Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
              9/10 from 191 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen (happy camper 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at Cofton. It seemed to be well organised as you was shown to your allocated pitch all with EHU, although the site was getting quite full and tents being quite close to each other the pitches seem to be relatively level.

The showers and toilets was clean considering the weather was quite wet and there was always plenty of hot water for the showers (which were free). The kids play areas was great and the site in general was safe for the children to play. The outside pool was warm and supervised at all times. There is a pub on site although we never went in there. The shop was well stocked and quite reasonably priced. We would definitely return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rottiedog 1 review from this member

Just got back from Cofton. Site is large and clean. Pitches are on the small side though and access roads are narrow. We stayed on '10 acre field' on one of the terraces which have a good view over the rest of the site. Pitch was mostly level and well kept.

BE WARNED! There is NO TV reception over most of the site, even radio reception was poor.

Most of the toilet blocks are of the portakabin type (and elderly) and are best avoided. Luckily there are some modern brick built blocks that are fine.

The pool and play areas are great for the kids and there are great bits for them to explore.

The clubhouse is ok but very small, the food is good and reasonably priced. Weather permitting, the terrace is excellent and overlooks the pool. The shop is a bit poor but there are mini markets in Dawlish Warren.

The local area is superb, we caught the ferry to Exmouth and had a great day, it runs regularly from Starcross.

Teignmouth was a lovely town and the promenade one of the best I have ever visited, even the public loo was a model of spotlessness.

Most of the local beaches had bits you could take your dog on to.

There are plenty of walks from the site, although they are quite hilly.

On the whole we enjoyed our holiday, despite the weather. We would have preferred to have been able to pre-book our pitch as we went with friends and you are not guaranteed to get pitches side by side. Not having any TV was disappointing as we had young children. The site was quite noisy till about 11pm and the older toilet blocks are poor.

Don't be put off, we would return to Cofton in the future. We'd mark it as 7 out of 10.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonkaaz 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a few 'wet' days at Cofton. The site itself was very well kept, the staff were friendly, the toilets and shower block were really clean. Our kids loved the heated pool however, we were pitched near the games room and were kept awake every night by teenagers that were not supervised. This area was called the Orchard be warned. The pitches were anything but level in this area so avoid if possible but on a positive note if you have a weak bladder they are very close to the toilets!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ged Judd 3 reviews from this member

We were a family of 4 with a 10 year old boy and 7 year old girl staying for a week. Although we made a group booking of 4 pitches with friends. We found out on arrival that our pitches would not be together. This was very disappointing and despite our confirmation letter stating that we this was a specific instruction. Talking to other campers this was also their experience and should therefore probably be noted.

We were staying at the bottom of the Barn field which was the main exit for everyone else leaving the Barn field. As such due to the weather the route became very muddy and slippy and was only stoned up after a complaint to the reception. If you book the Barn field try to request a pitch on one of the upper terraces, if possible.

Despite the fact that this is a very big site, the facilities were quite well managed. On the rare occasion we neeeded to wait for a shower it was only a few minutes and considering the wet weather they were still very respectable. Some of the male toilets in our block did run out of toilet roll between 9.00 and 12.00 on more than one occasion. Take a back up roll!

The kids loved the pool, donkey paddock and play grounds. Some of our group fished the ponds and were very sucessful.

The walk through the woods in the early evening to Dawlish Warren is a must. There is an award winning fish and chip shop on the left just after the Dawlish Sands holiday park. They were the best. Although the On Site takeaway also does great fish and chips along with chicken jalfrieze and chips which were also great.

At Dawlish Warren their is fair ground. Go-Karting at £4.00 which we loved, a big slide, Trampolines, Dodgems, Crazy Pirate Golf. Basic, but great fun.

We also had a nice day at Paigton Zoo.

A site this size obviouly takes alot of managing and it ticks most of the boxes. I would give it an 8/10. If they could guarantee group 'with good' pitches together this would probably be a 9.5/10

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacko383 13 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 2 week break with 2 kids of 5 & 8 at this site and had to cut it short because of the weather and the fact that our pitch was water logged at front and back. It was our first major holiday touring and this site was recommended.

Positive comments:

It is a very well run site, staff in all areas were very polite and helpful and always with a smile. This is all to rare these days! Toilets and showers modern, lots of them and very clean.

When setting up we were missing a spring clip from an awning pole, a tiny thing but they had them in the shop! Fantastic.

The grassy entrance to our Cul de sac was sodden and after only asking once, the men were there an hour later spreading gravel to soak up the mud.

The pool area lovely and water clean and fairly warm.

Our water pump tripped the electric and reception had a couple of numbers for van repair men, one came within a couple of days which was a god-send!

Great choice of facilities, chippy ( a bit pricey), launderette (£3 wash and £1+ dry), well stocked shop, vending machines and on site pub.

Great location for nearby towns/villages.

I would recommend Powderham Castle (£24 family), we also did Kent's Cavern on a rainy day (£25), Cockington for a cream tea was idyllic. Skip the beach at Dawlish Warren because it was stones and a bit scruffy. Make the well worth trip to Exmouth. The beach is long and sandy.If you get the sun!

Negative comments:

Not many, but the pitches are very small, just enough for van, awning, car and that's it. There was no room for the swingball or any ball games.

Entertainment at the pub was not really aimed at kids and the family room upstairs was really small. They got bored easily.

