Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Silverhill Lane
Teversal
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG17 3JJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 551838

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
              9/10 from 171 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy R 16 reviews from this member

I'd agree with all of the positive comments from the others reviewers. A lovely site with very friendly staff.

It felt a very safe site for our 6 and 4 year olds, who loved the play area (which looked almost new). The walk in the adjacent country park is great - you can take bikes on the trails there too.

And one of the best things - the local butcher's sausages on sale in the shop - delicious!

We'll be back.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patmcbride 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly site with excellent facilities. The pub at the end of the road will be great when it reopens after refurbishment. Lots of lovely walks The grandchildren loved the safe play area.

We ended up staying 10 days necessitating a lot of 'juggling' of pitches over a bank holiday period ( due to me being admitted to hospital !)The staff were very helpful and enquired regularly about my progress -apologies again for waking them up to let us drive out to the local hospital at 3am .

We will certainly be back

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Menagerie_keeper 2 reviews from this member

We found the site by using the search facility here and booked with the owner that day. He was really helpful and answered novice questions (this was our first camping trip) about hook ups etc. Torrential rain started 4 days before our trip and as it was our first time we were a little concerned about going so I phoned the owner who assured me that the weather there was lovely and their local forecast did not predict rain for the length of our stay, so. Car packed, kids packed and we arrived there only a short trip from Birmingham - the site is well signposted locally.

The owner couldn't have been more helpful and even checked that we'd managed to put our tent up for the first time OK. The site's facilities were fantastic. Decent toilets with showers but the heated wet rooms made life so much easier, as did the washing up and laundry facilities.

There's a local Chinese that delivers and due to delays in arriving we opted for this to feed and keep some toddlers happy.

The play ground was good, nothing for younger children (i.E. No baby swings) but lots of older kids to amuse themselves. Our 4 year old spent loads of time up there and was very happy.

Locally it's mainly walks, from the campsite you can see a hill with a statue on top and it was a lovely walk up to the top to see that (there are various levels of walks up it and around it inc. Lake with swans). The easy walk is pushchair friendly, better with a 3 wheeler, don't fancy it with a stroller!

There are a couple of cheap pubs locally for food. The Grange (we didn't eat in) got good reviews from the locals, it's located in the middle of a housing estate and is a social club style premises.

Only a short journey in the other direction is a pub called the Woodland Inn, it's a cavery and the food isn't great but with a fantastic great adventure play ground for the kids and hot food. My tip would be to arrive early (opens at 11am, we got there are 12pm and it filled up by 1pm, uncomfortably so!).

There is a pub at the bottom of the road the site is on, only it's being renovated - which is a good sign!

All in all it gets 9.8/10 for me! I feel terrible for what I'm about to say, considering when I last went camping as a child showers were a luxury BUT the showers only gave a dribble (when the two I tried anyway!) and it was a pain with kids. There's a huge shower rose but very little comes out. But taking the site as a package it was wonderful, quiet, set in country (although a bloody great big road running up it you only really hear at night!) with great facilities.

If you're after somewhere for a short break where the kids are safe (perfect if you have dogs!) where the site shuts at 11pm (no driving round etc.) no music, loads of recycling etc. Then this is the site for you!

We'll be going back shortly I'm sure!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atherwitzend 7 reviews from this member

When we were there, there were about 6 other tents and the rest were caravans/motorhomes but we didn't find this an issue

The pitch was flat and we had plenty of space between us and 'next door'.

Everywhere was spotless.

Wardens were great.

Facilities spot on.

Best playarea on a any site we have seen so far.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaz16 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a two night stay at this site, and what can we say, it really is one of the nicest sites that we have stayed on. When we arrived and booked in we were greeted by very friendly site managers, who explained how the barrier system worked and asked if we had a preference to where we would like to pitch. We asked to be near the play area for the children and were put right next to it which was great.

