Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Eagles 12 reviews from this member

My partner and I stayed here for the Easter weekend having seen it advertised in the Best of British brochure. I booked direct with the campsite in October 2012. One of the attractions was the ‘Adult Only’ having spent too much of 2012 at campsites where you get woken during the night with unruly babies/children! The area was also a factor as we had not camped in Somerset before and it also meant we could attend the speedway meeting at Somerset speedway on Good Friday.

We arrived mid-afternoon on Thursday and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by the wardens. We were shown to our pitch T3 in Top Oaks. There are about 5 different areas where you could stay. More than happy with our pitch, very large with hedging around the edge and two bits of grass, if the weather had been warmer (our heater was a godsend in our tent, a very cold Easter weekend!) we could easily have sat out on the bigger bit of grass. All off the site is kept to a very high standard, even saw the gardener working.

We did our usual wander round to familiarise ourselves and could not believe the new facilities block, it was if we were at a 5 star hotel, just superb. They even have a washing machine and tumble dryer for dog bedding. There are 13 showers 5 of them mixed. Washing up area again 5 stars. There is also a freezer if you need to freeze ice packs. The little shop is well stocked and they even sell homemade cake each day which is advertised. You can also order bread which comes from the local bakers, just no delivery on Sundays or Bank Holiday Mondays. They have a games room with a pool table and a very large flat screen TV with a sofa and heater. As most people were in caravans the couple of times we popped up there the TV was not in use. There is also a wonderful selection of leaflets advertising places to visit. They hire bikes and that was our plan for one of the days, the cold weather stopped us sadly.

The campsite is nicely positioned to get out and about. We made use of the local mini bus service that picks up at the campsite, we went into Wells, and it gives you 4 hours there and costs £10. 00 return per couple. It is on a first come first on and the last couple missed out on this day, I would think it could be popular during the summer and they may put on a bigger mini bus.

The walk to Glastonbury Tor is about ¾ mile away and is signposted from the campsite. We walked up there on Easter Sunday and although cold the sun was out and the views are worth the walk. We then continued on into Glastonbury. We walked a different way back which included crossing fields; you get a lovely view of the campsite from this walk.

Maybe a little expensive however you pay for what you get and you get 5 star here without a shadow of a doubt, so worth it, we are booked to go back in May and again in August.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VandJ Dorset 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights at this site on route home from Cornwall. It was very cold March weather with occasional snow flurries so the heated shower block was wonderful, even the floors felt warm! The campsite was beautifully kept and the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. They gave us information on all the lovely walks around, including up to the Tor. In spite of the biting cold, the views were fabulous. We will definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rethomas 6 reviews from this member

We decided to try this site after reading so many great reviews from lots of people, so our expectations were quite high. Well we weren't disappointed either. What a truly fantastic site.

We booked through the Oaks' own website requesting a super pitch with a clear line of sight to the SE for our satellite system. We were allocated pitch number 3 in the Lower Oaks section of the site which was perfect for our needs. We arrived a little later than planned but received such a warm and friendly welcome which was great after quite a long journey. We were booked straight in and given a good explanation of the park and it's facilities as well as the surrounding area. We were even asked if we needed wifi internet access which is free by the way and very fast.

We were escorted to our pitch which was a great size, nice and level with hedging either side giving a little privacy without being overbearing. ECU hook-up, water and waste drainage all to hand which made life very easy once connected up. We were close to the new facilities block which can only be described as something out of a 5* hotel! Having been to many campsites both in this country and across the channel, I have never seen anything to match this. Absolutely stunning and spotlessly clean. There was a well stocked shop next to reception selling all the usual essentials as well as some nice luxury items too.

As we were staying over the Six Nations rugby weekend, we were told about the 42' TV room which would have the Wales v England game playing if we wanted to see it on a big screen. Being Welsh, we had the usual banter with the Wardens who just so happen to be English, but we ended up watching the game in a lovely pub in Glastonbury. Following the thrashing Wales gave England, we didn't hear too much from the Wardens after that!

There are great walks from the site including one to the Glastonbury Tor which is about 3/4 mile away. We managed to pick a great sunny day to try this walk and the views from the top are quite spectacular and well worth the trek because you can see for miles around in a great panorama. It's about a mile and a half's walk into Glastonbury but we just took taxis which were between £7 and £8 each way. There is a taxi service that runs from the site but we were a little too early in the season to be able to take advantage of this as it hadn't started running yet.

So all in all, a fantastic site with fantastic facilities in a fantastic part of the world with lots to see and do. It really does deserve it's average rating of 10 out of 10 and we can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellybum 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this park 19/2/2013 very very cold! we were given a very warm welcome and directed to our pitch in the walnut circle, even this time of the year the grass was mowed and lots of cleaning up was being done ready for the season. All the staff were very friendly and as I am disabled they put themselves out to help in every way, this park is fantastic! It is very near all the amenities of Glastonbury and most of the local pubs are dog friendly. The park is very easy to find and the road into the park is very easy. If you like fishing this is the place to come. Lovely lake just a few yards from reception. Will come back to the Old Oaks another two or three times this year. I do like a whinge now and then but I could not find a single thing to have a whinge about, keep up the good work Old Oaks!

