Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 171 Reviews
              8/10 from 171 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Essexhebridean 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at Breck Farm for one night and even though it was clearly a very busy time we didn't feel at all cramped. The area for tents is a massive field - you just pitch where you want once you're on the field which means you can choose whether you want to be in the shelter of the trees or more out in the open. Site quiet time is supposed to be from 9.30pm onwards and while the majority of people seemed happy to respect that there were a few who just continued shouting and shrieking regardless. Didn't worry us too much but I felt sorry for the mum with two small kiddies next to us! In dry weather a mallet is an essential item here - we'd forgotten ours and had to borrow one!

The main toilet/shower block is in a purpose built block at the top of the field - quite a walk up but not too much of a problem and a lot of people ride their bikes up. There were plenty of toilet cubicles in the ladies at least, and they were clean enough if fairly basic. Ideally it could do with a few more sinks as there were short queues for these in the morning. My husband tells me that there were queues in the gents as well, but in fairness it was a busy weekend.

The site allows campfires and bags of wood are available at the farm shop. Once night falls the fires add a really nice atmosphere, but bear in mind if you're at all sensitive to smoke (asthmatic etc) you would do well to check the wind direction when choosing your pitch.

We loved this site and are already planning a return trip!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ahappytraveller42 1 review from this member

We booked to stay here as other nearby sites were cliff top and too windy or cliff top and crumbling cliffs, so this site looked ok. I had checked out the reviews before going. We did move the tent so we were almost on the camp-fire line, but too be honest gathering around a wood fire in the wind and wearing coats and hats doesn't really appeal to me. The weather was cold, windy and rainy for a lot of our holiday which detracted from the enjoyment.

The site was huge and the facilities are up at the top of the field, so you could have a very long walk in the morning. There were lots of loos for the ladies - I never had to queue. Showers are untiled so you definitely needed fipflops or cloggs, and you needed a token for 50p but the owners didn't always have enough tokens to give out, a couple of times this happened to us and 2 a night spent on showers is quite a bit of money spent over 2 weeks too.

Unfortunately there weren't many hand washing sinks: only five and 4 showers for the ladies too on a campsite that could easily take 300-400 tents, no soap was provided, more worrying was that the electrical sockets for hairdryers were right about the handwash sinks! Often we had to queue for those sinks - more would be handy

Also the washup sinks had no draining area, so the worktops were always dripping, often over you!

My 9 year old was happy on the site, he joined up with some other children and were always to be found in the woods on their bikes having fun.

The site was very large, with no marked pitches so you could spread out as much as you wanted. It did look really nice in the evening seeing the smoke spiral up from the fires, however the site was very open to the elements and there was no shade at all.

Unfortunately although the grass wasn't long it did have lots and lots of clover growing in the grass. The clover was flowering and attracting lots of bees, - it wasn't long before I got stung and ended up in Cromer MIAMI unit, so unfortunately for us that is a good reason for not going back.

I think with some more facilities elsewhere in the field and some alterations, the facilities and site would be much better: needed is better washing up facilities and lots of them and better arrangements of sinks in loo areas, people need a separate area of mirrors for makeup, hair drying etc with plug sockets too, that are not near to water.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Onechop 1 review from this member

This site is very laid back. Large field with no marked out pitches, which is great, especially for those with large tents.

The new toilet block is in dire need of finishing. The breeze block design feels unclean, as does the poor draining concrete floor. Hurry up with the tiles etc. Sometimes there was a very unpleasant smell of effluent, so wouldn't advise pitching too near the loo block.

We had a nice stay until the last night when a group with huge unruly dogs pitched up beside us. Dogs barked and did their business beside their owners caravan. Big group of loud teachers talking loudly until 4.30am. Site could manage this type of carry on better.

But don't be put off. If you can don't mind basic facilities, this is a very nice site. Nice location near Holt and beaches of north coast.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theclarkclan 1 review from this member

This was our second years visit to the site and we'll be back again next year for more!

