Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 195 Reviews
              8/10 from 195 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  195 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Timmiss 5 reviews from this member

My first visit, two weeks in Norfolk ahead of me, ok the start of the school holidays unfortunately. But I had read previous reviews and was expecting a pleasant stay and the idea of a camp fire was something that attracted us. But frankly I found a site of absolute chaos.

Good: - People in the farm house really friendly, camp fire atmosphere was very good, was amazingly quiet after 10.30pm probably because there were so many families.

But. It was so so so busy

Only place to pitch was right in the centre of a field a significant distance from the facilities and completely surrounded by other tents on all sides, the pitch consisted of weeds and places where previous fires had been lit on the ground. No pitch system, you just put it up wherever you like.

Shower block was in a state, you pay for tokens for the showers but the hot water ran out anyway if you were later than 8.30am to grab your shower, all of which were dirty, only one chap cleaning them out once a day. The fires which first attracted me were beautiful to look at but because there were so many the smoke was often overpowering.

Local area is very pleasant but no pub within walking distance walking is a joy but avoiding private land is rather difficult.

Off season I'm sure I would have enjoyed it more

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Breck farm and it was all that we had encountered last time, but a bit better.

The site has an excellent toilet and shower block, functional and clean with separate sinks inside and outside to do washing up in. The showers are 50p a token, which gives you 4-5 minutes of hot water, ok so maybe someone gets the occasional short shower, but mine were far longer than I needed and I don't begrudge the extra coins when the overnight rate is so reasonable and the atmosphere and setting so relaxed.

A nominal charity donation for using the freezers (3 of them available) for your cool-blocks, eggs, potatoes, wood, marshmallows all sold at the farm and an information board and lots of leaflets all in the foyer of the toilet block helps keep you up to date with the week's weather, local activities, eateries etc.

The top field has mostly EHU plots but some not, and doesn't allow campfires, whereas the lower fields, massive and yet still well sheltered, do allow campfires and spreading out of groups; so unless you choose something ridiculous like the August Bank Holiday, you should find ample room to fit with your preferences and not see too much disruption from your neighbours.

The kids loved having walks in the woods, swinging on a rope, jumping over logs, things that don't need a wire and an LCD screen to enjoy! We sat and quietly contemplated the enormous skies as the darkness slowly came at about half ten at night, and enjoyed seeing the various little fires around the fields.

The local area is blessed with some lovely towns and villages. Try Sheringham for the beach, Holt for shopping and Wiveton for some absolutely fantastic PYO fruit and restaurant / tapas bar and just explore North Norfolk a little; you won't regret it!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AndyMct 2 reviews from this member

Just came back from this site and I have to say, it is very clean and well run. The toilets and showers were impeccable throughout our stay, and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

The only complaint I have is that there is not a local shop within walking distance, so we had to use the car quite a lot, as we didn't have any refrigeration for milk and vegetables etc.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisamaf 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Breck Farm last July.

The day we arrived was in the first week of the summer holidays, and initially we thought the campsite was great. Lots of space, tents spaced out with lots of space in between.

We found our ideal location to pitch our tent; near to the main shower block, just outside the electric hook up point area. We were close enough to walk to the main facilities if we needed.

If you wanted to you could pitch your site further away from the main toilet/ shower block but this would mean quite a walk to this block and the only toilet facilities were small shed that were not very discrete.

After the first night the campsite was soon swamped-we returned from a day out to find other tents pitched very closely to ours which was a bit of an issue especially when they were noisy.

Things we didn't like: the campsite becoming so full within just a few days and no consideration about where people pitched up.

The shower block couldn't accommodate the number of campers and due to the number of campers, really needed to have been cleaned more regularly than once every day.

Loads of people had campfires that were quite close to theirs and other peoples tents which made us both feel uncomfortable

There wasn't much thought to the layout of the site-just 1 huge open field. We would prefer trees, hedges to separate the field up.

What we did like: the closeness to Kelling Heath- where you could hire bikes from, there were washing up facilities and 2 freezers to freeze your ice packs (however I agree with other posters about the lack of hot water)

Personally I wouldn't visit there again, but if you are laid back, want to go somewhere in a large group without too many (if any) restrictions imposed upon you) then this is the place for you :)

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monkeysarecool 1 review from this member

The rumours are true, this site is fantastic!

Breck Farm is a working site which produces delicious pink potatoes and free-range eggs.

We reported in to the farmhouse upon arrival and were greeted in a very friendly manner by the owners and their family. While there we bought some firewood, marshmellows, eggs and potatoes.

We were told to pitch wherever we liked so we set up camp next to the cow field which was separated off with an electric fence. This posed no danger to us or the animals, but we had lots of fun feeding them grass and saying hello!

The space available to us on the first night was so liberating, you wouldn't have guessed it was the school holidays!

We had a traditional open fire, and regular car patrols kept us feeling relaxed and safe.

In the morning we awoke to a cow mooing, the gorgeous sound of birds tweeting from the forest and a rooster wake-up-call.

We had purposely pitched away from the toilet / shower blocks, so the morning shower run was quite a self-inflicted trek!

