Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 183 Reviews
              8/10 from 183 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  183 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cherylhiggins76 2 reviews from this member

We arrived on a Saturday lunchtime having been advised on the phone by the owners that there was no need to book and they were right! It was very busy and seemingly full of tents but somehow the space was endless! We picked our spot and plotted up with room for our friends who were arriving shortly after us. I loved the feel of pitching where you like and the open space and the general feel of the campsite.

The facilities could be a little walk from your tent depending on where you decided to pitch but we were far enough without being too far! It was a very large barn construction with lots of loos and and wash basins a few showers for each sex, reasonably clan most of the time. (There were also further loos and showers near to the farm house.) In the amenities block there was also freezer to put your ice packs in and a washing up area wit several sinks.

My favourite thing about this site was that we could have open fires! it just made the biggest difference to those often chilly evenings when camping and seeing the little orange glows all around the fields was gorgeous!

We will definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerninja 7 reviews from this member

Initially I thought I may have made a mistake but on closer inspection and over time this site grew on us. We did however notice that an electric fence had been erected and was on without any warning signs.

This site is still under a certain amount of construction and when we were there a tree wall was being planted and some showers were closed off.

The kids loved the open fires and at night all you can hear is giggling from the tent field.

This site is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ratter Camper 12 reviews from this member

This is the first time we visited Breck Farm because we like to camp at a site where campfires are allowed.

Positive:

This is a delightful campsite with plenty of space.

The shower block is completed and water is hot. Also there are plenty of toilets so never have to queue and they are all very clean at all times.

It is surrounded by nature and woodland, definitely make you relax the moment you step into the campsite.

Negative:

Unfortunately when we were there, 2 out of 4 showers in the ladies were broken. The owners called up the plumber to fix ASAP.

Overall, this is a campsite with all the facilities you need and the space / nature you seek. Remember, they allow campfires too!

If you having a last minute urge for camping and worry whether there will be space available in any of the campsites in North Norfolk, Do contact Breck Farm because they indeed have a very large field.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peggytommy 2 reviews from this member

This site is easy to find, but rural and quiet (except for the steam train in summer)and close to lovely villages and seashore.

It is a large field basically, on a farm, surrounded on 2 sides by a woodland. Facilities are basic.

The best bit is the farmer will sell you logs (about £4 a sack) and he allows camp fires - awe-full = full of awe!.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickcb 10 reviews from this member

I cannot add anything to what has already been said, and all of it good.

The reason I chose this site,apart from the great write-ups was that I was born in Holt and lived in High Kelling as a child and this was a return visit after 45 years away. Imagine you owned a field in North Norfolk with all the facilities you need as a camper / caravanner, that was the impression I had.

Richard and his family exceptionally friendly and the sale of eggs and wonderful 'Norfolk Pink' potatoes sold at what appeared to me to be below cost price, really made it a worth while visit.

Don't be put off by the non existent entry sign and the impression that you are entering 'Cold Comfort Farm' The toilet block should be finished shortly, read other reviews.

One last comment. I visited out of season,which was perfect for a couple and two dogs. Maybe in high season things could be a little bit hectic. One other thing,there are no shops close by, by that I mean walking distance but Holt by car about 12 minutes 'The Oxford / Regent Street of Norfolk' All in all ten out of ten

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy ellis 5 reviews from this member

What a simply wonderful back to basics site! As has been said in other reviews the facilities are basic, but clean. Dont go here if you want a shower block that would not be out of place in a hotel. Its concrete floors and breeze block walls so flip flops are a must. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and even fixed the shower in the disabled loo for us with no fuss. Oh and the disabled facilities are great, just the usual problem of the mirror being too high for a wheelchair user.

The pitches are a little uneven, and when we went the ground was like concrete! Even had trouble getting delta pegs in! Also beware the site is a little exposed and once the wind got up I was grateful for having delta pegs! It was lovely though sitting out with a little fire (?4 for a bag of logs), egg butty (£1 for 6 eggs) and a cold beer watching the sunset!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Maryiris 4 reviews from this member

Our second visit here this year. Rang up on the Wednesday afternoon (mid august) and told it was fine to turn up. Arrived after dark and welcomed by Richard the owner, who said it was fine to pay in the morning. This is an easy-going site with acres of space- you park as and where you like- its generally flat so no need for chocks. Big, spacious shower and toilet block with bottomless hot water. Showers 50p- buy your tokens before 8pm from the farm house. Never encountered a queue even at this busy time of year. Good pedalling country- its flat and there's lots of quiet lanes. Good swimming at weybourne beach about 2 miles away (all downhill to get there on a bike) Site has a lovely atmosphere with kids running around playing etc. Lots of family groups.Everyone abided by the quiet between 11pm and 7am rule.