Being relatively new to camping (4 years) and having visited several other campsites and never been totally happy with the style, attitude and social aspects of the sites, we do at last feel that with Breck Farm we've found perfection.

We arrived to a relatively empty site and set up our tents in the campfire field. There was plenty of room and we were quite a distance from the next tents. There are no pitches marked out, you can set up wherever you want over a vast area. The electric hookup area is a lot more cramped and is much smaller than the campfire area.

We were really pleased to see that the new toilet block had been completed and at no stage during our ten day stay did it ever seem too busy. Plenty of womens loos, wash basins etc. (according to the boys, the same can be said for their side.) A single token worked well for us, but we always took 2 just in case. Don't put the token in until you are undressed and ready to go!

What was really great was the notice boards and information available. (Weather forecast updated daily and mostly accurate within a couple of hours.) The information about the farm itself was also really great to read.

There is also a washing up room with several sinks. We didn't use this facility but no one seemed to be queueing up to use them, so they must have been adequate.

We were also there when the Scripture Union mission was and that actually worked very well for us. Our daughter went along to a couple of the sessions and had a really great time. (hopefully next year we'll be there for longer when that's there. For those not into 'that sort of thing' you wouldn't even be aware of it as it's located away from the main site.

The setting is stunning. Beautiful managed woodland frames the campfields and the children all join together playing and having a great time in them. There are also walks through the woods and maps are available in the tiolet block. (now why didn't we take one when we went walking and managed to get lost!)

The people who run the site are really great. Very friendly and always there to help out, answer queries etc. It was very reasuring to see that each evening a friendly guy in a van drove round the site to check that all was in order. We had fun waving to him each night!

Being able to have a campfire is fantastic and there are sensible rules regarding it. You need a ring (just check out where the other people have camped before. They are just lying around.)

You are also not allowed to take wood from the forest.

The farm sells wood, firelighters and marshmallows at very competitive prices.

As other reveiws have pointed out, Saturday's are busy times and we did have a group of about 30 people set up near to us. They were young and having fun. The rain put stop to that though and so I don't think we saw the worst! They'd gone (as had all the other weekenders) by sunday night.

We explored the coastal area both up and down:

Cromer: small town (with cinema -great for hiding from the rain!) We used the Morrisons store here for our main shopping. They do the hot raost chickens and other meats which was useful for the days when we felt that cooking was too much effort.

There is also an argos and halfords (for emergencies)

Beaches: Sherringham, cromer, overstrand, Mundesley (life guards for body boarding, surfing etc)

Crabbing: Blakeney

Fishing: Weybourne and Salthouse (great fish and chip shop) both stoney beaches but we saw seals on a couple of occassions.

We also visited Norwich and had a nice day out exploring.

There's really so much to do and Breck Farm is the perfect base for exploting it all. So if good honest camping in a perfect setting is what you are after then this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 30 reviews from this member

We went with some friends who said it was a good site. I must admit I was wary but boy was I wrong. A great site so big noone gets on top of anyone else. What a joy to have a campfire.

I agree about the 1 block only and showering in what was essentially a breeze block room on bare concrete floor didn't turn me on but then I found the tile showers in the courtyard.

Only thing was if you went to the loo whilst the sinks hadhot water there was no where to dry your hands why not one fan blower?

Liked the site and would go again

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dewes134 5 reviews from this member

This is just the most beautiful site surrounded by trees and heathland set in the fields surrounding a working farm in the best of the Norfolk countryside, there is a huge new toilet block with hot showers at only 50p a time,washing up sinks with free hot water and free hot water to the wash basins.There is also disabled wet room.The farm sells wood for doing camp fires at a very reasonable price and they even lend out metal fire bases made from ends of used fifty gallon oil drums that they cut open with acetylene torch.There is eggs, potatoes,and other farm produce.