Pick your pitch carefully and take your time. The reps take you round on a golf buggy to choose a pitch. We were on the front terraces near the bottom and got water logged, get a pitch near the top here. Front field is good and Oak field. If you're in a tent the orchard was lovely and really close to everything.

Teenagers. A very small room for them to hang out with 2 pool tables and some bandit machines. What we saw coming back from the pub was a bit unsavoury! Groping and boozing. There are no activities for teens, no table tennis, no sports facilities of any kind apart from the pool. I wouldn't be happy bringing teens here.

We didn't rave about it enough to return here plus it's a 500 mile round trip from Cheshire.

7/10.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vanessa 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and was very impressed even though the weather let us down. Toilets were very clean considering the amount of muddy shoes going in and out. Playgrounds were both good and pool was clean and well supervised.

Thought pitches were very close together but it was my first experience of 'large site' camping.

Staff very helpful and friendly, shop and bar reasonably priced and I'd definitely recommend this site to others.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola12 2 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from a week at Cofton, my first impression was that it looked very clean and tidy, and lots of families and children playing, which is good for anyone with kids.

The staff were very helpful, and managed to position my tent and my sisters next to each other, near the toilets on flat round, as per our request. The buggys took us around till we found a pitch we liked, and there was a lot of plots to choose from.

They hire out electric cables if you wish to hire one, which my sister did, this included a light, at a reasonable price plus a deposit, and even when my sister reported the actual EHU was not working the man came to fix it before my sister had even walked back.

The showers / sinks / washing up areas and toilets were always spotless, and never out of toilet roll. They even put fly spray in all bins regularly.

The play parks were small but kept the children entertained, and there is a hidden park in the woods behind the pool and horse's but small children would need an adult with them, as this is where a lot of teenagers hang out. There didn't seem to be any large spaces for games such as rounders or football, near where we were pitched, but there was one a short walk away.

I never went to the entertainment but my sister did every night, and it was always busy and had good entertainment on. The food and bar area was clean, with good food. The shop was extremely well stocked, with a lot of camping items you may have forgotten, and fresh bread and papers if you were there early. They hire our ice packs at 50p or 75p (I think) each, which could become costly if you were going for a long time. The reception was often busy with people booking in but the staff were helpful, and there was plenty of leaflets of things to do in the area.

The WI FI has several points around the camp and worked well, and we paid £4.50 for 6 hours, which you had 3 days to activate and 3 further days to use it, and you do not have to use it all in one go, as long as you log of each time.

We didn't go out to much, but Torquay was nice for a walk around, and nice coastal roads to drive around, but I would suggest if you go into Dartmoor to take a map as the roads are very narrow with little signs and you could easily get lost.

There is a large Tesco located about 7 miles away.

Also when we were leaving there was a lot of traffic queueing to get into reception up the roads into Cofton, and also through the village of Starcross as the roads are narrow, so I would suggest you either try to get there early, or later in the day.

Overall we found this site fantastic, and we will definitely be returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Golden sands carava 1 review from this member

I would just like to say that after reading some of the reviews about golden sands caravan park in dawlish, I started to panic as it sounded awful. When we as a family of 4 got there, I was relieved. It was a fab holiday. We were lucky with the weather which helped but the site was spotless. We stayed in a six birth chalet which although not massive, was clean and big enough to sleep and cook in and I've got a 13 and 14 year old.

The pool although not large, was connected both inside and out which made it feel bigger. The entertainment in the nights were superb and I would like to say the entertainment team were all very talented individuals. The evenings suited all ages from the team dancing and playing games with the very young children as well as adult games later in the evening which only the adults really understood but the children could still laugh at. To round the evening off the all singing and all dancing team were superb and again suited all.

While there we went down to the Dawlish Warren a couple of times and were surprised at what was there. A small fair, shops, fish shops, bar and restaurant and all next to a blue flag beach where you can still see your feet however far you go. Dawlish town is also a pretty little town with quaint little shops and lovely walks. A trip to Exeter is also worth it. There was lots to see and do around the area and we as a family would recommend it to anyone and in fact I am saving to go again next year and take friends with us.

Year 2008 team if you are reading this I would just like to thank you all for a fantastic holiday and keep up the excellent work as we are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Levitric 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site last week and I can honestly say that it was one of the best UK holidays that I have ever been on.

The site is absolutely fabulous, we were very close to a toilets block, laundrette and washing up point. All of these facilities were always spotless.

The pools were lovely and warm and were always looked after by a life guard.

The onsite pub was very nice indeed and was very reasonably priced for example a full English breakfast £3.75 or 2 adult drinks and 3 children's drinks for under a tenner.

The site as a whole was excellently maintained, there was always some sort of grass mowing or hedge cutting going on.

The local area is without a doubt just beautiful.

Our stay was topped of by being able to listen to an 80's night concert at the local Powderham castle half way through our stay.

The only down side was that our 8 year old and is bike had an argument with some wheely bins and he broke his collar bone, but hey we got to test out the local (Exeter) A and E department.

All in all thank you to you all at Cofton, we look forward to seeing you again in 2009.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue hancock 3 reviews from this member

WOW what a beautiful site. Toilets, showers, all kept pristine. Dishwashing and launderette super. Reception staff could not have been friendlier. Pub on the small side but nevertheless super. Pool supervised well.
I don't really know what more to add other than a superbly manicured site. Everywhere was so clean and tidy not a blade of grass out of place and a credit to the owners and staff. Going back in September and October.

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3827 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1328