Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 191 Reviews
              8/10 from 191 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monkeysarecool 1 review from this member

The rumours are true, this site is fantastic!

Breck Farm is a working site which produces delicious pink potatoes and free-range eggs.

We reported in to the farmhouse upon arrival and were greeted in a very friendly manner by the owners and their family. While there we bought some firewood, marshmellows, eggs and potatoes.

We were told to pitch wherever we liked so we set up camp next to the cow field which was separated off with an electric fence. This posed no danger to us or the animals, but we had lots of fun feeding them grass and saying hello!

The space available to us on the first night was so liberating, you wouldn't have guessed it was the school holidays!

We had a traditional open fire, and regular car patrols kept us feeling relaxed and safe.

In the morning we awoke to a cow mooing, the gorgeous sound of birds tweeting from the forest and a rooster wake-up-call.

We had purposely pitched away from the toilet / shower blocks, so the morning shower run was quite a self-inflicted trek!

Showers cost 50p per token. I found that I needed 2, and you get them from the farmhouse which runs an honesty box system.

1 per shower sounds a little expensive, but at 14 per night for 2 of us we weren't complaining! The blocks were new and of a good general standard. There were even power points located near the mirrors so that you could plug in your hairdryer / straighteners. There weren't enough power points / sinks / mirrors, so I think this is something that could be addressed by the owners? Apart from that everything was fine. There were even indoor and outdoor pot-washing points.

When out and about, there is plenty to explore around the campsite and Norfolk itself. The nearest supermarket is Morrisons in Cromer and there are loads of little towns and villages to browse. Cromer is a lovely seaside resort and the locals are so friendly. There is also a little cafe near the campsite and plenty of local pubs. Holkham Beach is within driving distance and boasts one of the largest, most beautiful sandy beaches I've seen in my life!

On the next night we were disappointed to find that despite the pitch-where-you-like system, a couple of campers had set up camp within touching distance of our tent! There was no need for this as there was plenty of space, so I was surprised that the wardens just left them to it.

However, the night was still beautiful and we could see the entire horoscope in the sky. Shooting stars were everywhere, and we really felt as if we'd rediscovered nature.

It's easy to see why this campsite is so recommended by my family as it is cost-effective and just beautiful.

Breck Farm is a wonderful place. After 2 nights, we felt as if we'd been away for 2 weeks. This is easily the best campsite I'd ever been to, and the location is beyond perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mick-n-dot 5 reviews from this member

What a great site for our 5 day family get away. Real campfires, fresh eggs and lots of walks for us and the family dogs.We took a large 4 bedroom tent as there was 5 adults, 3 children under six and 2 dogs.

We had plenty of space to also erect a 4x4 gazebo and park 2 cars.The shower block had plenty of loo's, showers and washing up sinks. We did run out of hot water on one day but the rest of the time there was plenty of it.

The owners were very nice and were open to letting us leave later so our tent could dry out after an early morning downpour. Easy walk to the steam train station where you can get a train to Holt or Sherringham.

If you have a dog and are thinking of visiting the Muckleburgh collection a 5 deposit (refundable on return of the padlock) will get you the hire of a kennel under the trees so you can walk around on a hot day without worrying about your dog, you can walk around with them if you wish. Great time.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kanga2 1 review from this member

We originally visited keen to have a campfire, however we liked a spot in the 'fire free' field backing onto the woods and nearer the facilities, so this is where we stayed for our two nights.

We liked the large barn type structure for the wash basins, showers and numerous toilets (we didn't queue once and visited during 1/2 term). Facilities were clean.

Although the site appeared busy at first glance there were lots of spaces for groups/individual units on the unmarked fields. The site was very quiet for it's size with a great mix of people and children - no groups of noisy, left to their own devices children riding roughshod around your tent (and I say this as a mother of two myself).

Great for the dog, lovely walks from the tent. Good for visiting other areas. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We thought it was great and will be coming back, two days was not long enough.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: U400jb9 11 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Breck Farm and it is still as lovely as ever. There is so much do do in the surrounding area.

This time we took our 6 month old puppy along and I have to say having the surrounding woodland is a great place to puppy walk. The rules state dogs on leads at all times, but there were several dogs running free on the site.

There is no specific place for you to dispose of dog mess which is a shame.

We didn`t have a EHU but they seem to be quite crowded and the tents that were in between the caravans seemed a bit overshadowed.

The facilities were new last year, they have been expanded again, and painted this time too. Generally very clean and no real queues until the Saturday morning.

There was a few groups who ignored the noise curfew, two of which appeared to have been asked to leave early the next morning.

Eggs from the farmhouse were delicious.

West Runton Beach is a favourite with us, the kids spend many hours rockpooling, with some careful supervision from the puppy!

