Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 8 reviews from this member

Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

After much deliberation we decided to try this site. There was only two concerns:

1. Mixed reviews about road noise

2. Never been to an adult site only

Well, let me tell you. It was bliss! We arrived at 8pm on Friday evening and the owners welcomed us with a free hot drink. We were able to choose whichever pitch we wanted and whichever side you go you have the relaxing noise of water running through. Just a small point: if you wish sun in the morning (until 5-6 pm) use the left side of the side (as you drive in); if you prefer sun in the evenings but not too early in the morning use the right handside.

Imagine, trees, water, lots of pheasants and peace. That was our weekend. No road noise (you would not believe the road adjacent to the camp site is an A road - I would say is more of a country road) no kids noise, no loud music. Complete tranquillity.

Facilities: all good and free hot water. What more can you ask. Electricity and co-ax cable 2.50. You can't go wrong with that! All in all for two nights, a dog electrics and awning 26!

Lots of walks from campsite from 3 to 8 miles to suit all. The information hub has all the routes and instructions printed for the circular walks. Brilliant. Massive exercise area for dogs at the end of the site + relaxing bench by the weir. Perfect site if you have dogs.

Pub: 6 minutes walk, civilised with no big screen (ACE!). Food good, ale ace especially if you like real ale. What more can I say: I will be back

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prof9 3 reviews from this member

Spent Easter Weekend at this site our Icarus 500 tent was pitched on the mill stream side on pitch 5 with ehu which was near the services and the only noise was from the water coming out of the mill which was not to much of a problem,

Very nice and friendly owners who were very helpful and welcoming with a cup of tea and hotcross bun.

Wash area and showers with plenty hot water and piped Radio two, clean and well maintained, small shop and information place with guides on local walks freely available.

Will definitely be returning in the future and as an adult only site nice and peaceful with sounds of water and ducks who welcome you when you arrive, a most relaxing and pleasant stay.

Would certainly recommend and thank you

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

We came to Exe Valley at almost the end of their season (late Sept). We normally caravan but as we live locally we decided to do a stay in our small tent.

Good points :

Pretty, wooded valley setting. Riverside pitches (no midges when we went!)

Well kept site - lovely bridge over the stream to the showers, plenty of information on local attractions/amenities.

Friendly owners, free cup of coffee.

Warm, clean showers with radio playing!

Probably the best dog walk in all the sites we have visited, if your dog loves water then it would love Exe Valley, beautiful walk where dogs can run free up to the stunning weir - plenty of little pools for pooches who like to swim!

Wildlife - a very natural site, plenty of birds - owls & pheasants, and bats.

The Badgers Holt Inn - excellent local pub within easy walking distance, friendly welcoming hosts and lots of specials from Steak & Ale pie to venison. They allow dogs in the bar and small outside seating area. Very friendly waiter service and good value (9.95 for 8oz rump steak)

Just some minor gripes :

Pitches - very small further up the park, we had a tiny 3 man tent and were not far from our neighbours, so much so that the bloke next door kept me awake with his snoring. If you have a large tent you may have problems. The pitches do narrow on the river side especially from pitches 44 upwards.

Privacy - Carrying on from the above really, due to the layout of the park (not the owners fault I know) we felt very 'overlooked', what with a motorhome either side of us and a row of caravans all looking on to us. (next time we will take more windbreaks!)

Tent pitches - a long walk from the toilets, showers and sink area, it seemed that caravans and motorhomes (who on the majority have their own sink and loo) were better catered for down near all the facilities and the tenters were furthest away, some tent pitches near the loos would be better.

I would recommend this site, and we would return (I know my dog would!) Although as another reviewer has already stated it felt more of a 'caravan & campervan' park so we would probably return in our caravan.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peteranddi 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Exe Valley for 2 weeks in July and thought it was a lovely site. One of the prettiest sites we have stayed at, there is the river on one side and the mill stream on the other, so wherever you pitch you will be next to water. The dog walk up to the weir is beautiful and in good weather it is an idyllic and peaceful site. The toilet blocks and showers were clean and free to use. Although sometimes busy, we never had to queue, and the laundry and washing up room were equally clean, with everything you need. Wifi is also available at reception.

The only downside for us, was whilst we appreciated the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the site, we sometimes wondered if it was a little too quiet - we were almost afraid of making any noise at all. Unfortunately the weather was poor for most of our stay - as a result of this holiday we have now upgraded to a folding camper. When the sun did shine it tended to only be one side of the site due to the fact that it is in a deep valley. It is worth considering whether you would like evening or morning sunshine when picking your pitch.

We ate at the Badger's Holt on at least 3 occasions during our stay and were thoroughly satisfied with the variety of choice, quality and value. The service and atmosphere was also great.

All in all, a great site, and we would love to visit again some day.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl47 2 reviews from this member

Spent a week at this site. The only complaint I have about this site is it is close to the A road so it is noisy. The site is very well kept nice and tidy and the toilet blocks always spotless. The owners were wonderful with a very welcome cup of tea and biscuit on arrival. The area is outstandingly beautiful but the roads are quite scary sometimes with very sharp bends that just jump out at you so be very cautious when driving. The walks are great and our dog enjoyed them. All in all a lovely site and reasonably priced too.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeakerUK 4 reviews from this member

We've just come back from 3 nights here, and it is a very pleasant site. Beautiful location in the valley along the riverbank and with the old mill leat. The central track runs down the middle with the pitches on either side. Each pitch either extends to the river, or to the leat on the other side (as far as I could tell) up to the central lane, so they are very long. There was plenty of room for our two tents and two cars. We were also next to a drinking water point (of which there were several) and there were also several neat and tidy places to put rubbish. The owners live onsite in the old mill, and were very friendly, offering any help they could as we are not experienced campers! Near the entrance is a small shop with a few basics which is open for a short time in the morning and afternoon. Also near the entrance is a toilet block with a couple of toilets each for men and women. The women's were very spacious in each cubicle! In a separate building is a laundry / washing up room (with sinks, washing machine, tumble drier, ironing boards and vegetable preparation area), the men's showers and the women's showers. The women's have a toilet cubicle, three sinks, a hairdrier and three showers with proper doors into a small drying / dressing area and a shower. All facilities are kept clean, tidy and free. I didn't see many people using them because most people seemed to be in caravans or motorhomes, with only a few other tents.

