Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
                9/10 from 200 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandyLou29 15 reviews from this member

We went to this site on an impulsive last minute getaway and were so glad we did. The site is very pretty and makes a lovely setting with great scenery. The facilities were ample and clean and it was a pretty rainy weekend but we didnít see messy toilet block floors or anything so the wardens were doing a fab job.

We had a friendly reception and were given a choice of pitches. There was a big family tent field and a quieter area along the driveway up through the site. We chose a pitch near the entrance and were very happy with it.

Midges werenít bad despite being pitched under a tree and backing onto a stream and the ground seemed to be well draining. The Camping Pods on site were all occupied and looked fun, as did the Camping Barn. I donít think Iíd have wanted to be pitched in the family field as the tents looked to be all over the place despite the 6m rule and we liked our location.

Nearby is the tiny village of Boot which has a little pub and post office, very quaint. Thereís two pubs within very short walking distance and both are nice.

We took the bikes and tackled the Eskdale Trail which ends in Ravenglass and bypasses the Ravenglass Camping Club site so we went and had a nosey. Seemed nice enough but we were happier with Eskdale. The bike trail was fantastic although if we were to go again I think we would skip the Muncaster Fell, that was a killer.

We passed rivers and stream and some had folk swimming in them and jumping off the bridges, great idea with a picnic etc. We had saddle sore by the time we reached Ravenglass (very novice!) so we decided to catch the little steam train back to the site. Not cheap but itís fun and worth a look.

Thereís nothing in Ravenglass so I guess itís not worth a day trip out on the train so canít recommend that but it is fun. We put the bikes in a special carriage and we sat in the open top section and it was lovely. The station at Eskdale is right by the site and itís a very pretty station with colourful flowers and hanging baskets.

There was no mobile phone signal for us (o2) but there is a payphone on site. We only went for a weekend so had plenty provisions with us but the shop doesnít stock much and you are very remote so best go prepared. We accessed the site via Hardknott Pass which is pretty hair-raising and not for the faint hearted but for the more confident drivers is an experience we wouldnít have wanted to miss.

Itís fab but like I said if youíre a nervous driver or very heavily loaded or if youíre a pulling a trailer I would recommend you find an alternate route. We will definitely return to this site and book a longer stay. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neltek 5 reviews from this member

I have been travelling to Boot, Eskdale for over 20 years helping with Duke of Edinburgh Award.

I love the area.

Boot has a vicarage, steam railway, 2 pubs, and shop plus a working mill. There is a lovely waterfall nearby and walk to Burnmoor tarn and over to Wasdale Head.

Simply excellent.

Great service, nice level pitches. The C&CC insist on 6m gap between pitches.

For my first time we bought an electric hookup and used electric supply on site. Fantastic for light and our fridge.

There is a well stocked shop, ladies and gents toilets and showers and a family room with double showers with optional curtain between, sink, toilet and baby changing unit.

We took our 18 month old son and the family room was lovely.

They have separate dishwashing room with phone inside and laundry facilities.

There are some new camping wooden pods and a camping barn too.

There are two play areas for kids - swings and trampoline - suitable for slightly older children than ours.

The facilities were regularly cleaned and generally this was an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hanno 1 review from this member

Just back from a fantastic and tiring backpacking trip through the lake district.

Me and my wife and our two border collies arrived on foot from Coniston after a long day's walk and had been told by Martyn that bookings for backpackers were not required. Upon arrival, we received what certainly must be one of the most welcoming receptions I've received on a campsite. We were shown to a quiet par of the campsite, across a little stream, which was designated for backpackers. The campsite was filling up rapidly, but we never experienced any noise or intrusions; the site was extremely well maintained and had the best campsite showers we've ever used. The shop was excellent and stocked all necessities, from milk to gas bottles and Jennings!

The Boot Inn next door is very welcoming too, and serves good food and nice drinks.

One final thank you to Martyn and his staff for allowing us to leave our packs in storage, so that we could complete our last day to Wasdale with lighter loads and pick it up by car on the way home.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julia Edwards 3 reviews from this member

Quiet and friendly site, ideal for couples and families

As weíre not a member of the Camping and Caravanning club it was quite expensive at £22 per night but it was well worth the additional fee.

Superb facilities, clean and modern and no additional payment required for showers.

Well stocked shop

Friendly and helpful staff

2 pubs in easy walking distance

Ideal location for walkers

I would definitely return

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adam Peal 1 review from this member

Lovely site in fantastic setting. Probably one of the best toilet blocks around (fairly recently refurbished by the looks of it), laundry room, barbecue area and well stocked shop. Friendly staff and up until the weekend the site was completely peaceful. A couple of decent pubs nearby within easy walking distance that serve good food. Good walking straight from the site but be careful if you get the steam train down to Ravenglass expecting a day out at a quaint seaside town - you may be disappointed ! Nearby Muncaster Castle is well worth a visit though.

