Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dandensam 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely location within walking distance of a fantastic beach and nice pub for a drink over the road.

No playground for kids, but this doesn't matter in the slightest as they all play very happily on the field in the middle. My wife and I went with our son and he wasted no time in making friends with several other kids and played cricket for hours.

Weather was dreadful for us and we ended up coming home several days early. We were at the top of the site (pitch 54, be warned) and it was very windy there, as it was for all in that top corner. The man cutting the grass warned us that we were in a windy spot when we arrived. After the last night of no sleep and worry that our tent would stay up we decided to throw in the towel.

I only have a couple of criticisms of the site (apart from the wind, not their fault) One was that the toilet block and dishwashing facilities were too far away from the pitches at the our end of the site. It is a bit of a trek particularly when there is a heavy load of washing up, and I found there was generally a small queue waiting for the washing up facilities (need more sinks).

Also the water taps are located on the corners of the playing field and to get to them without walking all the way round the bottom of the site you have to cut through other people's pitches, which a couple of people obviously didn't like. The site owners need to put in some paths to these taps.

The toilet/shower block was one of the cleanest I have found on a campsite and there always seemed to be somebody cleaning them.

I would probably go back when they have installed further shower/dishwashing facilities, or maybe get a more sheltered pitch a bit closer to the existing facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Snowyfox 1 review from this member

Lovely traditional campsite with no club/bar/amusement arcades (hurrah!). Quiet site at night which everyone was very respectful of, so good for families and couples.

All necessary facilities done very well and everything seems to have been thought of. Excellent spotlessly clean shower/toilet block and the family shower room and bathroom were particularly useful to us with our 4 year old (a shelf or shelf unit in the shower room would be a useful addition, as has already been done in the family bathroom). Constant hot water just at the right temperature at any time of the day. Water pressure a little variable but the lashings of hot water made up for it! Large, clean outdoor washing up area with plenty of sinks. Able to charge up phones or cameras in the shop or launderette. Shop very reasonable and well stocked.

Flat pitches, nicely laid out, well kept and not at all boggy after torrential rain. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. Very safe site for kids as the speed limit is 5mph.

The beach is a bit of a stroll, but safe for little ones if you go on the dunes. Wonderful beach with deep rock pools and fantastic surfing. Only got to spend one sunny day there, but could quite happily spend every day there during a holiday and not get bored. Beach cafe's a little way back off the beach, so take a flask if you want piping hot drinks on the beach or stop at the cafe's for a drink and a snack. (The Jam Pot do amazing carrot cake).

Pub opposite the camp site serves very good food and Rattlers cloudy cider ;-) The cider farm is a short drive away on the A3075 to Newquay, so we stocked up on the way home.There is an ice cream van on site every day and I understand fresh fish, fish and chips and also a curry night, which we didn't make use of unfortunately, so plenty of alternatives to camp food and a great touch.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chr1s23 2 reviews from this member

Tidy, quiet site. Friendly welcome. Toilet facilities immaculate - clean and well lit at night. Grass cuttings collected by the mower, which meant no grass in the caravan! Site shop stocks all necessary items, but there is a Co-op and a Lidl in Hayle if you need a supermarket.

Fish'n'chip / fresh fish / curry vans call on different evenings, and the ice-cream man called every evening - just right for 'afters'. The Red River Pub, opposite the site entrance, does great meals at a reasonable price.

The trek to the beach seemed a long way, probably because I'm getting lazy, but what a great beach. Well worth the trek, and he site well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flying welshman 3 reviews from this member

Visited this very well laid out site during the period 8th July - 13th July. Lovely people who run made us feel very welcome. We took our granddaughter with us she really enjoyed the area. Our only criticism was that it was for my wife and myself a rather long walk to the beach and it was a lot harder on the way back,slightly up hill all the way so I would say if you have any trouble with your mobility I would definitely think before going.

The toilets were very clean showers had plenty of hot water electric. Hook ups were free as was the use of freezer blocks. You could also use free fridges on site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katebrown12 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this campsite and having read up on the on line reviews before booking here I have to be honest we were disappointed as we expected much better from what we had read.

By far the best thing about this site is its location, 5 minutes walk to the sand dunes and the stunning beach views, 5/10 mins further to the beach itself. Although it can get very windy as can be expected on the cliff top.

The pitches are not spacious at all and you are very close to your neighbours, I don't expect masses of room but being able to walk around your tent without tripping over your neighbours guide ropes would be nice. Pitches are well tended and well drained however, just not at all private if you get the row between the outer row / road and those next to the inner recreation area. Pitches around site edges seemed better in terms of privacy as you are not totally surrounded. Large site and is a fair walk for those pitches at top of the site to the facilities I guess although being in the middle we were fine.

Showers and toilet block was in my opinion in need of a good clean as the last review has mentioned. Perhaps the sites I am used to closer to home are exceptional but I think this could be cleaner. Also I wasn't keen on the idea of 'mopping' the walls of the showers with the floor mop which I witnessed a couple of times.

