Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 179 Reviews
              8/10 from 179 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickcb 10 reviews from this member

I cannot add anything to what has already been said, and all of it good.

The reason I chose this site,apart from the great write-ups was that I was born in Holt and lived in High Kelling as a child and this was a return visit after 45 years away. Imagine you owned a field in North Norfolk with all the facilities you need as a camper / caravanner, that was the impression I had.

Richard and his family exceptionally friendly and the sale of eggs and wonderful 'Norfolk Pink' potatoes sold at what appeared to me to be below cost price, really made it a worth while visit.

Don't be put off by the non existent entry sign and the impression that you are entering 'Cold Comfort Farm' The toilet block should be finished shortly, read other reviews.

One last comment. I visited out of season,which was perfect for a couple and two dogs. Maybe in high season things could be a little bit hectic. One other thing,there are no shops close by, by that I mean walking distance but Holt by car about 12 minutes 'The Oxford / Regent Street of Norfolk' All in all ten out of ten

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy ellis 5 reviews from this member

What a simply wonderful back to basics site! As has been said in other reviews the facilities are basic, but clean. Dont go here if you want a shower block that would not be out of place in a hotel. Its concrete floors and breeze block walls so flip flops are a must. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and even fixed the shower in the disabled loo for us with no fuss. Oh and the disabled facilities are great, just the usual problem of the mirror being too high for a wheelchair user.

The pitches are a little uneven, and when we went the ground was like concrete! Even had trouble getting delta pegs in! Also beware the site is a little exposed and once the wind got up I was grateful for having delta pegs! It was lovely though sitting out with a little fire (?4 for a bag of logs), egg butty (1 for 6 eggs) and a cold beer watching the sunset!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Maryiris 4 reviews from this member

Our second visit here this year. Rang up on the Wednesday afternoon (mid august) and told it was fine to turn up. Arrived after dark and welcomed by Richard the owner, who said it was fine to pay in the morning. This is an easy-going site with acres of space- you park as and where you like- its generally flat so no need for chocks. Big, spacious shower and toilet block with bottomless hot water. Showers 50p- buy your tokens before 8pm from the farm house. Never encountered a queue even at this busy time of year. Good pedalling country- its flat and there's lots of quiet lanes. Good swimming at weybourne beach about 2 miles away (all downhill to get there on a bike) Site has a lovely atmosphere with kids running around playing etc. Lots of family groups.Everyone abided by the quiet between 11pm and 7am rule.

Will definitely visit again. Its one of those places where you can decide to go at the drop of a hat if the forecast is good

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Buttercupwafflepant 3 reviews from this member

We had a great time staying on this site with our 3 young children. It appeared to be a site that attracted a mixture of types of campers including young groups, couples and families.

On arrival at the farm we were given an information sheet and were told we could pick where we wanted to pitch as long as not in the caravan/eh area. All the pitches are within one huge field and although it was busy when we visited and the field edge/hedgeside pitches were taken we were still able to find a pitch with lots of space in the centre of the field.

It was extremely windy so make sure your tent is well pegged!

A major plus for us was the option to have an open campfire. Wood was available to purchase by the bag from the farmhouse.

The washing facilities were good. There were lots of toilets and plenty of washing up sinks. The showers used tokens- and although I would have preferred just to have this added to the pitch cost to avoid hassle they were not too busy.

Plenty of hot water at all times and always toilet roll in the cubicles.

There are lots of great places to visit nearby and we ran out of time to see everything.

The Poppyline railway is nearby-believe walking distance from the site and there are beaches within a short distance.

The farmhouse also sold eggs and potatoes from the farm and marshmallows for cooking on the campfire.

Overall a great site - laid back and totally relaxing. You can't beat sitting under the stars next to a fire!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: U400jb9 11 reviews from this member

We went to this site on the spur of the moment, having seen some photos on UKCS.

When we arrived on the Saturday afternoon the site looked like a festival field, it was quite busy. However, after a few minutes driving around we realised that there was a lot of space, just further away from the facilities.

There is a designated campfire field here, but the owner said that they had decided to let people have fires anywhere, which stopped the `Wood Field` becoming packed.

It is essentially a huge field on a slight slope. The facilities are all new, and have the air of incompleteness about them, but they were always clean, if dusty. The showers are token operated. Over the weekend several became jammed, but the owners were trying to repair the quickly. When the site is full.Five washing up sinks are just not enough.

Come Sunday night the site emptied out considerably.

There are no pitch size restrictions, which some people take advantage of to the extreme.

The surrounding area of Norfolk is lovely, the beaches are great.

We will be returning to this site soon

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

Strange why we chose this site but it was the first one looked at on UK campsite and it ticked all the right boxes. Our family of four and our camping friends Neil and Tracey with their dog Buster. It was our annual camping holiday and we had decided on Norfolk. Had a fantastic week and the weather was great whilst the rest of the country was suffering. Main reason for choosing the site was we could have a campfire and we like to take the brazier. They do provide fire baskets and you can buy logs. Vast area for camping and we chose the lower field away from the facilities near the wood. The facilities are new and there about 20 toilets and four showers which you use tokens bought from the farm for 50p. Built very basic breeze block in a large barn construction not painted nor tiled and concrete floor. No soap or hand drying facilities which was concerning with the swine flu. Plug sockets for hair dryers or charging mobiles etc. Freezers for ice blocks and none went missing despite previous reviews. Information board and leaflets with daily weather forecast printed. Farm sells jams sweets eggs and potatoes. Fantastic value 16 a night for four of us.

The campsite backs onto Kelling Heath caravan and camping park and you can walk through the woods for a drink at the bar or watch and listen to the entertainment.

