Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziee 3 reviews from this member

There's lots of things to like about this site, although for me it isn't really my cup of tea, being very orderly and regimented.

What I liked:

Nice large, flat, riverside pitch

Well mown grass

Good, clean facilities

Very handy and safe dog off-lead walking area

Good pub serving excellent food (the venison was to die for!) on the doorstep

Handy location for many of Exmoor's delights

What I liked less:

- On arrival, having driven for over 4 hours, we failed to notice the signs asking to report to reception and only saw that the shop was closed so assumed we were to help ourselves to a pitch. As we were nearly finished erecting our tent, the owner appeared to say that we should have been on the next-door pitch, and made us feel very unwelcome. When I went to the reception to pay, he made sure that he made all the changes he needed to make because of our 'stupidity' (how I felt, not what he said!) in front of me. I felt this was very poor customer care, especially as the next day he put 'reserved' signs on other pitches, so could easily done that on ours! We spent all the time there feeling faintly guilty.

- As mentioned previously, the site is very regimented, with everything 'just so'. I'm sure most people like this, but it's not my thing.

- The road was noisy (it's a main road) and there was noise of one sort or another (a strimmer or Chain saw and, on one evening, a woman wailing!) for hours every afternoon and evening we were there.

If you are after suburbia-in-the-countryside then this site is perfect, but if you like to feel you have gone somewhere a bit different and wild it may feel rather twee and parochial.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bohemia 6 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site. We were next door to a babbling brook which the dogs loved. There was a super dog walking area and a pub within walking distance. Walking in the area is superb and we were spoilt for choice.

We were not crowded and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

There was plenty of free information on where to visit and the managers were friendly.

If you have a really big unit the way in could be tight but with a bit of assistance we saw one of those huge demountable units go out so it's not impossible.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aguilera08 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful stay at this site, the pitch size was ample it was easy to find and our two dogs had a great time as the dog walking area at the end of the site was perfect. An enclosed area with access to the river so they could cool off. Any dog owners interested in this area should definitely visit this site.

The shop was well stocked and the site was easy to find. Toilet block and showers were fine, very clean.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anidav 7 reviews from this member

Lovely camp site, excellent shower / toilets / facilities. Loads of room really spacious quiet, very laid back week, we were lucky and actually had sun!

Pub walking distance and really good food, roads were a little scary as busy and narrow. Dulverton really lovely and excellent supermarket for good food. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

After much deliberation we decided to try this site. There was only two concerns:

1. Mixed reviews about road noise

2. Never been to an adult site only

Well, let me tell you. It was bliss! We arrived at 8pm on Friday evening and the owners welcomed us with a free hot drink. We were able to choose whichever pitch we wanted and whichever side you go you have the relaxing noise of water running through. Just a small point: if you wish sun in the morning (until 5-6 pm) use the left side of the side (as you drive in); if you prefer sun in the evenings but not too early in the morning use the right handside.

Imagine, trees, water, lots of pheasants and peace. That was our weekend. No road noise (you would not believe the road adjacent to the camp site is an A road - I would say is more of a country road) no kids noise, no loud music. Complete tranquillity.

Facilities: all good and free hot water. What more can you ask. Electricity and co-ax cable 2.50. You can't go wrong with that! All in all for two nights, a dog electrics and awning 26!

Lots of walks from campsite from 3 to 8 miles to suit all. The information hub has all the routes and instructions printed for the circular walks. Brilliant. Massive exercise area for dogs at the end of the site + relaxing bench by the weir. Perfect site if you have dogs.

Pub: 6 minutes walk, civilised with no big screen (ACE!). Food good, ale ace especially if you like real ale. What more can I say: I will be back

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prof9 3 reviews from this member

Spent Easter Weekend at this site our Icarus 500 tent was pitched on the mill stream side on pitch 5 with ehu which was near the services and the only noise was from the water coming out of the mill which was not to much of a problem,

Very nice and friendly owners who were very helpful and welcoming with a cup of tea and hotcross bun.

Wash area and showers with plenty hot water and piped Radio two, clean and well maintained, small shop and information place with guides on local walks freely available.

Will definitely be returning in the future and as an adult only site nice and peaceful with sounds of water and ducks who welcome you when you arrive, a most relaxing and pleasant stay.

Would certainly recommend and thank you

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

We came to Exe Valley at almost the end of their season (late Sept). We normally caravan but as we live locally we decided to do a stay in our small tent.

Good points :

Pretty, wooded valley setting. Riverside pitches (no midges when we went!)

Well kept site - lovely bridge over the stream to the showers, plenty of information on local attractions/amenities.

Friendly owners, free cup of coffee.

Warm, clean showers with radio playing!

Probably the best dog walk in all the sites we have visited, if your dog loves water then it would love Exe Valley, beautiful walk where dogs can run free up to the stunning weir - plenty of little pools for pooches who like to swim!

Wildlife - a very natural site, plenty of birds - owls & pheasants, and bats.