We will go again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmmmcupcake 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the half term. First time camping in years and this was a real back to basic camp site. We loved it! It has a real relaxed feel to it with fresh eggs and a friendly atmosphere. Facilities are basic but as long as you can wash and go then not sure what else you need.

The kids loved it and we are going back.

The fire's are a big bonus as it got chilly at night

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FW96 3 reviews from this member

Well we have just returned from our fourth trip to Breck Farm - the first this year, and I'm pleased to say it is as good as ever.

The facilities block has been expanded again, with the welcome addition of some outdoor washing up sinks to supplement the indoor ones, and what looks to be extra toilets/showers, although they were cordoned off - maybe for use when the site is very busy. The welcome was as friendly as ever, and it was lovely to toast marshmallows round the campfire again.

I would have to say though, that you are very much at the mercy of the other campers, as the owners are pretty laid back. We had a most unpleasant run in last year with a large group that - in addition to being very noisy late into the night - also insisted on buzzing round the site on those annoying little mini motorbikes. I would agree with a previous reviewer who suggests that those looking for a peaceful site may be best off avoiding this site at very busy times, but for a relaxing weekend in June it is most definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derang 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from Breck Farm and can only advise that this is not the site to visit on Bank Holidays.

The first day of our stay was fine with plenty of room to pitch and the shower/toilet facilities kept very clean.

Regrettably there would appear to be no maximum quantity of tents / caravan this site will allow and consequently fields kept being opened with more & more people arriving. This drastically altered the whole feel of the site & totally overstretched the facilities until there were long queues for the showers which eventually ceased to work at all & also a loss of hot water for the washing up area.

Additionally frustrating was that even though it was known that the showers were not working no notice was put up so numerous people were still putting there 50p tokens in and losing their money.

Another annoyance was that camp fires were allowed in certain fields which I can understand is very appealing but for those without the fires who are in the direct line of the smoke it can be very frustrating.

We have been camping for many years and this has been our worse experience yet which was due totally to the site not restricting its numbers to suit the facilities available.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vbailey 3 reviews from this member

Our second trip to Breck Farm. We arrived on the Sunday before the Bank holiday and it was very busy however we still managed to find a fabulous area to pitch on the edge the bottom field next to the woods.

Our main reason for visiting here is the ability to have a camp fire. On arrival we were told to pitch wherever we wanted, which we think is lovely. Despite being busy the campsite was very quiet after dark, us being the last to bed at about 11pm I think!

The toilets / showers are a bit of a trek from the bottom field and there were queues on the Monday morning. The hot water appeared to have run out by 11am which was a little disappointing. This was only on the Monday when they were very busy and lots of people were leaving early.

There are 3 freezers for ice blocks and an information board, where the owners display the local weather daily as well as local walks, pubs, beaches etc. The farm sells Wood, Eggs, Potatoes, marshmallows and books!

The owners are lovely, very friendly, helpful and always available. There were even some of the farmers children coming around every morning collecting rubbish! Every evening someone would drive around in his van checking all was Ok and stopping for a chat!

The local area is brilliant, There are some lovely walks and cycle rides. It about a mile to the village and to the railway station for the North Norfolk Steam train. Half and hour through the woods to Kelling Heath Holiday park. (we told they have entertainment & a pool!)

Cromer & Sheringham are both lovely seaside towns, West Runton has a great beach for rock pools.

All in all we love this site, however the facilities are basic. EHU is available but not where you can have a fire.

We cant wait to return. (But not on a bank holiday again!)

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cherylhiggins76 2 reviews from this member

We arrived on a Saturday lunchtime having been advised on the phone by the owners that there was no need to book and they were right! It was very busy and seemingly full of tents but somehow the space was endless! We picked our spot and plotted up with room for our friends who were arriving shortly after us. I loved the feel of pitching where you like and the open space and the general feel of the campsite.

The facilities could be a little walk from your tent depending on where you decided to pitch but we were far enough without being too far! It was a very large barn construction with lots of loos and and wash basins a few showers for each sex, reasonably clan most of the time. (There were also further loos and showers near to the farm house.) In the amenities block there was also freezer to put your ice packs in and a washing up area wit several sinks.

My favourite thing about this site was that we could have open fires! it just made the biggest difference to those often chilly evenings when camping and seeing the little orange glows all around the fields was gorgeous!

We will definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerninja 7 reviews from this member

Initially I thought I may have made a mistake but on closer inspection and over time this site grew on us. We did however notice that an electric fence had been erected and was on without any warning signs.

This site is still under a certain amount of construction and when we were there a tree wall was being planted and some showers were closed off.

The kids loved the open fires and at night all you can hear is giggling from the tent field.

This site is well worth a visit.

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth 48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

8127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016