Great on site shop which was reasonably priced. Free ice pack freezers and phone charging which was a nice addition.

No playground as such but large recreation area in centre of site and goats/guinie pigs to keep kids entertained.

St Ives is well worth a trip but beware the crowds at peak season to be expected. Park on the outskirts and walk in as pedestrians seem totally oblivious to roads and cars really struggle on the narrow streets with this. Cider barn on way to Lizard point is worth a visit to stock up on local ciders etc :-). Lizard point itself is beautiful, park in the village and walk to the lighthouse / along the cliffs.

Overall we had a great holiday, the campsite was good but not the best we have been to. We would go back to Gwithian but would try a different site (and have had recommendations for site next door, maybe next year).

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BQPhil1963 1 review from this member

We have been to this site 4 times in the past year and would recommend it to all , the shower block is the cleanest Ive ever seen and with constant hot water.

We have been welcomed by the owners as if we were part of the family and we feel this makes the difference,they are dedicated to exceeding customers expectations and is excellent value for money.

There is a pub within 2 mins walk of the site,with great beer and food.

Local shops, takeaways, McDonalda, next and more are within 2/3 miles away and on a nice day easy to walk to.

This camp site is a must for all and I advise everyone to come here.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tait45 1 review from this member

Me, my husband , kids 8 and 5 and the dog visited this site the first week in july. Check in was smooth and the pitch we were allocated was in the middle section which was great as you could see where the kids were.

Toilet,shower, sinks,laundrette block was always clean, plenty of hot water. The laundrete was a little expensive for the tumble dryers but done the job. Plugs in this room so handy for ladies with straightners like me. Mobile charging facilities and ice block freezing as well. Ice cream van, fresh fish van, fish n chip van and local indian all visit the site different nights so comes in handy if you don't want to cook.

The camp site is basic and no park for kids but has goats,guinea pigs and table tennis and a grass area to keep thm occupied. Play zone near in carbis bay well worth a visit. The beach is a trek so no good with younger children or elderly take plenty of supplies with you. There is area's specified for dogs so be carefull they fine you if you are not in the right area.

Tesco just outside st ives but m&s, lidl, next, boots, premier inn, shell garage which we found the cheapest petrol in the area all within 5 min drive in hayle. The cornish pastie shop is a must at the other side of hayle. St ives well worth a visit. The local pub across from the campsite well worth scone and tea £20 for four of us but you get two scones each.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteK 2 reviews from this member

I wish that there were more sites like this.

The site itself is in a fantastic location. There is a dog-friendly beach within 15 mins walk, and there is a dog-free beach within 10 mins.

The Red River pub is opposite the entrance, and it has a good range of real ales. The food is good too.

The site itself is friendly and the facilities are very clean.

However, some of the pitches do appear to be a little close together.

The site is also respectfully quiet after 11pm.

On Wed the local Indian restaurant visited with a chicken or veg curry for £5.50 (very mild and a bit bland!).They also ran out within 25 mins and after what seemed to be a painfully long wait, a taxi brought some more.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katadamick 2 reviews from this member

Lovely location within walking distance of a fantastic beach. A pub nearby for a drink which if you are a wanabee drinker and like to pose saying you drink real ale and are a member of CAMRA could be right up your street otherwise give it a miss and get a taxi into Hayle.

My wife and I went with our teenage son and daughter for 9 days.

Weather was ok for us but there was gale midweek but this did not worry us. The site owners are very friendly and helpful but the main issue we had was a lot of “Credit Crunch Campers” who used the site who were so far up their own derrières to say “Good Morning or Hello”. The quicker the recession is over and they all go back abroad for their holidays the better. We have camped at various locations around the country for 30 years and never experienced a more inhospitable bunch.

Also the last night we had hardly any sleep thanks to a bunch of drunk foul mouthed marines who booked in for a one night get together who thought it was great fun to stop up till 1. 20 in the morning playing who can make the largest flame with a barbecue, which when lying in a tent is a little disconcerting then they rose at 7. 00. We complained the following day and were reassured that they would not be allowed on the site again. The dishwashing facilities were clean and tidy the toilet/shower block was one of the cleanest I have found on a campsite and there always seemed to be somebody cleaning them.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melster 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 1 week at the site, what a great site, great facilities. The beach was just a 10 min stroll from the site along a footpath , which is situated in the far corner at the top of the site. I absolutely think you should have fish & chips from the van when it visits the site on Sundays.

The beach is lovely perfect for kite flying and surfing of course, which I took up while my husband flew his kite. The Red River inn opposite were very welcoming to us and our boxer dog. I hired board and wetsuit very well priced, fresh strawberries every day.

The best site we have been on, my husband said he would be disappointed if I didn't book for next year. Owner very friendly , recommended some small coves, one was the local nudist beach which was lovely. Walked from the site to Portreath, towards the end lots of steep steps, but a lovely bakery awaits at the end. Also visit the BLAS restaurant in St Ives it serves the best burgers ever,it is just past the RNLI station to your right.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1533