 children aged 2 and 1 and on arrival found that the toddler play area could only be accessed through the bar which didn't open until 8pm! After questioning this the next day a man did say that if we really wanted to use the area then someone would open it up for us but not really the point as children of this age should have open access throughout the day. The indoor areas for teenagers had open access but a pool table and air hockey were not much use to our two!

Although the ladies shower area was fairly new and clean my husband said that the gents left a lot to be desired. The family bathroom which we used was also a bit grubby.

On the other hand it was a lovely peaceful site with fantastic views

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dougal1999 3 reviews from this member

We have our caravan in storage with them. They will put it on site ready for you to use. Which is good, because it means you don't need a car to tow or have the expense of a static caravan.

The weather was great. Our kids 3, 12, & 13 loved the site. There are 3 baths and plenty of showers, hot water, toilets and washing facilities. Its a great place to chill out. The bar has a separate play area for little ones and a bigger 'play' area for the older ones, which has air hockey etc.

We spent some time in Pooley Bridge. There is a great pub called The Sun Inn. It does great food, has a castle for kids (under 11) to play on. The food is wonderful. We also had a walk down to the water front. It has a small shingle beach, with the usual boat hire. The kids loved fishing in the stream. It was unusual to see sheep so close and running around - no fence between the water front and the sheep.

If you want a break from all of the commercialised places. This is a nice place. We will be a regular customer there!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomwilcox 1 review from this member

What a great site for a family. Our girls 12 and 8 loved the outdoor play area (kept them occupied for hours!). Very friendly staff, always smiling and available. Shower blocks clean with plenty of hot water, 2 family bathrooms as well.
Great pub on site with a play area for the kids including a TV room, dogs allowed, roaring fire and reasonable prices. It does get very busy and you can have a wait for a seat. Pitches are a good size with a 10 amp hookup. We found the water to taste a bit strange but we made do with bottled water.
Location is great, away from the busy part of the lakes but with lots of walks without the crowds.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barry_432 16 reviews from this member

We spent 4 days at the Quiet Site and had a lovely time. We had one of the central pitches -so on a slight slope (learnt two things - firstly sleep with your head higher than your feet (only joking!) & it is really useful to have some small blocks of wood to level the table & cooker. Lovely views over the fells

The site has a mixed economy of caravans, campervans, statics and tents. Everyone we met were really friendly.

The weather was both glorious - hot and sunny and wet and windy during our stay. The facilities are very good. The children made lots of friends in the adventure playground and the games room. The showers were always clean & there was always hot water. Lots of indoor sinks for washing up & a laundry room too. The bar is warm (with a roaring log fire) and friendly. Mick is very friendly and good with the kids.

The shop was small but well stocked with essentials (loaf 1.40). Supermarkets for more substantial supplies are in Penrith (Morrisons and Somerfield etc plus good butchers too.) There were fridges & freezers for us to use which was really useful as EHU was only available for 5 or more nights stay.

I would also recommend the walk to the waterfalls from the site - lovely for kids too.

All in all a lovely site, very friendly and welcoming.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millitent 1 review from this member

Arrived in the rain and booked in at the small well stocked shop. We were given a sheet of walks and a brochure with local info and taken to our pitch. We opted for a flat pitch (20/night) at the top of the park (Top10?) which had alpine like views down the valley. Not full on lake view but very dramatic. All the Top pitches have this wonderful view but are further from the services. The pitches in the middle of the field are on a slight slope but are cheaper.

The services are in converted farm buildings. The showers are hot clean and free. There are 3 bathrooms which are excellent if like you me you enjoy a soak at the end of a hard days walking!

The bar has had a lot written about it already. It was re-roofed this winter (did not look new!) We found it a great place to go in the evening and Mick opened up for us and 2 other couples each evening. The bar toilets deserve a mention as they have been decorated with camping and local papers from the last 200 years and put on 5 minutes to every visit!

There is a separate field for children to play in which is fairly low key, rustic play park, rope swing etc. Another field is used for the sites reed bed and dog walk area.

The walk to the waterfalls from the park is a must do. The food at the George and Dragon in Clifton is amongst the best pub food we have ever had.

All in all a unique campsite that will not appeal to the 'mass' camping market (discos and entertainers) but will appeal to families and couples who come more for the area than the entertainment. A firm favourite with our family.

Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1104