Ideally situated for the Norfolk coast. Nearest beach is Weybourne which is pebbles. Best beaches are Wells on the sea and Holkham both sandy although quite a walk to the sea, about 45 mins in the car. Wells and Blackney quay great for crabbing. Coastal path superb for walking. Sheringham is walkable from the campsite and a lovely seaside resort offering all you need. A must to try is the crab sandwiches. We also went on the Steam train Poppy line, caught the train from Weybourne went to Holt. Station is half an hour walk from town. Bus runs in line with train times. We then caught the train and went into Sheringham. Fish and chip lunch on the front and an afternoon wandering aroud before we caught the train back to Weybourne 20 min walk to campsite. Family of four for the day 35 with a 5 token to be spent in station shops.

Two pubs in walkable distance from campsite only went to the Ship at Weybourne. Took about 30 mins to walk careful it is uphill on the way back. Ran out of time to do a day trip on the Broads. Will have to visit Norfolk another time!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happyclap 8 reviews from this member

Overall a good site, we will return. Nice to be able to choose your own pitch and avoid the regimented sardine style parks that are too common these days. Shower/toilet facilities are new and functional, 50p tokens for shower, unpainted and breeze block walls/concrete floors - could do with finishing. Great touch being able to have campfires and super walks in the forest nearby. Lots of groups the weekend we were there so a little noisy but hey it's only people enjoying themselves - and it seemed to be well observed by a the site managers.

We really enjoyed our stay and if you are looking for something a little more rustic give it a go - avoid the CL pitches next to the chickens.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdashmore333 11 reviews from this member

Just arrived home after a lovely 5 days here, we were in a party of eight in 3 tents.

The field is basically an enormous clearing in the forest.

Plenty of space, just pick your spot and pitch, the only time we saw the owners was when we visited the farmhouse for supplies.

Hours of fun exploring the woodland around the site and days of enjoyment in the surroundind villages and tourist attractions.

Fires are allowed.

I have never seen so many stars by night!

Great Yarmouth/Norfolk broads about 35 miles away.

Cromer (lovely local seaside village) 6 miles away.

Toilets and showers 5 minute walk from tent (our choice, there was plenty of space closer but I preferred the woodlands to the toilets).

I had read reviews about the toilet blocks and here is mine- a brand new purpose built toilet and shower block with plenty of hot water and toilet rolls, basic but clean, 50p for showers.

An absolute peach of a site with lots to keep all ages occupied for a week or two,

We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Essexhebridean 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at Breck Farm for one night and even though it was clearly a very busy time we didn't feel at all cramped. The area for tents is a massive field - you just pitch where you want once you're on the field which means you can choose whether you want to be in the shelter of the trees or more out in the open. Site quiet time is supposed to be from 9.30pm onwards and while the majority of people seemed happy to respect that there were a few who just continued shouting and shrieking regardless. Didn't worry us too much but I felt sorry for the mum with two small kiddies next to us! In dry weather a mallet is an essential item here - we'd forgotten ours and had to borrow one!

The main toilet/shower block is in a purpose built block at the top of the field - quite a walk up but not too much of a problem and a lot of people ride their bikes up. There were plenty of toilet cubicles in the ladies at least, and they were clean enough if fairly basic. Ideally it could do with a few more sinks as there were short queues for these in the morning. My husband tells me that there were queues in the gents as well, but in fairness it was a busy weekend.

The site allows campfires and bags of wood are available at the farm shop. Once night falls the fires add a really nice atmosphere, but bear in mind if you're at all sensitive to smoke (asthmatic etc) you would do well to check the wind direction when choosing your pitch.

We loved this site and are already planning a return trip!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ahappytraveller42 1 review from this member

We booked to stay here as other nearby sites were cliff top and too windy or cliff top and crumbling cliffs, so this site looked ok. I had checked out the reviews before going. We did move the tent so we were almost on the camp-fire line, but too be honest gathering around a wood fire in the wind and wearing coats and hats doesn't really appeal to me. The weather was cold, windy and rainy for a lot of our holiday which detracted from the enjoyment.

The site was huge and the facilities are up at the top of the field, so you could have a very long walk in the morning. There were lots of loos for the ladies - I never had to queue. Showers are untiled so you definitely needed fipflops or cloggs, and you needed a token for 50p but the owners didn't always have enough tokens to give out, a couple of times this happened to us and 2 a night spent on showers is quite a bit of money spent over 2 weeks too.

Unfortunately there weren't many hand washing sinks: only five and 4 showers for the ladies too on a campsite that could easily take 300-400 tents, no soap was provided, more worrying was that the electrical sockets for hairdryers were right about the handwash sinks! Often we had to queue for those sinks - more would be handy

Also the washup sinks had no draining area, so the worktops were always dripping, often over you!

My 9 year old was happy on the site, he joined up with some other children and were always to be found in the woods on their bikes having fun.

The site was very large, with no marked pitches so you could spread out as much as you wanted. It did look really nice in the evening seeing the smoke spiral up from the fires, however the site was very open to the elements and there was no shade at all.

Unfortunately although the grass wasn't long it did have lots and lots of clover growing in the grass. The clover was flowering and attracting lots of bees, - it wasn't long before I got stung and ended up in Cromer MIAMI unit, so unfortunately for us that is a good reason for not going back.

I think with some more facilities elsewhere in the field and some alterations, the facilities and site would be much better: needed is better washing up facilities and lots of them and better arrangements of sinks in loo areas, people need a separate area of mirrors for makeup, hair drying etc with plug sockets too, that are not near to water.

Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508