The Badgers Holt Inn - excellent local pub within easy walking distance, friendly welcoming hosts and lots of specials from Steak & Ale pie to venison. They allow dogs in the bar and small outside seating area. Very friendly waiter service and good value (9.95 for 8oz rump steak)

Just some minor gripes :

Pitches - very small further up the park, we had a tiny 3 man tent and were not far from our neighbours, so much so that the bloke next door kept me awake with his snoring. If you have a large tent you may have problems. The pitches do narrow on the river side especially from pitches 44 upwards.

Privacy - Carrying on from the above really, due to the layout of the park (not the owners fault I know) we felt very 'overlooked', what with a motorhome either side of us and a row of caravans all looking on to us. (next time we will take more windbreaks!)

Tent pitches - a long walk from the toilets, showers and sink area, it seemed that caravans and motorhomes (who on the majority have their own sink and loo) were better catered for down near all the facilities and the tenters were furthest away, some tent pitches near the loos would be better.

I would recommend this site, and we would return (I know my dog would!) Although as another reviewer has already stated it felt more of a 'caravan & campervan' park so we would probably return in our caravan.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peteranddi 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Exe Valley for 2 weeks in July and thought it was a lovely site. One of the prettiest sites we have stayed at, there is the river on one side and the mill stream on the other, so wherever you pitch you will be next to water. The dog walk up to the weir is beautiful and in good weather it is an idyllic and peaceful site. The toilet blocks and showers were clean and free to use. Although sometimes busy, we never had to queue, and the laundry and washing up room were equally clean, with everything you need. Wifi is also available at reception.

The only downside for us, was whilst we appreciated the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the site, we sometimes wondered if it was a little too quiet - we were almost afraid of making any noise at all. Unfortunately the weather was poor for most of our stay - as a result of this holiday we have now upgraded to a folding camper. When the sun did shine it tended to only be one side of the site due to the fact that it is in a deep valley. It is worth considering whether you would like evening or morning sunshine when picking your pitch.

We ate at the Badger's Holt on at least 3 occasions during our stay and were thoroughly satisfied with the variety of choice, quality and value. The service and atmosphere was also great.

All in all, a great site, and we would love to visit again some day.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl47 2 reviews from this member

Spent a week at this site. The only complaint I have about this site is it is close to the A road so it is noisy. The site is very well kept nice and tidy and the toilet blocks always spotless. The owners were wonderful with a very welcome cup of tea and biscuit on arrival. The area is outstandingly beautiful but the roads are quite scary sometimes with very sharp bends that just jump out at you so be very cautious when driving. The walks are great and our dog enjoyed them. All in all a lovely site and reasonably priced too.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeakerUK 4 reviews from this member

We've just come back from 3 nights here, and it is a very pleasant site. Beautiful location in the valley along the riverbank and with the old mill leat. The central track runs down the middle with the pitches on either side. Each pitch either extends to the river, or to the leat on the other side (as far as I could tell) up to the central lane, so they are very long. There was plenty of room for our two tents and two cars. We were also next to a drinking water point (of which there were several) and there were also several neat and tidy places to put rubbish. The owners live onsite in the old mill, and were very friendly, offering any help they could as we are not experienced campers! Near the entrance is a small shop with a few basics which is open for a short time in the morning and afternoon. Also near the entrance is a toilet block with a couple of toilets each for men and women. The women's were very spacious in each cubicle! In a separate building is a laundry / washing up room (with sinks, washing machine, tumble drier, ironing boards and vegetable preparation area), the men's showers and the women's showers. The women's have a toilet cubicle, three sinks, a hairdrier and three showers with proper doors into a small drying / dressing area and a shower. All facilities are kept clean, tidy and free. I didn't see many people using them because most people seemed to be in caravans or motorhomes, with only a few other tents.

I was concerned about the proximity to the A road, but in fact it is a very quiet road with VERY few vehicles in the night and not many more during the day. (And I am very fussy about road noise!) The rooks in the trees and the young pheasants across the river were far more noisy!

The village has a fabulous pub with superb food reasonably priced (and very friendly staff), and it's not too far to pretty Dulverton which has a small Co-Op, bank, post office, tea rooms and so on. Further away are Minehead, Taunton, Tiverton and Exeter is probably accessible too. There's plenty to do on and around Exmoor, and I can't recommend enough the fantastic Barle Land Rover Safari.

Being at the bottom of a deep, wooded valley alongside a river, the site was very damp for us - it rained on and off all the time we were there and it got rather squelchy. There were some patches of mud from previous campers. When dry this site would be glorious. It was certainly very peaceful (aside from the previously mentioned wildlife!) and people seemed quiet and respectful of others. Most people pitched facing the river, so you got beautiful views and lots of peace and quiet, and the central lane meant you didn't have to battle through other people's pitches. I would definitely recommend it, though would be cautious of returning with a tent if it was going to be rainy.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016