Showers cost 50p per token. I found that I needed 2, and you get them from the farmhouse which runs an honesty box system.

1 per shower sounds a little expensive, but at 14 per night for 2 of us we weren't complaining! The blocks were new and of a good general standard. There were even power points located near the mirrors so that you could plug in your hairdryer / straighteners. There weren't enough power points / sinks / mirrors, so I think this is something that could be addressed by the owners? Apart from that everything was fine. There were even indoor and outdoor pot-washing points.

When out and about, there is plenty to explore around the campsite and Norfolk itself. The nearest supermarket is Morrisons in Cromer and there are loads of little towns and villages to browse. Cromer is a lovely seaside resort and the locals are so friendly. There is also a little cafe near the campsite and plenty of local pubs. Holkham Beach is within driving distance and boasts one of the largest, most beautiful sandy beaches I've seen in my life!

On the next night we were disappointed to find that despite the pitch-where-you-like system, a couple of campers had set up camp within touching distance of our tent! There was no need for this as there was plenty of space, so I was surprised that the wardens just left them to it.

However, the night was still beautiful and we could see the entire horoscope in the sky. Shooting stars were everywhere, and we really felt as if we'd rediscovered nature.

It's easy to see why this campsite is so recommended by my family as it is cost-effective and just beautiful.

Breck Farm is a wonderful place. After 2 nights, we felt as if we'd been away for 2 weeks. This is easily the best campsite I'd ever been to, and the location is beyond perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mick-n-dot 5 reviews from this member

What a great site for our 5 day family get away. Real campfires, fresh eggs and lots of walks for us and the family dogs.We took a large 4 bedroom tent as there was 5 adults, 3 children under six and 2 dogs.

We had plenty of space to also erect a 4x4 gazebo and park 2 cars.The shower block had plenty of loo's, showers and washing up sinks. We did run out of hot water on one day but the rest of the time there was plenty of it.

The owners were very nice and were open to letting us leave later so our tent could dry out after an early morning downpour. Easy walk to the steam train station where you can get a train to Holt or Sherringham.

If you have a dog and are thinking of visiting the Muckleburgh collection a 5 deposit (refundable on return of the padlock) will get you the hire of a kennel under the trees so you can walk around on a hot day without worrying about your dog, you can walk around with them if you wish. Great time.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kanga2 1 review from this member

We originally visited keen to have a campfire, however we liked a spot in the 'fire free' field backing onto the woods and nearer the facilities, so this is where we stayed for our two nights.

We liked the large barn type structure for the wash basins, showers and numerous toilets (we didn't queue once and visited during 1/2 term). Facilities were clean.

Although the site appeared busy at first glance there were lots of spaces for groups/individual units on the unmarked fields. The site was very quiet for it's size with a great mix of people and children - no groups of noisy, left to their own devices children riding roughshod around your tent (and I say this as a mother of two myself).

Great for the dog, lovely walks from the tent. Good for visiting other areas. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We thought it was great and will be coming back, two days was not long enough.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: U400jb9 11 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Breck Farm and it is still as lovely as ever. There is so much do do in the surrounding area.

This time we took our 6 month old puppy along and I have to say having the surrounding woodland is a great place to puppy walk. The rules state dogs on leads at all times, but there were several dogs running free on the site.

There is no specific place for you to dispose of dog mess which is a shame.

We didn`t have a EHU but they seem to be quite crowded and the tents that were in between the caravans seemed a bit overshadowed.

The facilities were new last year, they have been expanded again, and painted this time too. Generally very clean and no real queues until the Saturday morning.

There was a few groups who ignored the noise curfew, two of which appeared to have been asked to leave early the next morning.

Eggs from the farmhouse were delicious.

West Runton Beach is a favourite with us, the kids spend many hours rockpooling, with some careful supervision from the puppy!

We will go again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmmmcupcake 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the half term. First time camping in years and this was a real back to basic camp site. We loved it! It has a real relaxed feel to it with fresh eggs and a friendly atmosphere. Facilities are basic but as long as you can wash and go then not sure what else you need.

The kids loved it and we are going back.

The fire's are a big bonus as it got chilly at night

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FW96 3 reviews from this member

Well we have just returned from our fourth trip to Breck Farm - the first this year, and I'm pleased to say it is as good as ever.

The facilities block has been expanded again, with the welcome addition of some outdoor washing up sinks to supplement the indoor ones, and what looks to be extra toilets/showers, although they were cordoned off - maybe for use when the site is very busy. The welcome was as friendly as ever, and it was lovely to toast marshmallows round the campfire again.

I would have to say though, that you are very much at the mercy of the other campers, as the owners are pretty laid back. We had a most unpleasant run in last year with a large group that - in addition to being very noisy late into the night - also insisted on buzzing round the site on those annoying little mini motorbikes. I would agree with a previous reviewer who suggests that those looking for a peaceful site may be best off avoiding this site at very busy times, but for a relaxing weekend in June it is most definitely worth a visit.

Previous     195 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1206 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0977
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec