Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katebrown12 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this campsite and having read up on the on line reviews before booking here I have to be honest we were disappointed as we expected much better from what we had read.

By far the best thing about this site is its location, 5 minutes walk to the sand dunes and the stunning beach views, 5/10 mins further to the beach itself. Although it can get very windy as can be expected on the cliff top.

The pitches are not spacious at all and you are very close to your neighbours, I don't expect masses of room but being able to walk around your tent without tripping over your neighbours guide ropes would be nice. Pitches are well tended and well drained however, just not at all private if you get the row between the outer row / road and those next to the inner recreation area. Pitches around site edges seemed better in terms of privacy as you are not totally surrounded. Large site and is a fair walk for those pitches at top of the site to the facilities I guess although being in the middle we were fine.

Showers and toilet block was in my opinion in need of a good clean as the last review has mentioned. Perhaps the sites I am used to closer to home are exceptional but I think this could be cleaner. Also I wasn't keen on the idea of 'mopping' the walls of the showers with the floor mop which I witnessed a couple of times.

Great on site shop which was reasonably priced. Free ice pack freezers and phone charging which was a nice addition.

No playground as such but large recreation area in centre of site and goats/guinie pigs to keep kids entertained.

St Ives is well worth a trip but beware the crowds at peak season to be expected. Park on the outskirts and walk in as pedestrians seem totally oblivious to roads and cars really struggle on the narrow streets with this. Cider barn on way to Lizard point is worth a visit to stock up on local ciders etc :-). Lizard point itself is beautiful, park in the village and walk to the lighthouse / along the cliffs.

Overall we had a great holiday, the campsite was good but not the best we have been to. We would go back to Gwithian but would try a different site (and have had recommendations for site next door, maybe next year).

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BQPhil1963 1 review from this member

We have been to this site 4 times in the past year and would recommend it to all , the shower block is the cleanest Ive ever seen and with constant hot water.

We have been welcomed by the owners as if we were part of the family and we feel this makes the difference,they are dedicated to exceeding customers expectations and is excellent value for money.

There is a pub within 2 mins walk of the site,with great beer and food.

Local shops, takeaways, McDonalda, next and more are within 2/3 miles away and on a nice day easy to walk to.

This camp site is a must for all and I advise everyone to come here.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tait45 1 review from this member

Me, my husband , kids 8 and 5 and the dog visited this site the first week in july. Check in was smooth and the pitch we were allocated was in the middle section which was great as you could see where the kids were.

Toilet,shower, sinks,laundrette block was always clean, plenty of hot water. The laundrete was a little expensive for the tumble dryers but done the job. Plugs in this room so handy for ladies with straightners like me. Mobile charging facilities and ice block freezing as well. Ice cream van, fresh fish van, fish n chip van and local indian all visit the site different nights so comes in handy if you don't want to cook.

The camp site is basic and no park for kids but has goats,guinea pigs and table tennis and a grass area to keep thm occupied. Play zone near in carbis bay well worth a visit. The beach is a trek so no good with younger children or elderly take plenty of supplies with you. There is area's specified for dogs so be carefull they fine you if you are not in the right area.

Tesco just outside st ives but m&s, lidl, next, boots, premier inn, shell garage which we found the cheapest petrol in the area all within 5 min drive in hayle. The cornish pastie shop is a must at the other side of hayle. St ives well worth a visit. The local pub across from the campsite well worth scone and tea £20 for four of us but you get two scones each.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteK 2 reviews from this member

I wish that there were more sites like this.

The site itself is in a fantastic location. There is a dog-friendly beach within 15 mins walk, and there is a dog-free beach within 10 mins.

The Red River pub is opposite the entrance, and it has a good range of real ales. The food is good too.

The site itself is friendly and the facilities are very clean.

However, some of the pitches do appear to be a little close together.

The site is also respectfully quiet after 11pm.

On Wed the local Indian restaurant visited with a chicken or veg curry for £5.50 (very mild and a bit bland!).They also ran out within 25 mins and after what seemed to be a painfully long wait, a taxi brought some more.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katadamick 2 reviews from this member

Lovely location within walking distance of a fantastic beach. A pub nearby for a drink which if you are a wanabee drinker and like to pose saying you drink real ale and are a member of CAMRA could be right up your street otherwise give it a miss and get a taxi into Hayle.

My wife and I went with our teenage son and daughter for 9 days.

Weather was ok for us but there was gale midweek but this did not worry us. The site owners are very friendly and helpful but the main issue we had was a lot of “Credit Crunch Campers” who used the site who were so far up their own derrières to say “Good Morning or Hello”. The quicker the recession is over and they all go back abroad for their holidays the better. We have camped at various locations around the country for 30 years and never experienced a more inhospitable bunch.

Also the last night we had hardly any sleep thanks to a bunch of drunk foul mouthed marines who booked in for a one night get together who thought it was great fun to stop up till 1. 20 in the morning playing who can make the largest flame with a barbecue, which when lying in a tent is a little disconcerting then they rose at 7. 00. We complained the following day and were reassured that they would not be allowed on the site again. The dishwashing facilities were clean and tidy the toilet/shower block was one of the cleanest I have found on a campsite and there always seemed to be somebody cleaning them.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melster 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 1 week at the site, what a great site, great facilities. The beach was just a 10 min stroll from the site along a footpath , which is situated in the far corner at the top of the site. I absolutely think you should have fish & chips from the van when it visits the site on Sundays.

The beach is lovely perfect for kite flying and surfing of course, which I took up while my husband flew his kite. The Red River inn opposite were very welcoming to us and our boxer dog. I hired board and wetsuit very well priced, fresh strawberries every day.

The best site we have been on, my husband said he would be disappointed if I didn't book for next year. Owner very friendly , recommended some small coves, one was the local nudist beach which was lovely. Walked from the site to Portreath, towards the end lots of steep steps, but a lovely bakery awaits at the end. Also visit the BLAS restaurant in St Ives it serves the best burgers ever,it is just past the RNLI station to your right.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenandrob 8 reviews from this member

We stumbled upon this site when looking to stay somewhere in Cornwall (first time to the area) close to St Ives.

First off, have to say Clair, the owner (never met Mike), is as friendly and helpful as they come. Great tips and advice about the area.

The pitches here are fairly close and one of our 'neighbours' (not next to us but a few pitches down) seemed to like to tell his child off quite a bit and we heard every word.

They offer free ice pack freezing but because the freezers are open/closed so much it takes a while.

The site is great for walking on the beach and through the dunes. Very beautiful. We spent a night out on the dunes having drinks and watching the sea. The site seemed to get quiet about 10.30pm/11.00pm which is not good for us as we like to sit up and chat and play cards or Scrabble. Even a whisper and you can hear your next door neighbour.

The pitch we stayed on was flat and green. The men's toilet block has plenty of free showers and the water was nice and hot. There were also a lot of outdoor washing up sinks for dishes. Never had to queue to wash up.

We only went into St Ives one day (worth a visit once but nothing to write home about, and being Tate members found the Tate in St Ives very disappointing - thankfully we didn't have to pay to go in). There are better places to check out in the area such as Sennen Cove and Cape Cornwall (nice walking trails and scenic).

There are two pubs in the immediate area - one right across the street with a beer garden, the Red River Inn (seemed popular with locals and the staff were very friendly); the other a longer walk, the Sandsifter. Nice staff and we ate there as we just couldn't deal with pulling out the stove and cooking. Had a pizza and it was really nice - better than one of your chain pizza places. BUT I would imagine it could be a 'scene' on the weekends.

Again, Clair couldn't have been more helpful on tips on what to do, where to go outside of St. Ives.

The shop is open for an hour in the morning and one in the afternoon and other sporadic intervals. However, the Lidl and M&S are only a very short drive (my first time being in a Lidl and found it very interesting at the things they sell - every Lidl helps).

We would give this a higher rating but found the pitches just a little too close but they do try and segregate families into the middle field and keep couples and groups to the outer edges

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gedling1570 9 reviews from this member

Lovely camp site our only complaint was the amount of people who had dogs on site! Some owners made them shut up and some did not! Also tents and caravans are mixed this in my books a no no as you get a lot of noise through canvas. And except for this, great camp site clean lovely big pitches, good facilities. The showers are free lovely hot water. Great sunday lunch at the pub over the road never tasted food like it. Good price as well. And it was all cooked in olive oil.

The site is also close to the beach and dunes, owners are very helpful and will help you out if they can in any way . We will be going back

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mykp 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site, with good facilities although if your located at the back of the site the toilet block is over 300 metres away. Also the rear footpath in/out of the site is located close to the back of the site. We spoke to a couple who where located at the back of the site and they said they had been woken up early in the morning by surfers struggling with the gate.

Toilets and the site in general where spotless.

The site has a number of rules and are enforced, things like no vehicular movement after 11pm and before 7am also, they have a quiet rule after 11pm which is great because at 11pm the site goes quiet.

Those pitched in the centre of the field, its split into an outside and an inside separated by the access road should be wary that the centre of the inside field is also the childs play area.

We found the staff to be helpful, however they where preoccupied with the phone, which constantly rang, when I was checking in so this took ages - which was quite annoying after an 8 hour drive.

There is an ice cream van which come round most days, Mr Whippy 'Yum' as well as an Fish and Chip van and Curry house visited. The chippy I thought was alright, but the curry was very good.

The beach is at most 10 minutes walk and is beautiful and most of the time we where there in late June it was deserted. The dog beach is further down from the camp site and access is not the easiest but the main beach is dog friendly from 7pm to 8am everyday. There is a warden and the both time we saw him he asked if we had poo bags with us.

The food at the pub across the road with very good, especially Sunday lunch.

Site was pretty busy during the week, but weekends was almost full.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sennen63 5 reviews from this member

It all been said before - a great campsite with clean facilities.

We stayed in term time so very quiet with very few children - we don't mind as ours are grown up.

Probably busy with families in the school holidays as it is so near the beach and has plenty of space for children to play on site.

Would definitely use this site again.

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 9 - 11th June
Kent - Hundreds of traders and dealers and weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4340 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2800