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaspergucci 27 reviews from this member

A quiet Adult only site with huge pitches. We arrived late but there was a warm welcome from one of the wardens, who even opened the shop for us! The site seemed to be split into 3 or 4 sections, we stayed in Walnut Circle which consisted of a large green circular lawn with the pitches scattered around the edge.

There was a large on site dog exercise area with dog shower and walks directly off the site, including access to Glastonbury Tor and Glastonbury Town. There were lovely views from all parts of the site and it was very well maintained.

The best bit- the toilet/shower facilities were second to none and wouldn't look out of place in a spa health club! There was also a luxury pot wash, well stocked shop and separate Tourist information cabin.

It is a little pricey (we paid £70 for 3 nights) but you get what you pay for and we will definitely will be back.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Furs 4 reviews from this member

Been to this site a few times now and it is the most perfectly run, well kept friendly place. The dog walk is totally enclosed and has a wash facility. The toilets and showers are immaculate, and its got the poshest Chemical loo we've experienced. The daily cakes are well worth a try, and for me the fishing lake ( small but beautiful and well stocked) is my end of season treat to my self. Cannot recommend this site highly enough.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: May May 10 reviews from this member

We had a one night stop over at The Old Oaks on our way home to Norfolk from a wonderful holiday touring in Cornwall. We have never stayed in such a fabulous site and only wish we were staying longer. The welcome we received was very friendly and we were shown to our plot. The hard standing we had for our motorhome was very generous and there were shrubs separating all the plots. It being autumn when we were there we enjoyed all the lovely colours from all the landscaping around the site.

We were lucky enough to be able to use the new toilet/shower facilities which I think are only recently opened. They were superb and more like a 5 star hotel than a camp site. There were marvellous facilities for dogs including a dog walk, shower and washing machine. I really could find nothing to fault this site and only hope it does not get so busy that we cannot find space when we return which we certainly intend to do.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vickij1234 2 reviews from this member

Now i don't wish to speak badly, but I am so loath to leave a good review of this site. Why. Because I don't want it discovered. I don't want it to become too popular. Why. Because it is the most fantastic site in the whole of the uk. Wow this is our 4th visit and each time it just gets better, the welcome is just so professional, a smile comes as standard, it is not forced it is given with meaning, they take you to your pitch and when they say spacious pitches they mean it, and the wide open spaces, well binoculars please to see the row opposite.

Now to the new toilet block. Have I stepped into a 5 star hotel, I think I may have done so, I have not experienced anything like them, I overheard one fellow visitor say ' too good for caravanners' speak for your self pal, why not, the site is not the cheapest I don't question that but I can see where every penny it costs is spent, it is pristine, the grounds are immaculate, well I could just go on and on, but try it for yourself, this is the ultimate site.

The area is superb, walking to the tor is up a steep hill which ever way you leave the site and expect mud, especially this year, but well worth it. The site shop will give you all the basics and a few more, (sample the home grown steak! Delicious) Glastonbury is a car ride for essentials but you will find all you need including a huge supermarket.

If you have dogs, yes the old oaks take care of them too. A great dog walk where they can be let off the lead, very safe even my Houdini was kept in, very reassuring, a dog shower is located by the dog walk, compete with warm water, you just supply the shampoo, shower and dirty dog, dirty towels and pet bedding even that is catered for with a washing machine and tumble dryer just for dogs,

Locally lots to see and do but mostly by car, cheddar gorge is obviously worth a visit as is ebbor gorge, a bit further afield go to burnham on sea, what a great beach to walk for miles.

Would I recommend this site, reluctantly a resounding yes, I just hope not too many people read this review, I fear it is going to get harder and harder to get a booking. 5 stars, can I give it 10 please.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffprinter 10 reviews from this member

I am going to keep this short. If there's a better site anywhere for adults only I would like to know where it is. This site was way above anything we were expecting. Friendly staff, excellent facilities. We felt totally relaxed and cant wait to return. The site is kept to an impeccable standard and enabled us to go for walks around the site and take in the local views. I don't fish but even the lake made a nice relaxing place to just sit and unwind after along day out walking and site seeing. Glastonbury Tor is a short walk away but be prepared its about 3 quarters of a mile away but its all uphill but once your at the top the views are amazing. Still coming down is all downhill. We had such a good time and that's why our marks out of 10 are maximum.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Junders 1 review from this member

We arrived to celebrate a birthday, intending to stay for 2 nights. The Site and staff were so delightful we stayed for 4 in all and look forward to returning next year to this clean, well-run and well-staffed site. The manicured grounds were maintained to a high standard with beautiful shrubs dividing the good sized pitches.

The very clean toilet/shower facilities with privacy cubicles were warm on the chilly mornings we were there. The site, though not far from Glastonbury, has arranged a local mini-bus service which, though efficient and friendly, can prove expensive.

Perhaps there would be benefit for a franchised small, high quality cafe/bistro, especially at weekends. The little barn to the side of the main house would be ideal !

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484