There is well spaced out electric hookups at the top end of the site near the farm house and toilet block. It is quite hard to find drinking water taps, but there are two in the field. There is not a play area for the children, there is some mud but the sandy ground drains very well so any mud is short lived. We went when the scripture union were doing a mission, with activities and trips for the children, much to the delight of my children, better than any entertainment the big sites have to offer.

It is nice to go to a site that allows you to have a real camp fire and they even sent a man around in a van with a flashing light on top to check for fire safety in the evening. There is some very good wild life to be seen at this location on the edge of the forest. The children loved to see the animals that inhabit the farm.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robhoworth 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Breck farm for the first time this year. It is a pretty basic site in terms of amenities - shower/toilet block is just built from blocks but all perfectly functional and didn't have to queue once - had to queue to wash pots but that is never an emergency type situation. There are no specific pitches but this nice - the actual site is massive and there is plenty of space to choose from. It got quite busy over the weekend but that's life I guess. Beyond the weekend it was lovely and quiet - no worries with the kids getting squashed by cars whatsover. There is no playground for children but the site is surrounded by a beautiful forest - our son disappeared as soon as we got there and was climbing trees with new friends before we even got the tent up. Campfires are permitted which is lovely - had some beautiful evenings sat outside the tent toasting marshmallows and watching wood smoke drift over the site from other campers. Showers require a 50pence token - seems to be enough for a chap but two tokens are required to wash conditioner out and so on (ladies). Toilets also have loo roll. Our dog had a whale of a time in the woods as well. No real downsides unless you're into luxury camping (an oxymoron if ever there was). We had a fab time - lovely campsite and lovely area. Would definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JohnSw 3 reviews from this member

The toilets and showers were 'not finished', which meant bare concrete floor and breeze block walls throughout, including the showers, so flip-flops were essential. The showers do not have anywhere to put clothing, so it all gets hung on a door hook and you have to do a balancing act on those flip-flops to put your clothes back on. The shower tokens didn't work reliably, so after taking clothes off or after the first token expires and you still need to wash the soap out of your eyes, we found the tokens didn't work. This happened more than once.

Basic portaloos were shipped in and distributed across the site during our stay, but these made little difference. You cant get to a free basin to wash your hands after going to the toilet, the hot water ran out before 8.30 several days running and from 7.30 onwards you can expect to queue for the showers, basins and washing-up.

Now we like a bit of a drink and chat till late into the night but we are considerate of those around us - unfortunately this was not a consideration of a large number of others with loud swearing and shouting in the early hours of the morning.

In the interests of a balanced review I would say that the ground appears to drain well. There is a wooded area running alongside the site that the kids can play in and cycle around. Open fires are allowed but some had these questionably close to tents in windy conditions. The fires also generate a lot of smoke which some in our party found uncomfortable.

The site owners are very laid back, which is either a good thing or a bad thing depending on your view point. You can pitch anywhere, there are no pitch markings.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theknocks 2 reviews from this member

We went to Breck Farm first in 2007 and was completely surprised to what we found - A lovely little campsite with so much charm and character!

This campsite is a little gem, situated on a working farm not too far from Sheringham.

It is surrounded by some fantastic woodland in where there are some great walks to be had. This is one of the few campsites we could find that allowed camp fires and sell wood for the camp fires very cheaply up at the farm house, where you can also purchase other provisions.

The owners here are very friendly and always willing to hep you. The field is large enough that you are never close to anyone, even on the busiest of weekends. We just can't wait to go back here and hope to visit here sometime soon!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonipa 1 review from this member

We really liked this site as it's so peaceful. The smell of the chickens is only noticeable near the farm. The site is big so you can find a spot without neighbours, as long as you don't mind being long walk from the 1 toilet block. The shower timer was long enough for me but my girlfriend was left with hair full of shampoo the 1st time of use! So if in doubt, it's probably best to take 2 tokens with you on the 1st try. The path to Weybourne the steam train station was overgrown with oilseed rape but we discovered you could walk along the path put in for the coastal windfarm cable.

Previous     171 Review in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0798