Once the site got busy and the tent field was full it got quite noisy and the surrounding valley seems to reflect noise so if you want a quiet break go midweek. If you have kids and don't mind the racket they will probably love it and have plenty of new friends in no time.

If you are towing or a driver of a nervous disposition, do NOT go over Hardknott and Wrynose pass, follow the coast road round and cut inland near Ravenglass. Also makes it slightly long-winded getting to the touristy side of the Lakes (Coniston, Windermere etc) but this is not always a bad thing.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slubber 6 reviews from this member

Fabulous site.

Owners were extremely friendly and welcoming.

Facilities were spotless with little touches that show they have thought about all their campers (little steps in the toilet block so my daughters could get to the taps independently). Family room was a real bonus.

The shop stocked great bacon and delicious bread.

The trampoline was a huge hit as well.

We will absolutely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stewmunn 12 reviews from this member

The Camping and Caravaning Club can take a very good pat on the back for this site. It is set in a very picturesque area on the western side of the Lakes. We visited at the end of May until early June and had a great time. The staff were very helpful, the facilities were kept immaculately and the small shop was well stocked.

Nearby the Eskdale to Ravenglass railway is within 5 minutes walk of the site and there are 2 excellent pubs even closer if you like a refreshment or wish to dine out. We would especially recommend a trip on the train as it takes you through some very nice countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Careyclan 2 reviews from this member

I promised Martin (the owner) that I would write a review as we were so happy with our stay. So much so that we have just booked our return for this summer holiday.

We stayed there in the May half-term and had wonderful weather. One day of rain that didn't really matter as there is a great drying room!

Martin was very welcoming and showed us to our pitch which was next to our friends that had arrived earlier that day. Even though the site was full we never felt cramped and the toilets were always very clean. The showers are superb, and there is also a very handy family room with two showers and a loo and sink. If you have a baby there is the option to borrow a baby bath.

The shop is very well stocked with the essential plus local produce such as meat and bread. The sausages were delicious!

Our girls spent all their pocket money there, there are quite a few toys and nick nacks to keep them happy, also a great aternative to sweeties :-) Plus the play area is fab. We barely saw the girls!

There is a fantastic pub called The Boot Inn just a mere 5min walk that has a great play area, lovely outdoors seating and the food is also excellent. The Boot pie is delish!

Walks galore, several starting from or near the campsite which provided us with a handy map and also the more strenuous ones for the serious hickers. There is also a great beach within 40 mins drive that offers great dune walks and, on a hot day, an iddilyc spot for a bit of fun in the sun. No facillities but if you bring a picnic you are set for the day.

I thoroughly recommend this campsite, it is not often that we return to the same spot, especially on the same year, however Eskdale is worth every hour spent in the car!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Webbi 1 review from this member

Just got back from our first visit to Eskdale and can't wait to go back.

As other reviews have said, the toilets & showers were first class and spotless all the time.

We never had any problems with queues even though the site seemed full and the family shower / toilet room was really useful too.

All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful even to the point of opening up the shop when it was shut so we could get some food for a bbq (and a bbq as well!).

Although it is a great spot for serious walkers, which we aren't, we found it a perfect place to get away from it all and the scenery and tranquillity were just what we were looking for and our little girl loved the trampoline and small playground too.

The 11:00pm - 7:00am noise curfew was in full effect but even though the site was very busy it did not seem to need any visible enforcing.

The Dalegarth-Ravenglass railway is worth a look for an afternoon (if a little pricey) although there isn't much to do in Ravenglass.

The Boot Inn was great - very child friendly with a playground in the garden and the food was really good too.

Very difficult to criticise any aspect and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wellout 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on saturday lunchtime after a near 6 hour drive from hampshire. Very easy to find even though so remote. First impressions were good as it was the last day of the school hols and the site was very busy yet not in an off putting way. The staff here are very friendly and helpful.
We were shown several possible pitches and given a choice.We chose a pitch by the little stream that bubbles through the site and offered some shade. Electric hookup was out of reach of my lead but I was loaned an extension by the site staff for a small returnable deposit.
The showers and toilet facilities are superb and modern and there is a very well stocked shop on site too. Don't expect your mobile to work here as you are surrounded by granite mountains, but I thought this a good thing myself.
Several excellent pubs within easy walking distance, 5 mins to around 15 mins. I would return hear again and again as it is such a stunning place.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055