Will definitely visit again. Its one of those places where you can decide to go at the drop of a hat if the forecast is good

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Buttercupwafflepant 3 reviews from this member

We had a great time staying on this site with our 3 young children. It appeared to be a site that attracted a mixture of types of campers including young groups, couples and families.

On arrival at the farm we were given an information sheet and were told we could pick where we wanted to pitch as long as not in the caravan/eh area. All the pitches are within one huge field and although it was busy when we visited and the field edge/hedgeside pitches were taken we were still able to find a pitch with lots of space in the centre of the field.

It was extremely windy so make sure your tent is well pegged!

A major plus for us was the option to have an open campfire. Wood was available to purchase by the bag from the farmhouse.

The washing facilities were good. There were lots of toilets and plenty of washing up sinks. The showers used tokens- and although I would have preferred just to have this added to the pitch cost to avoid hassle they were not too busy.

Plenty of hot water at all times and always toilet roll in the cubicles.

There are lots of great places to visit nearby and we ran out of time to see everything.

The Poppyline railway is nearby-believe walking distance from the site and there are beaches within a short distance.

The farmhouse also sold eggs and potatoes from the farm and marshmallows for cooking on the campfire.

Overall a great site - laid back and totally relaxing. You can't beat sitting under the stars next to a fire!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: U400jb9 11 reviews from this member

We went to this site on the spur of the moment, having seen some photos on UKCS.

When we arrived on the Saturday afternoon the site looked like a festival field, it was quite busy. However, after a few minutes driving around we realised that there was a lot of space, just further away from the facilities.

There is a designated campfire field here, but the owner said that they had decided to let people have fires anywhere, which stopped the `Wood Field` becoming packed.

It is essentially a huge field on a slight slope. The facilities are all new, and have the air of incompleteness about them, but they were always clean, if dusty. The showers are token operated. Over the weekend several became jammed, but the owners were trying to repair the quickly. When the site is full.Five washing up sinks are just not enough.

Come Sunday night the site emptied out considerably.

There are no pitch size restrictions, which some people take advantage of to the extreme.

The surrounding area of Norfolk is lovely, the beaches are great.

We will be returning to this site soon

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

Strange why we chose this site but it was the first one looked at on UK campsite and it ticked all the right boxes. Our family of four and our camping friends Neil and Tracey with their dog Buster. It was our annual camping holiday and we had decided on Norfolk. Had a fantastic week and the weather was great whilst the rest of the country was suffering. Main reason for choosing the site was we could have a campfire and we like to take the brazier. They do provide fire baskets and you can buy logs. Vast area for camping and we chose the lower field away from the facilities near the wood. The facilities are new and there about 20 toilets and four showers which you use tokens bought from the farm for 50p. Built very basic breeze block in a large barn construction not painted nor tiled and concrete floor. No soap or hand drying facilities which was concerning with the swine flu. Plug sockets for hair dryers or charging mobiles etc. Freezers for ice blocks and none went missing despite previous reviews. Information board and leaflets with daily weather forecast printed. Farm sells jams sweets eggs and potatoes. Fantastic value £16 a night for four of us.

The campsite backs onto Kelling Heath caravan and camping park and you can walk through the woods for a drink at the bar or watch and listen to the entertainment.

Ideally situated for the Norfolk coast. Nearest beach is Weybourne which is pebbles. Best beaches are Wells on the sea and Holkham both sandy although quite a walk to the sea, about 45 mins in the car. Wells and Blackney quay great for crabbing. Coastal path superb for walking. Sheringham is walkable from the campsite and a lovely seaside resort offering all you need. A must to try is the crab sandwiches. We also went on the Steam train Poppy line, caught the train from Weybourne went to Holt. Station is half an hour walk from town. Bus runs in line with train times. We then caught the train and went into Sheringham. Fish and chip lunch on the front and an afternoon wandering aroud before we caught the train back to Weybourne 20 min walk to campsite. Family of four for the day £35 with a £5 token to be spent in station shops.

Two pubs in walkable distance from campsite only went to the Ship at Weybourne. Took about 30 mins to walk careful it is uphill on the way back. Ran out of time to do a day trip on the Broads. Will have to visit Norfolk another time!

Previous     183 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547