The pitches are all hardstanding (peagravel) with grass in between and most have wooden picnic tables and benches on them. The site is very clean, with plenty of bins and recycling points. The play area was quite new with modern safe equipment which our children found a lot of fun. There is a summerhouse with plenty of tourist information leaflets and books to borrow.
The toilet blocks were very clean, each with a couple of showers but in addition to this there are the en-suite bathrooms which were great with the children, there are about four for the men and the same for the women each consisting of toilet, washbasin, wetroom type shower (very big) and a very welcoming radiator.
There is also a very well equipped laundry and undercover dishwashing. On arrival we were given an A4 sheet with local information on where the nearest supermarkets and best places to eat were which was really useful. The site reception however sells a good selection of essentials also camping and caravanning accessories.

If you like walking right opposite the entrance to the site is Silverhill Woods where there are plenty of trails to follow and you can walk to the top which in the highest point in Nottinghamshire. There are also plenty of other trails locally so it would be a walker or cyclists heaven. From there though we managed to get out and about and visit Matlock, Ashbourne and Dovedale so found it quite a good base. We will definitely be returning and do not hesitate in recommending it.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jokidsnurse 1 review from this member

We (my partner, myself and our 22 month old little girl) stayed at this site last weekend Friday till Sunday.

It's a really lovely site, they kept the shop open for us even though we didn't arrive untill 7.30pm. The bacon is the best I've tasted in a long time, and I'm a butchers daughter! They also stock all the essentials.

We were helped to reverse our van on to the pitch, which was a great help as we're new to caravanning.

The site is very well maintained, the toilets and showers are nice and clean. If I was to have a gripe it was that the showers are the push button type. I do understand the reasons for saving water but I did find it quite difficult showering myself and my little girl when the shower kept going off.

There's a lovely little play area, which looks brand new. It could do with a few more peices of equipment, maybe more appropriate to the under fives. I am being very picky there though. Overall it's a great site everyone is very friendly, and will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

We will certainly be visiting again!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bessy49 4 reviews from this member

WE spent 3 nights at this site last weekend and must say that theowners and staff were very helpful and friendly. The site was full for the best part of our stay but we didn't have to wait for amenities. Showers andtoilets were immaculate. Recycling was in operation.Lots of walks from site. Road noise did not bother us at all.

They have a car for hire which we used for one day so were able to get out and about but another time I would be happy to stay local and enjoy the countryside on offer.

We will definitely be returning to this well run site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Challs 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for one night as we were on a way to Northumberland and thought this would be a good stop off point, well what a site, I totally recommend This site to anyone. The site is clean and welcoming and the toilets and showers are clean too. The Managers were very accommodating and waited for us to arrive as we didn't get to the camp site until after 8.30pm, they asked whetherwehad eaten as we arrived late andgave usdirections to the nearest chippy and they also gave us a Chinese menu as they deliver to the site, however we opted for the chippy, very nice, opposite co-op.

We are hoping to return again for a longer stay next time, thank you so much for a relaxing and happy stay, one of the best camp sites we've stayed at for a long time!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jtsmith 8 reviews from this member

Great site, well maintained, tidy and great ablutions. The "wet rooms" were great. Toilet, Basin and Shower in each room, ideal.
Great play area for the old and young alike. Each pitch was equipped with a picnic table and seating, which was an excellent idea.

There are great walks on the Teversal Trails, the maps were available at the reception for the different walks. The view from the topSilverhill Collierywas lovely.

The reception sold all basic provisions. The local farmer supplied the bacon and sausages. The bacon was like eating gammon, absolutely lovely and the home baked apple and blackberry pie was to die for.

There was a Netto not too far away and a large Asda and Morrisons, directions are supplied by the reception on arrival.

Would definitely re visit.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Karende 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this lovely site which we stayed over May day bank holiday. Showers were immaculate with plenty of hot water great individual shower rooms with toilet basin and shower plenty of room. Children loved the play area which looked new. We were pitched on the paddock which is a grassed area which holds around three units. Great walks in the Country Park across the road and great pub food available in the Hardwick Inn (5 min drive). Definately one on our to return to list.

Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2445 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0586