I was concerned about the proximity to the A road, but in fact it is a very quiet road with VERY few vehicles in the night and not many more during the day. (And I am very fussy about road noise!) The rooks in the trees and the young pheasants across the river were far more noisy!

The village has a fabulous pub with superb food reasonably priced (and very friendly staff), and it's not too far to pretty Dulverton which has a small Co-Op, bank, post office, tea rooms and so on. Further away are Minehead, Taunton, Tiverton and Exeter is probably accessible too. There's plenty to do on and around Exmoor, and I can't recommend enough the fantastic Barle Land Rover Safari.

Being at the bottom of a deep, wooded valley alongside a river, the site was very damp for us - it rained on and off all the time we were there and it got rather squelchy. There were some patches of mud from previous campers. When dry this site would be glorious. It was certainly very peaceful (aside from the previously mentioned wildlife!) and people seemed quiet and respectful of others. Most people pitched facing the river, so you got beautiful views and lots of peace and quiet, and the central lane meant you didn't have to battle through other people's pitches. I would definitely recommend it, though would be cautious of returning with a tent if it was going to be rainy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Our third year at Exe valley, this time we stayed for a week, a wonderful welcome from Paul with the new addition of tea/coffee and a biccie. Weather held out for us and the site is so well situated for exploring Exmoor. A real gem, pitched by the river, sitting out in the evening under the stars with owls and bats all around.Priceless. Details of walks and drives available, overall a fab site and one we hope to return to time and time again; the facilities are spotless but more toilets needed. Already looking forward t next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruth+Ted 4 reviews from this member

This was our first trip in our new motorhome having previously used tents! What a difference! We were thrilled with the facilities on this site. The pitches are fantastic and the field is surrounded by a beautiful river (albeit, difficult to fish as it is very fast). The site is managed by the nicest of people who welcome you with a lovely tea or coffee and go through the procedures thoroughly! Any problems, they will try their best to fix. The toilet block, shower and laundry facilities are superb - kept spotlessly clean. The shop is basic but we didn't really need to use it.

Only small criticism - a few more pitches with hard standing would be great!

We didn't enjoy the food at the Badgers Holt Inn (contrary to public opinion)- the beer was good but the food is typically microwave to table and a bit too expensive! Good wines though, at good prices! Staff were a bit grumpy!

Some fantastic walks around with outstanding views! Take an Ordnance Survey Map as some of the walks can be quite difficult and the manager's own guides can be a bit misleading! We managed to get stuck in a field surrounded by cows and bullocks!

Overall, a great site and we will be back - thank you!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debgreen 28 reviews from this member

We've just returned from 10 days here - our first visit - and were delighted with the site, it's facilities, the size of the pitches and the care taken to look after an excellent site. Tea and biscuits on arrival - very civilised. The weather was mostly glorious, with a few heavy down-pours. The ground coped very well and drained quickly.

The loos and showers (3 loos, showers & basins per sex) were spotless, with powerful, hot & free showers - which is a bonus. The dishwashing/laundry area was also spotless and well looked after. Only used the shop once (for milk) but it seemed to have the basics. A paper-ording service would be useful, as it's a long drive if you want one. Information room was well stocked with menus, walk/drive info, and a public pay phone (v. Important as our mobiles didn't work and we needed to call the local vet - only Orange works, apparently).

We ate out most nights and used the local 'Bager's Holt' three times, the Royal Oak, Wood's and the Thai in Dulverton (these two a bit more expensive but it was hubby's birthday and our anni). All were excellent. The pub is friendly, with good service and reasonably priced food. We had a three-hour trip with Barle Land Rover Safaris on Sunday morning with a very knowledgeable drive - Alison - which was a fab way to see and get a feel for Exmoor. Highly recommended (dogs can go too).

There is a beautiful tiny cricket ground within easy walking distance, which we visited when not visiting local rugby clubs to see the Lion's Tests. My only small complaint is the road noise (and the noise from from people seemingly rebuilding the insides of their 'vans in the evening - what were you doing?) seems to echo around the valley. Otherwise the site is peaceful and calm, with lots of birds and good dog walks etc. Will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quintonjan 6 reviews from this member

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful site, the toilets and showers were immaculate.

The site is ideally located for touring south Somerset and north Devon. We were lucky enough to see some wild ponies in the Exmoor national park. We visited Lynton and Lynmouth and Minehead and Porlock, all within easy reach. We travelled out every day as the weather was atrocious.
The Badgers Holt inn is just a few minutes walk away and their food was excellent and the friendly service was a bonus! The site owners were very helpful and insisted we had a free coffee before setting up our caravan. All employees on site will give you names of places to visit and directions.
This was only our second holiday since buying our caravan and it knocked spots off our first choice! As it is 'adults only' site it meant most of the people on site were in our age group and the peace and quiet not disturbed by noisy children. Peaceful bliss.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016